??!
4 photos
Samsung 628L Top Mount
4.0 from 18 reviews

Reviews

4.0

18 reviews
5
(7)
4
(8)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    3.9 (7)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (6)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (7)
  • Internal Layout
    3.9 (7)
Previous
Next
Lisa

LisaLithgow NSW

  • 21 reviews
  • 21 likes

Noisy and Awkward

published

Bought this fridge 16/6/19. Noticed it was noisier than my 15 year old fridge straight away. Also deep fridge makes shelves hard to bend down into and vege crisper draw on the right is right on the rubber door and fridge door has to be all the way open to open draw. But just recently the noise is louder and the walls and half inside the fridge is very hot and kept going for hours which I have never had before so I turned the power off to reset the fridge but it went noisy again after 15 minutes.

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$1,600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Ben

BenSydney, NSW

Lousy after sales sercice

published

Purchased direct from Samsung Austr. Upon delivery the delivery guys spotted huge dent on the door. Apologised and took it away. More 6 weeks now and no replacement. Multiple calls to them but all to no avail. They kept saying our order have been escalated and even told us it has been despatched to the delivery firm..hmm. That was weeks ago. Still no fridge. If this is how they treat you after payment, imagine trying to claim warranty work...scary. First and last time buying Samsung.

Purchased in March 2020 for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 5 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
2bldornot2bld

2bldornot2bldBribsane

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Stainless Black, what an awesome look

published

so, where do we start, lets get the obvious sorted
1. Great Room.
2. Great Looks
3. Great Space.

Cons
Slightly Noisy, i would say perhaps 2-3 DB more than i would have liked it, but you can only notice it at night when the whole house is quiet. Seemed to have fixed this when setting the temp settings lower, overall very happy with the purchase, it met our immediate requirements for space, replaced an old Fisher and paykel, that was just too small for our purposes due to a larger family.

Overall, would have liked some more tech, like a display that showed current temp in each compartment, to assess the right temperature settings but apart from that, i am happy for this purchase.

Purchased in March 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$1,268.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Samsung 628L Top Mount compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alan Baker

Alan BakerWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 3 reviews

This is quality! And support to match

published

Unit is very quiet, and both fridge and freezer compartments maintain temperatures well. When a problem arose getting the unit in through the doors, and fridge door removal was necessary, Samsung support was excellent. Chalk-and-cheese compared to the old Maytag it replaced - and more efficient to boot. One serious problem was the very poor performance by Harvey Norman Delivery/Installation, who provided no help at all, and only wanted to dump the unit in the garage, without bothering to help get it into the house.

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$1,290.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Deb-77

Deb-77Gungahlin 2914, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Great fridge

published

Love this fridge, as a family of 5 it is a great size & fits plenty of food. The freezer is also a good size & the fridge is nice & quite. Highly recommended

Purchased in January 2020 for A$946.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 5 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
David

DavidSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 29 reviews
  • 32 likes

Great fridge, super efficient.

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
fried chicken

fried chickenACT

  • 13 reviews
  • 11 likes

So efficient and quiet!

published

Before this refrigerator, we had a 20-year-old Westinghouse. It used a lot more energy than this and was a lot noisier. This is much quieter, like so much, and uses a considerable amount less energy. It has a nice clean design and the de-odorising filter in it doesn't make it stink. Well worth the price I paid.

Purchased in February 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$1,400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Great to hear you are pleased with your Samsung refrigerator, Fried Chicken. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be forwarded to the team. Do reach out to us via private message, should you have any enquiries!

Kath
Samsung AU

RA 2019

RA 2019Melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Spacious..

published

I was very particular about having a single door fridge. I have seen other single door fridges and can see the difference. Found out to be effective and efficient while using it. Recommended for Single door.

Purchased in December 2018 at The Good Guys.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Internal Layout
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Donnadoo

DonnadooPerth

  • 4 reviews

Not very happy

published

The temperature and the door open and closing is fine it's that after I brought the fridge and used it for a month it then went into storage as I moved in with my partner when I pulled it out to use it again not even 6 months later the inside at the back was all cracked and wrecked nothing was up against it, it wasn't in the heat or anything so needless to say I wasn't happy.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
1 comment
Samsung
JasmineSamsung
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Samsung 628L Top Mount compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kylie D

Kylie DPerth

  • 3 reviews

Love it

published

Purchased the fridge just under 2 years ago. For a medium fridge it has plenty of room. It's very quiet wouldn't even know it is on and the freezer height is perfect for a tall person. Very easy to clean inside and out. The stainless steel doesn't streak like most on the market. Very happy indeed!

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Ash

AshNortheast, VIC

  • 8 reviews

I love my new fridge

published

I absolutely love my new fridge I purchased in January 2018. It has so much space inside the fridge and the freezer. It only takes few minutes to freeze the food in the freezer. It was one of the wise decisions we made!! I highly recommend this fridge to anyone!

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Ente

Ente

  • 5 reviews

Best fridge I've ever owned

published

This is hands down the best fridge I've owned in my adult life. Not only is it the perfect size for small families but the ability to turn off the freezer on vacation is actually genius and I highly recommend for active families. The shelving is also wide which is super helpful when storing food for meal prep or even just christmas!

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Evie

EvieBathurst

  • 4 reviews

Really good

published

A very good purchase we have been really happy with our fridge , very easy to clean inside and out . It is a very quiet fridge and I love that it is so easy to change the temperature of the fridge and only have the fridge section running and not the freezer if needed . The size is perfect as well .

Date PurchasedSep 2017
dogbert

dogbertWestern Australia, 6110

  • 20 reviews
  • 19 likes

Keeps cool but a tad noisy.

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
WYD

WYDSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Wide, big space & energy ratings very good

published

Just bought it and very love it. Maintain the temperature, can make the freezer to normal fridge.
It's quit totally make different after change my old fridge.
Easy to clean & im using xtra protector for the base.
Colour only two option grey & dark gray...
Door can be swap with my preference

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Samsung 628L Top Mount compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris

ChrisBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Big fridge for fair price

published

biggest fridge for a fair price. Dual cooling system. I was comparing with other the french door fridge model as its similar price but smaller size. In the end decided to get this model as it's the biggest size, fair price and it's black, really match with our furniture. really happy with the purchase at HN.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
MTA

MTA

  • 4 reviews

Huge space.....good value....consistent cooling....energy efficient

published

Great fridge. Massive space, energy efficient and consistent cooling (doesn't freeze at the back). Best part is the top compartment can convert into fridge instead of freezer. Only negative is the temperature gauge is just a bar system so you don't really know what temperature your fridge is. My old fridge actually indicated the temperature in degrees.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Joy63

Joy63AU

  • 14 reviews
  • 12 likes

Quiet, spacious, energy efficient fridge.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Questions & Answers

jenodon

jenodonasked

SR625BLSTC (Black)

What setting should the fridge and freezer be on please, coolest for both?

2 answers
David
David

In my experience, no. I use middle for freezer, one left of mid for fridge and have found the temps to be very good, under -18 C in the freezer, and under 3C in the fridge. There’s no need to go colder than that. (It’s always a good idea to have a thermometer though to check your own fridge.)

jenodon
jenodon

Thanks David.
I use middle for freezer but find I need to use more for fridge. I'm in QLD. The fridge doesn't get opened that often but we still get condensation. I'll get a thermometer.

Cheryl

Cherylasked

628L Top Mount

Purchased fridge 4 weeks ago and it makes a loud noise when the motor comes on is this normal, never had a fridge do this before

2 answers
David
David

A loud noise ALL the time, or SOME of the time?
It’s a variable speed compressor, and makes significant noise for a while when it is first turned on from new (ie: the whole fridge at ambient temperature) or if you add a lot of warm items at one time. Normally the noise should not be very loud at all- in fact mostly almost inaudible.
The only other time it may make a little more noise than usual is after a defrost cycle.
That’s our experience anyway, hope that helps. It’s the variable speed compressor which helps make it so efficient on power.

Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Cheryl, we have provided a link below with information on normal operating sounds of Samsung fridges.

https://www.samsung.com/au/support/home-appliances/normal-fridge-sounds/

If you believe the noise you are experiencing is abnormal, can you please send us a message to the link below so this can be looked into?

https://www.messenger.com/t/SamsungAustralia

Ada
Samsung AU

Jiao

Jiaoasked

SR625BLSTC (Black)

Dear All,
Less than a month ago, I bought a brand new SR624LSTC, Samsung fridge. Everything was fine except the noise level, keeping me a little bit crazy. The noise does not go away at all. Compared with my previous two fridges, this one is very noisy. I bought it from the GoodGuys. I reached out to GoodGuys but no resolution. What should I do now? It is really annoying. Look for support and suggestions. Thanks a lot. Jiao

2 answers
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

I'm really sorry to hear that you are experiencing some noise issues with your fridge, Jiao. In this case, I would suggest contacting our Support Team on 1300 362 603, our team will be able to look into this and have this issue resolved in no time.

Jazz
Samsung Australia

Tony D
Tony D

Jiao, how did you go? I was looking at getting this model until I read your comment about noise.

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.