4 photos
Samsung Galaxy S4

Samsung Galaxy S4 (2013)

i9505, i9500, i9506, i9507
3.4 from 116 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next
Odin voltaire
Odin voltaire
  • 2 reviews

An oldie but a goody

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Vivian
Viviansydney
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Was good but..

published

Its not a bad phone but because its old its just not up to par with the latest phones obviously. Ive had it for 3 years now, it's slow, the battery dies really soon, the phone dies when i open snapchat for some reason but i guess its still working? I am in need of a new phone

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Other Mobile Phones

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Rachael11
Rachael11
  • 6 reviews

Good for price

published

Has a Good battery life. I like that you can take out the battery. Nice upgrade from other phones. Very thin and not too heavy. Camera could be better and breaks too easily. Would prefer if there were more accessories available to it. Has good features such as power saving mode

Date PurchasedJuly 2014
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S4 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul
Paulsydney

Overheats

published

I have purchased two S4 phones and both get hot when held to your ear. Samsung have tested under warrenty and says it's OK, but it's not! It's very uncomfortable.
They take no responsibility to fix.
I don't intend to buy Samsung products again, customer service to me is very important.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Mr Bigglesworth
Mr BigglesworthPerth
  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Basic and reliable

published

Purchased for Mother with strict instructions that it must be simple to use. It is indeed. It is also reliable, intuitive to use, reasonably durable and well made. There are no unnecessary features/complications.

Purchased new from old stock through eBay. Australian retailer.

Standard micro USB plug. Battery lasts a day or two.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Related Articles
Previous

Tips for Choosing a Mobile Plan and Service Provider

Looking for a new mobile plan? Find out everything you need to know from network coverage and plan types, to data usage and international roaming so that you can pick the best value plan for you.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.21 Feb 2020
tips-for-choosing-a-mobile-plan-and-service-provider

Best personal electronic devices in 2020!

ProductReview.com.au has analysed a year's worth of reviews to find the best wireless headphones, mobile phones and tablets in 2020. Compare specific reviewer ratings, ranging from Battery Life and Sound / Camera Quality to Value for Money and Ease of Use to help you choose the best personal tech.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.1 Nov 2019
best-personal-electronic-devices-in-2020
Next
Luciano
LucianoTORONTO

WIFI won't work in Cuba.

published

I use my s4 in Cuba. Works fine as phone but will not connect to wifi in. All at her phones work fine except galaxy S4 and maybe S5. I had the same problem with my S6 . But after a year they upgraded software and now it works in Cuba. I hope they upgrade my S4 and allow me to connect to wifi in cuba. If you Google
S4 WIFI CUBA. You will see many complaints .

Date PurchasedFeb 2014

Coverage issues

published

Having trouble with service coverage. Seems to be less than other phones in same area. cant make calls even thou i have three bars. can any one assist with this problem. Having trouble with service coverage. Seems to be less than other phones in same area. cant make calls even thou i have three bars. can any one assist with this problem.

Date PurchasedSept 2016
Denis B
Denis BMelbourne
  • 6 reviews
  • 10 likes

Love the phone, but can be optimised better.

published

The phone is very good to use for this day and age, but don't expect the fastest experience. The software of the phone is the only thing that slows it down because it is unoptimized. Nice camera quality, slow to focus, but the colours are very bright and vivid. The software does though have very nice smart features like glance screen and wave to answer.

Date PurchasedSept 2014
Other Mobile Phones

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Angela
AngelaPerth, WA
  • 6 reviews

Great mobile phone

published

The Galaxy S4 is good to use , has a nice display, an improved camera and a huge amount of software features and functions, many of which are gimmicks. This is an excellent and overall outstanding smartphone, also a long battery life which i find from my previous phone. Great photo taking.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S4 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
yfs-0794
yfs-0794Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 14 reviews

Simple and reliable

published

This phone is such a good phone all round - it takes great quality photos, has removable battery and expandable memory and does everything you would expect in a smartphone! It is really sturdy too and has survived being dropped numerous times. Still works just as good as the first time I bought it. Don't see any reason to upgrade to newer gimmicky phones when this classic model does everything it needs to!

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Kim
Kim
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Bad phone

published

It is the bad phone I had ever use. The screen is thin and is easy to be cracked. The battery life is short. Some time it is shut down without any notifications. The price is good, but the phone life should be considered. Overall, it's an Ok phone ^^.

Date PurchasedApr 2014
Annie K
Annie KBlue Mountains
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not the best

published

Phone is still working however is slow and sluggish, freezes constantly, sometimes doesn't ring (when in range) and battery now only lasts 1/2 a day with no use (phone under 2 years). I loved Samsung previously however will not buy again. Biggest gripe is the camera. The camera on a previous phone I had (s2) was brilliant. So many moments lost to poor picture quality. Also curved screen makes it almost impossible to scroll as it triggers it on the side.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
worried
worriedMelbourne
  • 8 reviews

Robust and Reliable.

published

Actually this is the birthday gift I bought for my hubby. And he loved it until he dropped it and broke the screen a year later. It fulfilled all his needs for a mobile. Good battery life and easy to use. He has dropped it quite a few times until the last fall on our stone floor ended its life. It costs quite a bit to fix the screen. So he signed up a contract for his Samsung galaxy S5.

Date PurchasedMay 2015
JxC
JxCBrisbane
  • 7 reviews

Robust and functional

published

I got this one after my old HTC died and it's lasted me longer than I thought it would! Although it's an old model, it can still support many of the latest apps. The internal memory is quite large and expandable with a micro SD card. The camera is good and has extra modes like night shooting, panorama, and HDR - great for someone who doesn't want to own a standalone camera. Have dropped mine multiple times and no cracks on the screen! (I have a screen protector). The biggest downsides are the built-in samsung apps that you can't uninstall, and the battery life. Mine seems to need charging every 24 hrs even when I don't use it at work...

Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Other Mobile Phones

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
kaotik123
kaotik123Gold Coast
  • 7 reviews

Awesome phone!

published

This has been a great phone. I have owned several other phone from other manufacturers and this one seems so much easier to navigate the menus and also the screen is really bright so it's good when i'm working outside. The battery life is also pretty good and will normally last most of the day.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S4 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

bankers
bankersasked
Galaxy S4 i9505

one of the reviewers mentioned that his S4 has marshmallow op sys 6.0.0. I thought that the S4's only upgraded to lollipop (5.0.0). Is it only one of the models that upgrades to marshmallow, or can all of them. I am interested in the i19505 model. I need lollipop as a minimum to link to the bluetooth system in my wifes' car.

5 answers
Gavin
Gavin

Yeah all variants of the S4 only got updated to Lollipop 5.0.1 but with flashing custom ROMs can be upgraded to 6.0.1 or 7.1. However if you don't know what I mean by custom ROMs don't worry all you need to know is that it's last update was 5.0.1.

bankers
bankers

Thank you Gavin.

Mac29
Mac29

Hi Bankers,
Had the same problem with my Note 4 and the dealer not being able to pair it with the bluetooth on my new Outlander. Eventually, I found on the US Mitsubishi Owners' web site, a suggestion of trying to use the code "1234" instead of the Mitsubishi recommended "0000" (or vice versa - use the code that you have not tried). Anyway, the Note 4 paired immediately and has remained stable ever since.
Hope this helps.

woofter
woofterasked
Galaxy S4 (2013)

The on/off button on my 2-month-old S4 won't work. Your solution, please! (Don't suggest a new battery).

2 answers
Emir
Emir

Take it to a service center who can get the button replaced. Chances are, you should be covered by warranty. Good luck!

Snuze
Snuze

Hi, I have never had this issue. I suggest you take it to a phone repair shop.

Jenny Sherry
Jenny Sherryasked
Galaxy S4 (2013)

How do I find out number of someone who just rung me?

1 answer
Not happy Jan!
Not happy Jan!

Hit the green 'Phone' icon, then hit the 'Logs" icon at the top of the screen

See all Samsung Galaxy S4 (2013) questions

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Samsung Galaxy S4 (2013)

Details

Compare all 4 Samsung Galaxy S4 (2013)
Samsung Galaxy S4 i9505
  • Discontinued

Samsung Galaxy S4 i9505

3.2
(63)
Samsung Galaxy S4 i9500
  • Discontinued

Samsung Galaxy S4 i9500

3.9
(23)
Samsung Galaxy S4 i9506
  • Discontinued

Samsung Galaxy S4 i9506

4.5
(4)
Samsung Galaxy S4 i9507
  • Discontinued

Samsung Galaxy S4 i9507

3.0
(4)
CategoryMobile PhonesMobile PhonesMobile PhonesMobile Phones
Operating SystemAndroidAndroidAndroidAndroid
Display Size5inches5inches5inches5inches
Battery2600mAh2600mAh2600mAh2600mAh
Rear Camera13MP13MP13MP13MP
Front Camera2MP2MP2MP2MP
Price (RRP)$549$599
ChipsetQuad-Core Snapdragon 600Exynos 5 OctaQuad-Core Snapdragon 800
Replaced bySamsung Galaxy S5Samsung Galaxy S4 i9505 and Samsung Galaxy S5Samsung Galaxy S5Samsung Galaxy S5
Compare all 4 Samsung Galaxy S4 (2013)
  • GTIN14: 08806085559127
  • MPN: SCHI545ZKAVZW

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.