??!
6 photos
Samsung Galaxy S9 256GB

Samsung Galaxy S9 256GB (2018)

MPNs: 1091004102 and SAMS9P256PUR
3.9 from 36 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    3.9 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (13)
  • Software
    3.9 (13)
  • Battery Life
    4.2 (14)
  • Camera Quality
    4.3 (14)
  • Hardware
    4.3 (13)
Previous
Next
Shane S

Shane SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great phone!

published

Upgraded from an S8/64 GB. Been very happy with this phone. Got it second-hand on Gumtree and it hasn't skipped a beat. Love the huge 256GB storage space.

Got lots of apps installed, so am now thinking about upgrading to the S10 for extra speed.

Highly recommend this phone.

Purchased in January 2020 at Gumtree.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Mark

Mark

  • 2 reviews

Could be the BEST phone

published

Purchased in June 2020 for A$570.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Gurto

GurtoMid North Coast, NSW

  • 20 reviews
  • 22 likes

No wonder the Samsung S9 has been discontinued, as it's a very ordinary phone for this day & age

published

The Samsung S9 is honestly the worst phone I've ever used. This phone calls people randomly at any time of the day or night. Starts up websites without even touching anything, can't edit properly, camera was useless I can go on & on. Honestly for this day & age, this is the WORST phone by far I've ever used. Samsung should be totally ashamed of themselves for even putting this to market & for sale. Absolutely useless phone & has caused me so much grief it's ridiculous!! No wonder it got discontinued - it's crap!! Total waste of money.

Purchased in October 2018 for A$1,299.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
2 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Gurto
Gurto

Thanks for your reply Kath, appreciated. Yes no problems at all.

Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S9 256GB compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John Clark

John ClarkEyre Peninsula, SA

Not a bad phone

published

I believe that the phone is quite fair for price. But it seems too be awfully light. Very easy to drop without cover. Will probably be looking at Apple products Next

Purchased in January 2019 for A$1,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ted

TedBerwick

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great phone, does the job

published

Very happy with this phone. It is fast, plenty of memory to install apps. It is fast and decent camera. No lag - so highly recommend it to anyone. It has all feature that you need and more. Battery is decent , lasts more than a day.

Purchased in January 2019 at Vodafone.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Swanny

Swanny

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great phone

published

Camera is good but could be better at night. The phone display is nice and clear with great brightness settings. Battery has been good until the last month or so it is starting to lose its charge a lot quicker. Haven't had any isdues with using apps, can do everything easily on this phone.

Purchased in March 2017.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
See all answers
Dunsobarky

DunsobarkySydney, NSW

Fingerprint sensor doesn't work and phone won't support USB connected headsets

published

It's fast and has a good enough camera. The screen is good too however...it has some usability flaws
Can't use the fingerprint sensor to unlock the phone, it fails 90% of the time.
The phone app won't use the USB-C port connected headset even though voice recorder, Youtube, music apps etc all can use it perfectly.

Purchased in April 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung

A really useful phone that can do practically everything. Cheap for what it is, and good with battery life.

published

Can be used for anything. Fairly cheap, apps run smoothly. Good battery life and works with most additions, such as phone pens and airpods. Fun and useful. Makes a great gift.

Purchased at Optus.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Robert

RobertMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

It's the best phone I've ever got 5 star for me

published

The camera is mad and it's real easy to use utube love it and the quality of the picture is good and apps run real smoothly I use games on this phone and it's mad

Purchased in January 2019 at Make it mine for A$2,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S9 256GB compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mummymoo

MummymooWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best phone i own from Samsung

published

Been a samsung user for years. I'm in brand repping business and this phone is perfect to use if you dont have DSLR for capturing photos. There is an option where you can blur background photo with some cool effects.

Purchased in September 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Terrella

Terrella

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Full of bloatware & spyware that can't be uninstalled

published

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$1,400.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
3 comments
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Terrella
Terrella
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

We appreciate your feedback Terella. this has been noted and we will be sure to pass this on internally.

Lisa
Samsung AU

Cooper

CooperMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews

Love it!

published

I bought Samsung Galaxy recently and it was fantastic. It's easy to use and i feel very secure with the finger print scanner. I also love the camera quality - very sharp and bright. Don't mind paying a little extra.

Purchased in November 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Richard

Richard

  • 6 reviews

Awesome!

published

Camera's clear, as I love to take lots pictures everytime I take my family out this feature is quite important. The features are simple to use and it looks great too.

Purchased in January 2018.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

M Holden

M HoldenHobart, TAS

  • 14 reviews
  • 2 likes

Last few versions were better

published

The camera is amazing on this phone and the close ups are like looking through a microscope. I cannot fault the camera. I do not like the curved screen and find the edge of the screen too easy to accidentally touch and then start other apps. The finger print scanner is not easy to use on the back and I like it on the front better like with the S7. The sounds are good. I can no longer put a different ring tone on for each contact which seems like a step backwards.

Purchased in June 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Pitpat

PitpatHobart, TAS

  • 70 reviews
  • 31 likes

I like my new phone

published

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$1,149.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S9 256GB compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tammy

Tammy

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

I've converted from apple for a better camera

published

I'm so happy with the camera on this phone compared to my old apple phone. The processing speed and loading apps is also so much faster. Also so much easier to load photos on and off phone compared to apple. I still love apple TV and wish samsung did a similar thing but I got this phone for a better camera and bigger storage and am absolutely impressed with both.

Date PurchasedNov 2018

No one tells you the price to fix the screen! Horrified!!

published

My phone was protected with a case and screen protector. Only 3 weeks old my phone was sadly dropped at hip height and I'm no BFG but smash! With almost tears in my eyes as I did everything to protect it and it still smashed I went to the repair shop! Here the tears let go! I was told by the repairman that the screen protectors dont work well due to curved edges and it will cost me $490 to fix. What the actual fries! NOTHING to do with the repair shops, Price set by samsung! Keep this in mind when purchasing this brand! I am now the owner of a (not a one of a kind at that price )cracked S9!

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Holly

HollySouth Perth

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good Camera, decent size

published

Bought this for my husband as he is an Android user. Decent size screen, camera takes a really clear shot. Much better than the Samsung 7 model which he upgraded from. Got the blue back on it which looks really good. No issues so far... Purchased protective casing also. Good Phone

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Ray

RayBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good handy phone a bit pricey.

published

Everything about this phone is awesome. I've got the plus version. High quality screen with a great screen size. The only problem is the price which I think is a bit high. Otherwise there is no problem with the phone. Fantastic battery life, good speed and very high quality photos.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
peterandjess

peterandjessPerth, WA

  • 12 reviews
  • 6 likes

Excellent camera, excellent screen, good storage.

published

People have been amazed at the quality of the camera, wondering if I used a mobile phone or a more serious camera. The slo-mo function is also excellent, allowing for some really fun videos of the kids jumping into the pool, fighting with foam swords etc. The form factor is good - a bit screen but not too big to fit in your hands. The dedicated Bixby button is slightly annoying at first, and I haven't used the Bixby function, but you can turn it off so it's not really an issue. The fingerprint scanner is sensibly located on the back of the phone. Overall it's a great phone.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Page 1 of 2
See all Samsung Galaxy S9 reviews

Questions & Answers

Robyn

Robynasked

Galaxy S9 256GB (2018)

I've just updated to an S9 - is there some way of showing that I have a message or missed a phone call? If I don't hear a message come in there is no indication on the screen like there was on all my other phones - they used to show a small number in the corner of the app on the screen

2 answers
Ash
Ash

Check in setting if you have the notifications set on, they might not be, I get all the notifications from missed calls and texts but i also went through all the settings and changed them all to how I like them.

Samsung
PhilSamsung

Hi there, thanks for your question!

There are a few ways you can check if you have missed calls, messages or notifications.

Firstly, if you have your Always On feature enabled you will see notification icons below the time.

(Please note if you have Battery Saver on Always On gets disabled as well as the LED indicator on the top left of the screen).

Check Settings > Notifications > Enable 'App Icon Badges' > Click into App Icon Badges and make sure under 'Badge Style' Show with number is enabled.

Then below that there is a 'Show notifications' feature which if you turn on, you can press & hold onto an app, and it'll give you a small notification preview. (Please check through the list of apps in the first page to see if the right apps are enabled).

Check Settings > Display > Enable LED indicator

Hope this helps! And remember, if Battery Saver is turned on, most of your notifications indicators will be disabled to save battery.

Philip
Samsung Australia

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Details

Compare both Samsung Galaxy S9
CategoryMobile Phones
Price (RRP) A$1,349.00
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage, Waterproof and Wireless Charging
Charging PortUSB-C
Operating SystemAndroid
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Build
Weight163 g
Colour / FinishMidnight Black, Lilac Purple, Coral Blue
Dimensions 147.7 x 68.7 x 8.5 mm
Body MaterialGlass
Display
Pixel Density570 ppi
Display TechnologyAMOLED
Screen Size 5.8"
Screen Resolution1440 x 2960 pixels
Hardware
ChipsetOcta-core 4x2.7 GHz & 4x1.8 GHz
Battery Size3,000 mAh
Internal Storage256 GB
Memory (RAM)4 GB
Camera
Max Video Resolution2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)
Rear Camera(s)12MP Wide
Front Camera(s)8 MP Wide
Release dateMar 2018
Compare both Samsung Galaxy S9

  • MPN: 1091004102 and SAMS9P256PUR
  • GTIN13: 8801643191726 and 8801643191757

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.