?
? !
4 photos
Sharp R395YS / R395YBK
2.3 from 213 reviews · View Statistics

Microwaves Buying Guide

One of life’s little conveniences, a reliable microwave easily lets you enjoy hot food and drinks at home. Whether you’re making 2-minute noodles, microwave scrambled eggs or cooking rice, a microwave is an essential everyday appliance you can quickly wonder how you ever lived without.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.2 (14)
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    3.2 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.1 (13)
  • Noise Level
    2.5 (14)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Peter V.

Peter V.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Just another unsatisfied Sharp microwave user.

published

I have read the reviews and I am another who purchased a Sharp R395 y s microwave. Stopped working after 2 to 3 years. Phoned Sharp, but received no solution to my problem.

Purchased in August 2017 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for $299.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Peter V.
Peter V.

Inferior product, lasted only 2 years. Not good enough

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Short life

published

I really liked this microwave until it failed to work, blown fuse & that was the end of it. Purchased 07/2017, short life & now goes to e-waste. First microwave 36 years old, still working using in workshop. Second microwave, another brand lasted 7 years. Manufacturers need to concentrate on quality & repairable. Would rather pay a higher price for a product with a longer life.

Purchased in July 2017 at The Good Guys for $287.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Darryl

DarrylSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

I will NEVER buy a Sharp product again.

published

Had microwave for 4 years hardly used it. Occasional heat pack warm up and some steamed vegetables. That's it !!
Repair man said it is the most expensive part to replace

Purchased in October 2016 at Bing Lee for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R395YS / R395YBK compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve2020

Steve2020Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Another disposable short term product.

published

Ours was only ever used for reheating. Never cooked in it. Unfortunately, for some reason the door and door surround decided to arc out quite dramatically. This gave my wife such a scare she immediately switched it off and unplugged it. It was well looked after with no visible corrosion or damage whatsoever. If left unattended, this could have caused a fire or worse. Contacted Sharp and emailed pictures. No response as yet.
Reported fault to the ACCC.
UNLESS Sharp replace it, we'll never buy Sharp again.
Thinking about Smeg now.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in November 2015 for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Leanne

LeanneHunter Region, NSW

Programming has changed - it doesnt cook as it should

published

We have owned a Sharp Carosel with Sensor Cook for decades. Replacing like with like as the appliance needed replacement. The latest model is a total waste of money. The sensor cook doesn't work as it should, the programming must have been changed. Everything we have attempted to cook has either been very overcooked or undercooked eg sensor cook vegetables. Another sensor programme, rice now stops a couple of minutes in, to be stirred. It used to be set & forget = perfect rice. The delay start has gone too.

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman for $299.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Annoyed

AnnoyedGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Waste of money

published

Failed after only 2.5 years,keeps blowing fuse thought additional cost and the brad name would matter, but clearly not
Outlay $280 probably should have bought Kmart brand instead
I will be contacting Sharp for refund

Purchased in July 2017 at Goodguys for $280.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ray

RayVic

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointed

published

Bought this Stainless Steel Microwave as I had previously owned a white one which was great and lasted forever, though with a new home I wanted an upgrade. Was always a bit noisy. Maybe used twice a week for a year and a half and it seemed to just blow up! Totally disappointed as hardly used and still looks brand new!

Purchased in September 2017 for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Joby P.

Joby P.Sydney, NSW

Was an excellent microwave I ever used, very happy so far but stopped all in sudden , not happy now...

published

Was an excellent microwave I used ever, very happy so far but stopped all in sudden , not happy now... after 4 years, feels like such a short time and one year warranty is not so enough for such an expensive microwave, hope sharp will do something to deal with it...

Purchased in April 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rocket

RocketSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

What A Dud but Sharp came to the party for out of warranty repairs

published

Purchased 29/6/2018 - failed just over 12 months later. Started making a terrible noise intermittently over last few weeks. Initially thought it was the turntable coming off the rollers but now evident something more serious and stopped using it. We had owned a Sharp Carousel microwave that served us well for over 10 years. I will submit a complaint to Sharp and also check if our credit card provides an extended warranty but from other reviews it appears this item is an absolute dud. Do NOT buy!

Purchased in June 2018 at The Good Guys for $193.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
3 comments
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Rocket, we are concerned to hear of your experience with this product. We would encourage you to reach out to us at ccare@sharp.net.au, referencing your review to discuss this further with our Customer Care team.

Rocket
Rocket

Thank you. We have contacted the customer service team and now have authority to take the item to the local authorised service agent. We did that today so will update the review once we know the outcome.

Rocket
Rocket
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R395YS / R395YBK compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mr Smith

Mr SmithMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Absolute rubbish

published

DO NOT BUY... Wish we could could give 0 stars. Purchased 13/4/18. Failed 29/8/19. Grand total of 16 months use. Surprise... It only has a 12 month warranty. DO NOT buy. We should not be forced into buying "Extended Warranties" for this sort of rubbish.

Purchased in April 2018 at The Good Guys for $224.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Smith, we are concerned to hear of your experience with this product. We encourage you to reach out to us at ccare@sharp.net.au, referencing your review to discuss this further with our Customer Care team.

Mr Smith
Mr Smith

What is there to discuss. Your product failed just outside a warranty. Clearly built to standard that this is expected. Never again with Sharp products. Do you intend to replace it at no cost. VERY unlikely..

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kathrin L.

Kathrin L.South East Queensland, QLD

In for repair after 3 months !!

published

After 3 months of use the turntable stopped working, Sharp do not replace but rather send off for repairs ( even thought the microwave is only 3 months old ) has been nearly 3 weeks being repaired and still have no microwave !!!
Noisy and marks with fingerprints easily - would not recommend !!

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Kathrin, we are sorry to hear about your experience. we have forwarded your details to our concerned team who will get in touch with you at the earliest.

Kathrin L.
Kathrin L.

Thank you SHARP for assisting me in this matter, I have been given a new microwave

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Janey

JaneyPort Macquarie

  • 2 reviews

Only lasted three years

published

It was bought in September 2016 and has just suddenly stopped working. It sounds and looks the same with all the lights & beeps but just not cooking anything. Three years just seems a pretty short life expectancy.

Purchased in September 2016 at Harvey Norman for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Janey, we are concerned to hear of your experience with this product. We would encourage you to reach out to ccare@sharp.net.au, referencing your review to discuss this further with our Customer Care team.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ravinder kumar

ravinder kumarSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great microwave till today

published

Hi i purchased this microwave on 30 July 2016 and it stop working today 22 July 2019 just less than 3 years. It was working great till today. This stop heating or cooking. This was a great microwave. Love it so far but not happy now. I think one year warranty ia not enough for this expensive product. I hope sharp can repair this at no cost please. Would love to buy again.

Purchased in July 2016 at 2nds World for $260.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Ravinder, we are concerned to hear of your experience with this product. We would encourage you to reach out to ccare@sharp.net.au, referencing your review to discuss this further with our Customer Care team.

ravinder kumar
ravinder kumar

Thanks sharp for repairing this product.great help and customer service

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sue B

Sue BSydney, NSW

Microwave caught on fire.

published

Purchased in February 2018 at The Good Guys.

Incentivised ReviewNo
2 comments
Sue B
Sue B

Waiting 4 days now with a microwave we can't use.

Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Sue, we are concerned to hear of your experience with this product. We would encourage you to reach out to ccare@sharp.net.au, referencing your review to discuss this further with our Customer Care team.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great until it wasn't!

published

Purchased in February 2015 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Jess, we are concerned to hear of your experience with this product. We would encourage you to reach out to ccare@sharp.net.au, referencing your review to discuss this further with our Customer Care team.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R395YS / R395YBK compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Davey

DaveySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Okay for a while

published

Purchased 2014 and has done a reasonable job. Two days ago arced and has a large burn mark. Was told by Sharp to take to local agent for assessment. Took microwave in, agent opened door and said he would have to have a closer inspection before telling Sharp what the problem was and if they would ok it to be fixed. He then told me if Sharp decided not to fix it it would cost me $154 for the inspection. Not happy so will not buy Sharp again.

Purchased in March 2014 at The Good Guys Physical store for $242.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tony Q

Tony QSydney, NSW

Turntable stopped working and microwave no longer heating

published

Our Sharp microwave is just over 5 years old and has suddenly stopped working. Turntable stopped working and microwave no longer heating and display does not revert to "Cooling" at end of the selected timer period. The microwave played up a few weeks ago and was not working properly but after turning it off at the mains power plug and restarting it worked ok. Last night and again today we have turned off and unplugged the power plug and attempted to heat half a cup of water for 20 seconds then a further 50 seconds, the turntable did not rotate and the water remained tepid. Can it be repaired or will this cost almost as much as a new microwave?

Purchased in July 2012 for $234.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Tony Q
Tony Q
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Margaret

MargaretSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Very dissapointed

published

Purchased from Harvey Norman yesterday a new microwave. Took it home, plugged it in, not working. Travelled another 35mins to return it from Montville to Maroochydore, the m/w was replaced, no problems with an apology. All good and working. Today I selected a recipe from the manual, moist carrot cake, followed the recipe to a T. When it was finished, half of the door is "fogged out". Rang Customer service, was told this was normal because of the high moisture content. "Just keep the door open for 1 to 2 hours".......WHAT......... Have always had Sharp Carousel M/W, not happy with this new one

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Riju

RijuCanberra

  • 2 reviews

Really cool

published

Bought this from good guys in Fyshwick we were looking for a good new microwave and the technology used in the sharp modeling is inverter technology which aids in even cooking of the food say if you are cooking meat or rice it can cause even heating and good texture the colour and look of the model is also great

Date PurchasedSept 2018
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Riju, Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We will pass this on to our product team.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
BJB

BJBBannockburn

Fire Hazard

published
Date PurchasedSept 2016
2 comments
BJB
BJB
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi BJB, thank you for your time in providing feedback. We will pass the issue on to our product team for their review. If you still need any assistance, please feel free to contact us.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 11

Questions & Answers

Lydell

Lydellasked

R395YS / R395YBK

can you please tell me where I can purchase a new waveguide for this model

No answers
surinder s.

surinder s.asked

R395YS / R395YBK

Surinder
I had Sharp oven for 8 years before I bought today Sharp 1200W inverter sensor oven from Good Guys. I am disappointed by fan cooling which was not there in my previous oven and am scared to read many negative comments and life less than 2 years. Where is company reputation. Why is this function in new ovens and why ovens stop to function so early.

1 answer
Colin S.
Colin S.

Our Sharp 1200W inverter sensor has just expired after 6 years of steady use. On removing it from the cavity where it sits I found the microwave cabinet quite hot. At the rear of the unit there was dust/debri blocking the mesh inlet for the cooling fan inside the back. The space in which the microwave is expected to 'look nice' is not ventilated and my assumption is that the magnetron has overheated and is 'cooked'. I will now fit a ventilator fan in the back of the cavity to send cool air to the rear of the microwave, and will be removing and cleaning the back of it more often. I could replace the magnetron and ceramic fuse in minutes, but overenthusiastic family went on line and bought a Samsung unit without telling me. So, I guess this excellent appliance will be scrapped. Not Sharp's fault. The space where it fits has no air flow. You need good air flow around these appliances if you want trouble free use.

Jan

Janasked

R395YS (Stainless Steel)

Where is the fuse located

1 answer
Colin S.
Colin S.

Inside cabinet, on top near the back. It is a 10 amp ceramic fast burn fuse. If it is gone, perhaps the magnetron has overheated and died. The appliance needs cool air behind it. There is a fan at the rear which sucks air in and blows it over the magnetron.

See all Sharp R395YS / R395YBK questions

Get an answer from our members and Sharp representatives

Sharp R395YS / R395YBK

Details

Compare both Sharp R395YS / R395YBK
Sharp R395YS (Stainless Steel)
  • Discontinued

Sharp R395YS (Stainless Steel)

2.2
(163)
CategoryMicrowavesMicrowaves
Price (RRP) $369.00$419.00
Type ConventionalConventional
FeaturesChild Safety Lock, Inverter and Sensor CookingChild Safety Lock, Inverter and Sensor Cooking
Dimensions 310 x 520 x 442 mm310 x 520 x 442 mm
Turntable Diameter320 mm329 mm
Colour / FinishStainless SteelBlack Stainless Steel
Power1,200 W1,200 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)
Release dateSept 2011Jan 2012
Compare both Sharp R395YS / R395YBK

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.