??!
20 photos
Smeg Retro Style 256L Top Mount (FAB28 Series)
2.3 from 14 reviews

Reviews

2.3

14 reviews
5
(1)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(7)
    Previous
    Next

    Loud cracks and pops

    published

    Ok, this fridge looks amazing, I don't have it long, 4 weeks maybe but it's good on the inside too. However, It has been making the loud cracking noises others have mentioned and this worries me. The fridge was not cheap, so i really hope there's nothing wrong with it but at the same time, the noises are actually very loud

    Date PurchasedMay 2008
    Lina

    LinaSydney, NSW

    • 3 reviews
    • 1 like

    Ticking loud noise from the back of the fridge

    published

    I bought my Smeg FAB28 just 3 weeks ago. Few days ago, all of the sudden it got this ticking and clicking loud noise coming from the back of the fridge when the compressor is on. I have checked the user manual handbook of possibilities of noise but it doesn’t seem to be the one that cause the problem. Please advise.

    Date PurchasedMay 2018
    2 comments
    Smeg
    Steve C.Smeg
    Lina
    Lina

    Thanks Steve. Will do

    Steph

    StephHobart, TAS

    Loud cracking noises

    published

    In the last month my FAB has started making LOUD cracking noises. Enough to make me jump each time. The fridge seems to run warm and the the freezer is quick to ice up. But I love the look of it, just not functioning as well as my last fridge

    Date PurchasedJun 2017
    1 comment
    Smeg
    Steve C.Smeg
    Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

    Find out how Smeg Retro Style 256L Top Mount (FAB28 Series) compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Freddie

    Freddie

    • 5 reviews
    • 1 like

    beautiful, not perfect

    published

    such a pretty thing, but functionality wise not optimal. the freezer is very small, and the fridge it self has proved to be quite unreliable. The plastic compartments inside are not of the kind of quality it is fair to expect of an expensive fridge. However, it looks great, and i do not regret the purchase

    Date PurchasedJul 2013
    Tasha

    TashaPerth

    • 2 reviews

    Funky but freezer section tiny

    published

    This is all about aesthetic. Looks super cool, but funtion wise isn't fab. Freezer box is small, but to be fair with such a cool looking fridge who cares about that ! I love mine and will probably upgrade to different colours every few years to keep the kitchen look fresh

    Date PurchasedFeb 2017

    Very disappointed

    published
    Date PurchasedAug 2010
    Babs

    BabsQueensland, 4870

    • 6 reviews
    • 5 likes

    Was on my Wishlist for Years ... purchased as my Retirement Present ... Stress of Complaining Husb

    published
    Date PurchasedSep 2014
    3 comments
    Smeg
    Steve C.Smeg
    Babs
    Babs

    Will do .Thank You .
    Babs

    Babs
    Babs
    pam

    pamAdelaide

    Dissapointed they can't make a beautiful fridge functional

    published

    Despite knowing that this fridge was not self-defrosting I bought it anyway as I loved the retro styling. I now realise this was the wrong decision. The freezer is tiny & frost builds up quickly. In my frustration I decided to defrost with a chisel [totally dumb of me] & made a tiny hole in the freezer [it's plastic lining]. I have been told the whole fridge is completely unrepairable, which sounds ridiculous, but true. I was at my wits end as this fridge was not cheap! I bought a westinghouse instead & it's so much better even though it's still small - it has all the mod cons you would expect from a brand new fridge like self-defrosting, a proper crisper and an ice maker. Those details, I now realise are very important to me.

    Beautiful retro look, but full of faults

    published

    My new Smeg fridge was replaced, as the door seal was faulty and left a gap at the top of the door, preventing fridge from keeping contents at correct temperature. The replacement fridge has the same problem with the seal. Butter placed in the top compartment melted and dripped through the fridge. I was told that Smeg fridges are designed to have a gap in the door seal, otherwise it would be too difficult to open the fridge door. Other fault - the light does not go off when the door is closed - the light can be seen through the gap in the door seal, and the door squeaks when being opened or closed. I am disappointed to find these faults, as had thought Smeg fridges were meant to be of a high standard?

    Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

    Find out how Smeg Retro Style 256L Top Mount (FAB28 Series) compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all

    Lovely to look at but cannot be repaired!

    published

    My fridge of this model looks beautiful but has a sick heart. I have had it now for 4 years, after a year it started to freeze up. Now it only freezes the freezer compartment th rest of the fridge just fills with condensation. The technician said it will cost $1000 to repair 'probably a gas issue' and that he could not guarantee that it would work after that. It's a shame!

    1 comment
    Smeg
    Steve C.Smeg
    Justine F

    Justine Fsan rafael

    Looks great but doesn't work!

    published
    EE Thomas

    EE ThomasMelbourne

    • 3 reviews
    • 1 like

    Good looking, but incompetent

    published
    wistow_druid

    wistow_druid

    • 12 reviews
    • 3 likes

    I love my Smeg Fab 28's...both of them!

    published

    Whilst the FAB28 is not the most practical refrigerator in terms of capacity or ease of storage, I still love my two pink fridges! They have given me no trouble so far, they refrigerate and freeze food perfectly and they add a wow factor to my kitchen! The wow factor compensates for any little inconveniences!
    If a food item accidently comes in contact with the back wall of the fridge, it does not freeze it solid as happens with some other brands. Eye candy...I love the colour and the retro shape!
    The doors squeak when opened if there is weight in them! They are incredibly expensive!

    Gerry

    GerryMelbourne

    Very Poor

    published

    Continual problems with freezer. Ice builds up very quickly on door so constantly defrosting. The plastic covers over cheese etc break very easily. Performs basically for what is a reputed high quality brand. Would not recommend this fridge in any shape or form. LIke having a crank handle on a porsche.
    Looks good
    Function poor

    Questions & Answers

    Jerlyn Tan

    Jerlyn Tanasked

    Retro Style 256L Top Mount (FAB28 Series)

    My Smeg retro style 256L (Fab28 series) was received last week. The door is Super hard to open. And now it gives our very loud noise from the back of the fridge. Not sure if the super heavy door is normal or the loud noise from the back is normal too. Can someone pls help to advise?

    3 answers
    Smeg
    Steve C.Smeg

    Dear Jerlyn, I am the National l Service Manager for Smeg and I would like to assist with this problem, could you please email me direct at steve.cullen@smeg.com.au with your address, contact details and also scan me a photograph of the rating plate from inside the appliance. Once I have this information I will be in a position to ascertain what to do to fix these problems. Regards, Steve Cullen

    Steph
    Steph

    Hi Jerlyn, the door will ease with use. I'm thinking the seals are new. Loud noise from back of the fridge not so good. Having the service manager on board is a bonus

    Jerlyn Tan
    Jerlyn Tan

    How or where do I get the service manager to assess the fridge?

    Gigi

    Gigiasked

    Retro Style 256L Top Mount (FAB28 Series)

    Hi there, I am considering this fridge (mainly for aesthetic reasons, as this review site does not give me any certainty that this will be a product worth buying for the long term). Have any of the issues related to these fridges been remedied in the latest model?

    1 answer
    Steph
    Steph

    Hi Gigi, I too fell in love with the aesthetics and it is sad to say this purchase has not been a good journey. I had to mess around and return the first one because of loud clunking (enough to make you jump) and the freezer is way too small. If it is for looks only and to store wine and a couple of ice cubes fine. Perhaps the latest model has rectified the issues I had but for the same $ you can now buy far more functional options. With bigger freezers. Good luck

    sue ross

    sue rossasked

    Retro Style FAB28RBV3 (256L, Black Velvet, Right door)

    Can you reverse the door?

    1 answer
    Smeg
    Steve C.Smeg

    Hi Sue,
    Yes, it is possible, but you would have to buy a new door.

    Regards,
    Smeg Tech Support

    Get an answer from our members and Smeg representatives

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.