??!
1 photo
Smeg SF640S

Smeg SF640S

3.3 from 8 reviews

I’ve maker dead after 12 months

I was quoted $300+ to repair the ice maker after 12 months of use. I’m incredibly disappointed as I thought this was a high quality item when I purchased it.
I think the ice maker should have been repaired under warranty as it had only been connected to water for 12 months before it broke down. I would think an ice maker would be expected to work for more than 12 months under any situation. Maybe it’s a Fair Trading issue??

Date PurchasedJul 2016
1 comment
Hi Anne. Thank you for your review. My name is Steve Cullen and I am the National Service and Spare Parts Manager for Smeg Australia, Our appliances have a 2 year warranty, Can you please email me direct with your full name, address and a contact telephone number along with the name of the Smeg Repairer who replaced the ice maker. My email address is Steve.cullen@smeg.com.au. Once I have this information I will be in direct contact with you to discuss this matter. Regards, Steve.

Shame about the ice despenser

My fridge is just 7 months old - it was the only fridge that would fit my kitchen opening which was built around a large Maytag. I'm happy that the Smeg is big and roomy in the fridge compartment - great for platters. It keeps everything cold. I like to use the top shelf just for wine and drinks. The fruit and vegetable crispers are really large and deep, fitting in all my purchases. I am a convert to the dairy drawer and I don't have any concern having to open two doors to access it. I also like the freezer drawer more than the Maytag side by side. BUT, from day one, the crushed ice and ice cube dispenser has been a complete disappointment, as no matter how large a glass I place there, ice splatters out missing the glass and keeps going after I remove the glass. This creates a slip danger over my timber floors, particularly as there is an elderly person living with me. We have really hot Summers here, so the ice feature is an essential. I don't know if this requires tweeking, but I see this is a flaw reported by another reviewer. Such a shame for this otherwise great fridge, which I would have given 5 stars.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

This would be perfect if it worked

I actually really like this fridge design but the first one we received didn't work at all and now the replacement has died, apparently a sensor. It is an expensive fridge. I agree with the idridley comment of the crushed ice dispenser too.
I wouldn't mind so much if it was repaired immediately still being under warranty, but repair agent very vague about when we can expect to have it repaired after two weeks of waiting to hear with no communication from them. Says the part required is somewhere between there and here but has no idea of where. We lost all our food as we did not realise until too late that it had stopped working so probably around $500 worth of food thrown away.
I am not sure that I would purchase again or recommend SMEG to anyone after our treatment. I guess I expected better for the cost of the fridge.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
2 comments
Dear Thea, I am the National l Service Manager for Smeg and I would like to assist with this problem, could you please email me direct at steve.cullen@smeg.com.au with your address, contact details and also details of the person doing the service. Once I have this information I will be in a position to ascertain what to do to fix these problems. Regards, Steve CullenHi Steve, You could contact me via thea_bowtime@bigpond.com or [number removed]I will appreciate your assistance. Regards Thea

amazing fridge

I have this fridge was ordered by Harvey Norman , very functional ....they dispose ice very good... Temperature can set very precisely..... Very quite fridge on operational..... Inside the fridge is very big ,very ample space... Look like small when you look from the outside......led light inside quite bright..... An excellent fridge.....

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Very Expensive with Fundamental Design Flaws

This was a very expensive fridge and while it appears to keep food cold, I am surprised by these fundamental design flaws:
- Impossible to use the crushed ice dispenser without spilling ice because the mechanism is too late to shut off as a glass is removed. Ice keeps falling out of the dispenser!

- The dairy storage area in the doors is too narrow to hold butter/margarine containers.

- When the front panel is locked, to stop accidental temperature adjustments, it is impossible to change the selector between water/crushed/cubed ice.
Also, I recommend that you inspect the back of the fridge before accepting delivery. Three out of three fridges had casing damage at the rear. We ended up accepting a damage allowance after rejecting two prior deliveries.

The retailer was quite good.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Smeg Beware

This fridge is great for cold water, ice cubes and crushed ice. The freezer is tight for space but is well lit. As long as the internal gas valves don't leak which renders the whole thing redundant. I have had my fridge 5 years and I now have to replace it. The freezer door had to be replaced because it had rust. All my Smeg appliances (oven, microwave) have had problems with motherboards which are over $500 to replace each.

Date PurchasedDec 2011
1 comment
Smeg replaced my side by side fridge with the nearest model now available, SR610X. I paid $1650, for delivery installation and for my old fridge taken away. It doesn't have the crushed ice option but cold water and ice are fine. The lighting is improved with large LED and there is a better use of door space.

Very good but not perfect and expensive

Everything works as it should and we have had no issues other than it delivers a shot of water when it dispenses ice which sometimes goes into the glass and sometimes down the back of the dispenser insert. SMEG confirm this cannot be fixed.
The stainless finish is easy to clean and does not show finger prints. The fridge is quiet.
We bought SMEG because of the poor reviews of Samsung and LG ice and water dispenser fridges. These quality problems were confirmed by the salesman at one big box retailer who said about LG and Samsung "I couldn't recommend any of these". The guys who delivered the SMEG said "we get a lot of returns of LG and Samsung fridges but none of the SMEG".
The SMEG web site talks of 'Italian quality standards" but this fridge is made in Korea.
This thing is huge so measure very carefully, we had to take our front gate off its hinges to get the box through.
Changing the water filter is a bit of a pain as you have to turn the water off before you remove the filter. If the tap is inaccessible behind the fridge (as our is) this means turning the water off at the mains as the fridge it too heavy to move out.
We live in the Gold Coast and there were no shops with one of these fridges to look at, Brisbane was the closest for viewing. Despite not having this fridge in stock our local RT Edwards store delivered one quickly and their install men were great.

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Excellent fridge.

I had ordered an LG door-in-door refrigerator but int was discontinued between my placing the order and taking delivery. The replacement is currently only available from limited outlets and therefore very costly (no competition between retailers means no need to discount the very high RRP) . LG have lost a customer due to this policy. Instead I bought the Smeg SF640S and I am now very pleased that I did. This fridge has heaps of room and is dead silent in operation and the controls are easy to understand and use. I was concerned that the ice-maker would be noisy but it never makes a sound-except when dispensing the ice.

Questions & Answers

seeking a french door fridge with width no greater than 860mm. Open to best brands. prefer if we dont have to plumb in. Ideas?
2 answers
This Smeg needs plumbing for the I e a d water. If you don't want I a and cool water go for a cheaper fridge without the dispensersMy experience with the Smeg continues to be satisfactory. The plumbing might sound like a bit if a big deal, but it isn't all that difficult and my plumber set it up in a few hours. I think it's worth it myself. Having ice cubes and chilled water on demand is pretty good. The Doors need a positive push to close them or the alarm goes off. This might be improved by having the fridge tilted a little more toward the back.

Details

SF640S
Price (RRP) $5,890
Dimensions 1773 x 914 x 858 mm
Energy Rating2.5 star(s)
Household Size 5+ people
FeaturesDisplay Panel, Frost Free, Ice Dispenser and Water Dispenser
Colour / Finish Stainless Steel
Handle Type External
Smart Fridge No
Shelf MaterialGlass
Number of Shelves3
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins 2
Weight159 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Capacity
Total Capacity 762 L
Fridge Capacity 512 L
Freezer Capacity 250 L
Release dateSep 2013

Visit official website - Download manual
  • GTIN13: 8017709176686

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.