??!
1 photo
Sommuto

Sommuto

King, Queen, Single, etc...
4.2 from 47 reviews

Mattresses Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of mattress would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

4.2

47 reviews
5
(37)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(9)
Previous
Next
Martin W.

Martin W.Illawarra, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Sommuto Service Awful

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Australian Golf Online Online store for A$1,149.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues Yes
Caused Discomfort No
See all answers
Milly

MillyPerth

  • 2 reviews

Disappointed by Sommuto's service

published

We ordered this mattress because of its awesome reviews and we're sure they are all warranted. However, we never got to experience its awesomeness, because a week after we paid for it, Sommuto suddenly refunded our money because TNT wouldn't deliver it. Why would you not use another courier or at the point of payment tell us that the delivery would not be possible and not take our money? We also had problems talking to someone online....as in they would invite us to ask a question and when we did they didn't respond??? To be honest we wouldn't be so grumpy if we didn't have family coming tomorrow, because someone will be sleeping on the couch! Come on Sommuto you can do better than this!

Purchased in September 2019.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodI never got used to it!
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues Yes
See all answers
Peter C.

Peter C.

  • 2 reviews

Free delivery if it suits us

published

After ordering (& paying) for a Kingsize mattress, Sommuto advised that they were not prepared to offer free delivery as advertised. We live less than an hour from Perth. Extremely happy with competitors (Koala) mattress which was delivered without fuss within 48 hours.

Purchased in August 2019.

Customer Service
Mattresses

Find out how Sommuto compares to other Mattresses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kate

KateSouth East Queensland, QLD

Absolutely appalling customer service, terrible mattress!

published

Do not buy from Sommuto! The mattress is incredibly uncomfortable, it apparently suits side sleepers, this could not be further from the truth. I'm light, My husband is heavy and we both ended up with hip and shoulder issues after trying the mattress for several weeks. We tried to return it but they NEVER answer their phone (goes to voicemail) or reply to emails. Finally got them to collect the mattress after threatening to go to the dept. of fair trading but after over 2 weeks have still not received our refund. Absolutely appalling company to deal with. I regret ever trying out Sommuto, terrible product, non existent service.

Purchased in June 2019 for A$950.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodI never got used to it!
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort Yes
Heat Retention Yes
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Very Hard
See all answers
Lily

LilyNSW, 2150

  • 65 reviews
  • 35 likes

Injured whilst sleeping - non-existent customer service

published

Purchased in April 2019 for A$949.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodI never got used to it!
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort Yes
Heat Retention Yes
Perceived Firmness Hard
See all answers

Comfy but hot, hard to return

published

I loved the feel of the mattesss, so comfy but it was just way too warm as it had significant heat retention.
Getting Sommuto to pick up the mattess and provide me a refund was a nightmare. It took a bunch of emails and countless phone messages, and over a month of waiting

Purchased in April 2018.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention Yes
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Soft
See all answers
Lucas Mullin

Lucas MullinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Product emits strong chemical fumes. Requested refund and customer support non-existent.

published

Sommuto mattress is still emitting strong chemical fume smell over a month after purchase. I am concerned about the health implications of breathing this in 8+ hours a day. Product is also much firmer than expected and not suitable.

Have completed online form, called and emailed Sommuto but zero response to refund request. Sommuto's phone number goes straight to voicemail. After sales support is non-existent, concerned that I will be unable to claim a refund via the 100 day free trial. .

Have had to raise PayPal and Bank dispute in order to have funds returned. Very disappointing and impossible to recommend.

Purchased in January 2019 for A$949.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodMonths
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention Yes
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Hard
See all answers
1 comment
Lucas Mullin
Lucas Mullin

Update. Finally got response. Apparently an "IT issue". Refund in progress.

Beth

BethMelbourne

Best mattress ever! (Side sleeper)

published

This has to be the best mattress I’ve slept on. I was waking up with constant hip, back and neck pain the last few years and now that I have a Sommuto I haven’t woken up once in pain. They are a thinner mattress so it’s not as high on my bed base as I was use to but something I can compromise for to be pain free and sleep through the entire night. Customer service was amazing too, I ordered lunch time Thursday and it arrived lunch time Friday. It’s certainly softer than the koala mattress and I think very durable considering it’s warranty and make. If you’re in need of a new mattress seriously consider the Sommuto, At least for the 100 days... I don’t think you’ll return it!

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Phil C

Phil CSydney

Comfortable Nights Sleep

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Mattresses

Find out how Sommuto compares to other Mattresses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Sleepless nights

published

I know you take a chance when you buy things on line but after reading all the reviews I thought it was worth a punt.
Delivery was prompt even to the FN Queensland
I was so excited to open my box, How wrong could I be. What I got was a rock hard bed and no sleep. I wake up every morning in pain and sadness.
Was the bed comfortable? No
Was the bed supportive? No
Deeply disappointed, stiff and tired.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Krozza

KrozzaGold Coast

GOLD!!!

published

Was extremely hesitant about purchasing online - but the money back guarantee and 100 trial was a big clincher. Not to mention the 12 monthly payments! Such an awesome deal. We already had a super supportive/comfy latex mattress, so moving to a foam mattress was, in our eyes, a bit of a risk! After an initial 3-4 days settling in period and now 100+ nights on, this mattress is soooooo good! Just the best thing I've slept in. Ultra comfort. No partner disturbance. The whole thing from service, delivery, online chat line to set up was a breeze. in my opinion, a brilliant mattress!

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
melly514

melly514

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nope

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Kazziedc

KazziedcSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Sweet Dreams still (have since bought another for daughter since the first review)

published

I've wanted a mattress like this for a long time but was put off by the risk of not being able to try before purchase. Being able to visit a showroom first gave peace of mind and the hundred day trial and charity donation option was added incentive. The positive unsolicited reviews were also helpful.

The delivery process was fast and efficient. Three nights in, I am a convert. The mattress is extremely comfortable and Sommuto made the entire process easy, nothing was too much trouble. I am sure I will purchase again.

Highly recommended.

Purchased in February 2016.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
Pauline H

Pauline HBoronia

  • 3 reviews

The most comfortable mattress we have slept on.

published

Our new mattress supports the entire length of our bodies, it is nice and cosy with out being hot. The best thing we ever bought. We love it and would recommend it to everyone.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Awful overpriced matress

published

We bought a Sommuto matress about a month ago going on so many great reviews , what a joke I don't believe one of their 5 star reviews! The matress offers no back support ,your body sinks in putting your back out of alignment. I had back pain for weeks after using this matress . Overpriced chunk of foam .

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Mattresses

Find out how Sommuto compares to other Mattresses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Much better than I thought

published

I tried the mattress first at Alexandria and I initially thought that it would be too soft. They had a Queen size in stock and I took it home that day.

It took 2 days to adjust to the new mattress. I would describe the mattress as a medium/firm feel and very supportive.

After 3 weeks I have not experienced any back pain or numbness in my arms that I was getting from my previous mattress.

I would highly recommend doing the 100 day trial of the Summuto mattress if you are unsure. I think you will be pleasantly surprised and want to keep the mattress. Hamish was very helpful with his knowledge and construction of the mattress.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Great!

published

I have found our mattress very comfortable. It is lighter to move than our old one but still has plenty of substance and support in it. I have also found almost no 'partner disturbance' with it. In all I am delighted!

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Moyra

MoyraByron

Great Mattress

published

I've had a memory foam mattress before so i didn't need to get used to it but this was as close to a tempur one you can get and for a third of the price. Incredibly comfortable and a great nights sleep. I had surgery a few months ago and my shoulder was still quite uncomfortable in the morning after sleeping on my old mattress but not anymore, it feels great.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Love it!

published

This mattress is super supportive and comfortable. Not too hard and not too soft.

My partner and I don't disrupt each other as often anymore and the texture feels nice and cool on hot nights even with mattress protector in between.

The design makes it really clean too compared to traditional mattresses and less likely for dust mites to breed which was important to us having a newborn baby that we often have in our room, and on our bed. Babies can be particularly sensitive to dust mites in mattresses!

Would definitely recommend it to others.

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Cannot fault the company or the mattress

published

Who would have thought buying a mattress on the internet would be so simple and so successful. I suffer from fibromyalgia and my old spring mattress was making it even harder to sleep. The Sommuto mattress supports my body but also cocoons my body and allows my body to lay in a position comfortably. The added big bonus of the guarantee is wonderful but I don't think I'll be using it.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

JeanC123

JeanC123asked

Sommuto

How is the mattress in the heat, we live in Cairns?
Can anyone above give me feedback on how the mattresses are going?

1 answer
OZ
OZ

The mattress is very good at distributing heat. I live in a very cold area, so I can't tell you about what it's like in the heat. But it should direct heat away from your body quite nicely.

Mark P

Mark Pasked

Sommuto

Anyone know if this specific mattress ''sleeps hot''? Northern Queensland living...

1 answer
Jodie. M
Jodie. M

I love in Ipswich (40+ degrees and humid) and have just used this through summer and does not sleep hot. My body pillow was hotter than the mattress

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.