??!
4 photos
SsangYong Rexton Y200 II / Y285 II

SsangYong Rexton Y200 II / Y285 II (2006-2012)

SX, RX270 XVT SPR, RX270 Limited, etc...
3.8 from 46 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.8

46 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (4)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (4)
  • Braking
    4.0 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (4)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (4)
  • Handling
    3.8 (4)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (4)
  • Features
    4.3 (4)
Previous
Next
downunderdaz

downunderdazSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

I'm so glad SsangYong is back in Australia, they are Great Cars !

published

Purchased in July 2019 for A$5,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Ted

Ted

  • 22 reviews
  • 41 likes

Miss it a lot

published

Purchased in November 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Murrumbung2

Murrumbung2Bairnsdale

Over 90 cars, and finally found the best

published
BadgeSX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Drive4WD
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how SsangYong Rexton Y200 II / Y285 II compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
bob

bobHervey Bay , Qld ,Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Very good vehicle.

published

Usually only two people ride in our vehicle, but twice a year on holidays we have seven riding well, used for general family use, shopping, outings, holidays, would be driven three times a week at least, wonderful to ride in, driving is excellent, reasonably cheap to own and run, nice quiet 4WD.

BadgeRX270 Limited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2006
pcraig8100

pcraig8100Mandurah, Western Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Hello Mr Ssangyong (Double Dragon)

published

After many Rexton's, I have now designed the best Rexton for you!! SPR with the independent rear end with a Dobbinson lift kit, the Mistsi Turbo 2700cc 5 cylinder and with 5/6 speed manual or with the new 8 speed Merc Auto transmission. Yes and do a dual cab with a 1000 kg back end. You will sell a shed load, all very reliable and great fuel economy. The biggest problem with SsangYong Australia was you did not believe in your own product. Dirt poor after sales service!!

BadgeRX270 XVT SPR
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
pcraig8100

pcraig8100Mandurah, Western Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Drove the rest and bought New Rexton

published
BadgeSX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
not happy jan

not happy janGippsland, VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Showed early promise BUT,

published
BadgeRX270 XVT SPR
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Peter

PeterIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great performer and very under rated

published
BadgeSX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016

A perfect towing vehicle

published

I bought the vehicle to replace an elderly Jeep. I use it almost exclusively for towing my 1300 kg caravan around the State and it really is the perfect choice. It is the first diesel I have ever owned and I still find the smoothness, comfort and quietness when travelling at 100 km/hour very impressive. So far nothing has misbehaved and it pulls the caravan without effort.
The cost was a fraction of what I would have paid for the competition and I was able to find a 2007 manual example! With only 135,000 km currently on the clock, I hope to keep it for a long while.

BadgeRX270 Sports
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how SsangYong Rexton Y200 II / Y285 II compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

The allmost perfect car. Great buy

published
BadgeRX270 Xdi AWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012
Emir

EmirSarajevo

Just an underdog that is a real gem inside

published
BadgeRX270 XVT SPR
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2013
not happy jan

not happy janGippsland, VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great value for money

published
ray

raycorowa nsw

spear tyre

published

if you were to get a puncture were do you stow the flat tyre when in side of rexton is full and it don't fit under car ????reliability great 7.5 lts to 100klm. performance great 5 speed auto very good I had a 6 speed auto actyon ute was always changing gear.interior good

Badgewould buy again my 3rd ssangyong
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Has to be taken to main dealer if problems

published

Bad handling sloppy very deer parts not for your ordinary mechanic as engine lfault light is on more times than out and this means no power and change this and that. And still after awhile light is on again had no problem at under 10000 kl after this milage fingers crossed.

BadgeRX270 Limited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2006

Do Not Buy

published
BadgeRX270
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how SsangYong Rexton Y200 II / Y285 II compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Bit the bullet and im not looking back

published
BadgeSX
TransmissionAutomatic
Meca

MecaBribane

I hav e the rx270xdi desiel have travelled across the Nullabor twice once towing a 2 ton trailer wi

published

Driving experience is good.
When it's working it,s quite good BUT if you have a problem one comment was But it,s not a Mercedes (only the charges are)It is such a great car the service costs and lack of back up service really makes the car something to avoid.had a tempreture problemI woul have driven 30 km and all of a sudden it would skyrocket. The next day it didn't play up . Same road sameday tempreture

BadgeRX270 Sports
TransmissionAutomatic
dennis wells

dennis wellscoominya qld

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

. Never again..

published

Performance on the low side.
Handles like a rocking chair
Noise reasonable
Finish is acceptable.
Interior is acceptable.
Reliability is good for travel to the corner shop. Running costs OK..
The vehicle is reasonable but the Service supplied by the Importers with Roadside call centre is hopeless they have no idea whatsovever. Availability of Spare Parts and price for same are shockers so make sure you dont breakdown too far away from home. Oh by the way forget the warranty and I think the National Service Manager is rude arrogant and indifferent.

BadgeRX270
TransmissionManual

Not a bad car. Just some slight issues.

published

Hey, I think my engine power relay needs to be replaced. My SsangYong over heats to the top of the red and the engine light comes on. It only does it every so often though. I was just wondering how much it costs to get replaced? And where the best mechanic for SsangYong's in Brisbane is to get it done? Thanks Heaps.

BadgeRX270 Limited
TransmissionAutomatic

Awesome vehicle

published
BadgeSsanyong Rexton W
TransmissionAutomatic
Page 1 of 3
See all SsangYong Rexton reviews

Questions & Answers

Danny D.

Danny D.asked

Rexton Y200 II / Y285 II (2006-2012)

Hi, i have a 2007 Rexton II and the rear end is totally unstable while driving. Feels like the back is trying to overtake. Or suddenly wobbleing around. I changed the schocks, the tires, springs but it still does it. Any clues?

2 answers
phil
phil

Reads radius arm bushes worn

Danny D.
Danny D.

Okay, will replace them. I thought about the wheel speed sensor as well, that there is something with that thing too.
With those radius arm bushes....can this be really that violent? I tried it yesterday and accelerated to 120km/h....and it was okay.....continued up to 130km/h with a very smooth lane change....suddenly the back started rocking (do not know which word to use for it......the car started shaking from left to right, like someone was trying to tip it over)...as soon as i slowed down it disapeared.

Daniel O.

Daniel O.asked

Rexton Y200 II / Y285 II RX270 Automatic (2008-2012)

David, my rexton engine is not starting, when never I tend the key on ,I see the lock key sign on . What could be the problem? Can the diesel filter cause that?

1 answer
Mark3232
Mark3232

If the lock key sign is on, then the transmitter in your key is either missing or has been wiped. You will need to get it to a dealer and get the key reprogrammed. If you have a spare key, try using that.

Greg

Gregasked

Rexton Y200 II / Y285 II (2006-2012)

Hi. Appreciate your advice. My 2009 Rexton Diesel lacks fast excelleration power. It drives through the gears ok. Mechanic said that the DPF is blocked & a good run on the freeway for 39 min should fix the problem Well an hour later of freeway driving, the problem is still there. No too confident with my Mechanic as he lacks make/model experience. Your comments please. Regards Greg

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 11 SsangYong Rexton
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
TransmissionAutomaticManualAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels16" Alloy16" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
Doors5555
Seats77
Fuel Consumption9 L/100km9.1 L/100km10.2 L/100km9.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 80 L80 L80 L80 L
Engine5 Cylinder 2.7L5 Cylinder 2.7L5 Cylinder 2.7L5 Cylinder 2.7L
Max Power121kW @ 4000rpm121kW @ 4000rpm121kW @ 4000rpm121kW @ 4000rpm
Max Torque340Nm @ 2400rpm340Nm @ 2400rpm340Nm @ 2400rpm340Nm @ 2400rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,300 kg2,300 kg2,300 kg2,300 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2008Jan 2008Jan 2006Jan 2006
Discontinuation dateDec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2008Dec 2008
Compare all 11 SsangYong Rexton

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.