??!
4 photos
SsangYong Stavic

SsangYong Stavic (2005-2015)

A100.I / A100 Euro IV, A100.II
4.4 from 50 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.4

50 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.3 (4)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (4)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (4)
  • Braking
    4.2 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (5)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.6 (5)
  • Handling
    4.2 (5)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (4)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (5)
  • Features
    3.6 (5)
Previous
Next
Raymond2803

Raymond2803South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

A value for money people mover

published

2015 model with upgraded steering wheel, purchased 14 months ago with 42000 on the clock, cloth trim for $13,500. Driving very smooth, huge room for passengers and loads, quieter than I thought. Fuel economical, Value for money. When bought, one of the rear cup holder racks and two of aircon outlet grills broken, fixed by dealer as still in the warranty(it was first time sold in 2017). Good warranty service from dealer!

Only problem is one of the rear Kumho tyre(factory one) was out of shape, resulting the whole vehicle rattle. I have heard Kumho's bad name for over ratio of recycled rubber. Now just have the experience by myself. Also same as other review, paint on door handle and other trim easy to be off. Not a big issue.

Purchased in August 2019 for $13,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Peter B

Peter BPeel, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 15 likes

Great vehicle

published

Purchased in January 2020 for $16,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Banyek

BanyekWestern Australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

Better than it looks

published

Purchased for $3,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how SsangYong Stavic compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Aah K.

Aah K.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

Not enough Os in Smooooth or Ooomph to describe this car

published

I bought this 2014 Stavic as a personnel transporter with heavy use each weekend in free flowing city traffic with lots of steep hills and roundabouts.

It had 70,000 km on it and I have put 30,000 km on in 6 months.

The stand outs for me are that is such a smooth car... to accelerate, to brake and drive around town, the fuel economy is great at 9.5 L per 100km (lots of steep hills) in town and on the highway it drops as low as 7 L per 100km, the people I transport LOVE the interior arrangement AND the service people always comment on how little wear it exhibits.

I have lots of big hills to traverse and it takes the hills with the same (apparent) ease whether there are 7 people together with luggage and a trailer attached, or just me.

Purchased at Private for $11,000.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Mr

published

My mechanic said that they have disc brake problems after 100000ks .We have 50000 KS no problem I have had problems with the rear tyres seperating (kumo solas) the only thing I can complain about. My stavic gets good economy and drives great very happy to. I had a ssangyong for actrong sports 120000ks no problems

BadgeXxxxxx
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
DriveRWD
Had

HadSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Completley Amazed. Unexpectedly good.

published

I'm in the motor trade (as a dealer) and got this car as a trade in and expected it to be complete garbage. I drove it and then kept it for my own family use and have been completely amazed at how good a family car this is. Seems to get quite good fuel economy heaps of room, and is the only 7 seater I can name that actually has useable luggage space with all 7 seats in use. It almost has as much space as a Pajero with 5 seats in use.

So its good, real good. To my complete surprise.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveRWD
taxane

taxaneGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Exceptional

published
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
DriveFWD
Simon in 't Hout.

Simon in 't Hout.Lovely banks. 3213

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

A Real Surprise Purchase.

published
BadgeSPR
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Paul

PaulMelbourne

Looking for a used car - less than 150,000km, Seven Seater under $15,000.

published
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
7 comments
Paul
Paul
Paul
Paul
Paul
Paul
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how SsangYong Stavic compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Amod B

Amod BSydney

A very nice, dutiful and economical car

published
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Good Car

published

Have owned my stavic since new(2013), best value for my money. I love this car. Good space and my big family travels in comfort ( not squished) whilst there is respectable boot space. Very good car to run.

Ssangyong should keep improving the interior (plastics) ,incl the sound system (more powerful speakers)

BadgeSPR
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2013
Sparky

SparkyAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome car

published

Great car for the price. Minus a little trouble from the diff, needing a replacement under warranty, it's smooth to drive. A little slow on the uptake compared to the Triton, but hey fill it with kids and there's no rush. A maroon interior would be nice, but the grey is sufficient. I am having issues with the airbag light, due to get fixed for the third time under warranty, however. Heaps of boot space. Bluetooth works great. Maybe one day they will bring in the 9 seated version. 4wd too??.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Ed of Parra

Ed of ParraSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

Exceeded my expectations

published
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Ed of Parra
Ed of Parra

Nice car but the warranty sucks!

published

I like the Stavic, the service costs are very high, and the warranty is terrible. The minivan has a decent engine, lots of room, but feels very cheap. Two plastic parts inside the centre console broke during normal use. ParramattaAutoCentre refused to fix under their warranty or ACL. $345 Unhappy!

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Carless

CarlessAdelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

I loved this car ...... Until

published
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how SsangYong Stavic compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
adisa

adisa

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent car

published

The car is excellent and runs well. It is also quite economical on fuel - does Canberra to Melbourne (650km) with three-quarter tank. And for sub 30K price, you can't go wrong.
Got to be careful with dealers though. The one in Canberra quoted more than twice the normal price to replace brake pad and rotor during service at odometer reading of 55000. Protested and called Ssangyong directly and was told to seek a second opinion. I ended up paying less than half the dealer's price.

BadgeSPR
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2013

Early days but good so far

published

Quiet and comfortable on highway for 7-8 lts/100 kms. Surprisingly powerful. So far reliable (purchased with 33k, now 47k). As per other posts, has great interior room and tows well. Some cheap items such as rear wiper switch on dash rather than stalk, and aircon/ventilation system is confusing, but overall fantastic value for money. Bigger test will be reliability over long term. Also the local dealer is awful so have had to service elsewhere. But i agree with others, with better marketing, these would sell in far greater numbers. Best thing is to test drive and see for yourself. You too will be pleasantly surprised as it will exceed your expectations given its price.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
1 comment
Francis
Francis

Jan 19, car now has 75k but is stuck at the dealer awaiting a part which i have been told will take 1 month. So a good car but beware parts availability and quality of dealer service.

Jmc

JmcPerth

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Towing

published

I have just had a requirement to tow a 6 x 4 trailer loaded with chipboard completely filling the trailer. The Stavic never even noticed the load.This vehicle continues to impress. I have just past 6000 kms. Still early days but I definitely recommend this 7 seat vehicle fuel economy has been 12 Kls. per lt. in a city 100/200 country drive.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Michael_Duggan

Michael_DugganPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Affordable practicality!

published
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
StavicOwner

StavicOwnerToowoomba

Love it.

published
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Markus D

Markus Dasked

Stavic (2005-2015)

Hi can anyone please point me in the direction of service schedule for 2015 ssangyong Stavic? I need to know what gets serviced every 15000kms. Many thanks in advance.

No answers
Glen

Glenasked

Stavic (2005-2015)

Ssangyong stavic 2014 all the brake lights and the lowbeam headlights not working. Fuses look ok

2 answers
Banyek
Banyek

Did you tow a trailer?

Glen
Glen

No

Addin M.

Addin M.asked

Stavic (2005-2015)

My SsangYong Stavic 2013's Turbo won't spin, I haven't done much to fix it. Anyone can give me some ideas on how to overcome this problem? Thank you..

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 7 SsangYong Stavic (2005-2015)
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Release dateJan 2009Jan 2009Jan 2005Jan 2005
Discontinuation dateDec 2015Dec 2015Dec 2007Dec 2008
Compare all 7 SsangYong Stavic (2005-2015)

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.