??!
1 photo
St George Car finance

St George Car finance

1.3 from 34 reviews

Reviews

(2)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(31)
  • Transparency
    1.8 (9)
  • Customer Service
    1.8 (12)
  • Loan TypeFixed Rate (7) · Variable Rate (3)
  • Application Process
    2.8 (13)
  • Timeliness
    2.6 (11)
  • Loan Term5.857 years (7)
Chantiss Tarquin K.

Chantiss Tarquin K.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Thank you Locklon from St.George your HELP.

published

Thank you Locklon from St.George your HELP and kindness and understanding was GREAT :-)I'm very happy with my outcome..God bless 10/10 for ur help today..the phone cut off when we said bye so I'm posting this.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
See all answers
Damian

DamianSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified customer

Hidden Fee's in everything

published

Ok first they use the car companies for getting your business, the car company asks for a deposit, they only tell you the interest rate not the comparison rate and they prey on those that think their credit is not good enough by offering long loans with very high comparison rate, they sting you with loads of fees that make no sense, only that they make a large profit from it, $1000 for the loan itself and then $1500 if you try to exit the loan early, beware this dodgy company.

Application Process
Timeliness
Loan Start DateNovember 2018
Car ModelHonda Civic
See all answers
Terry J.

Terry J.South East Queensland, QLD

Unprofessional institution

published

Do not deal with this finance company, there online system is a joke, the call center keeps you hanging on for 30 minutes before someone answers. Interest rates are daylight robbery! My vehicle has $58.00 owing on it currently as I always paid in an extra amount but the contract finalizes in April. They want to sting me an extra $150.00 for settlement instead of allowing me to settle the small amount owing. Terrible company with arrogant staff! Never again!

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan Start DateApril 2012
Car ModelHonda Civic
See all answers
Car Loans

Find out how St George Car finance compares to other Car Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brett

BrettMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Just...DON'T!

published

Just...DON'T. There are far better lenders and offers out there. Don't be pushed by the car yards into purchasing a vehicle financed by them. Never seen anything like it and any systems and service is almost non existent. A dinosaur of a bank that will be gone soon.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
See all answers

They will rip you off

published

We got finance for a brand new car we began paying on the week they said and we pay like $20 extra a fortnight and when we had our first service due right on Xmas we rang to see how much in advance we were only to be told we are $76 in arrears because we pay on the wrong week like seriously WTH would not recommend them

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
See all answers
Fiona

Fiona

  • 2 reviews

Absolute scam artists

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan Start DateJanuary 2015
See all answers

Debt Slavery

published

My words of wisdom is that always pay cash upfront for a car and for the whole amount never take out a car loan. I have made such an idiotic mistake getting a car and that thru St George. Can't wait to pay of this toxic loan with st George and be debt free finally!!! My loan is underwater because I rolled negative equity from my previous car loan...even if I was to sell the car it won't be enough to clear the loan. So to maje this review short don't get a car loan its goung to be the most stupid financial decision you are going to make!!!!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Car ModelMazda CX-3 DK
See all answers
Lyndsey

LyndseyPerth, WA

Would give 0 star if I could!

published

An absolute joke of a finance company! I have been trying to refinance with St George for a lower interest rate for almost 3 weeks. Never returns emails or calls! Disgusting customer service and their online portal is a joke.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan Start DateAugust 2017
See all answers
Peterm

PetermPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews

Similar sentiment to below comments

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
See all answers
Car Loans

Find out how St George Car finance compares to other Car Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David

DavidSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Terrible

published

After a year of paying off a 2 year loan my car loan I had hardly moved the dial. Not even selling the car would pay off the debt. They don’t care about you, only your money.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
See all answers
Browny

BrownySouth East Queensland, QLD

Rip off merchants

published

Never again will we be using st George again.
Never got any kind of statements always had to call them for balances.
Payed loan off early then to be told by st George we owe $436 to close account.
Total rip off merchants
People look elsewhere please.

Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeFixed Rate
See all answers
MartJohn

MartJohnSouth East Queensland, QLD

We were charged obscene interest amounting to over 3 K when we took out a pay no repayments for 1 year car loan

published

In January 2015 we purchased a new Holden Trax SUV and were enticed into a make no repayments for first year car loan with St George Automotive Finance. We had no access to any statements online or via post for that first year. We decided to sell our 2nd car in November 2015 and then pay off the Trax loan in January 2016. It was only in January 2016 that we found that we were charged obscene interest weekly over that 2015 year that amounted to over $3000.
There was no honesty in our dealings with St George Automotive Finance and if we knew that we were paying this interest during the first year, we would have looked elsewhere for a loan in the first place.

Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan Start DateJanuary 2015
Car ModelHolden Trax TJ
See all answers

They’ll tow your car away if you miss a payment

published

3 missed car payments over 6 years - instead of contacting me they towed my car away to auction off at Pickles car auction. St George did not link my new contact details so they had old details. Worst company ever to deal with. It’s illegal to tow someone’s car without leaving any details which they also didn’t do. I thought my car had been stolen. One missed payment and you’ll find your car at the auctions !!

Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeFixed Rate
See all answers
Abbie

Abbieliverpool

Would give 0 if i could - HORRIBLE

published

I will never, ever recommend this thieving company to anyone. They FORCED me into getting finance on a car threatening that if i didn't go ahead with it, they would destroy my credit file, mind you i was only a 19 year old trainee on less then $500.00 a week JUST looking at the options.
The car i received was a lemon, completely written off within a month of getting it, couldn't even drive it, No one helped me when i was paying for NOTHING. They forced me to pay hundreds per week to "settle" the loan using threats. All they do is threaten and threaten. HORRIBLE! Ill be so glad when this is done in a couple of weeks, im putting myself by giving them my entire wages for the next month to settle the loan just to be done with it.

1010

1010Darwin

Listen to these reviews - STAY AWAY

published

I got a broker to look after my loan payment, however he even missed the hidden fees.
No statements - online system is a joke
Ridiculous payout fees
Cant increase payments higher, lower, date.
The most ridged loan... Stay away-stay away- stay away!!!!!!!!!!

Car Loans

Find out how St George Car finance compares to other Car Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

DONT EVEN DESERVE 1 STAR. BY FAR THE WORST COMPANY WE HAVE EVER DEALT WITH.

published
  • Verified customer

Never Again

published

I’ve found St George to be a rip off and in partnership with the automotive dealer which did not make the agreement clear on purchase date. The rate of 14% was not shown & the surprise $5.95 admin fee per month is not a service whatsoever. Never ever ever again will I ever use this company or service.
Also I have requested to refinance the loan and extend the loan to make the repayments lower (in which they will still receive the same amount) but they won’t refinance if the loan amount is higher than the value of the car. Not user friendly and as above definitely not recommended. Bring on the way Tesla operates and sells there cars.

Horrible, worse experience ever

published

Do not recommend to any one, call centres in overseas don't know what they talk...take forever for loan never ending. Worse banking experience ever. Don't even think about st George. They really need to say sorry to me what they done.

No flexibility

published

Worst experience I have ever had! Can't change payments to weekly, you can however stop direct debits and transfer money in weekly but they won't tell you the payments as financial months vary from 4-5 weeks and if you pay too much you get slugged with an early payout fee as well.

feed up helen

feed up helen

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Ripped off

published
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Troy

Troyasked

I have been trying to get in contact with someone on your 1300 364 157 number to find out why my secured bike loan says an amount in the arrears column when there has never been a missed payment, 3 times now rang been on hold for 35 mins plus and just gets disconnected very furious at your crappy service St George have had three car loan and a bike though you bank will be looking elsewhere now

No answers
Kellie.H

Kellie.Hasked

I have finance with you for my Holden Trax car .Could I please put it on hold , I am not working at the moment.

No answers
Pepe

Pepeasked

Hi I miss a payment this week..how can I pay?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and St George representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.