??!
3 photos
Stihl FS 38

Stihl FS 38

2.8 from 86 reviews

See the Best Petrol Whipper Snippers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
22
4 star
15
3 star
5
2 star
15
1 star
29

  • Verified purchase

Definite Issue/s with some of the FS-38 units

published

Purchased in May 2015 for $165.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Product is used: Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

A great trimmer if you care for it properly and have reasonable expectations

published

Purchased in May 2014 at ACE Hardware .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Grass Type Tall grass and Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
  • Verified purchase

Don't buy the Stihl FS 38

published

After using only 3 times the FS 38 refuses to start. Stihl is of little help. I would like to get my money back, Stihl refuses, not backing their product.

Purchased in July 2019 at Home Hardware for $180.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Product is used: Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

It won't die, Tougher then nails

published

All of my trimmers I am really abusive to them, I use .105 string and I run it wide open all the time, these trimmers have rev limiters and It sees the rev limiter all the time. Cons, the carburetors are trash and they have a limited adjustment so you have to buy a new carburetor once your carburetor adjustment is maxed out, also the spark arrestor gets clogged very easy, the fix is to just remove it, but it makes the trimmer way louder but it will sound really mean, it also is kinda hard to start, but this trimmer is unstoppable and its the cheapest gas trimmer stihl makes, I'm totally amazed!

Purchased in April 2015 for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Product is used: Weekly
Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers

Peter W

Peter WHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

10 years on and going strong.

published

Don’t understand all these negative reviews. Use the proper starting procedure and you’ll have no problems. Mine has been flogged and never failed, not even a service! I’m confused, I run this thing on 2.4 line aswell. No problems. A carb rebuild kit is $15 , I just did a rebuild on a mates machine after 5 years of daily use. Runs perfect. Just a note that OLD FUEL will kill any two stroke, remember that. But these carbies are easy to clean or replace, $30 for a genuine carb. A small amount of maintenance and these things will keep on going....

Purchased in April 2006.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Product is used: Weekly
Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers

Michael B.

Michael B.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Not convinced

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Nerang for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Product is used: Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

Chinese Zama carburetor

published

Purchased in September 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used: Weekly
Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers

Taz

TazKarratha

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Easy to use

published

This brushcutter is very easy to use, not to heavy so easy to hold and very easy to start. The cutter glides through the blades and does not get clogged with clippings.

The1

The1Oakey

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great Weed Eater and Great Local Service

published

Very cheap Brushcutter, came with free fuel, extra line, cap, glass's and sales staff show you how to use it and restring the line, a lot easier than cheapie ones and better quality than even what bunnings sells for a similar price, engine is bigger too!, can't fault it, then ontop of that a 2 year warranty. Have had plenty of Stihl products in the past, can't go wrong.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Not user friendly

published

The line doesnt auto feed as stated, i dont recommend this for anyone who is 5'8 or taller it gives you a sore back in no time at all and i found it difficult to start and it seems very touchy in the throttle department. I usually use half throttle when i use a whipper snipper but it doesnt like sitting on half throttle, very aggressive.

Date PurchasedJan 2019

Great product starts easy cuts better with the thicker orange STHL line.

published
Date PurchasedSep 2018

Bob L

Bob LBrisbane

Great unit for the price

published

Have had mine for 18 months now - unlike other reviews on here i found it fairly easy to start - following the direction of the stihl shop where i purchased it - cold start - 3 pulls on choke, take it off choke, 2-3 pulls and it runs. Warm start no choke 2-3 pulls and its fine. I did have a issue of stale fuel when i left it sit over winter but a quick visit to my local and was sorted.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Regift this piece of junk pity the poor person that receives it!

published

Bought my fs38 stihl used it about 20 times, stopped running smoothly so i took it to my local stihl dealer and was told after 2 weeks that the carby was no good, new one was $90 plus labour $175, told better of to buy a new one, it certainly wont be a stihl, last stihl product i ever buy, wouldnt take one even if they were free, if it was xmas present I'd regift it !!

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Elise

EliseBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Don’t buy it

published

I have had this FS38 for two 1/2 years for an average urban block. I’ve spent twice what I paid for it on servicing because of the following problems. Won’t start easily and eventually stopped starting. Cuts out during use if it’s on an angle (apparently a carburettor problem) which is very frustrating. Have replaced carbon, we’ll see how long this one lasts. It doesn’t bump feed easily and the chassis burns my forearm where it rests against it during use. Also gives me little static electricity shocks. Hate using it. Just find it painful and time consuming and frustrating to use. Regret buying it. Will NEVER buy again.

Date PurchasedMay 2015
Pete l

Pete lSYDNEY

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worst STIHL product ever do not buy

published

Bought this FS 38 to replace the previous model that I had been using without any problems for about ten years, this one is hard to start, is cheaply made and poorly designed.
The unit is very hot to touch in the handle area or where you place your arm to control the unit.
Contacted STILH customer service on line, six months later still no reply. Crap on you STILH.
DO NOT BUY THIS ITEM.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Chinese Junk!!

published

Worked okay first 6 months. Always lost fuel whenever I turned it to trim the driveway and died constantly. Wouldn't start this spring. Stored properly through winter. Installed new carburetor and kinda worked one time and now continues to not start or stay running when it does run. Adjusted new carb many of times. Stihl is now Chinese trash!! Will never buy their products again!!

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Teacock

TeacockFairmont

Once you get it to run, Stihl wont feed string

published
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Not bad but expected better from Stihl

published

I recently purchased an FS36. It goes alright but I expected a bit better from a brand such as Stihl. Many people said to go with Stihl as they have tough equipment. Anyhow, it does the job for now but i probably would look at a different brand if i wanted to buy in future

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Very Disappointed. Big Let Down Stihl

published

I am a hard and fast Stihl user and have always sung their praises, even though the gear is expensive to buy compared to other brands. I have many Stihl chainsaws, blowers, and post hole borers etc. This machine is CRAP. NEVER STARTS.. .Big let down stihl...very disappointed. I will never buy another Stihl weedeater. ...though am a believer in most of their other products.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

CAUTION Doesn't start. Don't frustrate yourself, buy something else.

published

Within two months this unit began to act up. It would starve for fuel and be very touchy about flooding. I found the in tank gas filter was sticking up into the tank so it would basically run out of gas with half a tank. I fixed that with some patience and a pair of forceps. But starting it is still a crap shoot. It got so bad that I removed the recoil and force started it with a drill gun, just for personal satisfaction and to rev it as high as it would go until I calmed down. I have a stihl chainsaw and a backpack leaf blower that are both ancient and start great. What happened STIHL?

Date PurchasedMay 2014

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Greg H

Greg Hasked

Does a fs 86 carbie fit a fs 38

No answers

J.A.

J.A.asked

Throttle trigger wouldn't go all the way in like it should, so I took it apart and there is a spring laying in the bottom. Where does it go? And could that be the reason the throttle trigger wouldn't go all the way in?

No answers

Michael D

Michael Dasked

Line doesn't feed as well as it used to. Is it due to using line that got wet?

1 answer
Elise
Elise

no


Get an answer from our members and Stihl representatives

Details

CategoryPetrol Whipper Snippers
Price (RRP)179
Power SourcePetrol
Handle TypeLoop Handle
Weight4.1
Release dateMar 2008

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.