??!
3 photos
Stihl FS 38

Stihl FS 38

2.6 from 102 reviews

Reviews

2.6

102 reviews
5
(23)
4
(15)
3
(6)
2
(16)
1
(42)
Previous
Next
michelle

michelleSouth West, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 9 likes
  • Verified purchase

Can't use it

published

The instruction manual does not match the product so I have no idea how to load the line. It doesn't start. Upon getting help from the man in the shop he basically showed me a complete different way to start it than the manual. But I'm still having trouble. The line continuously braking and tangling and does not feed.

Purchased in July 2020 for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Tall grass and Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers

Warranty void and useless

published

Purchased in November 2018 for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
devon

devonWestern Australia

Broke after 5 weeks of use

published

Purchased in May 2020 for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 38 compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Retrofit and fix the problem

published

Dealer told me to try a FS 40 head.
Half the problem solved.
Get a " Pro Carbon CF3 " line of .095".
They will tell you it won't fit and it doesn't but a drill bit a shade bigger than the hole in the spool will fix that.
Now you have a machine that works and will actually feed the line.
Yes...you heard me right, it actually feeds trouble free.
Now you have a machine that is a pleasure to use.

Purchased in June 2016 at Rental store for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers

Hard to start and load

published

I put in the recommended fuel mixture sold by the dealer but have trouble loading and starting it. The load process is terrible and after loaded it gets stuck and doesn’t unwind , when you need more string. Painful don’t buy!

Purchased in April 2019 at Stihl Dealer for A$169.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers

Wont start!

published

Just bought yesterday .. follow the instructions provided by dealer ..totally disappointed .. bad decision ... wish i could return it . Used once only .. we buy thing for comfert not to have troubles

Purchased in June 2020 for A$169.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

Fs 38 rubbish

published

Have had a couple of stihl fs38 units and had trouble getting them to run took latest one used twice to new mechanic and was told using wrong petrol needs 95 or 98 not 85 or 91 which has ethanol in it WHY aren't we told this by STihl and salespeople

Purchased in June 2019 at Hardware Fast for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
THE TYRE MAN

THE TYRE MANFar North Queensland, QLD

Cheap chinese rubbish waist of money

published

This is the second FS38 I've had 1st one replaced now this one will not run /back fires through the carby had less that 3 hrs use still like new this is just a cheap rubbish item very disappointed stihl agent said it was only cheap , what did I want for the price this is not a quality stihl item just cheap rubbish and even the dealer agreed with me .

Purchased in August 2018 at BRASCH'S CAIRNS.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Mick

MickMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Horrible horrible and horrible.

published

Horrible machine. Starting it is a pain. The line keeps sucking in no matter what I try. It’s the most terrible terrible terrible machine. I wish my old trimmer didn’t break! They should do a product recall on these. Don’t buy. The company needs to invest in more R&D instead of advertising how good they are.
Oh! There is more: It had to be repaired a week after I purchased it. Something about a fuel line that was too short. I’m not
kidding.

Just don’t buy!

I know three others who bought this. Two dumped it. The other got a lawnmower man in as he hates it so much. I keep taking it back to the shop and begging for help.

Purchased in February 2019 for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 38 compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Worst whipper snipper around

published

Have owned my Stihl FS38 since 2016 and it has been very difficult to start since purchasing the item. I have recently changed the spark plug reset the gap (special tool required to remove the spark plug). Dismantled the unit to see if there is something wrong internally but there was not. Also, the tap reel on the head of the item does not work.
For a german made item with such a good brand name as Stihl to be using a chinese made carburettor is just disgusting.
Emailed Stihl and didn’t even get a response.
Worst purchase at $162 and has barely worked since purchase.
I will be purchasing a Ryobi battery powered.

Purchased in July 2016 for A$169.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
mike

mikeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Works hard and starts easily

published

Had mine for 6 years and it’s never missed a beat Easy to start and works at any angle.
Fresh fuel and oil mixed to Stihl ratio

Genuine line lasts better than the cheap stuff

Purchased in March 2014 for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers
Roy R.

Roy R.Gippsland, VIC

goes well now but was an absolute cat originally.

published

bought this new and it never ran well regardless of how much you leaned/enriched it, then it just stopped working at all, cleaned the carb and it ran still poorly for a little while then began flooding like crazy and wouldn't start. was ready to throw it off a cliff and then in desperation i tried a cheap Chinese ripoff replacement carb for 10 bucks delivered. what a transformation, it runs perfectly now and has torque like a tractor. happy now but was really frustrated with this from new. hence the 1 star, simply not good enough quality control and the pricing of a replacement genuine carb is simply gouging. just hope this post may help spmeone else that got one with a lemon carb on it.

Purchased at Stihl Dealer for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers
Sam

SamSouth East Queensland, QLD

Stihl FS 38

published

Absolute heap of crap. Everytime I turned it on it side it would cut out, full throttle it would run the cough splutter and cut out. Despite the thing only being 6 months old, full of fresh mixed fuel it was plagued with issues.
The line feeder is useless, doesn’t bump fee properly. I got so frustrated to dumped it.

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Rich

RichSouth East Queensland, QLD

Without question, the worst whipper snipper I have ever owned.

published

I upgraded from a Japanese brand - wish I still had the old Japanese model. The Stihl FS 38 is without doubt, the worst whipper snipper on the market. It is very frustrating to use; five mins of use - then it's ten mins of reloading the damned trim-line feeder.
The feeder is absolutely hopeless - you need Ironman strength to load it because the so called easy-load mechanism is next to useless. The the line gets jammed on the spool and won't feed, despite bashing the s**t out of the feeder on the ground - then the line breaks off and you have to dismantle the whole damn thing AGAIN......!

DOT' BUY IT.

Purchased in September 2018 for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
defdog

defdogAU

  • 12 reviews
  • 17 likes

Was ok, but won't be buying another

published

Purchased in January 2017 at Stihl Dealer for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 38 compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Far 90r trimmer head bump feed not for ladiesladies

published

One has to be a near on sumo wrestler to get cap off to replace line, again, (your Orange line snaps really easily), I am a female Horticulturist west australia, it is very badly made nothing sits right, it doesn't FEEL right, I used to have a Makita one, bump feed ,easy as pie, but I need to shove a s rewdriver in hole to push tab in, the line catch SYSTEM before u put the top back on is really iffy, not impressed, it lets down your great battery range stihl, wake up, girls use spanners too!!!

  • Verified purchase

Definite Issue/s with some of the FS-38 units

published

Purchased in May 2015 for A$165.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

A great trimmer if you care for it properly and have reasonable expectations

published

Purchased in May 2014 at ACE Hardware .

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Grass Type Tall grass and Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
  • Verified purchase

Don't buy the Stihl FS 38

published

After using only 3 times the FS 38 refuses to start. Stihl is of little help. I would like to get my money back, Stihl refuses, not backing their product.

Purchased in July 2019 at Home Hardware for A$180.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

It won't die, Tougher then nails

published

All of my trimmers I am really abusive to them, I use .105 string and I run it wide open all the time, these trimmers have rev limiters and It sees the rev limiter all the time. Cons, the carburetors are trash and they have a limited adjustment so you have to buy a new carburetor once your carburetor adjustment is maxed out, also the spark arrestor gets clogged very easy, the fix is to just remove it, but it makes the trimmer way louder but it will sound really mean, it also is kinda hard to start, but this trimmer is unstoppable and its the cheapest gas trimmer stihl makes, I'm totally amazed!

Purchased in April 2015 for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

norman bushell

norman bushellasked

there was a date change on the coil on a fs38 .have purchased two coils but the timing is out on both can any one enlighten me on the parts number for a coil to suit a fs38 ten year old (i think) thank you

No answers
Doug and Helen M.

Doug and Helen M.asked

how do you replace the cutting cord ?

1 answer
Robert Alan B.
Robert Alan B.

Read the instructions on the cord container or instruction book

Robert F.

Robert F.asked

My line keeps keeps getting tangled and I have to pull it out by hand every few minutes. This is my first trimmer. Please advise?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.