??!
3 photos
Stihl FS 38

Stihl FS 38

2.7 from 96 reviews

Reviews

(23)
(15)
(5)
(16)
(37)
  • Build Quality
    2.7 (17)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (16)
  • Ease of Use
    2.6 (17)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.6 (16)
  • Product is used
    • Occasionally (10)
    • Weekly (6)
  • Grass Type
    • Short grass (11)
    • Thick, heavy grass or weeds (4)
    • Tall grass (3)
  • Noise Level
    2.9 (13)
  • Safety
    3.3 (14)

Fs 38 rubbish

published

Have had a couple of stihl fs38 units and had trouble getting them to run took latest one used twice to new mechanic and was told using wrong petrol needs 95 or 98 not 85 or 91 which has ethanol in it WHY aren't we told this by STihl and salespeople

Purchased in June 2019 at Hardware Fast for $179.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
THE TYRE MAN

THE TYRE MANFar North Queensland, QLD

Cheap chinese rubbish waist of money

published

This is the second FS38 I've had 1st one replaced now this one will not run /back fires through the carby had less that 3 hrs use still like new this is just a cheap rubbish item very disappointed stihl agent said it was only cheap , what did I want for the price this is not a quality stihl item just cheap rubbish and even the dealer agreed with me .

Purchased in August 2018 at BRASCH'S CAIRNS.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Mick

MickMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Horrible horrible and horrible.

published

Horrible machine. Starting it is a pain. The line keeps sucking in no matter what I try. It’s the most terrible terrible terrible machine. I wish my old trimmer didn’t break! They should do a product recall on these. Don’t buy. The company needs to invest in more R&D instead of advertising how good they are.
Oh! There is more: It had to be repaired a week after I purchased it. Something about a fuel line that was too short. I’m not
kidding.

Just don’t buy!

I know three others who bought this. Two dumped it. The other got a lawnmower man in as he hates it so much. I keep taking it back to the shop and begging for help.

Purchased in February 2019 for $250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 38 compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Worst whipper snipper around

published

Have owned my Stihl FS38 since 2016 and it has been very difficult to start since purchasing the item. I have recently changed the spark plug reset the gap (special tool required to remove the spark plug). Dismantled the unit to see if there is something wrong internally but there was not. Also, the tap reel on the head of the item does not work.
For a german made item with such a good brand name as Stihl to be using a chinese made carburettor is just disgusting.
Emailed Stihl and didn’t even get a response.
Worst purchase at $162 and has barely worked since purchase.
I will be purchasing a Ryobi battery powered.

Purchased in July 2016 for $169.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
mike

mikeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews

Works hard and starts easily

published

Had mine for 6 years and it’s never missed a beat Easy to start and works at any angle.
Fresh fuel and oil mixed to Stihl ratio

Genuine line lasts better than the cheap stuff

Purchased in March 2014 for $199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers
Roy R.

Roy R.Gippsland, VIC

goes well now but was an absolute cat originally.

published

bought this new and it never ran well regardless of how much you leaned/enriched it, then it just stopped working at all, cleaned the carb and it ran still poorly for a little while then began flooding like crazy and wouldn't start. was ready to throw it off a cliff and then in desperation i tried a cheap Chinese ripoff replacement carb for 10 bucks delivered. what a transformation, it runs perfectly now and has torque like a tractor. happy now but was really frustrated with this from new. hence the 1 star, simply not good enough quality control and the pricing of a replacement genuine carb is simply gouging. just hope this post may help spmeone else that got one with a lemon carb on it.

Purchased at Stihl Dealer for $200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers
Sam

SamSouth East Queensland, QLD

Stihl FS 38

published

Absolute heap of crap. Everytime I turned it on it side it would cut out, full throttle it would run the cough splutter and cut out. Despite the thing only being 6 months old, full of fresh mixed fuel it was plagued with issues.
The line feeder is useless, doesn’t bump fee properly. I got so frustrated to dumped it.

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Rich

RichSouth East Queensland, QLD

Without question, the worst whipper snipper I have ever owned.

published

I upgraded from a Japanese brand - wish I still had the old Japanese model. The Stihl FS 38 is without doubt, the worst whipper snipper on the market. It is very frustrating to use; five mins of use - then it's ten mins of reloading the damned trim-line feeder.
The feeder is absolutely hopeless - you need Ironman strength to load it because the so called easy-load mechanism is next to useless. The the line gets jammed on the spool and won't feed, despite bashing the s**t out of the feeder on the ground - then the line breaks off and you have to dismantle the whole damn thing AGAIN......!

DOT' BUY IT.

Purchased in September 2018 for $199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
defdog

defdogAU

  • 12 reviews

Was ok, but won't be buying another

published

Purchased in January 2017 at Stihl Dealer for $199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 38 compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Far 90r trimmer head bump feed not for ladiesladies

published

One has to be a near on sumo wrestler to get cap off to replace line, again, (your Orange line snaps really easily), I am a female Horticulturist west australia, it is very badly made nothing sits right, it doesn't FEEL right, I used to have a Makita one, bump feed ,easy as pie, but I need to shove a s rewdriver in hole to push tab in, the line catch SYSTEM before u put the top back on is really iffy, not impressed, it lets down your great battery range stihl, wake up, girls use spanners too!!!

  • Verified purchase

Definite Issue/s with some of the FS-38 units

published

Purchased in May 2015 for $165.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

A great trimmer if you care for it properly and have reasonable expectations

published

Purchased in May 2014 at ACE Hardware .

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Grass Type Tall grass and Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
  • Verified purchase

Don't buy the Stihl FS 38

published

After using only 3 times the FS 38 refuses to start. Stihl is of little help. I would like to get my money back, Stihl refuses, not backing their product.

Purchased in July 2019 at Home Hardware for $180.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

It won't die, Tougher then nails

published

All of my trimmers I am really abusive to them, I use .105 string and I run it wide open all the time, these trimmers have rev limiters and It sees the rev limiter all the time. Cons, the carburetors are trash and they have a limited adjustment so you have to buy a new carburetor once your carburetor adjustment is maxed out, also the spark arrestor gets clogged very easy, the fix is to just remove it, but it makes the trimmer way louder but it will sound really mean, it also is kinda hard to start, but this trimmer is unstoppable and its the cheapest gas trimmer stihl makes, I'm totally amazed!

Purchased in April 2015 for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Peter W

Peter WHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

10 years on and going strong.

published

Don’t understand all these negative reviews. Use the proper starting procedure and you’ll have no problems. Mine has been flogged and never failed, not even a service! I’m confused, I run this thing on 2.4 line aswell. No problems. A carb rebuild kit is $15 , I just did a rebuild on a mates machine after 5 years of daily use. Runs perfect. Just a note that OLD FUEL will kill any two stroke, remember that. But these carbies are easy to clean or replace, $30 for a genuine carb. A small amount of maintenance and these things will keep on going....

Purchased in April 2006.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 38 compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael B.

Michael B.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Not convinced

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Nerang for $179.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

Chinese Zama carburetor

published

Purchased in September 2013.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Taz

TazKarratha

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Easy to use

published

This brushcutter is very easy to use, not to heavy so easy to hold and very easy to start. The cutter glides through the blades and does not get clogged with clippings.

The1

The1South East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Great Weed Eater and Great Local Service

published

Very cheap Brushcutter, came with free fuel, extra line, cap, glass's and sales staff show you how to use it and restring the line, a lot easier than cheapie ones and better quality than even what bunnings sells for a similar price, engine is bigger too!, can't fault it, then ontop of that a 2 year warranty. Have had plenty of Stihl products in the past, can't go wrong.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Not user friendly

published

The line doesnt auto feed as stated, i dont recommend this for anyone who is 5'8 or taller it gives you a sore back in no time at all and i found it difficult to start and it seems very touchy in the throttle department. I usually use half throttle when i use a whipper snipper but it doesnt like sitting on half throttle, very aggressive.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Kym K

Kym Kasked

What sort of petrol does it take and do you have to mix it

2 answers
Rich
Rich

Hey Kym,
It uses unleaded - and yes, it needs to be mixed with two stroke oil, in the correct proportions.

Kym K
Kym K

Can you tell me what the mix should be please

John C

John Casked

Can I get the orange cutter blades for my Stihl whipper snipper

2 answers
goodolboydws
goodolboydws

If you have the owner's manual, it should show the optional trim heads that will fit your model.
Barring that, there are probably aftermarket heads with nylon or other plastic blades that would also fit.

John C
John C

I called into a Stihl dealer and they told me they have never hah them in and on the computer they will not be available till March 2020 I bought the attachment in March this year How can I get them.

Greg H

Greg Hasked

Does a fs 86 carbie fit a fs 38

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Stihl representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.