??!
3 photos
Stihl FS 38

Stihl FS 38

2.6 from 106 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.6 (27)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (26)
  • Ease of Use
    2.4 (27)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.5 (26)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    2.9 (21)
  • Safety
    3.4 (22)
Previous
Next

I have never sworn so much in my life

published

Waste of money and time. Constantly has to be rethreaded. Line does not feed through easily. What should be a quick job ends up taking hours due to stopping continually to reload line

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeTall grass
See all answers
Joerg M.

Joerg M.South East Queensland, QLD

Had it for 7 years

published

I had the Stihl FS38 for almost 7 years now. It was always a little bit of an effort to start it up but once it was running it did the job fine. It's noisy like any other 2 stroke, the line feeder is a bit of a pain but it's ok to handle. You need to buy a good line otherwise it will wear off quickly, that has nothing to do with this machine though. All in all I was satisfied with the value for money. I have now changed to a 4 stroke as I'm over the fuel mixing. Happy retirement FS38

Purchased in July 2013 at Stihl Dealer for A$240.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Vanessa

VanessaSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

WARRANTY VOIDED

published

Warning do not buy this product it is absolutely crap, there seems to be design faults, with head and shaft. Stihl will use ever excuse to void the warranty. Our first whipper snipper we owned was a ryobi for over 12 years and never had an issue, but since everytime we have bought a stihl one it breaks down either before warranty or just after, total crap.

Purchased in December 2018 for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 38 compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Piece of crap

published

The head is crap. The thing vibrates like its about to come apart in my hands. Ineffective but very loud tool. Dont waste your money. Gotta spend more to get quality.

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
michelle

michelleSouth West, WA

  • 12 reviews
  • 10 likes
  • Verified purchase

Can't use it

published

The instruction manual does not match the product so I have no idea how to load the line. It doesn't start. Upon getting help from the man in the shop he basically showed me a complete different way to start it than the manual. But I'm still having trouble. The line continuously braking and tangling and does not feed.

Purchased in July 2020 for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeTall grass and Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers

Warranty void and useless

published

Purchased in November 2018 for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
devon

devonWestern Australia

Broke after 5 weeks of use

published

Purchased in May 2020 for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers

Retrofit and fix the problem

published

Dealer told me to try a FS 40 head.
Half the problem solved.
Get a " Pro Carbon CF3 " line of .095".
They will tell you it won't fit and it doesn't but a drill bit a shade bigger than the hole in the spool will fix that.
Now you have a machine that works and will actually feed the line.
Yes...you heard me right, it actually feeds trouble free.
Now you have a machine that is a pleasure to use.

Purchased in June 2016 at Rental store for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeThick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers

Hard to start and load

published

I put in the recommended fuel mixture sold by the dealer but have trouble loading and starting it. The load process is terrible and after loaded it gets stuck and doesn’t unwind , when you need more string. Painful don’t buy!

Purchased in April 2019 at Stihl Dealer for A$169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeTall grass
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 38 compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Wont start!

published

Just bought yesterday .. follow the instructions provided by dealer ..totally disappointed .. bad decision ... wish i could return it . Used once only .. we buy thing for comfert not to have troubles

Purchased in June 2020 for A$169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers

Fs 38 rubbish

published

Have had a couple of stihl fs38 units and had trouble getting them to run took latest one used twice to new mechanic and was told using wrong petrol needs 95 or 98 not 85 or 91 which has ethanol in it WHY aren't we told this by STihl and salespeople

Purchased in June 2019 at Hardware Fast for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
THE TYRE MAN

THE TYRE MANFar North Queensland, QLD

Cheap chinese rubbish waist of money

published

This is the second FS38 I've had 1st one replaced now this one will not run /back fires through the carby had less that 3 hrs use still like new this is just a cheap rubbish item very disappointed stihl agent said it was only cheap , what did I want for the price this is not a quality stihl item just cheap rubbish and even the dealer agreed with me .

Purchased in August 2018 at BRASCH'S CAIRNS.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Mick

MickMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Horrible horrible and horrible.

published

Horrible machine. Starting it is a pain. The line keeps sucking in no matter what I try. It’s the most terrible terrible terrible machine. I wish my old trimmer didn’t break! They should do a product recall on these. Don’t buy. The company needs to invest in more R&D instead of advertising how good they are.
Oh! There is more: It had to be repaired a week after I purchased it. Something about a fuel line that was too short. I’m not
kidding.

Just don’t buy!

I know three others who bought this. Two dumped it. The other got a lawnmower man in as he hates it so much. I keep taking it back to the shop and begging for help.

Purchased in February 2019 for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers

Worst whipper snipper around

published

Have owned my Stihl FS38 since 2016 and it has been very difficult to start since purchasing the item. I have recently changed the spark plug reset the gap (special tool required to remove the spark plug). Dismantled the unit to see if there is something wrong internally but there was not. Also, the tap reel on the head of the item does not work.
For a german made item with such a good brand name as Stihl to be using a chinese made carburettor is just disgusting.
Emailed Stihl and didn’t even get a response.
Worst purchase at $162 and has barely worked since purchase.
I will be purchasing a Ryobi battery powered.

Purchased in July 2016 for A$169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
mike

mikeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Works hard and starts easily

published

Had mine for 6 years and it’s never missed a beat Easy to start and works at any angle.
Fresh fuel and oil mixed to Stihl ratio

Genuine line lasts better than the cheap stuff

Purchased in March 2014 for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeTall grass
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 38 compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Roy R.

Roy R.Gippsland, VIC

goes well now but was an absolute cat originally.

published

bought this new and it never ran well regardless of how much you leaned/enriched it, then it just stopped working at all, cleaned the carb and it ran still poorly for a little while then began flooding like crazy and wouldn't start. was ready to throw it off a cliff and then in desperation i tried a cheap Chinese ripoff replacement carb for 10 bucks delivered. what a transformation, it runs perfectly now and has torque like a tractor. happy now but was really frustrated with this from new. hence the 1 star, simply not good enough quality control and the pricing of a replacement genuine carb is simply gouging. just hope this post may help spmeone else that got one with a lemon carb on it.

Purchased at Stihl Dealer for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeTall grass
See all answers
Sam

SamSouth East Queensland, QLD

Stihl FS 38

published

Absolute heap of crap. Everytime I turned it on it side it would cut out, full throttle it would run the cough splutter and cut out. Despite the thing only being 6 months old, full of fresh mixed fuel it was plagued with issues.
The line feeder is useless, doesn’t bump fee properly. I got so frustrated to dumped it.

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Rich

RichSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Without question, the worst whipper snipper I have ever owned.

published

I upgraded from a Japanese brand - wish I still had the old Japanese model. The Stihl FS 38 is without doubt, the worst whipper snipper on the market. It is very frustrating to use; five mins of use - then it's ten mins of reloading the damned trim-line feeder.
The feeder is absolutely hopeless - you need Ironman strength to load it because the so called easy-load mechanism is next to useless. The the line gets jammed on the spool and won't feed, despite bashing the s**t out of the feeder on the ground - then the line breaks off and you have to dismantle the whole damn thing AGAIN......!

DOT' BUY IT.

Purchased in September 2018 for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
defdog

defdogAU

  • 12 reviews
  • 17 likes

Was ok, but won't be buying another

published

Purchased in January 2017 at Stihl Dealer for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers

Far 90r trimmer head bump feed not for ladiesladies

published

One has to be a near on sumo wrestler to get cap off to replace line, again, (your Orange line snaps really easily), I am a female Horticulturist west australia, it is very badly made nothing sits right, it doesn't FEEL right, I used to have a Makita one, bump feed ,easy as pie, but I need to shove a s rewdriver in hole to push tab in, the line catch SYSTEM before u put the top back on is really iffy, not impressed, it lets down your great battery range stihl, wake up, girls use spanners too!!!

Incentivised ReviewNo
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Carol D.

Carol D.asked

How do you attach an auto cut c6-2 to afs38 Stijl weedeater

No answers
Kylie B.

Kylie B.asked

Hi can I use a 270mm shredder blade(f2) on my sthil fs38 whipper snipper .
Thank you

No answers
Vanessa

Vanessaasked

In regards to the FS38 Is anyone aware that the guard needs to be on the whipper snipper at all time when in use, otherwise if the shaft breaks down and needs repairing it will be void under warranty. We have run into this problem, and Stihl won't cover it under warranty and want $135 to repair it, thats almost the cost of a new one.

1 answer
Jeff A.
Jeff A.

Yes I was aware of this.

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryPetrol Whipper Snippers
Price (RRP) A$199.00
Handle TypeLoop Handle
Shaft TypeBent
Power SourcePetrol
Engine Type2-Stroke
Engine Displacement27.2 cc
Power650 W
Cutting Head TypeBlade
Weight4.1 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Release dateMar 2008
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.