??!
4 photos
Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E

Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E

FS 45, FS 45 C-E, FS 45R
2.7 from 71 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

2.7

71 reviews
5
(16)
4
(12)
3
(5)
2
(8)
1
(30)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (17)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (18)
  • Ease of Use
    2.5 (18)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (18)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    2.7 (17)
  • Safety
    3.5 (17)
Previous
Next

Easy -start FS C45- E: was not easy started !!!

published

I just brought FS 45 C -E this week!! I watched on You-Tube that this trimmer was built with system having an easy start : in reality I pulled over 4-5 times for starting this trimmer !!! Was it better I brought the normal Stihl FS 45 or another brand cheaper.....

Purchased in November 2020 for A$279.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeTall grass
See all answers
Andy B

Andy BAlice Springs, NT

  • 3 reviews

Another Quality Stihl Product

published

Easy to start and fairly lightweight. The bump head is awful, but line trimmers in general are awful. Stihl should really have a replaceable wedge type fixed cutting line they are much stronger and easy to change I changed to a Sabre Cut 3 blade head and love it

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeTall grass
See all answers

Do not buy

published

These used to be one of the best trimers going right to when the idiots change the bump line advance head, now with the new head on it i consider it to be the biggest piece of crap you can buy. Never will i buy another Stihl product.

Purchased in February 2018 for A$249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeShort grass, Tall grass and Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
renegaderewind

renegaderewindHunter Region, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 12 likes

Absolute abomination of a device

published

I had an FS45 for years prior to it finally packing it in. The Stijl shop said it would be almost the same price to buy a new one so I did. What a mistake. The new style of head on it is a piece of garbage. Used for 30 seconds, and then the cord disappears back into the head. Dismantle the whole thing, and go through the same thing over and over. So I took it back, they said nothing was wrong with it. Kept happening, took it back again, they replaced the head. Now same thing is happening again. Clearly there is something wrong with this design and how it works. Avoid at all costs until they fix this issue.

Purchased in August 2020 for A$240.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers

Useless.

published

This thing is a pain in butt
Has been back for repairs twice because it wouldn't start.
And the head is the most annoying whipper snipper head iv ever used. Doesn't feed properly, will spit the hole line out. Just doing a backyard you to stop like 10 times to fiddle with the head to get line to come out.
Spent the extra coin on this because I had a cheap on before, this one is worse then the cheap Chinese one I had..

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Alan Coles

Alan ColesTimaru

  • 2 reviews

It is good

published

Easy to start if you follow instuctions, choke and prime, make sure primer bubble is completly full of fuel. My one starts after 2-3 pulls on starter One fault is the line needs to be heavier. As to line not feeding out, make sure you hit line feed button with full revs, I was told by dealer to do it at idle, would not work, service agent said use high revs, no more problems Meets my needs.

Purchased for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Rensefx

RensefxMelbourne

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

I wish I could turn back time, I got “stihl’d”, oh how I wish I could turn back time!

published

I’m just wondering with all the comments that it SIMPLY DOES NOT START, whether comments are not from stihl employees! Nylon winding is also a problem its just a machine that is just not easy, reliable and simple as it implies. It’s not at all truthful, It should simply be impeached!

Purchased for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers

Doesn't start easily - which is what I paid extra for

published

Simply does not start easily. Should not have paid the extra for easy start as I can start a normal mower no problem. Was talked into it. Not happy that it doesn't start at all. Waste of money. It cuts ok once it is started, but too much of a hassle. Would have been better off buying a crappy model.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Martin

MartinGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Absolute rubbish

published

Worst Stihl product i ever had, hard to start keeps stalling, line wont feed, been no good since day 1. Stihl supplier at 239a beach st frankston wont do anything except to blame the user when they know it has problems keep away.

Purchased in June 2019 at Stihl Dealer for A$279.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Crap, crap, crap..

published

State facts...lol you still won't believe me when I tell you the product U sold me had played up from the the day I bought it brand new. Cause I'm aboriginal (white Aussies think some of us are dumb ) people claimed it needed to run in the rings cause it was brand new....well 4 to 5 years later, it stihl plays up. To me it seems it's not getting fuel properly cause when I pump the fuel plunger it revs back up. So yeah...I thought stihl was a good brand but it's just another crap product I've....again wasted money on. So I'll be trying Honda next, I'm too scared to buy and waste money on stihl again. Crap crap crap. Don't waste your money

Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeTall grass
Ana P.

Ana P.Sydney, NSW

Could be perfect

published

Takes s 3 to 4 strokes to start off but once it starts its great till you need to change the line. It doesnt self feed alwais and you have to take the whole thing out to feed manually.

Purchased in July 2015 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Michael

MichaelSouth East Queensland, QLD

Can't give it away

published

Runs well. Starts with 3 or 4 pulls. However the line feed is the biggest piece of junk anyone has put on this earth. It will NOT self feed and you have to pull head apart every time. It went back to,dealer and he can't figure it out either. Don't waist your money buy another brand. If I could I would give a negitve rating of -5.

Purchased in October 2019 at Gympie for A$230.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Peter T

Peter TNortheast, VIC

you need machines that work

published

bought an FS45 for semi commercial use after the 09 fires.It has never said no until today.I have run it on 25:1 for 10 years but the primer button developed a hole. Still runs at half power so its off for its first visit to the repair shop. 10 year old Stihl chainsaw and 6 year old blade Stihl brush cutter still going as new

Purchased in April 2009.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Grass TypeThick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Justchill

JustchillSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Sthil trying to start

published

Its a little short
Lound
Have had to take to the shop 3 times in 2 year
Would not start fixed under warranty
Cord snaped payed for
Carbie went out of blue runing fine then would not start 120 buck
Sthil have a good name buy a honda 4 stroke disapointed in sthil carbie are poor

Purchased in April 2018 for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Love to fish

Love to fishGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable

published

I have had my FS45 easy start for about 13 years and its never given me any problems. Its mainly used around the house every week and it starts fine all the time same as my shrill blower. Would definitely by another one

Purchased in June 2006 at Sthill shop Thomastown .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
c. ranky

c. rankyIllawarra, NSW

Stihl junk

published

Purchased in May 2019 for A$229.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Ray40

Ray40Hobart, TAS

  • 10 reviews

Battery powered trimmer is perfect for my needs

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Stihl Dealer for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Ed Douglass

Ed DouglassIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Follow the suppliers directions

published

Have had Stihls since 1977..Firstly a brush cutter which my daughter still uses ..Two chainsaws..still going..Ten years ago I purchased an FS 45 C..For home use...Following the suppliers advice as to how to start it ...pull..prime.. .choke .and off it goes ..Has never missed a beat in all this time ..Just a new spark plug every year...if in doubt read the book . Ed Douglass

Purchased in February 1999 at Wrights Chainsaws Nowra.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeTall grass
See all answers

Absolute piece of junk

published

Only had this for under 6 months, started well the first couple times, now you break a sweat trying to get it started...10 minutes later your heading for the fridge to crack the top of one. Goes through a ton of line an you gotta give it the berries to get through minimal grass.. Never again will I buy a stihl product.

Purchased in September 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Richard Neville

Richard NevillePerth, WA

  • 6 reviews

Disappointed

published

This whipper snipper is high revving and is very temperamental to start. It was purchased to replace my previous Stihl wipper snipper which I had had for many years but this one doesn't stack up to it's predecessor. It is used for my residential front and back garden and just meets my needs. I would hate to be using it in a large area.

Purchased in November 2017 at Beechboro Mowers for A$279.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Josh S.

Josh S.asked

FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E

why does my Stihl FS 45 trimmer head turnes backwards? It tightens itself

1 answer
Alan Coles
Alan Coles

Get it checked out at Stihl shop, something is out of place

Diana R.

Diana R.asked

FS 45 C-E

What is the difference of the fs45 and the fs45c?

1 answer
Alan Coles
Alan Coles

Easy start system on fs45c, no need to pull heaps of cord, just short pulls on starting cord, more gentle recoil on spring in recoil starter. If you follow instructions on starting it is very easy

Guluzar Egilmez

Guluzar Egilmezasked

FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E

How much is the delivery and do you Harvey Norman gift card and can we pay remainder with credit card? regards Mrs Guluzar Egilmez my email address is guluzar_egilmez@yahoo.com.au

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 3 Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E
Stihl FS 45R
  • Discontinued

Stihl FS 45R

3.0
(1)
CategoryPetrol Whipper SnippersPetrol Whipper SnippersPetrol Whipper Snippers
Price (RRP) A$229.00A$279.00
Handle TypeLoop HandleLoop Handle
Shaft TypeBentBent
Power SourcePetrolPetrol
Engine Displacement27.2 cc27.2 cc
Power750 W750 W
Cutting Head TypeLineLine
FeaturesEasy / Quick Start
Weight4.3 kg
Fuel Tank Capacity330 mL330 mL
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Release dateMar 2008Mar 2008
Compare all 3 Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.