?
? !
4 photos
Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E

Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E

FS 45, FS 45 C-E, FS 45R
2.5 from 79 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Ergonomic design

  • Provides plenty of power

  • Fuel efficient

Cons

  • Can be difficult to start

  • Sometimes hard to regulate engine speed

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.6 (25)
  • Value for Money
    2.2 (26)
  • Ease of Use
    2.1 (26)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.8 (25)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    2.6 (25)
  • Safety
    3.2 (22)
Previous
Next

waste of money

published

what a terrible terrible product. do not waste your buy something else. the line feed doesn't work it just keeps breaking the cord inside the head so you spend more taking it apart to replace the line .had it back to the shop said it is working ok, take it home use it for two minutes and it does it again. so take it all apart again. wish i had never brought it.listen to what everyone is saying on here

Purchased in February 2021 for $389.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Trevor Berry

Trevor BerryMid North Coast, NSW

Big mistake

published

This machine is terrible it is hard to start after priming it takes at least 12 pulls and once going it will stall for no apparent reason, it appears to over rev and very hard to control appropriate momentum BUT the real problem is the line head just cuts the line off, so i took it back to the Stihl retailer in Grafton NSW and was fobbed off telling me it was my fault apparently i was putting the head too close to the ground LOL, I had a Tallon for more than 10 years without any problem. NOT HAPPY STIHL cannot recommend

Purchased in December 2020 at Stihl Dealer for $279.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Stihl FS45c

published

It’s hard to start and never starts immediately always tends to stall especially when it’s hot.
I spent more time fixing line and getting right length. I was told this would be easy for my daughter by the agent and it is light in weight but it is not. I’m a mechanical person and it’s very difficult to operate ,run and is awkward to use .
After 10 mins running, it overheats and won’t idle. An absolute waste of money!
Bought Feb 2020 we had to use another old machine which was so much more reliable. I will never buy another Stihl or recommend this product at all!

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris

ChrisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Shocker... read the reviews and don't buy it

published

Terrible product. Engine runs fast and slow so you can't get a consistent speed. The line feed head and internal mechanics are complete rubbish. Keeps getting jammed and seems to go through way to much chord each time it is used. I spent way more time fiddling around with the chord than I actually did trimming the grass itself. I thought Stihl was a good brand so didn't bother checking first but turns out it is complete rubbish. You have been warned.

Purchased in February 2021 for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wes

WesSouth East Queensland, QLD

Do not purchase - epic fail for trimmer

published

Purchased in December 2020 at Stihl Dealer for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nick B.

Nick B.

  • 4 reviews

Not Happy

published

I bought the FS45 a year ago and used it only in my garden 1.5hrs every 2 weeks and now the handle broke off which apparently is not being replaced under warranty and will cost $50 to replace. Having to buy a replacement handle every year sounds to me like a massive design flaw. Additionally, the head mechanism is user unfriendly and needs to be replaced immediately.

Purchased in February 2020 for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Happy

Happy

  • 4 reviews

Horrible quality

published

It's always been hard to start, sometimes the line doesn't feed, had it serviced twice in 12 months as it just wouldn't start, now has the same issue, so it's going. I thought Stihl was a good brand, but not worth the hassle to try it again.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Poor Stihl quality and dealer support

published

Purchased in July 2016 for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Easy -start FS C45- E: was not easy started !!!

published

I just brought FS 45 C -E this week!! I watched on You-Tube that this trimmer was built with system having an easy start : in reality I pulled over 4-5 times for starting this trimmer !!! Was it better I brought the normal Stihl FS 45 or another brand cheaper.....

Purchased in November 2020 for $279.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andy B

Andy BAlice Springs, NT

  • 3 reviews

Another Quality Stihl Product

published

Easy to start and fairly lightweight. The bump head is awful, but line trimmers in general are awful. Stihl should really have a replaceable wedge type fixed cutting line they are much stronger and easy to change I changed to a Sabre Cut 3 blade head and love it

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Do not buy

published

These used to be one of the best trimers going right to when the idiots change the bump line advance head, now with the new head on it i consider it to be the biggest piece of crap you can buy. Never will i buy another Stihl product.

Purchased in February 2018 for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
renegaderewind

renegaderewindHunter Region, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 12 likes

Absolute abomination of a device

published

I had an FS45 for years prior to it finally packing it in. The Stijl shop said it would be almost the same price to buy a new one so I did. What a mistake. The new style of head on it is a piece of garbage. Used for 30 seconds, and then the cord disappears back into the head. Dismantle the whole thing, and go through the same thing over and over. So I took it back, they said nothing was wrong with it. Kept happening, took it back again, they replaced the head. Now same thing is happening again. Clearly there is something wrong with this design and how it works. Avoid at all costs until they fix this issue.

Purchased in August 2020 for $240.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Useless.

published

This thing is a pain in butt
Has been back for repairs twice because it wouldn't start.
And the head is the most annoying whipper snipper head iv ever used. Doesn't feed properly, will spit the hole line out. Just doing a backyard you to stop like 10 times to fiddle with the head to get line to come out.
Spent the extra coin on this because I had a cheap on before, this one is worse then the cheap Chinese one I had..

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alan Coles

Alan ColesTimaru

  • 2 reviews

It is good

published

Easy to start if you follow instuctions, choke and prime, make sure primer bubble is completly full of fuel. My one starts after 2-3 pulls on starter One fault is the line needs to be heavier. As to line not feeding out, make sure you hit line feed button with full revs, I was told by dealer to do it at idle, would not work, service agent said use high revs, no more problems Meets my needs.

Purchased for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rensefx

RensefxMelbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

I wish I could turn back time, I got “stihl’d”, oh how I wish I could turn back time!

published

I’m just wondering with all the comments that it SIMPLY DOES NOT START, whether comments are not from stihl employees! Nylon winding is also a problem its just a machine that is just not easy, reliable and simple as it implies. It’s not at all truthful, It should simply be impeached!

Purchased for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Doesn't start easily - which is what I paid extra for

published

Simply does not start easily. Should not have paid the extra for easy start as I can start a normal mower no problem. Was talked into it. Not happy that it doesn't start at all. Waste of money. It cuts ok once it is started, but too much of a hassle. Would have been better off buying a crappy model.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Martin

MartinGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Absolute rubbish

published

Worst Stihl product i ever had, hard to start keeps stalling, line wont feed, been no good since day 1. Stihl supplier at 239a beach st frankston wont do anything except to blame the user when they know it has problems keep away.

Purchased in June 2019 at Stihl Dealer for $279.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bry

Bry

  • 2 reviews

Crap, crap, crap..

published

State facts...lol you still won't believe me when I tell you the product U sold me had played up from the the day I bought it brand new. Cause I'm aboriginal (white Aussies think some of us are dumb ) people claimed it needed to run in the rings cause it was brand new....well 4 to 5 years later, it stihl plays up. To me it seems it's not getting fuel properly cause when I pump the fuel plunger it revs back up. So yeah...I thought stihl was a good brand but it's just another crap product I've....again wasted money on. So I'll be trying Honda next, I'm too scared to buy and waste money on stihl again. Crap crap crap. Don't waste your money

Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeTall grass
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ana P.

Ana P.Sydney, NSW

Could be perfect

published

Takes s 3 to 4 strokes to start off but once it starts its great till you need to change the line. It doesnt self feed alwais and you have to take the whole thing out to feed manually.

Purchased in July 2015 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Michael

MichaelSouth East Queensland, QLD

Can't give it away

published

Runs well. Starts with 3 or 4 pulls. However the line feed is the biggest piece of junk anyone has put on this earth. It will NOT self feed and you have to pull head apart every time. It went back to,dealer and he can't figure it out either. Don't waist your money buy another brand. If I could I would give a negitve rating of -5.

Purchased in October 2019 at Gympie for $230.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

bob

bobasked

FS 45 C-E

why do i have to run in my fs 45 c stihl weed trimmer

No answers
connors_jim

connors_jimasked

FS 45 C-E

Jim--Mine 3 yo Starts well and easy Model FS 45 C However stall when I go to or place tool at a cutting angle??????

No answers
Josh S.

Josh S.asked

FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E

why does my Stihl FS 45 trimmer head turnes backwards? It tightens itself

1 answer
Alan Coles
Alan Coles

Get it checked out at Stihl shop, something is out of place

See all Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E questions

Get an answer from our members

Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E

Details

Stihl currently offers two similar models in this range:

  • The FS 45 costs $229.
  • The FS 45 C-E is the same model with the exception that it includes a quick start feature, bringing the cost up to $279.

Features

  • Both models have a loop handle, making them easy to handle and slightly less straining on the body.
  • They have a bent shaft, making them a more affordable option for those who only need to do basic gardening work.
  • With a fuel tank capacity of 330mL, this machine is more lightweight than most other petrol whipper snippers.
  • A 2 year warranty lets you stress less about your machine breaking down on you.

Points of praise

  • Many reviewers found the Stihl FS 45 and FS 45 C-E to be lightweight and ergonomic, making it simple to operate for longer gardening jobs.
  • They also said the machine provided plenty of power, helping them breeze through the yard work.
  • According to reviewers, both models are fuel efficient.

Pain points:

  • One major pain point lots of reviewers had was that both Stihl models were difficult to start, with some reviewers saying they would work up a sweat every time they tried to get it running.
  • Some reviewers also said it was difficult to regulate the speed of the engine.
Compare all 3 Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E
Stihl FS 45R
  • Discontinued

Stihl FS 45R

3.0
(1)
CategoryPetrol Whipper SnippersPetrol Whipper SnippersPetrol Whipper Snippers
Price (RRP) $229.00$279.00
Handle TypeLoop HandleLoop Handle
Shaft TypeBentBent
Power SourcePetrolPetrol
Engine Displacement27.2 cc27.2 cc
Power750 W750 W
Cutting Head TypeLineLine
FeaturesEasy / Quick Start
Weight4.3 kg
Fuel Tank Capacity330 mL330 mL
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Release dateMar 2008Mar 2008
Compare all 3 Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.