??!
4 photos
Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E

Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E

FS 45, FS 45 C-E, FS 45R
2.7 from 66 reviews

Reviews

2.7

66 reviews
5
(16)
4
(11)
3
(5)
2
(8)
1
(26)
Previous
Next
Alan Coles

Alan ColesTimaru

  • 2 reviews

It is good

published

Easy to start if you follow instuctions, choke and prime, make sure primer bubble is completly full of fuel. My one starts after 2-3 pulls on starter One fault is the line needs to be heavier. As to line not feeding out, make sure you hit line feed button with full revs, I was told by dealer to do it at idle, would not work, service agent said use high revs, no more problems Meets my needs.

Purchased for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Rensefx

RensefxMelbourne

  • 11 reviews

I wish I could turn back time, I got “stihl’d”, oh how I wish I could turn back time!

published

I’m just wondering with all the comments that it SIMPLY DOES NOT START, whether comments are not from stihl employees! Nylon winding is also a problem its just a machine that is just not easy, reliable and simple as it implies. It’s not at all truthful, It should simply be impeached!

Purchased for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers

Doesn't start easily - which is what I paid extra for

published

Simply does not start easily. Should not have paid the extra for easy start as I can start a normal mower no problem. Was talked into it. Not happy that it doesn't start at all. Waste of money. It cuts ok once it is started, but too much of a hassle. Would have been better off buying a crappy model.

Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Martin

MartinGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Absolute rubbish

published

Worst Stihl product i ever had, hard to start keeps stalling, line wont feed, been no good since day 1. Stihl supplier at 239a beach st frankston wont do anything except to blame the user when they know it has problems keep away.

Purchased in June 2019 at Stihl Dealer for A$279.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

Crap, crap, crap..

published

State facts...lol you still won't believe me when I tell you the product U sold me had played up from the the day I bought it brand new. Cause I'm aboriginal (white Aussies think some of us are dumb ) people claimed it needed to run in the rings cause it was brand new....well 4 to 5 years later, it stihl plays up. To me it seems it's not getting fuel properly cause when I pump the fuel plunger it revs back up. So yeah...I thought stihl was a good brand but it's just another crap product I've....again wasted money on. So I'll be trying Honda next, I'm too scared to buy and waste money on stihl again. Crap crap crap. Don't waste your money

Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Tall grass
Ana P.

Ana P.Sydney, NSW

Could be perfect

published

Takes s 3 to 4 strokes to start off but once it starts its great till you need to change the line. It doesnt self feed alwais and you have to take the whole thing out to feed manually.

Purchased in July 2015 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Michael

MichaelSouth East Queensland, QLD

Can't give it away

published

Runs well. Starts with 3 or 4 pulls. However the line feed is the biggest piece of junk anyone has put on this earth. It will NOT self feed and you have to pull head apart every time. It went back to,dealer and he can't figure it out either. Don't waist your money buy another brand. If I could I would give a negitve rating of -5.

Purchased in October 2019 at Gympie for A$230.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Peter T

Peter TNortheast, VIC

you need machines that work

published

bought an FS45 for semi commercial use after the 09 fires.It has never said no until today.I have run it on 25:1 for 10 years but the primer button developed a hole. Still runs at half power so its off for its first visit to the repair shop. 10 year old Stihl chainsaw and 6 year old blade Stihl brush cutter still going as new

Purchased in April 2009.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Justchill

JustchillSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Sthil trying to start

published

Its a little short
Lound
Have had to take to the shop 3 times in 2 year
Would not start fixed under warranty
Cord snaped payed for
Carbie went out of blue runing fine then would not start 120 buck
Sthil have a good name buy a honda 4 stroke disapointed in sthil carbie are poor

Purchased in April 2018 for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Love to fish

Love to fishGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable

published

I have had my FS45 easy start for about 13 years and its never given me any problems. Its mainly used around the house every week and it starts fine all the time same as my shrill blower. Would definitely by another one

Purchased in June 2006 at Sthill shop Thomastown .

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
c. ranky

c. rankyIllawarra, NSW

Stihl junk

published

Purchased in May 2019 for A$229.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Ray40

Ray40Hobart, TAS

  • 10 reviews

Battery powered trimmer is perfect for my needs

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Stihl Dealer for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Ed Douglass

Ed DouglassIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Follow the suppliers directions

published

Have had Stihls since 1977..Firstly a brush cutter which my daughter still uses ..Two chainsaws..still going..Ten years ago I purchased an FS 45 C..For home use...Following the suppliers advice as to how to start it ...pull..prime.. .choke .and off it goes ..Has never missed a beat in all this time ..Just a new spark plug every year...if in doubt read the book . Ed Douglass

Purchased in February 1999 at Wrights Chainsaws Nowra.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers

Absolute piece of junk

published

Only had this for under 6 months, started well the first couple times, now you break a sweat trying to get it started...10 minutes later your heading for the fridge to crack the top of one. Goes through a ton of line an you gotta give it the berries to get through minimal grass.. Never again will I buy a stihl product.

Purchased in September 2018.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Richard Neville

Richard NevillePerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Disappointed

published

This whipper snipper is high revving and is very temperamental to start. It was purchased to replace my previous Stihl wipper snipper which I had had for many years but this one doesn't stack up to it's predecessor. It is used for my residential front and back garden and just meets my needs. I would hate to be using it in a large area.

Purchased in November 2017 at Beechboro Mowers for A$279.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sakurashinmachi

SakurashinmachiMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Not the best

published

Purchased in June 2007.

Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds

Gave me a heart attack trying to start it

published

Had near heart attack twice trying to start it, vomited, cold sweat and palpitation. I found out later that its the purity of oil used that affects how easy or difficult it is to start it. I bought their Motomix and it started easily enough. This is a powerful cutter but heavy after using it for 10 minutes. It's also very loud and it eats the line very quickly.

Date PurchasedJul 2011
MPM

MPMMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Descent machine for the price

published

Easy to start and runs consistently
Quick and easy to refill the head with line
I would recommend watching the you tube instructional for this
Used for small and medium sized jobs with no issues at all after more than 2 years of regular use on 5 properties ranging in size from a regular residential block and up to a half acre

Date PurchasedOct 2015

Won't start

published

I just had this trimmer repaired again. The diaphram was replaced after being properly stored for 6 months. I used it over three days for a toral of about 3hours and now it won't start again. I have already had it repaired three times in the last 3years and now have replaced it with an Echo RMS 225. I Will not buy another Stihl product. Have Husky chain saws that always start and run beautifully!

Date PurchasedApr 2014
Jimbo

JimboPerth, WA

  • 49 reviews
  • 1 like

Good but light duty

published

This trimmer starts every time and is not used often. It is perfect for a suburban lawn eg trimming horizontally around the corners the mower can't reach. It is too light duty for taking to the farm and cutting grass around the shed. It is also too light for trimming around the lawn edges in a vertical fashion. I use an edger from Mowmaster for that.

Date PurchasedJan 2012
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Guluzar Egilmez

Guluzar Egilmezasked

FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E

How much is the delivery and do you Harvey Norman gift card and can we pay remainder with credit card? regards Mrs Guluzar Egilmez my email address is guluzar_egilmez@yahoo.com.au

No answers
Blaze Tomeski

Blaze Tomeskiasked

FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E

How to started and mixing the full.

2 answers
Ana P.
Ana P.

Do you mean how to start and mix the fuel?

Ana P.
Ana P.

You'll need STIHL 2 Stroke oil, an empty and clean fuel can & fresh unleaded fuel from a reputable petrol station. Mix at 50:1 (20mls oil per 1 litre fuel) when you're using STIHL 2-Stroke oil.

joe. m.

joe. m.asked

FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E

how to re spring up and recoil start springs

1 answer
Peter T
Peter T

Sorry Joe, can't help you. I have a great Stihl mechanic who looks after that side of things
Peter T

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.