??!
4 photos
Stihl FS 45

Stihl FS 45

2.4 from 34 reviews

Reviews

2.4

34 reviews
5
(8)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(18)
Previous
Next

Useless.

published

This thing is a pain in butt
Has been back for repairs twice because it wouldn't start.
And the head is the most annoying whipper snipper head iv ever used. Doesn't feed properly, will spit the hole line out. Just doing a backyard you to stop like 10 times to fiddle with the head to get line to come out.
Spent the extra coin on this because I had a cheap on before, this one is worse then the cheap Chinese one I had..

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Rensefx

RensefxMelbourne

  • 11 reviews

I wish I could turn back time, I got “stihl’d”, oh how I wish I could turn back time!

published

I’m just wondering with all the comments that it SIMPLY DOES NOT START, whether comments are not from stihl employees! Nylon winding is also a problem its just a machine that is just not easy, reliable and simple as it implies. It’s not at all truthful, It should simply be impeached!

Purchased for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers

Doesn't start easily - which is what I paid extra for

published

Simply does not start easily. Should not have paid the extra for easy start as I can start a normal mower no problem. Was talked into it. Not happy that it doesn't start at all. Waste of money. It cuts ok once it is started, but too much of a hassle. Would have been better off buying a crappy model.

Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 45 compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Crap, crap, crap..

published

State facts...lol you still won't believe me when I tell you the product U sold me had played up from the the day I bought it brand new. Cause I'm aboriginal (white Aussies think some of us are dumb ) people claimed it needed to run in the rings cause it was brand new....well 4 to 5 years later, it stihl plays up. To me it seems it's not getting fuel properly cause when I pump the fuel plunger it revs back up. So yeah...I thought stihl was a good brand but it's just another crap product I've....again wasted money on. So I'll be trying Honda next, I'm too scared to buy and waste money on stihl again. Crap crap crap. Don't waste your money

Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Tall grass
Peter T

Peter TNortheast, VIC

you need machines that work

published

bought an FS45 for semi commercial use after the 09 fires.It has never said no until today.I have run it on 25:1 for 10 years but the primer button developed a hole. Still runs at half power so its off for its first visit to the repair shop. 10 year old Stihl chainsaw and 6 year old blade Stihl brush cutter still going as new

Purchased in April 2009.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Justchill

JustchillSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Sthil trying to start

published

Its a little short
Lound
Have had to take to the shop 3 times in 2 year
Would not start fixed under warranty
Cord snaped payed for
Carbie went out of blue runing fine then would not start 120 buck
Sthil have a good name buy a honda 4 stroke disapointed in sthil carbie are poor

Purchased in April 2018 for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Ray40

Ray40Hobart, TAS

  • 10 reviews

Battery powered trimmer is perfect for my needs

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Stihl Dealer for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

Won't start

published

I just had this trimmer repaired again. The diaphram was replaced after being properly stored for 6 months. I used it over three days for a toral of about 3hours and now it won't start again. I have already had it repaired three times in the last 3years and now have replaced it with an Echo RMS 225. I Will not buy another Stihl product. Have Husky chain saws that always start and run beautifully!

Date PurchasedApr 2014
Jimbo

JimboPerth, WA

  • 49 reviews
  • 1 like

Good but light duty

published

This trimmer starts every time and is not used often. It is perfect for a suburban lawn eg trimming horizontally around the corners the mower can't reach. It is too light duty for taking to the farm and cutting grass around the shed. It is also too light for trimming around the lawn edges in a vertical fashion. I use an edger from Mowmaster for that.

Date PurchasedJan 2012
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 45 compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Rock soild

published
Date PurchasedMar 2012

The new model over heats and burns your arm

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Absolute piece of rubbish.

published

From the day I bought it there was problems. Would definitely stay away from this product,Constant starting problems and goes through line like its going out of fashion. Had to buy a cheap Bunnings one and is 10x better. Unfortunately gives Stihl a bad name. ABSOLUTE RUBBISH!!! STAY AWAY FROM THIS PRODUCT

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Batman

BatmanMasterton

The thing it does best is gather dust in the shed...

published

The Stihl is hard to start, and goes through cord like you would not believe. I got that annoyed that I bought a cheap Chinese line trimmer (Flash) yes it is called Flash. It was half the price, starts easily, runs smoothly, and I use it commercially. I will never buy another Stihl.....I bought the Stihl about March 2017 and it has done about 5 hours work. I bought the a Flash about the end of March 2017 and it would do about 8 hours per week and the only item I have replaced is the shoulder harness. it starts 2nd pull every time. Anyone want a cheap Stihl?...

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Not worth the money

published

Carb floods way to easy - Always a crapshoot trying to get started. If you like blisters, frustration, or the challenge of deciding if its the carb, sparkplug,spark arrestor or the quality of gas causing this equipment to never start, then this trimmer would be the right purchase. My other 2 stroke equipment has never given me any problems (craftsmen blower, echo trimmer)...There is a serious design flaw with this trimmer...

Date PurchasedJul 2012

Don't even contemplate it

published

I purchased this piece of crap after deciding the easy start option would be better for my shoulder and back.
It never starts easily even after following the correct convoluted procedure. 'Easy start' is a misnomer. I've just damaged my shoulder again trying to get it started.
There is nothing else about any of it that I can find positives. Paid $450 for rubbish machinery.
For the love of God do not waste money of this.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 45 compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

This is ok sometimes.

published

Ok so this trimmer was great for a couple years. Tell it started flooding up or taking a long to start up or even get it tuned. It's ok. Just the model fs45 is not a good one. Personally ones that are 200+ are better. Because they last. They get the job done. But a good cheap one is the echos. They are good. Stihl has good ones. The fs45 has problems when you really put it the the test. Long grass. Weeds on a weekly usage level.

Date PurchasedFeb 2009
Gick

GickPerth, WA

  • 18 reviews
  • 10 likes

Disappointed

published

I thought Stihl was a good brand..... Not any more.
This model is hard to start
Chews through line
Hard to refeed
A waste of good money
Used it twice and cut my finger twice on poorly designed plastic "guard" around exhaust

I wish I had read the review before I purchased. I got this because I was over my last cheaper trimmer. This model is rubbish. Putting up on gumtree, I hope like me they don't read this review.

Shame on you Stihl! I want my money back!

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Mr Pogi

Mr PogiPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews

Garbage

published

I owned a FS 45 for almost 10 years. It was impossible to start at the best of times. Went to my local Sthil retailer and purchased a brand new Fs45. Guess what... Wouldn't start and flooded every time. Took it back, they told me I don't know how to start one even though I have had one for 10 years, they managed to start it after 10 minutes of mad pulling, the poor guy was so red in face.. Swapped it out for a honda 4 stroke... Magic... Won't buy sthil again... Save yourself the pain and frustration and just buy the 4 stroke Honda... FS45 is compete piece of garbage. Having said that the guys at Beacon Equipment were awesome and I would continue to buy from them as they sell much more than just Sthil.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

I hate this Whipper Snipper

published

I hate this machine, it takes longer to start than to do my garden! I plan to take this back to the Stihl dealer if they will not return my money I will drive my car over it. I was told stihl was a good brand, now I just hate them

Date PurchasedJan 2017
GK

GKMELBOURNE

  • 24 reviews

My FS 45

published

I had mine for ten years. Always used the Stihl 2 stroke oil and made fresh fuel for each use. That said, it was often frustratingly hard to start, so leave it to next week. Sometimes wanted to take it back to Stihl and "leave it". However, when it did run, it was great. (one star for starting issues and three for operational). Did find that it performed much better with 98 RON, but have been advised to use normal 91 or 95, no E10 or 98, as 98 causes the motor to run too hot (mower dealer comment).

Date PurchasedApr 2001
Page 1 of 2
See all Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E reviews

Questions & Answers

Phillip R

Phillip Rasked

FS 45

How do you take the bearing head from the shaft need to change it?

1 answer
janet
janet

you press the knob down and turn the bearing

RosieS

RosieSasked

FS 45

I cannot remove the head to replace the polymer blades. I can block the shaft but the head will not turn to come off. Any ideas?

No answers
Royboy

Royboyasked

FS 45

I have a FS45 when I press the bulb no matter how many times no petrol comes through, is this an easy fix?
Roy Jones

1 answer
Batman
Batman

Hi there, should be an easy fix. Very likely a small hole or leak, in the bulb or fuel line..,

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.