??!
2 photos
Stihl FS 55 C-E / FS 55 R-CE

Stihl FS 55 C-E / FS 55 R-CE

FS 55 R-CE, FS 55 C-E
3.2 from 34 reviews

Reviews

(11)
(6)
(5)
(3)
(9)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Product is used
    • Occasionally (1)
    • Daily (1)
  • Grass Type
    • Thick, heavy grass or weeds (2)
    • Short grass (1)
    • Tall grass (1)
  • Noise Level
    2.5 (2)
  • Safety
    5.0 (1)
Mike, NW Sydney

Mike, NW SydneySydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Upgrade made the grade

published

This product has developed nicely in the 12 years since I’ve been running Stihl brush cutters from H&G. The base model with the bent shaft was excellent with basic maintenance, infrequently. I replaced that with this model recently. The straight shaft is easier to use. It costs a little more than bent shaft model because of the components required, (design related).
Straight shaft benefit is in getting the angle to use as an edge trimmer. Flip it over and the angle is right. A bent shaft needs to be held at an awkward angle for edge trimming duty. The auto-feed line function has improved as well (both systems work well).

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Johnno

JohnnoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Great machines!

published

I'm not sure why so many negatives about this snipper. I am a commercial operator and I give these machines an absolute caning, with little or no servicing and I have two of these. Cuts well, I use only still 2.4mm line without any issues. Do take a little bit to start sometimes, harder if have been heated by use often, but nothing major. Does struggled well with initial throttling after starting, but keeps going after persistence. Auto line feed is a godsend for me as a commercial operator and it works well most of time, besides when it gets a little tangled. Never want to go back to the dreaded bump feed heads....paid $350.00 each for my two fs55's and worth every cent for the money they've earnt me in my business....

Purchased in March 2018 for $350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Grass Type Short grass, Tall grass and Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Stihl happy

Stihl happySunshine

Great machine

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 55 C-E / FS 55 R-CE compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
russy1

russy1Blayney

  • 3 reviews

ok for the first 3 years but no good for long term heavy duty work

published

Was ok for the early years that i had it but damaged the conrod after 3.5 years not the right machine for a big yard of nearly 2 acres. Dealer service has always been top quality. Have replaced it with an 85 so far so good a lot better for heavy duty work

Date PurchasedAug 2014
Ted

Tedbrisbane

  • 2 reviews

Disappointed, great for 2 years then useless & unfixable.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
McMatty523

McMatty523Bacchus Marsh

Couldn’t be happier

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
S.B.

S.B.Broussard

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good product

published

This thing works great I don’t see where all the bad reviews come from maybe it’s operator error yea sometimes it needs maintenance but all in all it’s a great trimmer I’ve had to clean out the muffler once dues tomit clogging up cleaned the carb once due to it gumming up that was my fault I really like the easy start feature barely have to pull the rope

Date PurchasedJan 2010
Maurice

Maurice

  • 2 reviews

Most problematic machine i've encountered

published
Date PurchasedApr 2013

A good hard machine

published

If you replace the auto line head properly it lasts for ages, and that’s using the same stihl string it came with. No parts necessary, just fuel and oil.
It is hard to start till you work out how. (Heads up, turn it on, set the throttle with the lock, make sure you have choke on. Pump the primer 3-5 times. “Look for fuel in the bulb”, then crank it till it first fires, turn off choke, then a couple more cranks it will spit into action. Mine never fails after I worked out what it wanted to start.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 55 C-E / FS 55 R-CE compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Georgie93

Georgie93AU

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A good reason never to purchase Stihl products again.

published

This, ladies and gentlemen, is a lemon. We had to take it back to the dealer as soon as we got it home, and they were less than sympathetic. It is impossible for me to start, and I have good upper body strength. My husband can only start it sometimes. And when it does start, it vibrates so much my hands are numb for an hour afterwards. Yes, we bought this product when it was placed on special, but surely it is reasonable to expect a basic level of product competence. If Stilh knew just how bad their product was, and I'm thinking that's why they put it on special, then it's pretty unethical of them to continue selling it to unaware customers. I note it's now discontinued. Wondering if any reviewers have heard back from Stihl?

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Don’t buy this what ever you do!!

published

I have had nothing but problems with this machine, it’s hard to start, line feeder is terrible.
Vibrates like hell (even though I’ve had it serviced by a Stihl dealer) stay clear of this product !! I paid $475 in 2016 thinking I’m buying a premium product, then in 2017 Stihl dropped the price to $370 !!! Why ??? Take a guess ?? I will never buy a Stihl product again....

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Don’t waste your money!

published

Avoid this machine! It is dreadful, truely dreadful. After owning it for 1 day I am taking it back mainly due to:
- being extremely difficult to start and when it does start it may just cut out as soon as you touch the throttle
- cuts out at random intervals and then will not start again
- feeder head chews through cord excessively

Ultimately I bought this as my first stihl producers and the product is unusable which is disappointing. I would never buy a stihl product again due to this experience.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
acerace

aceraceQld, 4521

  • 20 reviews
  • 3 likes

Starting it. good luck

published

Have had the Stihl FS 55C for a year and a bit.The bump and run function is crap
Do not use the Stihl cutting Line (supplied). buy "JM pro diamond core" you will be stunned how good it is.Just need to trim the end that fits spool!! it outlasts the standard line 10+ times
The thing works great if you can start it .

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Doug Coleman

Doug ColemanSwansea

  • 2 reviews

Frustrating Auto Feed

published

If I had of known about how poor the auto feed works I would not have purchased this unit. After a few hours use I had used all the cord. I could not believe it. My older Ryobi with the bump feed would last for ages. I replaced it with an after market bump feed head ($49) and it works well....so far. I should have bought a different brand that came with the bump feed head. I've had Stihl chainsaws (pre Chinese) and other Stihl products (Family business were agents years ago) and have been more than happy but this unit has underwhelmed me.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

If it works for me, it will work for anyone

published

I am a bad gardener. I thrash all my tools until they fall apart. This is still going well after years of heavy use and no maintenance. This is the first petrol trimmer I have owned. Even in a Canberra winter, it starts OK. Recommended for small to medium gardens.

Date PurchasedSep 2014
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 55 C-E / FS 55 R-CE compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

ive got one my self and ive never had a problem since

published

iam happy with the cutting work of the machine its great and powerfull too yes i find it easy to maintain every 12 months and i do the maintance on it myself i look after it well and keep it clean aswell and the fuel that i use is moto mix

Date PurchasedAug 2015

Please think twice before you buy.

published

Very hard to start. If you use weekend to weekend, then it will take 30 or so minutes of back breaking effort to start. I do not recommend this product. It may be good for professionals but not for household use. Do not listen to sales people and others as after two three years, there won't be any service.

Date PurchasedMar 2012
Bradj

BradjHunter Region, NSW

  • 13 reviews

Worst one I have ever owned.

published
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Scotty

ScottyCairns Qld

Very disappointed!!!!

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Diggz24

Diggz24Stittsville

Do not buy STIHL

published

Bought a new trimmer. A week later it wouldn't run. Long story short I've brought in to 3 different places and had to pay out of pocket not covered under warranty because they don't know what's wrong each time and stihl has a policy not to replace units that don't work, what a joke.
Almost $300 for useless junk. If I can even save one person from making the same mistake I made then I'm glad to help. Buy almost any other brand guaranteed you'll get better customer service. NEVER AGAIN.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

David M.

David M.asked

FS 55 C-E / FS 55 R-CE

Carburettor assembly

1 answer
Stihl happy
Stihl happy

Hi David,
Sorry never had a problem with any of my gear.

Greg

Gregasked

FS 55 R-CE

How do fix a Stihl FS 55RC whipper snipper that has has too much oil put into the fuel ?

No answers
Ken

Kenasked

FS 55 C-E

How do you tighten the head onto the shaft of a FS 55C? Mine spins around and the nut is tightened

1 answer
McMatty523
McMatty523

Put a screwdriver through the hole on the shaft and turn the head till the screwdriver drops through which holds the head so you can then undo / tighten

Get an answer from our members and Stihl representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.