??!
2 photos
Stihl FS 55 C-E / FS 55 R-CE

Stihl FS 55 C-E / FS 55 R-CE

FS 55 R-CE, FS 55 C-E
3.1 from 40 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Simple to operate

  • Suitable for intense gardening

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.6 (8)
  • Value for Money
    2.9 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    3.1 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (7)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    2.4 (8)
  • Safety
    3.9 (7)
Previous
Next
Bobb09

Bobb09Gippsland, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Cannot get consistent performance out of this machine.

published

Purchased machine just over 12 months ago after using a Kawasaki-powered Spear & Jackson for 35 trouble-free years. I find this machine noisy, vibration prone and engine speed is inconsistent and hard to regulate. I had it serviced once, after telling the vendor my problem, they suggested my fuel was too old/too dirty etc. - I have been running 2-strokes for 55 years! I find I need to limit my brush-cutting to under 40 min. these symptoms become worse thereafter and the machine is virtually unusable.

Purchased in December 2019 at Marriots for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Can’t see what people are complaining about. This works beautifully.

published

Purchased at Stihl Dealer.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Jacko

JackoSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

my gut told me to go with husqvarna, instead I went stihl. I wish I went with the husqvarna.

published

Purchased in November 2016 at Stihl Dealer for $378.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 55 C-E / FS 55 R-CE compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

problem with the product is the users

published

Great machine punches above its weight never let me down in 12 years only serviced 3 times always starts and capable of clearing heavy weed .also bought brush blade for heavy thistle

Purchased in November 2006 for $280.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
johnno

johnnoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

I like Stihl, but this is a dud.

published

I have a Stihl chainsaw which is indestructible, the whipper snipper on the other hand has been dreadful. Always hard to start, i clean or replace the carbie to no avail and it now needs a new carburetor after about 20 hours of use.

Purchased in February 2017 for $370.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Very difficult to start

published

This product is good if it starts. Very difficult to start even in warm weather. I am not at all satisfied with this product. Think twice before you buy. It is two stroke engine.

Purchased in May 2016 for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Mike, NW Sydney

Mike, NW SydneySydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Upgrade made the grade

published

This product has developed nicely in the 12 years since I’ve been running Stihl brush cutters from H&G. The base model with the bent shaft was excellent with basic maintenance, infrequently. I replaced that with this model recently. The straight shaft is easier to use. It costs a little more than bent shaft model because of the components required, (design related).
Straight shaft benefit is in getting the angle to use as an edge trimmer. Flip it over and the angle is right. A bent shaft needs to be held at an awkward angle for edge trimming duty. The auto-feed line function has improved as well (both systems work well).

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Johnno

JohnnoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Great machines!

published

I'm not sure why so many negatives about this snipper. I am a commercial operator and I give these machines an absolute caning, with little or no servicing and I have two of these. Cuts well, I use only still 2.4mm line without any issues. Do take a little bit to start sometimes, harder if have been heated by use often, but nothing major. Does struggled well with initial throttling after starting, but keeps going after persistence. Auto line feed is a godsend for me as a commercial operator and it works well most of time, besides when it gets a little tangled. Never want to go back to the dreaded bump feed heads....paid $350.00 each for my two fs55's and worth every cent for the money they've earnt me in my business....

Purchased in March 2018 for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Stihl happy

Stihl happySunshine

Great machine

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 55 C-E / FS 55 R-CE compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
russy1

russy1Blayney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

ok for the first 3 years but no good for long term heavy duty work

published

Was ok for the early years that i had it but damaged the conrod after 3.5 years not the right machine for a big yard of nearly 2 acres. Dealer service has always been top quality. Have replaced it with an 85 so far so good a lot better for heavy duty work

Date PurchasedAug 2014
Ted

Tedbrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Disappointed, great for 2 years then useless & unfixable.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
McMatty523

McMatty523Bacchus Marsh

Couldn’t be happier

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
S.B.

S.B.Broussard

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good product

published

This thing works great I don’t see where all the bad reviews come from maybe it’s operator error yea sometimes it needs maintenance but all in all it’s a great trimmer I’ve had to clean out the muffler once dues tomit clogging up cleaned the carb once due to it gumming up that was my fault I really like the easy start feature barely have to pull the rope

Date PurchasedJan 2010
Maurice

Maurice

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Most problematic machine i've encountered

published
Date PurchasedApr 2013

A good hard machine

published

If you replace the auto line head properly it lasts for ages, and that’s using the same stihl string it came with. No parts necessary, just fuel and oil.
It is hard to start till you work out how. (Heads up, turn it on, set the throttle with the lock, make sure you have choke on. Pump the primer 3-5 times. “Look for fuel in the bulb”, then crank it till it first fires, turn off choke, then a couple more cranks it will spit into action. Mine never fails after I worked out what it wanted to start.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 55 C-E / FS 55 R-CE compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Georgie93

Georgie93AU

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A good reason never to purchase Stihl products again.

published

This, ladies and gentlemen, is a lemon. We had to take it back to the dealer as soon as we got it home, and they were less than sympathetic. It is impossible for me to start, and I have good upper body strength. My husband can only start it sometimes. And when it does start, it vibrates so much my hands are numb for an hour afterwards. Yes, we bought this product when it was placed on special, but surely it is reasonable to expect a basic level of product competence. If Stilh knew just how bad their product was, and I'm thinking that's why they put it on special, then it's pretty unethical of them to continue selling it to unaware customers. I note it's now discontinued. Wondering if any reviewers have heard back from Stihl?

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Don’t buy this what ever you do!!

published

I have had nothing but problems with this machine, it’s hard to start, line feeder is terrible.
Vibrates like hell (even though I’ve had it serviced by a Stihl dealer) stay clear of this product !! I paid $475 in 2016 thinking I’m buying a premium product, then in 2017 Stihl dropped the price to $370 !!! Why ??? Take a guess ?? I will never buy a Stihl product again....

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Don’t waste your money!

published

Avoid this machine! It is dreadful, truely dreadful. After owning it for 1 day I am taking it back mainly due to:
- being extremely difficult to start and when it does start it may just cut out as soon as you touch the throttle
- cuts out at random intervals and then will not start again
- feeder head chews through cord excessively

Ultimately I bought this as my first stihl producers and the product is unusable which is disappointing. I would never buy a stihl product again due to this experience.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
acerace

aceraceQld, 4521

  • 20 reviews
  • 16 likes

Starting it. good luck

published

Have had the Stihl FS 55C for a year and a bit.The bump and run function is crap
Do not use the Stihl cutting Line (supplied). buy "JM pro diamond core" you will be stunned how good it is.Just need to trim the end that fits spool!! it outlasts the standard line 10+ times
The thing works great if you can start it .

Date PurchasedSept 2016
Doug Coleman

Doug ColemanHunter Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Frustrating Auto Feed

published

If I had of known about how poor the auto feed works I would not have purchased this unit. After a few hours use I had used all the cord. I could not believe it. My older Ryobi with the bump feed would last for ages. I replaced it with an after market bump feed head ($49) and it works well....so far. I should have bought a different brand that came with the bump feed head. I've had Stihl chainsaws (pre Chinese) and other Stihl products (Family business were agents years ago) and have been more than happy but this unit has underwhelmed me.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Carol s

Carol sasked

FS 55 R-CE

Mine is easy to start only 6 months old but vibrates - why - seems unbalanced! How can I fix it ???

2 answers
Jacko
Jacko

I probably had a lemon. 2 stroke always vibrates. That's why I bought a 4 stroke now

Carol s
Carol s

Thanks for your message - I think because I’m an older woman I was a sitting duck for the sales person - it’s light to handle and does start easy but it should be better!!

Sadik J.

Sadik J.asked

FS 55 C-E / FS 55 R-CE

How much is it?

No answers
David M.

David M.asked

FS 55 C-E / FS 55 R-CE

Carburettor assembly

1 answer
Stihl happy
Stihl happy

Hi David,
Sorry never had a problem with any of my gear.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Features

  • The Stihl FS 55 R-CE features a loop handle, making it highly ergonomic and easy to operate.
  • The machine uses a 2-stroke engine, making it cheaper to run and able to provide the power needed for heavy duty yard work.
  • It has a quick start feature, letting you start your machine at the press of a button.
  • A straight shaft means you can easily get to high and hard-to-reach areas.
  • It costs $349, and has a 2 year warranty for some extra peace of mind that your machine will last.

Points of praise:

  • Many reviewers found the whipper snipper easy to operate.
  • They also said it worked well for a variety of purposes, including more complex, heavy duty gardening.

Something to consider:

  • Reviewers were divided on how easy the machine was to start - some said it was very easy to start, some said it was fairly difficult.
Compare both Stihl FS 55 C-E / FS 55 R-CE
Stihl FS 55 C-E
  • Discontinued

Stihl FS 55 C-E

3.0
(7)
CategoryPetrol Whipper SnippersPetrol Whipper Snippers
Price (RRP) $349.00
Handle TypeLoop Handle
Shaft TypeStraight
Power SourcePetrol
Engine Type2-Stroke
Engine Displacement27.2 cc
Cutting Head TypeLine
FeaturesEasy / Quick Start
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Compare both Stihl FS 55 C-E / FS 55 R-CE

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.