??!
2 photos
Stihl MS 211

Reviews

2.4

25 reviews
5
(2)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(5)
1
(10)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (3)
  • Safety
    4.0 (3)
Previous
Next
Darryl

DarrylSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Good little saw

published

Have had my 211 for 7 plus year in the car travelling Australia. Used to cut up fire wood and pruning trees more recently. I have not treaded the saw the best and it’s had a hard life but I can not fault the machine. Starts easy and runs hard. Only problem I’ve had is leaking bar oil but seems to be a problem with STIHL these days. Just emptied the oil out at the end of each use and had no troubles.

Purchased in January 2013 at Stihl Dealer for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers

Cold starts are good, but cannot get a restart on hot days no matter what is tried.

published

Purchased in March 2018 for A$322.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers

hard worker

published

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 211 compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rachel B

Rachel BAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great on redgum, but issues with chain oil feeder

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Not happy with MS 211c chainsaw

published

I purchased a Stihl MS 211c chainsaw from Ace Hardware. The saw did not restart after only using 1/2 tank of gas. I brought the saw in for an adjustment and the tech managed to get it to run, but did not seem to have any idea what the problem was. I continued use for another tank of gas and it refused to start again. I brought the saw back and asked for the Stihl 29 point engine check. It failed the vacuum check, the carburetor was defective. The tech replaced it. I was told the saw was fine. I tried using it again and it did not seem to run well. After 1/2 tank of gas it refused to start again. I returned it for a refund. I will not purchase another Stihl product. I was not happy with the saw or the tech support I received.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Backyard user

Backyard userPlain City

Starting problems; oil leaks

published

Cannot lock on throttle or hold choke in middle starting throttle position. Needs some throttle to start so need a third hand to hold throttle.
Leaks oil when not operating. Had it serviced twice but still leaks. Dealer says its "normal"!
Very light use. Maybe total of 15-20 hours over five years.

Date PurchasedNov 2012
Hughesie

HughesieThe Mallee, VIC

  • 5 reviews

A great saw from Stihl as expected!

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
frustrated

frustratedanderson

Would not recommend it

published

First time using the saw and on the 3rd tank of gas, vibration caused the clip-on cover to come loose ... poor design. Repeatedly came loose. Would start ok and idle rough but would blog out when you tried to pull the throttle trigger while using premium 50:1 mix... until it finally warmed up. After cooling down, same thing all over again.
This was all on the 1st day using the saw ... very disappointed the direction Stihl has went with their quality ... which was the reason I decided to buy Stihl to begin with.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Smolly8

Smolly8Sale

  • 18 reviews

Wouldn’t go camping with out it

published

We go camping a lot, which means you can’t go without a camp fire, and to have a camp fire you need wood, which means you need a strong chainsaw. This mini boss fits in the back of the ute and doesn’t take up any space, can cut through a 16” bit of wood like butter, minimal maintenance makes this thing a dream to use

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 211 compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter B

Peter BTamworth

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Does have some Issues.

published

Mixed feelings with this saw. Starts ok most times but does have low down lag or flat spot on start up and needs the revs kept right up to it right from the start or tends to stall. That said mine hammers away all day without issue and with reasonable power for its size. Recently cut down a big gum then into pieces, it worked its butt off for 3 days without an issue.
Found it somewhat thirsty although worst and most annoying issue with it as with many of the same models is it leaks out all its chain lube oil when not being used over number of days so sit it on a decent rag when not in use and dont forget to fill the resevoir again prior to use.
Many other brands of saws can tend to do the same but maybe not as bad.

Date PurchasedAug 2015

Bad chainsaw

published

Bought only 6 weeks ago took it out to cut wood.within 10 minutes it conked out under warranty. 6 weeks to know i have to pay to repair a lemon. Found out this chainsaw is a lemon. So why are Stihls still selling them. $699 later Stihls do not want to no about it. Besides i pay $ out of my pocket to fix it. Got 10 minutes out of it. It's screwed. Not happy jan. Rockingham WA

Date PurchasedMay 2017
ConsumerKing

ConsumerKingPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

not a good saw ...on purpose

published
Date PurchasedJun 2015
wistawosta

wistawostaLismore, Victoria

  • 3 reviews

Good Saw

published

I have other saws , Partner s 65 , Stihl 038 magnum , I wanted a smaller size saw so I bought the Stihl ms 211 c be , used for cutting firewood, has enough power , good on fuel , I threw the Picco Duro chain away ,It starts easy , not to heavy , the e start is very easy to use it works well , very easy chain removal and adjustment no tools needed , would buy again .

Date PurchasedMay 2015
GPW

GPWBURPENGARY EAST

Good saw for what it was designed for

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Tony_Wonka

Tony_WonkaAU

  • 2 reviews

Dont waste your money

published

Bought this new on recommendation of Stihl dealer. First time used it ran for about 5 minutes stopped and wouldnt start. Took back to dealer who put in "fresh fuel" and said it worked fine. Took it home about two weks later and just second time i used it same thing ran for about 5 minutes stopped and wouldnt start. Took back to dealer who said it needed a new "air butterfly assembly" according to the invoice. Got it home and will try to use it again next few days. If same thing happens dealer might be wearing a Stihl MS 211 necklace. Been using chainsaws for past 40 years, first and last time i buy a Stihl, stick to the Huskies !!!

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
1 comment
Tony_Wonka
Tony_Wonka
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 211 compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Very poor unit .. extremely poor customer service

published

Brought this saw new late 2016. By beginning 2017, it had been returned to dealership twice - starter problems and bar nuts coming undone midway through operation. Treated very poorly by the local dealership. Another starter problem, cord chewed up during operation, caused me to contact head office. Although dealership has a vehicle and my current mode of transport is a motorcycle, they refuse to collect the saw, even though first two times I dropped it off via vehicle. Contacted ACCC and now a claim will be processed through them. To date, this saw has presented with 3 major problems although limited use by a certified operator.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
John B

John BPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Stihl avoids genuine warranty claim

published
Date PurchasedMar 2015

Don't buy this

published

Got this piece 2 weeks ago and 2 times already was in dealers repair. Needed to cut enough easy pieces on backyard saving on removal of debris after landscapers...indeed got only problems. Went down after 15 minutes of work, repaired in dealers shop, got back and same story. Was using good canned 50:1 premium mix. Was said should be buying only Stihl premium mix, like Stihl is making gasoline or what? Too much complicated service, said chain is not sharp and it;s after 20 minutes of work total. Waste of money.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Bobfixer

Bobfixershinners shoot

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Never able to complete a small job.

published

Had an MS211C for 16 months. Been back to the shop some 9 times. Never got more than 15mins runtime out of it. Cost over $1000 in time and petrol to try get it fixed. Stihl refuse to replace or refund. Trashing it in favour of a cheaper saw - only 'domestic' use - don't care if it only lasts a year! Always used Stihl oils etc.

Jimmy G

Jimmy GSydney

  • 16 reviews
  • 1 like

Very pleased

published

I have several other Stihl products - bought this 4 months ago for cutting firewood & fallen trees on our 2Ha property
I bought it with tungsten tipped chain - which is superb
Very happy with everything about it - no oil leaking problems (perhaps they have fixed it)
The EasyStart works OK - the vibration reduction seems to work well (but makes the saw feel a bit strange).
It was not a cheap saw but happy with the result

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

All as above

All as aboveasked

MS 211

How do u change a chain

1 answer
RMS
RMS

Using the plug spanner/screwdriver tool that comes with chainsaw to remove the NUT on the White Cover just behind the chain , Remove White Cover (make sure chain brake is off) .. with White Cover removed you can remove chain and get sharpened or replace = remember cutting edge faces forward on TOP side of chain bar when replacing new chain.. after installing sharp/new chain reinstall White Cover = do nut firm BUT NOT tight , use same tool to adjust chain , Finely do nut tight. +also make sure small black steel bracket fits into brake handle while refitting the White Cover , Be carefull handling chain = very easy to cut yourself.

Timber

Timberasked

MS 211

Ms 211 review just bought a stihl ms 211 chainsaw today
I was talked into getting this model at the stihl shop
I have been reading some reviews on this model
Should i take it back to the shop ?before i use it and exchange it for a different model

1 answer
apett
apett

YESSSS maybe try a hitachi or huski or oliomac ??? get rid of it even if you drop $100

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.