4 photos
Stihl MS 311 Farm Boss

Stihl MS 311 Farm Boss

3.1 from 38 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Petrol Chainsaws in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Stihl? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (11)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    3.1 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (11)
  • Safety
    4.1 (9)
Previous
Next
Luke02
Luke02Mid North Coast, NSW

No complaints here

published

No complaints from me. I cant fault it. Been using it now for over a year and extremely satisfied with it. I was originally put off by other reviews but believe if you look after it, it will look after you .

Purchased in May 2020 for $1,199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bobr
BobrWangaratta

Running sweet & strong for 11 yrs straight

published

Bought my MS311 new in 2010 fitted with 20" bar and very reliable machine.
Does lots of work every year for me. eg I buy bar oil in 20L drums.
Replacing chains, bars and sprockets is very easy. Nice design.
Never have to tune it. Very happy.
Only service issue has been new muffler last year.

Purchased in January 2010.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sunshine happy
Sunshine happyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews

Excellent so far

published

Bought second hand to replace a 034, not because the 034 gave up, because the anti vibe is better for my hands. Starts within 4 pulls every time from cold and one pull when warm,cuts on par if not a little better than the 034, same bar and chain. Love the anti vibe over the old rubber type. A little heavy for what it is but i don't log with it. A bit more work to get to the filter for cleaning and i love the new fuel and oil caps.

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 311 Farm Boss compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Works

published

Starts like any STIHL when cold , Two or three pulls with choke and then another couple without choke . The 311 is light enough to work up high on small cleaning jobs before you bring in a big saw for the heavy cutting and love that the bar swaps straight over onto my 660 magnum if needed .
Good little saw that Works for me .

Purchased in April 2021 for $1,299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Hugh Disappointment

published

The Stihl MS 311 hardly ever starts when needed, it can take up to 20 minutes to get it running, if at all.
Nobody ever figured out how to fix this, in short: A Very Expensive LEMON !

Purchased in May 2014 at Stihl Dealer for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Brodz
BrodzDarling Downs, QLD

Awesome saw.

published

Easy to start, usually kicks over third pull. Great weight with plenty of power to cut through Australian Iron bark, which I cut on regular basis for firewood. Really can't believe reviews on here... look after your gear and it will stay in good Nick for years to come.

Purchased in May 2016 for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Terribly Disappointed - Clint Tollinger

published

Totally agree with Daniel. I have owned a succession of Stihl 034s over decades, and they have given me enormous service. The last one refused to start, in the end, and I figured I'd buy a new first time every time starter. The 311 has given me trouble from the outset - NEVER starts first time, cowling screws fall out. Have to not only clean sparkplug and airfilter (much harder with the cylindrical, ribbed filter, as against the simple rectangular gauze filter of yore), but also spray 363 into the spark chamber, leave it sitting in the sun to warm up, then maybe, it'll decide to go. I too am 70+yo. Honestly, I am terribly disappointed and disheartened. Is this thing made in China? Husky next. Soon.

Purchased in February 2019 at Stihl Dealer.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Hard starting

published

Purchased in May 2017.

Value for Money
Incentivised Review No
Frank C.
Frank C.South West, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good performer, a bit lightweight

published

Purchased in October 2013 at Stihl Dealer for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 311 Farm Boss compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael
MichaelSouth West, WA

Extremely disappointed.

published

Based on the rugged reliability of my Stihl 180 chainsaw and the Stihl whipper-snipper I too bought this larger chainsaw. It hardly runs for than 10 minutes, stalls and is hard/impossible to start. The Stihl dealers give me the run around and you can see that they know its crap. Mates with smaller $300.00 Bunning's saws cuts 10 x as much without fail. Never again.

Purchased in August 2018 at Stihl Dealer for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

MS 311 Farm Toss

published

Purchased in October 2017 for $900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Colin
ColinMurray Region, NSW

Absolute crapp

published

I bought in early 2017 ran for 3_4 months with only light work started overheating took back to Mansfield sthil dealer not covered under warranty as suspected fuel mix [what crap] had saw cylinder and piston replaced at my cost $800 fix. Used for 2maybe 3 loads of wood then seized
Took back to dealer same thing suspected wrong fuel mix no warranty.. Never ever buy a sthil product again lost me...

Purchased in April 2017 for $1,800.00.

Incentivised Review No

$1200 of rubbish

published

Very hard to start now won't start only used twice can't believe it payed $1200 for this crap will never recommend or buy stihl products again I've also got an old stihl 510 about 40 years old never had a problem prefer to use that stihl don't make them like they use to may as well get the Chinese to make them

Purchased in March 2018 for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Grant Russell
Grant RussellAlbany, Western Australia
  • 2 reviews

DONT BUY THIS

published

Did the job for the first few hours then started overheating. took back to dealer and was told the recommended 25:1 was not good for this model had to run it as rich as possible. Fell apart seals disintegrated while cutting dust entered and then ceased after 30 hours, was a very expensive lesson in what not to buy.

Date PurchasedMar 2016

Overrated Saw

published

Great saw when going but doesn't go often enough. Dealer and spare parts support is absolutely disgraceful. Once they sell you the saw and you return with a problem they don't want to know you. Parts are never available, repair times cant be quoted, they don't know because they don't know if they can get parts or not. Will never buy another Stihl Chainsaw again and probably will never buy a Stihl product ever.

Date PurchasedJune 2016
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 311 Farm Boss compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

frank
frankasked

we just bought the ms311 and they started it at the store but when we brought it home it won't start. Any help?

1 answer

Take it back and try to get your cash back. It is a really poorly built chain for Stihl standards and has been plauged with issues including catastrophic engine failure (cylinder and cylinder head burning out). Stihl have attempted to cover this up by encouraging their dealerships to say a poor mix was used. If you can get your money back or change for a different model, I would do so.

Ray H.
Ray H.asked

I have what year were they first bought out

1 answer
Poorbuildquality
Poorbuildquality

2009 I believe, it has been plagued with issues. Really poor build just read thread.

Danny Dawson
Danny Dawsonasked

can you go from 20 inch to 24 inch bar?

No answers
See all Stihl MS 311 Farm Boss questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryPetrol Chainsaws
Price (RRP) $1,199.00
Use Pruning and Small tree felling, trimming, and cross-cutting
Bar Length50 cm
FeaturesAnti-Vibration System, Automatic Chain Oiling / Lubrication and Quick / Easy Start
Weight6.2 kg
Power (kW)3.1 kW
Power (HP)4.2 HP
Engine Displacement59 cc
Fuel Tank Capacity600 mL
Release dateMar 2010
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.