??!
4 photos
Stihl MS 311 Farm Boss

Stihl MS 311 Farm Boss

3.0 from 33 reviews

Reviews

3.0

33 reviews
5
(11)
4
(4)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(12)
  • Build Quality
    2.8 (6)
  • Value for Money
    1.7 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    2.5 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (6)
  • Safety
    4.2 (6)
Previous
Next

Terribly Disappointed - Clint Tollinger

published

Totally agree with Daniel. I have owned a succession of Stihl 034s over decades, and they have given me enormous service. The last one refused to start, in the end, and I figured I'd buy a new first time every time starter. The 311 has given me trouble from the outset - NEVER starts first time, cowling screws fall out. Have to not only clean sparkplug and airfilter (much harder with the cylindrical, ribbed filter, as against the simple rectangular gauze filter of yore), but also spray 363 into the spark chamber, leave it sitting in the sun to warm up, then maybe, it'll decide to go. I too am 70+yo. Honestly, I am terribly disappointed and disheartened. Is this thing made in China? Husky next. Soon.

Purchased in February 2019 at Stihl Dealer.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers

Hard starting

published

Purchased in May 2017.

Value for Money
Frank C.

Frank C.South West, WA

  • 2 reviews

Good performer, a bit lightweight

published

Purchased in October 2013 at Stihl Dealer for A$1,100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 311 Farm Boss compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Luke02

Luke02Mid North Coast, NSW

Great saw can't fault it.

published

All I can say this is a great saw. Not sure about all the negative comments but mine hasn't let me down. Saw starts fine when procedure is followed correctly.

Purchased for A$1,299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
Michael

MichaelSouth West, WA

Extremely disappointed.

published

Based on the rugged reliability of my Stihl 180 chainsaw and the Stihl whipper-snipper I too bought this larger chainsaw. It hardly runs for than 10 minutes, stalls and is hard/impossible to start. The Stihl dealers give me the run around and you can see that they know its crap. Mates with smaller $300.00 Bunning's saws cuts 10 x as much without fail. Never again.

Purchased in August 2018 at Stihl Dealer for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers

MS 311 Farm Toss

published

Purchased in October 2017 for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
Colin

ColinMurray Region, NSW

Absolute crapp

published

I bought in early 2017 ran for 3_4 months with only light work started overheating took back to Mansfield sthil dealer not covered under warranty as suspected fuel mix [what crap] had saw cylinder and piston replaced at my cost $800 fix. Used for 2maybe 3 loads of wood then seized
Took back to dealer same thing suspected wrong fuel mix no warranty.. Never ever buy a sthil product again lost me...

Purchased in April 2017 for A$1,800.00.

$1200 of rubbish

published

Very hard to start now won't start only used twice can't believe it payed $1200 for this crap will never recommend or buy stihl products again I've also got an old stihl 510 about 40 years old never had a problem prefer to use that stihl don't make them like they use to may as well get the Chinese to make them

Purchased in March 2018 for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
Grant Russell

Grant RussellAlbany, Western Australia

  • 2 reviews

DONT BUY THIS

published

Did the job for the first few hours then started overheating. took back to dealer and was told the recommended 25:1 was not good for this model had to run it as rich as possible. Fell apart seals disintegrated while cutting dust entered and then ceased after 30 hours, was a very expensive lesson in what not to buy.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 311 Farm Boss compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Overrated Saw

published

Great saw when going but doesn't go often enough. Dealer and spare parts support is absolutely disgraceful. Once they sell you the saw and you return with a problem they don't want to know you. Parts are never available, repair times cant be quoted, they don't know because they don't know if they can get parts or not. Will never buy another Stihl Chainsaw again and probably will never buy a Stihl product ever.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
evilsmurf

evilsmurfAdelaide

  • Verified purchase

certainly not a pro saw

published

spat the plug clean out of the head under full noise, not overly used, mainly for felling or sectioning larger rounds, sent back under warranty which was not honored

for a 14 month old machine that cost $2000 I would have expected it to last a hell of a lot longer

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Chris

ChrisCoffs harbour

  • 4 reviews

Great all rounder

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Amazing saw!

published

I have owned husy's,jonsonreds,and several other top dollar saws this saw is amazing my grandfather bought it from a friend and its quite old but i love it.i cut wood burls and they are really hard.This stihl runs through it. I use air compressor to blow it out after and its perfect.for these people that wrote bad reveiws buy a poulan and a box of kleenex. Cause you obviously do not know what your doing. If the saw dis run you would probably hurt yourselfs.lol amazing saw wouldnt trade it for anything else.

Date PurchasedAug 2000

Worst saw I ever used. Nothing but problems with no dealer backup. Quality just not there. They don’

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Jack

JackMelbourne

Fantasic saw

published

Recently upgraded from a ms170 (owned for 5 years without an issue) to a ms 311. So far a fantasic saw, had it out on a few occasions, it starts easy even without using the decomp button, reliable and has plenty of power. Would recommend as a good all rounder.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 311 Farm Boss compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dingo

DingoBunbury

  • Verified purchase

This was far from the expectations that was offered.

published
Date PurchasedMay 2015

Worst saw ever

published
Date PurchasedJun 2016

Excellent chain saw!

published

It is very easy to start once you figure it out,pops off every time like clock work and once warm....one pull every time. It has very good power and I'm running a 20" bar. Love It! quite baffeled with some of the negative responses???? ripped into some old very hard red oak last year, outdid my buddies comparable Husky. Again couldn't be happier. I run none oxy 91 and Steels top of line oil, never even changed plug yet.

Date PurchasedJul 2011

Solid all round saw

published

Not a bad saw until you roll a 1000lb log over it. Sounds like all the start issues you guys complain about is failure of your local dealer jetting the carburetor for right altitude. I live at 9k feet saw runs great up to 11k so far. But have to say after I destroy saw has never ran the same and getting replacement parts takes ions for Stihl dealers. Has bean a year and still not right from my accident. Parts should not take 3 or more months to get to a authorized dealer

Date PurchasedJun 2015

stilh 311

published

i have a311 as well runs like a dream, would not be without it. works all day long. like l said , if you look after them ,they do the jod really well, for a average saw i reckon they are the best in they range bye a stilh any dayRon

Date PurchasedApr 2014
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

frank

frankasked

we just bought the ms311 and they started it at the store but when we brought it home it won't start. Any help?

1 answer
Poorbuildquality
Poorbuildquality

Take it back and try to get your cash back. It is a really poorly built chain for Stihl standards and has been plauged with issues including catastrophic engine failure (cylinder and cylinder head burning out). Stihl have attempted to cover this up by encouraging their dealerships to say a poor mix was used. If you can get your money back or change for a different model, I would do so.

Ray H.

Ray H.asked

I have what year were they first bought out

1 answer
Poorbuildquality
Poorbuildquality

2009 I believe, it has been plagued with issues. Really poor build just read thread.

Danny Dawson

Danny Dawsonasked

can you go from 20 inch to 24 inch bar?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.