??!
2 photos
Stihl MS 390 / MS 391 Farm Boss

Stihl MS 390 / MS 391 Farm Boss

391 FarmBoss, MS 390
3.0 from 42 reviews

Reviews

3.0

42 reviews
5
(15)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(16)
  • Build Quality
    1.9 (14)
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    2.5 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.7 (13)
  • Safety
    3.4 (10)
Previous
Next
Richard D.

Richard D.South Australia

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Used and abused for 20 years.

published

Purchased in June 2000 for A$899.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
Gary F.

Gary F.Western Australia

  • 2 reviews

Rubbish saw.

published

Dont buy one. 10 hours use from new and now has a scored piston and barrel. Stihl australia says there was saw dust in air filter so no warranty. Been chopping wood for 30 plus years and never a problem. 1500 bucks worth of crap. Just purchased a 455 husqvana. Shame on you stihl

Purchased in March 2017 for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
CHRIS

CHRISGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Rubbish product

published

I have had Stihl saws for over 30 years , this model over heated after 1 hour use , I only cut personal firewood during the Autum months. probably had only 100 hrs total use. I did some checking after the repair shop gave me the bad news, this Model has a design flaw , with loose gates on the bearings ,This model was recalled in the USA. I have read a lot of reports of these expensive saws failing.

something should be done , class action!

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 390 / MS 391 Farm Boss compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rj W.

Rj W.South West, WA

what a lemon !!!!!

published

had a old 029 for many years,[18 at least!] ,rugged reliable,great saw.,but it was getting a bit long in the tooth. my good wife decided i deserved a new one for my birthday. purchased a m s 391 along with stihl engine oil which gave me a extra 2 year warranty .[lol].it seemed ok ,but the bar wear was surprising.after 4 months it blew a hole in piston . neither the agent or stihl aust., wanted to know ,as i had obviously ,used the wrong fuel mix ,used old fuel,or flogged it.all of which is complete nonsense. have reverted to my older , smaller Victa pro ,using the same fuel mix ,cutting the same fence posts ,no problem,.Comment anyone? Class action ??

Sean K

Sean KMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

MS-390 v 391 AKA mine v Parkers (stars Reflect 391)

published
Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
Gary F.

Gary F.Western Australia

  • 2 reviews

Useless chainsaw and hopeless warranty

published

Purchased at Midland stihl for A$1,400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
Nicko

Nicko

  • 3 reviews

391 is a Dud

published

Purchased new, used about 10 hours over a three year period. Always used Stihl oil and mix rate of 50-1, and never over worked. It died cutting stringybark. Pulled apart, bearings totally failed, major scores on the piston and bore. I’d say the crank is shot as well. Cost $1,100 new and now a piece of junk. Don’t want to throw good money away fixing it as more than likely it will fail again. Stihl have blotted there copy book with me that’s for sure!
Note have a little MS 170, done twice the work and runs like a dream ...

Purchased in June 2017 for A$1,100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
Max M.

Max M.Northeast, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Absolute Rubbish

published

Purchased in February 2019 for A$1,399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
GJL

GJLSouthern and Hills, SA

Don’t believe the ads!

published

Farmboss died after <100 hrs.
I’ve always considered stihl a high quality brand but I’m done now. Bought this saw because advertised as having the grunt and longevity for farm work. Had it for 5 years, used it sparingly, wrapped it in cotton wool and the dealer said engine is done and you’ll need a new one. Would have been cheaper to buy wood for 5 years. It stihl looks new.... sorry couldn’t help myself.
So much for the “pulling the 20 year old stihl out of the shed and it starts first time” crap they dribble.

Purchased in January 2014 for A$1,300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 390 / MS 391 Farm Boss compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ddjac

ddjac

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Junk - Very Disappointed

published

Purchased in May 2015 at Stihl Dealer for A$1,399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

MS390 GET ONE IF YOU CAN, EVEN SECOND HAND ! BEST EVER

published

Got my MS390 5 years ago, been cutting Australian Hardwood to fuel our furnace which heats a large Queenslander home. We get down to minus 11c in winter outside. This saw has not missed a beat and we go through a lot of wood! My wife likes the house very, very warm. Would not swop this saw for a new model, just replace anything that needs it. Keep up the oil. Mods done, Polish the ports & open up the muffler and "super tuned" (google it). Run a full chisel teeth and keep them sharp. If you can persuade someone to sell you one second hand, grab it with both hands.

Purchased in January 2014 at private seller for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
txm194

txm194

  • 2 reviews

Perfect Saw

published

I have owned Stihl for over 30 years, I purchased my Farm Boss about 3 years ago, I keep it in a unheated Barn in sub zero Pocono Mountain weather. It always starts easily and is one of the best cutting saws I have ever used. The only thing I do special with this saw is I use the pre-mixed fuel Stihl fuel.

Purchased in May 2016.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers

Stihl chainsaw is a disgrace

published

I bought a Stihl chainsaw 3 years ago. Didn't use it much because I didn't have time. Now I'm retired and have trees that need cut. Got it out of my climate controlled garage, and the housing cracked when I started to use it. Bar oil just runs out of it. Took it to dealer to find out the housing costs as much as the saw did. I haven't cut 2 chords of wood with it. It is junk. I will never buy a Stihl product. This saw is very disappointing.

Purchased in August 2016 at Stihl Dealer for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers

Blown engine

published

Probably got 10-15 hrs of use out of it. Didn’t use it much but it’s still barely out of warranty. Really like my ms290 but obviously quality has dipped dramatically.

Purchased in March 2018 for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

STIHL 391

published

Don't buy Stihl , I bought a stihl MS250 for $695 and motor died after 4 months ( or 10 medium tress cuts) . Stihl dealer said we didnt mixed enough oil and refused to pay the repair motor cost of $475, But we always mixed 100 per 5L. We bought the MS391 while we waiting for the dispute. Buy after few days use, the MS391 wont stop now we have to bring it back to repair. SO DO NOT buy STIHL produsts, waste time
Annie from New Zealand

Purchased in February 2019 for A$1,295.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 390 / MS 391 Farm Boss compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Theo

TheoBrisbane

don't buy 391, no back up and Stihl blame operator

published

I have owned many chainsaws over last 25 years through our hardwood timber biz, recently bought 3 units 391 and 1st unit lasted 4 weeks when compression died and can see a hole in piston after spark plug removed. all 3 units are not working with same problem, usage is moderate and maintained. enough power but no reliability and Stihl will not support unless we pay money to repair. very poor form. Careful what you buy and as newer Stihl saws too many electrics and lighter wight, not as robust. using my 20 year old 268 Husky rather than 391 with latest features but no performance. by the way my 18 month old 381 is running well!!

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Fantastic saw

published

Owned my 390 since 2008 it’s always started and cut over 100 ton of hardwood , jarra, stringy bark yellow box iron wood black wood white gum
It’s always started you have to follow the procedure
Choke on pull till it has the first fire then flick the choke to fast idle put chain break on then it starts flick the accelerator and it idles
I always clean the air filter and measure my oil with a measuring cup to 5 litres of petrol
After use I always take the bar off and clean with compressed air I run a file across the teeth at 30-35 degrees to sharpen only 2 passes needed
I've never taken it in to a dealer iv changed the plug once in 10 years
I just cut 10 ton of wood this week thought how good this saw is !!!

Date PurchasedJun 2008
Scottn

ScottnBoxford

Good saw if only it would run all the time (2)

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Good when going but hard to start and died early

published

Bought the farm boss to cut blanks for turning and slab cutting for furniture. Had a fair bit of work clearing fallen trees after recent cyclone and some cuts of a full tank at a time doing slabs. After 11 months and about 20 hrs work it upped and died. Always used 40 to 1 mix but it had lost power and stopped 10 min into a slab cut,never to go again. Dealer says I cooked it but I would expect it to cope with long cuts at high revs. No fouling of air vents or other contributing factors. Starting always a bit of an issue. Never less than 6-8 pulls and often flooded and needed a rest

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Jim

JimWasleys

  • 7 reviews

Great chsinsaw

published

Husband very happy, wish we had bought one 20 years ago. Slices through sugar gum like butter, makes the job so much easier. Light to hold and to maneuvers. Received a free chain with it , so wuite a bargain. Wishes he hasn't wasted his time with inferior brands & got one of these years ago

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Leroy

Leroyasked

MS 390 / MS 391 Farm Boss

What size bar to suit ms 390

2 answers
Leroy
Leroy

What size bar suit’s ams 390

Richard D.
Richard D.

16" - 24" standard range. The standard 20" seems to work best for general use, coping with full depth cuts in Australian hardwoods but you know you are using all of the blade... They might bog down a bit if you try to fit 24" and that is the largest recommended bar length - good for soft woods at that length, but probably not for ironbark... Anything bigger you probably want to consider a skip tooth chain.

JNichi

JNichiasked

MS 390 / MS 391 Farm Boss

Is the 390 a better saw than 391 to buy second hand.can I run a 24 in chain on it?

2 answers
CHRIS
CHRIS

I would not recommend these saws to anyone, have a look at all the reviews, and by just this site.

The comparison in experiences between the 390 compared to the 391(model to replace the 390) is like compairing cheese and chalk.

The 390 is a workhorse but the 391 is a dud !

Seek out a trusty 390 and do a rebuild (after market parts, not genuine) yourself. It is a great way to learn about your saw and make it your 'best mate'. Shop around for the parts and check the reviews on the parts and finish quality. Be prepared to do some cleaning up with a 'dremmel' to port and polish and give a good clean up.

If the bore is overly smooth (mirror finish) run some honing stones with plenty of oil to refinish the bore.

Recommend considering the pop top (raised top) piston.

Increase the fuel 1/4 turn as your new mate will be working harder and this will help to minimise overheating. Google 'super tuning' for chainsaws

Take the time and enjoy the journey.

Paul Martino

Paul Martinoasked

MS 390 / MS 391 Farm Boss

what price for Stihl Chainsaw Model MS391 FARMBOSS with 16" bar

2 answers

Do not waste your money on a MS391,
Only recommend a MS390, be patient and shop around. They do not often come up for sale but are worth the wait.

Paul Martino
Paul Martino

Thanks for your advice Peter but I purchased one some months ago.
Kind regards,
Paul Martino

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.