??!
5 photos
Subaru Liberty 5GEN

Subaru Liberty 5GEN (2009-2014)

3.7 from 19 reviews · View Details

Reviews

3.7

19 reviews
5
(10)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(4)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (5)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (4)
  • Handling
    4.5 (4)
  • Braking
    4.0 (4)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.2 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    2.8 (4)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (4)
  • Features
    4.0 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (4)
Previous
Next
Reece Oconnor

Reece OconnorSouth East Queensland, QLD

My throughts on CVT and manual trans.

published

Purchased in March 2020 for A$8,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Reece, Thank you so much for your review. Not only is the Liberty beautiful to drive, there is so much more to love about it even when you may have a repair to take care of. All the best and safe driving! The Subaru Team.

Jake G.

Jake G.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Great all rounder, sleeper status

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Carsales.com.au for A$17,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
KFM

KFMNorthern Region, NSW

Avoid this model like the plague.

published

The torque converter is a shocker and Subaru, unlike in the US, won't give an extended warranty with the problem. The stalling is a serious safety problem. And the cost of repairing it is in the region of $4000.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
2 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
KFM
KFM
Sedans

Find out how Subaru Liberty 5GEN compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ridero

rideroSydney, NSW

Transmission problems

published

Purchased 2010 Liberty GT Sedan Auto with 90k on the clock. The car has always been looked after and serviced on schedule. It's been a great car. But, now at 142K, the 5 speed auto transmission has failed (apparantly a well known fault with the GT). Not happy with Subaru, anyway there goes my plans to updgrade a new wrx.

Purchased in September 2013.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Cliff30

Cliff30MACQUARIE

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Awesome until the Torque convertor fails!

published

Absolutely loved this car which is a 2010 always serviced on time and then it started to stall when coming to a quick stop. Did some research and found it is a know fault with the torque convertor. Took it to subaru and they have quoted $5000 to replace. Most of that is labour. The car is hardly worth that. So it is the end of the line for our much loved libby and she will be traded in. And not for a another subaru.!!

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
See all answers
2 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Cliff30
Cliff30

So are you saying the Australian spec torque converter is different to the american so should not have the same issue? should i take it back to the dealership and tell them they got it wrong and to look again ?

Paul T.

Paul T.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 13 likes

Great until the CVT fails

published

Purchased at Subaru Dealers.

Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Gear Shifting
See all answers
12 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Paul T.
Paul T.
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @Paul T., Thanks for your feedback. We will be sure to pass on your details to our Customer Relations Team.

Reliable car

published
Badge2.5i
BodyWagon
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2010
smart cookie

smart cookieSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent Car - Poor Dealershp Service department

published
BadgeGT Premium
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2010
robin

robinMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 28 reviews
  • 15 likes

love this car.

published
BadgePremium Pack
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Sedans

Find out how Subaru Liberty 5GEN compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ashley

Ashley

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect car, couldn't be happier!

published

Excellent driving experience, powerful yet quiet and fuel efficient which is ideal. Interior and exterior is comfortable, tidy and modern. Only thing I would change is having a rear window wiper for cold mornings, other than that I couldn't ask for much more. So far it has treated me very well, reliable is an understatement.

Badge2.5i
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Daniel

DanielAustralia

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Liberty GT is an Outstanding SLEEPER!

published
BadgeGT Premium
BodySedan
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.5
Karen Baker

Karen BakerCentral Coast NSW

2010 Subaru Liberty, we bought a Lemon....

published

I was an avid lover of the Subaru until recently. My 5yr old 2010 Subaru Liberty, it was recently serviced at a Subaru Service Center only 9 days later it blows a head gasket and now the torque converters need replacing due to the continued stalling problem that has developed so much so that it is unsafe to drive. This car has caused us nothing but problems and the Customer service we received from Subaru Australia is appalling. I question their Customer Promise and slogan 'All for the driver" I have now been without my car for over a month. I am told the NEW Subaru Liberty's have an improved torque converter as a result of the number of problems in earlier models. This does not help me.
Very disappointing.

BadgeHeritage
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0
q812475

q812475Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 17 reviews
  • 14 likes

Subaru Liberty GT Premium

published
Engine Size2.5
BadgeGT Premium
BodyWagon
mikemini1977

mikemini1977Sydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 11 likes

Great quality built, stylish wagon. MY06 2.5l. Automatic

published
Engine Size2.5
BadgeGT Premium
BodyWagon
3 comments
Nicho58
Nicho58

You would't be a mechanic by any chance would you Mike? I mean, you only told us 3 times in one paragraph.

Nicho58
Nicho58

Correction: make that 4 times in one review you tell us you are a mechanic.

mikemini1977
mikemini1977

you must have nothing better to do with your time if you actually counted and feel like commenting on how many times I mentioned mechanic. I hope the factual review helped you Nicho58.

able 01

able 01Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 9 likes

Excellent Performer

published

2011 GT Wagon since new. Handling and performance is perfect, especially around corners. I can't fault the car. The interior has all the creature comforts you could wish for. My only complaint is the turbo lag or lack of throttle response around 1200rpm. It's a bit annoying when you're in traffic. I added a body kit and sports grill, tow bar and tinted windows. The new appearance is a head turner.

BodyWagon
Sedans

Find out how Subaru Liberty 5GEN compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cameron

CameronGosford

2010 Subaru Liberty Sport - Excellent

published
BodySedan
Brianjames

BrianjamesMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Performance & safety

published

I have a 2010 GT Premium Liberty , owned from new and have now done 107,000 kilometers .
Regularly serviced, the only issue a front left shocker replaced under warranty, probably due to rural roads after the floods!
The original set of Potenza tyres did 97000 kilometers so even at $500 a tyre I stuck with the Potenzas
Fuel consumption on hwy runs about 8.9 l/ 100kls, put the foot down and it flies in sport# good for 200 kph, if it was legal to do that of course!
Looks, not the prettiest and very Toyotaiss, but with STI grill looks better
Power, handling safety grip in wet build quality
Looks could obe better, see what they did with the BRZ!

Engine Size2.5
BodyWagon
BadgeGT Premium
Richard A

Richard ABrisbane

Quality and practical for good price

published

I research products to death before purchasing, I was looking at Audi A4, VW Golf, Mazda 6 and the Subaru Liberty wagon Heritage.
The Subaru became my choice as it was practical (space for camping gear) and my family.
It is rock solid on the road with excellent grip, the all wheel drive Audi was $90k!
The quality is second to none for a reasonable price, plus Subaru hold good resale value.
After 4 years owning the car, I only have one criticism that the drivers seat is bit firm, the car is perfect
Fuel economy City driving I get 9.2L/100 and the best run was 6L/100 being very gentle on the throttle.
Handling, space, quality, reliability and price
A firm drivers seat

Engine Size2.5
BodyWagon
2 comments
wisernow
wisernow

the engine is a gamble if it is a 2.5 litre. They can blow head gaskets without warning around 180000 k.

mikemini1977
mikemini1977
StevenJ29

StevenJ29CANBERRA

Wont buy subaru again

published

Bought a 2011 year subaru liberty wagon, start hearing cracking noise from front and rear, squeaky noise from windows, dealer fixed windows issues after I reported, but never be able to fix cracking noise completely, I can still hear it from rear of the car. Guess what, the front cracking noise is because the weldered joint was broken. what a joke. hope the car won't fall apart when I drive, 1 years passed, contact Subaru Australia, no answer yet. its not your baby, do you care?
Comfortable to drive
Defect parts or weldered joints used inside the car, cracking noise not completely fixed after a year

Engine Size2.5
BodySedan
1 comment
asianboycn
asianboycn
See all Subaru Liberty reviews

Questions & Answers

Gareth T.

Gareth T.asked

Liberty 5GEN (2009-2014)

I've a 2013 Liberty GT Prem Wagon. There is an issue whereby the gear selection at between 1200rpm and 1800rpm shudders. Is this related to the torque converter or a separate issue altogether.?

1 answer
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Gareth T, Unfortunately we can’t confirm this is related to the torque converter without inspection and diagnosis. We recommend contacting your Subaru service retailer. The Subaru Team. http://bit.ly/2WZZ8yv

Anna R

Anna Rasked

Liberty 5GEN (2009-2014)

Looking at buying a 2011 liberty for my son. I’m a bit worried about the torque and CVT issue, especially since we have just gotten rid of a dodgy VW Golf. Are there known issues with this model car and should we stay away?

1 answer
Paul T.
Paul T.

Hi, Gen 5 2011 Liberty does have a cvt issue, the torque converter fails causing the car to stall when you come to a halt, like a manual when you stop without the clutch in. It is not something you can see coming, mine happened suddenly. I have just received the quote for $4550 to fix - I am 2nd owner of the car and every service has been by Subaru since new. I love Subies and mine is great to drive and otherwise excellent, but this repair bill is ridiculous. I used to laugh about VW reliability but now the joke is on me.

Tom

Tomasked

Liberty 5GEN (2009-2014)

What engine series is in the 2014 gt premium?

1 answer
Yellow Knight
Yellow Knight

5 Gen 2.5 litre turbo petrol engine.

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.