??!
12 photos
Subaru Liberty 6GEN

Subaru Liberty 6GEN (2014-2020)

Also referred to as: Subaru Liberty 6GEN 2019 and Subaru Liberty 6GEN 2021. 2.5i, 2.5i Premium, 3.6R, 2.5i Fleet Edition
4.3 from 18 reviews · View Details

Reviews

4.3

18 reviews
5
(10)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (6)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (6)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (6)
  • Handling
    4.2 (6)
  • Braking
    4.3 (6)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (6)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (6)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (6)
  • Features
    4.2 (6)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (6)
Previous
Next
Patrick L.

Patrick L.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Can’t fault it, great car. Great safety features. Does not lack power. Smooth drive and good visibility.

published

Driving every day to and from work, using highway and freeways normally. Not bad economy. Servicing, average once a year or 12500kms. No issues as yet. For the price there’s good features.

Purchased in August 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
GPCD

GPCDSydney

Great family car

published

Great car and value for money with so many features. The all wheel drive adds to the safety of the car and it has enough room to fit a family of five comfortably without compromising on the power. The semi automatic with paddle gears lets you have some fun with the 3.6 engine especially in sports mode. You really do not need any more power than this in the city or for cruising on highways

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
ests

estsAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Satisfied

published

After 4 years and 64,000 klms, I am still happy with my Liberty. The fuel economy is even getting better with the more klms I do. Open hwy regularly getting 6.3- 6.8 ltrs per 100 klms. My "only dislike" is the cheap clunk when closing the boot. So if that is the worst thing, yes, I am happy. Currently looking for replacing my Dunlop Max 050 tyres. Any recommendations?

Purchased in May 2015 at Subaru Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Sedans

Find out how Subaru Liberty 6GEN compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
tgweshi

tgweshi

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

CVT Issues

published

My 2015 Liberty's CVT gearbox has shuddering, slipping and is jerky as reported by other owners. The torque converter fails to lock up most of the time leaving me with no power. Likely a problem with the torque converter itself or solenoids (many similar problems in American Legacys). Local Subaru service department gave me the runaround for years. Traded the car for something more reliable. Very disappointed.

Purchased in June 2015 for A$32,000.00.

Build Quality
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Briony

BrionyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 14 reviews
  • 9 likes

I love my Liberty

published

I love my Liberty. Stylish and sophisticated with more safety features than you can poke a stick at. It drives and handles beautifully, particularly In wet condition. It is zippy enough for me to buzz around the city, and big enough to comfortably accomodate the whole family. The boot is quite big. Great for all of the shopping or kids stuff. Fuel economy is quite reasonable too.

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Interceptor GT

Interceptor GTGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Not entirely convinced...

published

Purchased in July 2018 for A$48,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Narelle

NarelleMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car. Really quite impressed.

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Subaru Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sonny

Sonny

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Pleasure to drive

published

We didn't know what car we wanted to replace our Ford Escape? Subaru had a pretty good deal on a car I hadn't considered. The test drive and sales man was rather good and we decided on the suburu liberty. This was exciting but we never imagined how awesome it would be until it was ours and we got to drive it permanently. It's smooth, quiet and powerful enough to be zip yet a rather decent sized car. We are a family of 5! Very spacious for what appears to be a small car. AWD once you've had if I don't think you'd ever want to go back, very happy customer !

Badge2.5i
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Blair B

Blair BSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

What an admazing car.

published

Enough power to push you back in your seat and to make passing a snip. I really hate CVT thought Subaru would have been better going for dual clutch but heard the new tune is good, took for a test drive and was impressed and brought it. On b roads and highways I'm getting mid 8's l/100kms very nice for 3.6, flat 6 one of the few truly balaned engines so super smooth 1700rpm at 105 km. All this nice stuff aside (apart from the loud tyres) eyesight is f$@ken awsome for motorway driving, could save your skin one day also makes driving more relaxed.
Pitty the high beams are not LED, also no DRL well no fancy LED ones anyways, small sunroof from 1990's. Very happy with the car.

Badge3.6R Premium
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Sedans

Find out how Subaru Liberty 6GEN compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Irene

IreneSydney

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Impressive reliable and functional

published

2014 model, safe all wheel drive great in the wet weather, timeless look, powerful yet doesn't guzzle fuel 95/98 petrol, comfortable seats yet sporty looking and dont feel every bump on the road. easy seats 5 people, all the extra safety features makes it a car that will stay in our family for years having just passed it down to my son.

BadgeGT Premium
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
mcwins

mcwinsAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Safe, solid and Subaru.

published
Badge2.5i Premium
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
1984chugs

1984chugsNSW, 2000

  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes

I've already lost my licence since owning this car

published
BadgeGX
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionCVT
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Nikki

NikkiGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Prefered my 2002 Subaru Manual Liberty

published

We love this car, it has a nice drive.. some issues I've found include clock is very small and the car is quite big which makes manouvering into small spaces difficult. Disappointed that parking sensor was an addition and only works for the rear. I wish it was still made in manual.

Badge2.5i Premium
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Daniel

DanielSydney, NSW

  • 18 reviews
  • 13 likes

Excellent Car. Happy to be back in a Japanese vehicle!

published
BadgePremium
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
tinkertoy

tinkertoyNSW, 2000

  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good car.. Great road grip

published

Good value for money. You get almost everything that a European car offers but at an affordable price and with reliable Japanese engineering. The all wheel drive by Subaru is great and the new look is very good. It is bit more efficient than the Toyota aurion I had before this car.

The only thing I am not very impressed by is the CVT engine. It is ok but not great though it's very smooth.

I will however definitely recommend this car. I am also a Subaru fan now :)

Badge3.6R Premium
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015
Engine Size3.6
Sedans

Find out how Subaru Liberty 6GEN compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Good Value for Money

published
Badge2.5i
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.5
Garry

Garrymount gambier

A great car

published

Very comfortable, power to burn and surprisingly very good fuel economy(6.5ltr 100km) on the open road and averaging 8.4ltr 100km overall. Eyesight safety system is fantastic and has already saved us from an accident. Good boot size and rear legroom but rear head height is a bit tight. Rear suspension was a little spongy but this problem was fixed by Subaru pronto and at no cost. All wheel drive gives great confidence and predictability on twisty roads. It produces a bit of road noise at higher speeds but is not unbearable and is probably related to the tyre type.

Badge2.5i Premium
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.5
1 comment
Garry
Garry

Luxury and good on fuel

published

Very cumfy and smooth drive.large interior and trank.very good on fuel efficiency.but the annoying thing about its rattle noise and can't fold rear seat which is really upsetting...other then great car..

BodySedan
See all Subaru Liberty reviews

Questions & Answers

gegee2301

gegee2301asked

Liberty 6GEN (2014-2020)

I thinking of buying a Liberty 2018. not sure on the reversing sensor system as there are no sensors Can you confirm that there is beeping when reversing as you get closer.
also the display screen is it visible easy, I am concerned how it is on a slight angle.

1 answer
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ gegee2301, The MY18 Liberty has the rear view reverse camera as standard on all model variants. Now, the camera does not have an audible alert, only visual. However, as an accessory there are front and reverse parking sensors that you can order through one of our parts and accessories retailers. The Subaru Team. http://bit.ly/2WZZ8yv

Matt

Mattasked

Liberty 6GEN (2014-2020)

What are the Plus( + ) and Minus( - ) buttons located on the right hand side of the passenger seat warmers used for on the 2017 3.6R Liberty

No answers
Michael R.

Michael R.asked

Liberty 6GEN (2014-2020)

Whyhasour2018subarulibertyscreendied

1 answer
Narelle
Narelle

Hi Michael,
As I’m based in Victoria I haven’t had experience with Jupiter Motors, or this particular issue, but if the car is under warranty maybe you could try a different Subaru Dealer (second opinion). It may not help at all, but I recently got my 2018 Liberty serviced at Eastern Subaru where they did a software update on my head unit...maybe you could call Eastern (ask for service department) and ask them for some advice. I know they are in Vic, but they may be able to point you in the right direction. Or, just give another Dealer in your state a call-they might have some advice.

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.