7 photos
Subaru XV G5X

Subaru XV G5X (2017-2021)

Also referred to as: Subaru XV G5X 2020 and Subaru XV G5X 2022. 2.0i-S AWD, 2.0i AWD, 2.0i-L AWD, 2.0i Premium AWD
3.9 from 36 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Subaru Australia

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.6 (15)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (13)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (15)
  • Braking
    4.9 (14)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (14)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (13)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (15)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (15)
  • Handling
    4.4 (15)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (14)
  • Boot Size
    3.1 (14)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (15)
  • Features
    4.5 (15)
Previous
Next
KJC
KJC
  • 2 reviews

Perfect for us !

published

Purchased in February 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Jim
JimNew South Wales
  • 2 reviews

Comfortable and great off road , performance not that bad at all.

published

No problem with our 2015 or our new xv. Very good handling , fun to drive off road and as a general commuter, Servicing a little more than 2wd cars but not that bad. Its not a fast car off the mark but considering the average speed limits and everyone saying slow down on the roads i do not see a problem with the power it has, its really ok with us.

Purchased in January 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
DannyK
DannyKHunter Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Great Car For The Money

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Subaru XV G5X compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RPD
RPDAdelaide
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very disappointed

published

Never again will I buy a Subaru. Two years old and undriveable.
Subaru Australia are telling me it’s not a manufacturer fault so not covered under the 5 year warranty.
Those warranties are advertising to get people to buy the cars.

Purchased in June 2018 at Jarvis Cars.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
RPD
RPD

Have already received your response and verdict - in your opinion it is my problem and the fault of my mechanic despite evidence to the contrary.

Imprezive!
Imprezive!Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 34 reviews
  • 17 likes

Is it really worth that extra $$$?

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Peterrob
PeterrobSouth East Queensland, QLD

OK, but...

published

Bought the XV new from local dealer July 2019. Test drove their demo model first, couldn't find any faults. BUT, my car has what seems to be typical Subaru CVT issues. If there was such a thing as kangaroo petrol, I've got it. The car very quickly exhibited jerky acceleration, would shudder when going around 60kmh. Took it back to the dealer, who told me it will settle down. Wrote to Subaru who deftly shunted me sideways to the dealer, whose last words to me were 'drive it hard'. Now the behaviour has shifted to not so subtle roughness when accelerating, so still faulty. It's a real shame, because otherwise it's not bad a s a compact SUV. Total travelled is 7K. I drive our other car in preference to the XV. Won't repeat hit purchase.

Purchased in July 2019 for $39,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Raj
RajSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Great car, Subaru is excellent

published

Good car, drives well . Commuting to and fro from work, occasional weekend use. Good driving position and technology has been updated for car play. Recommend as Subaru has less breakdowns in the long run

Purchased in June 2019 at Subaru Dealers for $40,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
vrxbeachboy
vrxbeachboy
  • 24 reviews
  • 10 likes

Important Features I did not realise before my purchase. I thought Subarus Were better.

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Suttons for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @vrxbeachboy, were so sorry to hear you had a bad experience when purchasing your XV. Please be assured that your feedback is appreciated, and we will be sure to pass it on to our Product and Planning team. Thank you.

Buckwheat
BuckwheatPerth, WA
  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good car - goes anywhere with a small boot.....

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Buckwheat
Buckwheat
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Buckwheat
Buckwheat
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Subaru XV G5X compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jane M.
Jane M.The Mallee, VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Extremely Impressed!

published

I had never owned a Subaru before and cannot be happier with my purchase, I'm so impressed! The price point is amazing for all the features. We test drove other makes and models with the same features we were looking for but they couldn't beat or even come close to the price of the XV. Love Love Love my Subaru!!

Purchased in May 2018 at Innes Motors for $41,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Scotty74
Scotty74South East Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love this car

published

After driving so many SUV vehicles and weighing up vehicle features, cost and best value for money the XV wins hands down. We purchased the top of the range for under $40,000 fitted with tow bar, roof racks, floor mats, alloy pedals and a few other accessories. It’s fitted with all the tech you’d find on vehicles worth $60,000. Do yourself a favour, take it for a drive and you leave the dealership with a contract signed for purchase. I am a Subaru convert and it will be hard to get me away from being a brand loyalist

Purchased in July 2018 at Key star Subaru Rothwell for $37,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Please think carefully before buying this car!

published

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Janelle
JanelleIllawarra, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great little car

published

I needed a high wheel base vehicle. I bought a demo model that had all the safety tech. It is a smooth ride, my dad loves it, even my Euro car fan beloved loves it. I would like a little better fuel efficiency and the Carplay only works intermittently but otherwise I really like this car. Never had anything so new and hi tech!

Purchased in October 2018 for $34,800.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Donna G
Donna GSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great driving

published

New to Subaru, great driving so far, however, very new so no apparent issues currently. Would like to see automatic lock feature, always appreciated that in my previous car. Only local driving to date, used for business, planning a small road trip to test more features.

Purchased in April 2019 at Von Bibra.

Build Quality
Value for Money
CJQ
CJQCanberra

Multiple Paint Chips totally spoil an otherwise great little car

published
Badge2.0i-S
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Subaru XV G5X compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2See all Subaru XV reviews

Questions & Answers

goluke171
goluke171asked
XV G5X 2.0i-L AWD (2017-2021)

What is the difference between g4x and g5x?
Is the boot design differently? I have someone giving me a cargo boot mat which fit the g4x model. Can it be used in my xv 2020?

No answers
Wendy
Wendyasked
XV G5X 2.0i-S AWD (2017-2021)

My 2018 G5X 2.0i-S died. CVT and Diff - I was told it was because the mechanic had not refilled the front diff with oil. I drove 6000kms with no oil if that is the case. Is that even possible - day trips of up to 500kms over mountains at speeds of 110? There seems to be a lack of accountability around faulty CVTs in XVs in Australia. Repair bill almost $13000 in a two year old car...it is with Fair Trading...

6 answers
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Wendy, We're sorry to hear of your experience with your XV. Our Customer Relations Team is available on 1800 226 643 or feedback@subaru.com.au. Alternatively, you're welcome to send us a private message to our Facebook page with your vehicle details and we'll be in touch. The Subaru Team.

Wendy
Wendy

It is being investigated by Fair Trading. Your Customer Service person would not escalate nor let me speak to his manager. He was sexist and ageist. Customer Service - poor.

Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Wendy. Thank you for your response. Our team will respond to Fair Trading accordingly. Take care and be safe. The Subaru Team.

Enrico
Enricoasked
XV G5X (2017-2021)

Can anyone give me real fuel figures based on their kilometres driven and actual fuel filled? The car stats aren't reliable enough.

2 answers
NikB
NikB

I'm getting 7.9 lt/ 100ks in mainly city driving. My XV 2.0S is 2 months old.

Enrico
Enrico

I ended up buying the XVs also and find actual figures of 9.7L/100 city and 8L/100 motorway. The cars computer is way out as I use the distance and filled method of calculating. I would check your figure manually rather than taking the car's figure.

See all Subaru XV G5X (2017-2021) questions

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Subaru XV G5X (2017-2021)

Details

Compare all 7 Subaru XV
CategorySmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVs
Starting Price $32,850$35,292$40,359$37,156
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7 L/100km7 L/100km7 L/100km7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 63 L63 L63 L63 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power115kW @ 6000rpm115kW @ 6000rpm115kW @ 6000rpm115kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque196Nm @ 4000rpm196Nm @ 4000rpm196Nm @ 4000rpm196Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,400 kg1,400 kg1,400 kg1,400 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)650 kg650 kg650 kg650 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance220 mm220 mm220 mm220 mm
Release dateJune 2017June 2017June 2017June 2017
Compare all 7 Subaru XV
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.