?
? !
2 photos
Sunbeam Bakehouse BM4500

Sunbeam Bakehouse BM4500

MPNs: 2079, 35902763 and BM4500
2.5 from 94 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.7 (14)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (16)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (14)
  • Noise Level
    2.7 (15)
  • Bread Quality & Consistency
    2.1 (17)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Ada Harley

Ada HarleyPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Worst bread maker Sunbeam Bakehouse

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wolf F.

Wolf F.

  • 2 reviews

Disappointed

published

As yet have not made a good looking loaf - very ragged on tops. Have made sure blade was upright at beginning but looked flat when pulled from baked loaf.
Have followed recipe for sourdough (menu 5) (image 1). Also tried Barossa Sourdough Rye premix from Laucke, following all instructions - result is image 2. Have also tried Rustic Rye (menu 9) with similar results.
Looks like I have to go back to making bread completely by hand.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2021 at The Good Guys Physical store for $168.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Wolf F.
Wolf F.

Wouldn't mind getting my money back on this bit of junk so that I can afford to pay for a Panasonic one

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pauly

PaulySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

This is the worst bread maker I have ever used.

published

This is the second bread maker I have ever had. Before I had a brevill bread maker and it never failed.

The Sunbeam has never worked since I have had it.
I only make French bread without turbo.

It is a simple recipe and always worked on the Breville, never on the Sunbeam BM4500.
I am using the correct quality and quantity of ingredients.

Purchased in February 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bread Makers

Find out how Sunbeam Bakehouse BM4500 compares to other Bread Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dot

DotSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified

Only worked for 3 weeks

published

After 3 weeks of wonderful bread it suddenly stopped heating on the second rise. It then baked the cold, sunk dough = a horrible loaf. See pic attached with the same recipe when the bread maker was working and after the rise cycle stopped heating.
Also the paddle is very fiddly to keep upright, which is essential for all functions.
And you need to REALLY clean the paddle or you get black oil through your bread.
Replaced by Sunbeam - great service!
However having now read other reviews online it will probably die again.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2020 at Appliances Online for $147.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Love it!

published

An excellent bread maker. The only issue I have is the extremely loud beeping (or siren) that goes off when it is time to add fruit or nuts. It wakes the whole house if we have it set to come on at night. Other than that it is a terrific machine.

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

One design flaw.

published

Design flaw with blade falling off shaft (as others mentioned for two years).
This happened after first few days.
This is folding style paddle - good idea, but so-so in reality, way better than a huge hole in loaf!
Half hour pre-warming function is annoying, loaf always fails on menu 3, rises great at first, not on final stage.
Menu 1 works well enough, not as nice as previous Breville, Aldi.
(Sunbeam has already committed to replacement - thanks)
Otherwise machine looks & works fine. Small loaf mixes fine, non-stick pan, long kneeding, quiet enough.
I love breadmakers, but they can demand a lot of experimentation to get a nice loaf.

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bob

BobWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Fault with blade

published

I have a Sunbeam Bakehouse machine which is only 3 months old and after a few bakes which were perfect the blade started to come of in every loaf and it would be in the centre of the loaf after baking. I found out the the coating on the blade was coming of and going into the bread and with no non stick coating the dough stuck yo the blade and pulled it off.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2020 at Accessories Online for $151.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JETNZL

JETNZL

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified

Nowhere near as good as the old ones !

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

I like it. Well made. Smart.

published

I have only had BM4500 2 months now. Always had a Panasonic. I love how easy this is to clean. The bread has all been perfect. Soft better taste. People who say they have sunken bread, it their ingredients. Their measurements. Don’t condemn the machine,

Purchased in June 2020 at Mighty Ape.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bread Makers

Find out how Sunbeam Bakehouse BM4500 compares to other Bread Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Suzanne

SuzanneNortheast, VIC

Useless

published

Product was fantastic to start with now every loaf comes out sunken in middle and very dense. Thought i was useless but i have changed every variable, water amount/temp, yeast, flour, sugar, salt, bread improver, etc starting to believe Product is faulty. Unfortunately purchased through Chrisco so not sure of my options

Purchased in December 2019 at Chrisco for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Signor F

Signor FPerth, WA

  • 17 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

It’s a shame, I really wanted to like it but it was an absolute piece of rubbish!

published

Purchased in March 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $189.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Thank you for your feedback.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Barb H

Barb HSouth East Queensland, QLD

Timer Delay won’t work

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nightingale

Nightingale

  • 18 reviews
  • 11 likes

Bread Maker with reliable recipes

published

Love this bread maker machine, looking for a Gluten free option and this machine delivers that. Fantastic recipe book and a quality machine that works really well. All the options are amazing like the fruit and nut dispenser very happy with my purchase!

Purchased in March 2020 for $169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Nightingale,
Thank you for you great feedback.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Failure bread every time!

published

I wish I had have read the reviews before purchasing this waste of space/time/energy/money. Doesn't matter what I do or what recipe I try, they all end up small windowless buildings. The times I think a good loaf might be finally going to happen because there is actually some height/rising occurring it's short-lived and collapses. Unfortunately it took me several months to get around to even using/trialing the machine so it's now out of warranty. The other thing to note for NZ purchasers is there are plenty of recipes in the book then towards the end there's a heading "NZ Recipes" and there's only 4 recipes for bread, don't buy this machine! Find a better one and read reviews first!

Purchased in November 2018.

Bread Quality & Consistency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Rubbish machine...

published

This product is rubbish ..as we get near end time bread appears to be rising but when it finishes the bread sinks in the centre ..have varied all elements yeast water etc..same result..my friend brought cheap breville one for $20 hers never fails same recipe

Purchased in October 2019 at Noel Leeming Physical store for $179.00.

Value for Money
Noise Level
See all answers
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Xtine930,
All our products have a 12 month warranty and it sounds like your Bakehouse is not working like it's intended so please return to your retailer for a replacement.

Xtine930
Xtine930

Will do ..didn't think i was that bad a cook

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bread Makers

Find out how Sunbeam Bakehouse BM4500 compares to other Bread Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Melissa

Melissa

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Bread has been perfect

published

So far loving my breadmaker. The loaves I've made have come out beautiful. I have done 4 so far, 1 with fruit. Only one loaf wasn't so great, a little too dense and didn't rise as much but I was experimenting with the turbo function. The bread didn't rise as much as other loaves I had made.

Purchased in August 2019 at The Good Guys for $161.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Melissa,
Thanks for the great review! Enjoy .

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chanel

ChanelMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Blade coming out and sticky dough

published

Got my bread maker yesterday,was super excited to test it.The mixing blade comes out while mixing
Baked another 2 today and it’s the same.
Why is this happening?
The dough is also sticky,and I’m measuring exact.
Not happy

Purchased in July 2019 at The Good Guys.

Incentivised ReviewNo
3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Chanel
Chanel

Thank you I will give that a try.
1/4 ,is that cup?

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

yes that's right

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

this is the worse bread maker I have used couldn't get a good loaf hubby tried he couldn't either ...rubbish

published

settings were good but sadly nothing else
bread never turned out
make brown fruit and white
none turned out awful changed my flour yeast still the same
blade kepted falling over more trouble than it worth

Purchased in February 2019 at nz for $275.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi judith,
Sorry to hear of your experience with the BM4500 . Please call us on 1300 881 861 for us to trouble shoot further. Kind Regards, Sunbeam

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jwbates

jwbatesMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Don't purchase!

published

Purchased in October 2016.

Value for Money
Bread Quality & Consistency
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi jwbates,
So sorry to hear this. Not sure why it would not be successful with those loaves. The only thing I would suggest is to give us a call on 1300 881 861 to see if we can offer further assistance...

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pctek

Pctek

  • 2 reviews

One Design Flaw

published

This makes awesome bread. It's a great machine, best of those I have had. However there is one rather large design flaw. The kneading blade is loose, and often comes up off the shaft slightly when first kneading, this can be hard to see, but what happens is the shaft rotates, but of course the blade doesn't, and you end up with a small, dense loaf. I have tried all sorts, including replacements, but the same thing happens, packing it with foil etc but none work. It needs a clip or some such. As I say design flaw and of course a rather major one. It's the entire point of a machine, the kneading. Zero response from NZ Sunbeam about it, they don't bother responding to customers over here.

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Pctek,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam and for the feed back. It will be passed on. Can you please email us at customercare@sunbeam.com.au with your address details and your purchase receipt.

Pctek
Pctek

Why? I already emailed you BEFORE I posted this. You didn't respond. As I said, it's a design flaw, so what are you going to do about it? Send me another pan or machine? Been there, done that.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

barbuzza28

barbuzza28asked

Do you have any vegan recipes that would work in this machine please? The Sunbeam Bakehouse BM5400

3 answers
Sunbeam
Customer SupportSunbeam

Hi barbuzza,
As far as I know there are no Vegan recipes for this bread maker. I suggest the customer researches vegan bread maker recipes and then uses the gluten function on the unit.
Hope this helps you.
Thanks

barbuzza28
barbuzza28

Hi, why would I use the gluten free function? That seems strange?

Sunbeam
Customer SupportSunbeam

Hi barbuzza28,
It is less kneading but she can use basic white if you wish itdepends on the ingredients your using.
Thanks

Adair H.

Adair H.asked

Why wont my less than a year old bakehouse breadmaker work on the multi grain cycle it just clicks and does nothing, grrrr this is the second one to do this.....

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer SupportSunbeam

Hi Adair H,
Can I please confirm you are following the below steps? Is the machine also making any noise at all? Or is it just not working.
1.Ensure kneading blade is upright in the bread pan.
2.Add ingredients to the bread pan in order listed.
3.Insert bread pan into the baking chamber and press down firmly until the pan is clicked into
place. Close lid.
4.Add ingredients to the fruit and nut dispenser if required.
5.Press the MENU button to Menu 3 (Wheat). Choose CRUST and SIZE settings.
6.Press START.
Note:
If using menu 4 (Wheat Turbo) additional baking time may be required using the BAKE
function.
Please let me know.
Thanks

Martina H.

Martina H.asked

Why are some settings not working on my sunbeam bread maker? My wheat / wholemeal setting does not work and when selected, it just makes a click sound and no mixing commences. I have had to be using the “basic” bread setting for my baking but this is leaving my loaf heavy and dense

5 answers
Sunbeam
Customer SupportSunbeam

Hi Martina H,
Firstly can I ask how old is your machine?.
Thanks

Martina H.
Martina H.

Purchased less than a year ago

Sunbeam
Customer SupportSunbeam

Hi Martina,
I have just sent you a private message if you could kindly respond via that please.
Thanks

See all Sunbeam Bakehouse BM4500 questions

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

CategoryBread Makers
Price (RRP) $189.00
Max Loaf Size1 kg
FeaturesAutomatic Ingredients Dispenser, Gluten Free Setting, Keep Warm Function and Viewing Window
Preset Timer 15 hours
Colour / FinishStainless
Construction MaterialStainless Steel
Dimensions 405 x 426 x 313 mm
Weight8 kg
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Release dateMar 2012
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 00999992104547
  • MPN: 2079, 35902763 and BM4500
  • GTIN13: 9311445018705

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.