??!
2 photos
Sunbeam Sleep Perfect King (BL5171)

Sunbeam Sleep Perfect King (BL5171)

2.7 from 23 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
4
4 star
4
3 star
3
2 star
4
1 star
8

Lynda H

Lynda HPeel, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

This is Blanket 5 in this series - I thought the fault had been fixed.. not so!!

published

Purchased in April 2018 at The Good Guys for $137.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

John

JohnPeel, WA

Blanket is good, Control is questionable.

published

I purchaced the blanket in July 2014,In May 2015 one of the controllers ceased to operate, I spoke with Peter at Customer Care and a replacement was sent to me straight away. Yesterday one of the controllers ceased to function, whether it was the original or the replacement I do not know. There was no flashing light just stopped functioning. The first fault in 2015 was most likely a loose contact in the timer as it would work if turned upside down. The blanket is now well out of warranty and a new controller is in the vicinity of $65, so what is the choice, a new controller for a five year old blanket or a new blanket? if the latter what brand.

Purchased in July 2014 at The Good Guys for $149.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi John,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam. The controls on the electric blankets have delicate wires (as do the elements). Whilst not everyone needs to replace theses it can happen from time to time. Kind Regards, Sunbeam

N.IB.P

N.IB.PWestern Australia

Warranty

published

I was told that my King fitted electric blanket BL5174 by Sunbeam Customer Service was out of warranty (response no.00694568).I used for the first time in 2018 and now the element was faulty. I am very disappointed with the product and felt that it was unfair for me. It was supplied to the shop in 2015 but it was sold to me in 2017. As I do not have my receipt I can’t get replacement for that reason.

Purchased in December 2017.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Bsmith81

Bsmith81

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Worked perfectly for 2 years

published

Have never had any issues with this for just over 2 years but now it is dead on both sides, no lights no nothing and David Jones says “out of warranty” which is a shame I mean I don’t know many people who use it in summer so it could have broken months ago! I’d expect much better warranty for a higher end product like this!

Purchased in March 2017 at David Jones Online Store for $199.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Bsmith81, this blanket comes with a 3 year warranty so you can return to the store for a replacement


Andrea from ACT

Andrea from ACT

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

It was great until it stopped working just like others

published

12-18 months is avg lifespan of this product. If you don't mind taking the risk because it's on clearance go for it. But if you want a blanket that will last you many winters please don't waste your money. I feel stupid knowingly having read all the reviews that talk about the controllers failing and I ignored them because my old sunbeam blanket lasted over 10 years and I thought it wouldn't happen to me. But it did. Don't make the same mistake, don't buy sunbeam! PS sunbeam, please don't write a pat response that you appreciate the feedback and will forward to the 'xyz' team to look into - I would vomit all over my blanket. On second thoughts...

Date PurchasedMay 2016

cindy

cindy

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

if I could give zero stars, I would

published

Hmmm now I see that it's discontinued...I've bought two - both were duds. The controllers on both sides stopped working after a short amount of time (months, not years!). I thought sunbeam was a quality company - unfortunately the person I spoke to on the phone was one of the rudest people I've ever had the displeasure of talking to. Wish I never bought the second one, and won't buy another sunbeam product ever again after this experience. Considering the hefty price tag - it was only my blood that was boiling that kept me warm in the winter! Not this electric blanket.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

LadyOfThree

LadyOfThreeQLD, 4570

  • 120 reviews
  • 55 likes

Keeps us cozy.

published

Bought this from target December 2016 on clearance for use this year and so glad I did. It kept me lovely and toasty in winter. It did not overheat and was firm fitting to the mattress (no sliding). It was easy to use with temp dials on both sides so he and she (or whichever combo) can choose their own temp.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Norma

NormaSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Who hates winter when you have a electric blanket

published

I have been using electric blankets for 20 years and only stick with sunbeam. You set the temp & duration and when your ready for bed beautiful......... I've only ever had one problem when it stopped working and I called them up and with no problem at all they replaced it. Good on you sunbeam

Date PurchasedJun 2014
Ostsee

OstseeSydney, NSW

  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

Fast and Easy to Use.

published

I bought it last week and found it very good to use. The control is easy to use. Also it's took less than 3 minutes to get it totally warm up.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
JennyP

JennyPPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great Fit

published

We haven't had an electric blanket since childhood when they were hard and lumpy. Due to my husband becoming very unwell, he needed gentle warmth at night. Despite the air conditioning running constantly the electric blanket did the trick and has given great comfort. My only gripe is the controller is hard to read. Having a king size bed makes getting sheets etc hard to fit but this was easy and had plenty of give.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Very poor product

published

second winter, about to try and get my third blanket, same failure as everyone else. Suggest people google it first. The controller lights flash, both times the failure has been on the same side of the blanket.

Date PurchasedJul 2015
1 comment
G. one
G. one

Update on previous comment, now on blanket 4, still the same fault, sensational product when they work. Actually purchase was made at David Jones, their service has been nothing short of exemplary.


tf323

tf323Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

First one didn't last two months, second one less than a month

published

Poor quality, failed in a short period of time. Flashing lights on controller. Replaced and the same thing happened again in a shorter period of time. Could not recommend buying a Sunbeam electric blanket.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

bearman

bearmanLake Macquarie

  • 12 reviews

No more cold feet

published

This is the BL5671 King bed size/ wool fleece. Has 2 controls, Digital timer for 1 to 9 hours before shut off. 5 heat settings, extra heating in feet area, machine washable and 3 years guarantee! Ticks all of the boxes for me and my partner as we both have different heat levels that we sleep at. I traded to this after my Onkaparinga sweet dreams died along with the company. Much better unit and I got a $120 store credit for the difference in price; Yee Ha- winner!

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Bulge

BulgeNorth Warrandyte

  • 2 reviews

Happy wife, happy life!

published

Bought as a romantic mothers day pressie. Happy wife, happy life! She loves the 12 hour timer and the zoned heating for feet. Being machine washable is a big bonus!

Date PurchasedMay 2017

5 controllers replaced

published

First blanket (4 years old) had failed controller and replacement controller did not fix it.
second blanket lasted about a month then flashing controller and no heat. Replacement controller does not fix it.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Bella

BellaQueensland, 4036

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Only worked for two winters and was four times the price of a standard electric blanket!!!

published

Researched heavily into this product and sunbeam didn't deliver at all. The controller has broken on one side and sporadically works then dies. Never attempted to wash it and wasn't game. Really disappointed. Never buying sunbeam again!

Date PurchasedMay 2015

Susan Cook

Susan CookAdelaide

  • 5 reviews

Wouldn't be without it

published

Love my electric blanket, i feel the cold terribly so can not be without one through Winter. This one has 2 separate controls which i needed as my hubby doesn't even plug his side in. You can have it on for a period of 1 hour or 12 hours, i use the 12 hour option!!! It is also washable, the electrics unplug very easily from the blanket for washing. It also has the sides on it so it fits right over the sides of your mattress like a fitted sheet

Date PurchasedMar 2016

Lolly Rapper

Lolly RapperMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very good

published

Finding an electric blanket that had more than 2 stars was difficult they all seem to be the same so choosing an electric blanket was a bit of a "trial and error" for me but I decided to go with the sunbeam sleep perfect one. The only thing I don't like about it (but doesn't really bother me) is the dial other than that it fits perfect doesn't move under the bed, I can't feel any wires and it heats up really well and INCREDIBLY FAST!- considering your not paying hundreds and hundreds of dollars ($189 or something for a king) and you get a 3 yr warranty I think this blanket has had a bit of a tough wrap - for me, it's a good EB! :)

Date PurchasedSep 2016

cvanzal

cvanzalSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Good while it works

published
Date PurchasedMay 2014

Lasted 18 months - controller on one side just stopped working

published

This was good when it worked. I thought we were just unlucky but after reading these reviews I wonder if it is a case of planned obsolescence.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Sunbeam C.Sunbeam

Page 1 of 2

See all Sunbeam Sleep Perfect reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Sunbeam Sleep Perfect King (BL5171) but you can read 2 questions about Sunbeam Sleep Perfect.


Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

CategoryElectric Blankets
Price (RRP)189
Compare all Sunbeam Sleep Perfect

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9311445019627

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.