??!
2 photos
Sunbeam Compact Bakehouse BM2500

Sunbeam Compact Bakehouse BM2500

MPNs: BM2500 and SNB-BM2500
4.0 from 24 reviews

Reviews

4.0

24 reviews
5
(9)
4
(9)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (3)
  • Noise Level
    2.7 (3)
  • Bread Quality & Consistency
    4.3 (3)
Previous
Next
Gary JONES

Gary JONES

  • 6 reviews

Very good product

published

Makes good bread. useful works fine. End of what I write at any time for any thing.

Purchased in April 2020.

Ease of Use
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Gary JONES,
Thank you for the great review!

Emtedee

EmtedeeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great bread shame about the chunk left in breadmaker

published

Its very easy to start the process - I did it while making toast this morning, but its a shame that the bread stuck to the paddle gets left behind when you remove the loaf. I get a really tasty multigrain loaf in 4 hours after about 3 minutes preparation time. See the picture for the bread lost when removing the loaf from the bread maker

Purchased in August 2016 for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
Jan P.

Jan P.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Very disappointed

published

I bought this machine less than 2 weeks ago and was using the Atkins bread mix. The first loaf was perfect. The second had an uneven rise but still had a great taste and texture. The third and fourth loaves did not bake at all and presented at the end of the cycle as sticky uncooked blob. We used the same setting but it does not seem to be heating up any more. Have gone back to the supplier to request a refund

Purchased in August 2019 for A$99.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Jan P,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam and for your feedback. We have passed this onto our product manager. Kind Regards, Sunbeam

Bread Makers

Find out how Sunbeam Compact Bakehouse BM2500 compares to other Bread Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Good bread, needed some tweaks to recipe

published

We bought this cheap on sale, and are happy with it. It's noisy, it's a bit big, and it has a super annoying raisin beep. Initially the bread was perfect every time, but after a few months, the bread became a little inconsistent. So we varied quantities a little (one ingredient at a time) and worked out a recipe that was consistent for us.

I'm happy enough with it, but when we run it at night all the doors to the kitchen have to be shut or a the bread kneading and beeping wakes me up. But, we got it cheap so I'm not complaining, and once we worked the recipe out, the bread is great.

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Dale,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam and for the helpful hints on baking a great loaf!. If you need any more help please call us on 1300 881 861. Kind Regards, Sunbeam.

mollydooka

mollydookaPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Just in time for Easter hot cross buns!!

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi mollydooka,
Thanks for the great review! Unfortunately we do not have any sugar free recipes in our book, as sugar is required for the activation process of the yeast. That is great you were able to make your own recipe!

mollydooka
mollydooka
Cam

CamSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 21 reviews
  • 1 like

Makes Lovely Bread

published
Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks so much for the fabulous feedback Cam!!

Lolly

LollyRiverina

Excellent-been using for 12 months

published

No problems at all after 12 months heavy use-easy to use, compact and bakes a perfect loaf every time. Handy hint for first timers-when baking a white loaf with medium crust set an alarm clock and remove the paddle when there's 1.45 left on the breadmakers countdown after you hear the quick reshape of the dough, I use a clean wet hand to just reach under and twist and pull the paddle out then gently reshape the dough, you can work out the time to do that on all the different bread settings by using the timetables in the manual-it means that you don't leave a big hole in the bottom of the loaf by taking the paddle out after the bread is baked. Hope this helps!

Date PurchasedJul 2017
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the great review Lolly!! And for the tip on removing the paddle!!!

Lolly
Lolly

You're welcome-thanks for making a great breadmaker :-)

SAbee

SAbeeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very loud noise

published

I am not sure if it's my recipes problem or what but I only used this machine couple of time and only less than 50% of the time the bread turn out ok. I used it to mix dough after that, as the bread I made was always too hard. To be fair it might be just my recipe problem....I don't know. But the noise it makes during the dough mixing is so loud that we can't have it program to delay (make it overnight) as it could wake the whole family up in the middle of the night!
Instead I used it to make dough and proof the dough and that turns out alright.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Jenn

JennAustralia

  • 13 reviews

Easy to use, convenient.

published

It is a really good product with reasonable and affordable price, it saved me a lot of time and effort on baking, the function is simple to understand and use, I have been using it for more than 2 years. Only one problem, the bottom of the container leaks after using for a while, but I think this is ok.

Date PurchasedOct 2015
Bread Makers

Find out how Sunbeam Compact Bakehouse BM2500 compares to other Bread Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Its Ok..

published

I have always tried to follow recipe measure for measure. The machine is easy enough to use.
I particularly wanted to bake my own bread to save on the cost of buying Gluten Free bread. I have never had a positive result. For this reason i haven't used the machine often, however now the Crust button has stopped working.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
Trudy

TrudySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Easy to use

published

Bought this bread maker and have used it nonstop ever since. Only problem I've had is the top of the loaf sinking after baking. Although I've troubleshooted this it is still occurring. Unknown why as I have been using exact measurements. This however does not affect the taste of the loaf. Very easy to use. Would be great to have a doughnut dough recipe though!

Date PurchasedOct 2016
regular

regularNSW, 2023

Could use a better cup and spoon

published
Date PurchasedJan 2015
bigalgeorge

bigalgeorgeWaihi Beach

  • 17 reviews
  • 16 likes
  • Verified purchase

Possibly best value bread maker, with some issues.

published
Jill

JillAdeliade

  • 2 reviews

This is excellent.

published

This breadmaker makes perfect small or large loaves which are very crusrty. That is how I like my bread. I usually make my bread with walnuts, pepitas, sunflower seeds kibbled rye and whole linseed and as I don't measure just put in what I think, I sometimes put a little too much and the bottom crust ends up covered but that is delicious.

Marion

MarionPutaruru

The paddle

published

After 12 months the paddle sticks in the bread and does`nt come out cleanly . I have tried canola spray and oiling the paddle any ideas please otherwise very satisfied with the bread maker

Bread Makers

Find out how Sunbeam Compact Bakehouse BM2500 compares to other Bread Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Love my machine, but...

published

I like my Sunbeam Quantum Smartbake very much. I've had it about two years and use it quite a bit - not every day, but three or four times a week. It has always performed well until two nights ago, when it woke me with a huge noise. The pan had jumped out of position and was rattling around inside the machine. I pushed it back several times, but it repeatedly jumped out. The finished loaf was lovely, as usual, but only because I manually held the pan down in position in the machine. I am in the process of making another loaf, and the same thing is happening. I have held the pan in position whilst it goes through the mixing process, and am leaving it whilst it rises the dough.
Have you any suggestions as to how we can fix the problem?

Johnbouy

JohnbouyCorlette

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Blew up first use

published

I've been making bred the manual way with my Sunbeam mixmaster (20 years old). Decided to try to automate this with the BM2500. First use part way through my first loaf heard a pop sound and saw smoke coming from machine. Appliances online are replacing it but I notice they have stopped carrying this model. Maybe a subtle message there. Will try replacement but if it fails I'll go back to manual process.
Cheap
Blew up

mrmixem

mrmixemACT, 2617

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Simple and effective

published

I bought this based on the reviews here and it has not let me down. It's easy to use, makes great bread and is nice & compact too. There are pre-mix packets of bead mix available at Woolies for $1.49 and they make great loaves. Starting to experiment too with Almond meal and other additives to enhance flavour. It's not too loud and for the $ there wouldnt be a better breadmaker out there
Compact, easy to use, makes great bread
Can be a bit hard to take the loaf out after cooking as it gets stuck on the mixer

Jo.

Jo.

  • 4 reviews

Great breadmaker

published
Vinnie06

Vinnie06ADELAIDE

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great for couples

published
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Jan G

Jan Gasked

Hi we love our Sunbeam bake house but the LCD display has partially died so now can’t read settings or how long load has to go! We live on guess work for settings now but not satisfactory. Can this be fixed?

3 answers
Emtedee
Emtedee

I suggest you try
Onlineappliancespares.com.au
To try and get a replacement part
Use their Search facility to look for “sunbeam compact bakehouse LCD display”

Jan G
Jan G

Thanks for this - have looked and used search facility but they don't seem to carry Sunbeam parts

Jan G
Jan G

Further, there doesn't seem to be any easy way to access the LCD display without literally pulling the machine apart, which doesn't seem a great idea with an sealed electrical appliance. I was hoping there might be some kind of re-set function.

Tash L

Tash Lasked

Hi,

I can't get a decent loaf. No matter what recipe I follow the one in the manual or the ones that work perfect in my Breville bread machine. I needed a second machine to help with my large family and I just can't get a loaf that doesn't sink, or rise. All my ingredients are fresh and I make loaves in my other machine that work well.

has anyone had luck with certain recipes? only purchased 18th of January 2020 :(

Cheers Tash

No answers
yorgo h.

yorgo h.asked

hello, my machine stopped baking.do you know why?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.