??!
1 photo
Sunbeam Cafe Press GR8450B

Sunbeam Cafe Press GR8450B

3.3 from 22 reviews

Reviews

3.3

22 reviews
5
(10)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(5)
Previous
Next
John13

John13Perth, WA

  • 43 reviews
  • 45 likes

Can get the same, if not better quality for half the price at Kmart, Big W or Target.

published

Purchased in August 2020.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Anna

AnnaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor quality

published

I bought this sandwich press to replace a broken product of the same make and model..However, this product IS EXTREMELY INFERIOR TO THE ORIGINAL. The promotional material and the packaging is still showing a picture of the original product however, when you open the box it is a later model. The later model has been re-engineered and the floating hinge no longer floats. Sandwiches do not cook flat and the melt function does not work. I was deeply disappointed with this product and returned it to the place of purchase and bought a breville. Sunbeam was not interested in discussing my complaint.

Purchased in July 2020.

Kim

KimGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Stopped working after 2 years

published

I purchased our Sunbeam cafe press just under 2 years ago, I thought Sunbeam was a reputable and quality brand and that it would last longer than a cheap kmart one but it stopped working a few weeks ago and Sunbeam basically told me as its out of warranty that its not their problem and that they could give me details of a repairer but it would be at my expense. I think thats pretty poor, you don't buy an appliance like this thinking you'll be throwing it away after 2 years. They said most users get 5-6 years of use but still refused to fix mine after only 2 years. Very disappointed with customer service and quality of product. Wont be buying a sunbeam product again.

Purchased in June 2018 at Myer Online Store for A$99.00.

Sandwich Makers

Find out how Sunbeam Cafe Press GR8450B compares to other Sandwich Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tana

TanaBris Vegas, 4000

  • 19 reviews
  • 8 likes

Yes, that's the one

published

I was worried that 2400w is too strong but it just perfect. Everything cooks right through and nicely toasted. Unlike other 4 slice toasters this one was 35 cm which is more compact and another reason I chose it. It s floating 4 levels and stays 180degress up to the 3rd level which is important for me as I like to cook eggs on it with a lid evenly afloat. I do like to use non stick baking paper so to clean less. I cant say more. It definitely good for cafe commercial level as it's hot and fast. Or if you are a student and want to use it for grilling, toasting, heating, saute and pan fry ... Very good

Red and Green light covers fall off

published

I came to this website looking for a way to repair the indicator buttons, as they fell off shortly after purchasing the product - and was disappointed to see that it appears to be a common fault on these machines. I love the cafe press itself (I don't use it that often but it is perfect for quesadillas and paninis), but am not happy with the hole in the lid - for aesthetic and safety reasons. These cheap and nasty, not-fit-for-purpose plastic light covers detract from what I would otherwise rate as a five star product.

Purchased at The Good Guys.

These toasters always break after a year

published

I have had 3 of these toasters. The first 2 packed in and stopped heating within a year so I was able to return for a replacement. The one I currently have has lasted 18 months so is out of warranty. Do yourself a favour and buy a brand (Breville) that will last. These Sunbeam toasters are only made to last as long as the warranty!

Purchased at Myer.

Chelam

ChelamSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

Compact & Convenient

published

The cafe press heats quickly and the adjustable height allows for various thickness of bread.

The best feature about GR8250B is that it is simple to use. It is easy to clean. In having a flat cooking surface ,it eliminates the squashing and cutting up of the food.

This Sandwich presser has a classy finish design.We bought this approximately about a year ago and it still looks brand new. I have recommended it to colleagues, friends and family. Highly recommend it.

Purchased in September 2018 at Myer for A$79.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Chelam,
Thanks for the great review!!!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Happy Wanderer

Happy Wanderer

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Most impressed

published

My first press, and more than impressed. Could not believe how quick it was to heat and still melt cheese.
Solid build, easy to use. Did not realize how many things I could cook in it. Thankyou reviewers for expanding my culinary horizons.
If you see this Trish, what are "pigs in a blanket ? "

Date PurchasedNov 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for a great review Happy Wanderer!

shanexu3

shanexu3Perth, WA

  • 121 reviews
  • 115 likes

Only lasted a couple of years

published

I purchased my Sunbeam Cafe Press a couple of years ago for around $100. It smelt when I used it at first but after a few uses the smell went away. This machine was great for making toasted sandwiches and was easy to clean. Unfortunately it stopped hearing up. When I plug it in the green light comes on but no there is no heat at all on the pad plates. I only got to use it a couple of dozen of times so I’m very disappointed with the quality of this product.

Purchased in September 2016.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi shanexu3,
So sorry to hear this. Your feedback has been passed onto our product team.
Kind Regards, Sunbeam

Sandwich Makers

Find out how Sunbeam Cafe Press GR8450B compares to other Sandwich Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jo

Jo

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not just a sandwich press!

published

I absolutely love this little machine. So versatile and besides toasted sandwiches I’ve made pikelets, wraps, pizzas, pancakes, bacon, eggs, French toast, hash browns, roasted pumpkin and I’ve browned meat for the slow cooker who knows what’s next! Wipes clean with a damp cloth and paper towel and easy to store.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Jo, so happy you are making the most of this great press, thanks for the review!!

Barbara

BarbaraBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

It seems that there is a fault that needs to be fixed

published
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Trish

TrishPerth WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Versatile appliance with many more uses than just sandwiches.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
diall

diall

  • 24 reviews
  • 26 likes

A great addition to the kitchen

published

Cleans easily and quite versatile. I used mine to grill bacon and egg today, so it is not just for sandwiches. I like the hinge lock for use and storage. Just about to buy another one as a gift, so hope it is as good as my 3 year old one.

Date PurchasedDec 2014
Le Gourmet

Le GourmetGoldcoast

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Just what I wanted@

published

I used this a couple of times now, and it is fantastic! It has high heat and sandwiches turn out great,panni,kebabs too.It was a replacement for a deep fill sandwich machine, which didn't heat up and burnt the edges,I'm glad I chose this types it will get a lot of use.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Cookie

Cookie

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Light covers break

published

As per another review - I have this press and the smaller press and the plastic red and green light covers on top of both have broken leaving a hole in the top of both machines - both just over a year old and still look new except for this - very annoying - Surely they should carry these as small replacement parts???

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Sandwich Makers

Find out how Sunbeam Cafe Press GR8450B compares to other Sandwich Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
V Stanky

V StankyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 25 reviews
  • 20 likes

Dangerous

published

First time out of the box. Hinges moved freely while cold. Turned on to "season" as per the instructions. Once it heated up the hinges stiffened up and the base lifts with the lid. The heat from the plates was transferred through the hinge and into the handle. The side of the handle was as hot as the plates. Returned immediately to Harvey Norman.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Franbluiis

FranbluiisGoldCoast

  • 5 reviews

works well

published

Does everything you expect of a sandwich press. Quick. Hot. Has a lock mechanism so is easily stored on it's side. Easy to clean - just a wipe over with a damp cloth. I have noticed there is a scratch where I used a metal spatula to lift the sandwich - even tho it says "won't scratch". I use plastic spatula now.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Justine4

Justine4Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

A Good Replacement of our old Sandwich Press

published

Our Breville Toast n Melt 4 Slice toaster which we had for a couple of years was on it's way out over the last 12 months, as we had to wiggle the power cord to get it to work. In the end it was sparking and so it was time to ditch it. Decided to give the Sunbeam a go and we are very happy with it so far. It toasts the bread evenly and the sandwich contents are hot. The old Breville was way too hot and so it would toast the bread without melting the cheese, so we were never really happy with it. From what I've read of the reviews from both appliances, I think you can be unlucky and get a lemon. I'm happy to say that this time we got well working appliance and I am happy that we decided on the Sunbeam!

Date PurchasedSep 2016
1 comment
Justine4
Justine4
gettingthere

gettingthereBrisbane

  • 14 reviews
  • 13 likes

Highly recommended

published

Couldn't live without it. Heats up quickly and cooks the best wraps and sandwiches. My husband cooks our big breakfast on it on Sundays which includes egg, bacon, mushroom and tomato. Not sure if we should, but it turns out great and the machine is still working as new after 20 months. BUT they could have made the cord longer.

Date PurchasedDec 2013
1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
Gina G

Gina GSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome product

published

Easy to use, fast and clean. Best snacks ever! Makes toasted sandwiches quick, easy and stays so clean. No mess No fuss......best electrical product in my kitchen!!! Don't buy any other ones...this is one you are looking for....Doesn't squash your sandwiches, set to the thickness you want and it locks there for next time...........

2 comments
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
Gina G
Gina G

No, thank you Sunbeam

Page 1 of 2
See all Sunbeam Cafe Press GR8450 / GR8450B reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Sunbeam Cafe Press GR8450B but you can read 2 questions about Sunbeam Cafe Press GR8450 / GR8450B.

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.