??!
3 photos
Sunbeam Poach & Boil EC1300

Sunbeam Poach & Boil EC1300

MPN: SEC1300
4.1 from 40 reviews

Reviews

4.1

40 reviews
5
(22)
4
(8)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(4)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (5)
Previous
Next
Ellen

EllenMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 18 reviews

GREAT KITCHEN ACCESSORY

published

This is my 2nd Sunbeam Poach and Boil. The first one I had and used for 10 years. The 2nd one is even better as it has a grill insert to steam veggies. Always have perfect boiled eggs and mini omelettes every time. Easy to clean and uses up minimum space on benchtop.

Purchased in March 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for A$39.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Amanda

AmandaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Totally perfect

published

I am extremely satisfied with this product. It does what it says, is reliable, cooks eggs just the way it says, either soft, medium or hard, as well you can poach eggs or make an omelette. The poached eggs are perfect. Easy to clean too.

Purchased in October 2019 at Myer.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hi Amanda,
Thank you for your great review!

Dani

DaniMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 54 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Love it!

published

I ordered a Sunbeam Egg Poacher & Cooker & it is incredible! I don’t have the worry about messing up poached eggs ever again! It is very easy to cook eggs in, has a timer that sounds when they are done & is super straightforward to clean afterwards. Highly recommend!

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Dani,
Thank you for your lovely feedback, happy to hear you're loving your Sunbeam Poach and Boil.

Novelty / Snack Makers

Find out how Sunbeam Poach & Boil EC1300 compares to other Novelty / Snack Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Trisheeeee

Trisheeeee

  • 2 reviews

What is this, ?

published

Still have my original Sunbeam egg boiler which I have had for 35 years. Plus..works perfectly for boiling eggs, not poached as they always stuck, was looking to buy another for caravan but reading all these reviews makes me want to think twice...do you actually tell your customer service about these negative reviews & what do you do about it?

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Davo01

Davo01Perth, WA

Great but instructions poor

published

Cooks perfectly but only with buzzer setting. Boiling one egg soft on cook without buzzer after 15 minutes still cooking and rock hard egg. Instructions should state cooking without buzzer have to time cooking duration manually.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Davo01,
Glad to hear you are loving your Sunbeam Poach & Boil EC1300 and thank you for the feedback about the manual, I will make sure this gets passed on to the team.

Jo Bevan

Jo BevanMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 37 reviews

Cooks Eggs Perfectly.

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$39.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Jo Bevan,
Thanks for the great review. Your feedback is also welcomed and I have passed this to out product team for consideration.

Jo Bevan
Jo Bevan

Thank you.

gregm

gregmSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 14 reviews

It's a shame its build quality isn't as high as its cooking quality

published

This is a good egg boiler, though after a while the gray plastic support for boiling the eggs has broken in serveral places.Superglue doesn't help. I'm havent bothered with trying to clean its hot plate without scratching it. Adding an auto off when the timer's up would be nice too, instad of the loud buzzer on it. I don't use the buzzer, but the timer on my microwave - set for 11 mins for boiled eggs.

Purchased in August 2017 for A$50.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi gregm,
Thank for your review. Sorry to hear about your experience with your egg boiler. I will be sure to pass your feedback to our development and technology teams.

Why did you mess with perfection??

published

I totally agree with Dinky.. My husband & I had the old sunbeam one forever. we thought we'd stay with a trusted brand... What a SHAM!! The newer version is TERRIBLY DESIGNED. I've burnt myself a dozen times trying to extract the poached eggs now I use it awkwardly with tongs.
VERY DISAPPOINTED!!

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Sandi

SandiSoutheast, SA

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great product. Good value and simple to use.

published

I brought this a couple of months ago and it's great.So easy that even my husband and young son can use it. It poaches eggs with perfect gooey centres and you can take your choice of hard, medium or soft boiled eggs.The timer is great as you don't have to guess how long before you take the eggs out.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Sandi, great to hear you like the Poach n Boil, it makes it so easy.....thanks for the review

Novelty / Snack Makers

Find out how Sunbeam Poach & Boil EC1300 compares to other Novelty / Snack Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AJC

AJCLawnton

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

A better way for boiled eggs

published

I wanted to buy this egg cooker for a long time and finally pulled the pin when I got the store credit from good guys.
I decided to buy this over another brand only because of the good reviews online, and it is proven true with my first use of this brilliant design.
I am regularly using it since my first day of use and never had any trouble so far. You just need to follow the measuring cup markings for each type of egg cooking required. I found it is a very good investment and a beautiful addition to my kitchen.
The image of it looks big in websites but the cooker is pretty small .

Date PurchasedNov 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi AJC,
Glad you are enjoying using the EC1300, thanks for the review...

Kath G

Kath GSydney, NSW

  • 26 reviews

The best

published

I love this egg cooker this is my second one Just bought a month ago, the original one lasted 8 years . They cook pouched eggs to perfection and I also use it as a mini steamer as well when I just want a few Dumplings or Thai fishcakes. I use this cooker at least 5 times a week

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Kath, thanks for the fantastic review.

Dinky

DinkySouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Stupidest thing I ever owned

published

The old metal & one that was my father's was perfect. It had water levels in the lid and it cooked just right every time. This new plastic one is useless. Never get the result we want no matter how we adjust the water level. Very disappointed and will be looking for another better designed one. Hate it.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Dinky,
Sorry to hear you are not happy with the Poach & Boil, we very rarely get that with this one.
Could be something not quite right with yours so as it is under warranty please return to store.

Shell

ShellCentral Coast

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Would get higher rating but....

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017
6 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Shell - Sorry to hear of the issues you are experiencing. Please contact our customer care team again with your proof of purchase and we would be happy to replace this for you free of charge.

Shell
Shell

The measuring cup you mean?

Shell
Shell
Denise

DeniseGeorges hall

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Eggs to a perfection

published

I’ve used my egg poacher and it turned out perfect
It’s fantastic no guessing the machine does it all
I set it to soft and it was just perfect
I’m impressed with my purchase
Service was great, they did what they promised
I will buy from there again
I’m really impressed

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Denise
Denise

Best product I’ve purchased

coffeegirl

coffeegirlAustralia

  • 18 reviews

Mine must be faulty

published

It seemed to work well for a few times, then every time I use it since, it just ends up in a big mess of bubbles and slosh. The eggs seem to leak into the water and the soupy mess that eventuates is just not worth using it. Gunk gets coated on the lid and it's just a mess. Unfortunately I just pushed it to the back of the cupboard when I should of found my receipt and swapped it over. I think I might try the Kmart one. I only bought this one as it could do poached eggs. All the other reviews sound quite good so I think mine was just a dud.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Novelty / Snack Makers

Find out how Sunbeam Poach & Boil EC1300 compares to other Novelty / Snack Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kel

KelBundaberg

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Great little machine !!!!

published
Date PurchasedMar 2018
ShortandHairy

ShortandHairy

  • 20 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great, works perfectly

published

After ruining so many eggs , I decided to buy a proper egg poacher / boiler. This is brilliant. Perfect soft boiled eggs just the way I like them. The buzzer goes off loudly so I can hear when they are ready and the water measuring cup makes it a breeze. Highly recommended for those who cant boil an egg ha ha

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Rosie

Rosie

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Works brilliantly

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
MissyMoo

MissyMooDarwin

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Hazard if it doesn't work properly

published

Like previous reviewer, on first use buzzer did not go off, checked it after the approximate time it was meant to sound to find the tray had melted, and the external housing also buckled with the heat. Refunded but not game to give it another go, a definite fire hazard.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Tab

Tab

  • 4 reviews

Terrible product

published

I opened the egg cooker to use for the first time this morning. After reading the instructions I followed them and put the product on. Come back a few minutes later wondering why the buzzer hadn't gone off yet and the inside rack had melted. I don't know if it was faulty or not but I would not recommend this product, it is too dangerous. Lucky I had come back to check on it.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Den P.

Den P.asked

Does the boiler switch off automatically once eggs are cooked?

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Den P,
Thank you for your question. We suggest to use the Cook with Ready Buzzer to alert you when the eggs are done. If you wish to leave it for longer please ensure you check the water level.

Debra W.

Debra W.asked

Why less water for more boiled eggs

2 answers
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Debra W, when you have more eggs in the Poach & Boil, the water takes longer to evaporate. If you follow the instructions you will get perfect eggs everytime!

Bazza B.
Bazza B.

Nice to see this logical question addressed. I was also wondering at these water levels being less for more eggs.

disie71

disie71asked

I have lost my instructions, do not need recipes just main instructions, can you help..?

2 answers
Kath G
Kath G

https://www.manualslib.com/manual/166295/Sunbeam-Poach-And-Boil-Ec1300.html#manual

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi disie71,
At any time you can go to our website and type in the model number of the item and you can download the instruction booklet.

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.