??!
1 photo
Suncorp Home Insurance

Suncorp Home Insurance

1.7 from 113 reviews

Reviews

(13)
(5)
(4)
(7)
(84)
  • Value for Money
    1.6 (18)
  • Transparency
    1.7 (11)
  • Customer Service
    1.8 (18)
  • Coverage Type
    • Home & Contents (12)
    • Contents Only (4)
    • Home Only (2)
Chris L.

Chris L.Far North Queensland, QLD

Worst advise ever!!!

published

I have been with Suncorp for few years now on multiple policy cars and home and contents (15%discount). I renew this year with an increase of 150%!!!! I negociate over the phone to get my home insurance down to 50% from the first quote who was $5000 to $2480 but still cannot pay full amount upfront. I am asking for monthly payement but need to pay an extra 15 % fees.... so I try to negotiate again but the supervisor advise me that I may look elsewhere if I can't pay....disgusting answer. They will push landlord to go without insurance or relocate.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
tnt

tnt

  • 2 reviews

BEWARE, you may be told your not covered when you lodge a claim even though you are.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater and Vandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateOctober 2019
See all answers
Cat lady

Cat lady

  • 2 reviews

Cannot understand their own product

published

Trying to renew insurance policy, 4 policy's with them. To renew house and contents and possibly a lower cover, spent 4 hours on phone and 2 visits to branch, still no success I have now three renew notices for three different amounts. They would not match RACQ but their review are terrible as well. Might cancel and renew after one day no insurance. Bet it will be hundreds of dollars cheaper for the next year!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how Suncorp Home Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tae Seo

Tae SeoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Suncorp ignores you and never work.

published

Suncorp Insurance is a horrible company.
I got robbed and damages on my rental house last Christmas 2019. Then the property manager claim to be fixed. They still doing nothing.
Hey Suncorp!! It's nearly March. When you can send you a builder.
This is my claim number: H030012637
Please do something right now!!!!!! please

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTheft and Vandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateDecember 2019
See all answers
wombat

wombatQLD, 4217

  • 21 reviews
  • 1 like

Be very careful with Suncor if it’s a holiday home or rental

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Petr

PetrSouth East Queensland, QLD

Suncorp rip off.

published

Recently retired I decided to check payments. Was paying almost $4k a year so I got a quote from another company. Theirs was $2k for the same coverage. Rang Suncorp and they matched it. Would be nice if they paid me back for all the rip off over 35 years.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Fraser N.

Fraser N.

  • 11 reviews

First claim after storm. No progress after 6 weeks

published

Lodged my first claim on a policy held for over a decade and paid the excess to expedite the claim. Two attendances at my residence. Had to chase them up. Intimated the claim may be denied on the basis of the down-pipes being too far apart and/or maintenance. No action of their behalf despite asking for letter giving their position on coverage. Claims people are hard to get hold of and claims appear to be shuffled around this giant corporation. I did not receive the requested letter on coverage. I subsequently withdrew the claim due to Suncorp's unacceptable delay. They appear to delay and look for ways to avoid coverage rather than clearly communicate and resolve matters in a professional and timely manner.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateMarch 2019
See all answers
Also

AlsoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Landlord insurance

published

Suncorp landlord insurance you need to read all info before signing up they will scam every way to get out of honour claim an excessive charges go done where else bad co

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateNovember 2019
See all answers

Takes months, covers nothing

published

Worst company. Took months for the claim to be processed. Then found they wormed their way out of coverage using any excuse they could. had been with them 6 years and left high and dry when we needed them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateSeptember 2019
See all answers
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how Suncorp Home Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
TimTam

TimTamSouth East Queensland, QLD

Had to leave because of the premium increase

published

We were completely covered by Suncorp for the Brisbane 2011 floods. They were amazing. Less than 2 years later we discovered that the insulation we had in the walls before the flood had been removed by builders but never replaced. It took months and many, many phone calls until finally a fantastic employee was assigned to our case and got it sorted. We also had our mortgage with Suncorp. Unfortunately by 2014 our home and contents premiums had gone up 708 %. We changed both home insurance and mortgage to Westpac. Seems now though that all insurance companies are charging flooded properties massive premiums without the option to opt out - as if all 5 floodgates of the dam are going to be releasing all that water again

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateJanuary 2011
See all answers
Petra

PetraSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Waste of money - Fine print should read “We love your premium for no compensation benefits”

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Jess P

Jess PSouth East Queensland, QLD

Doesn't actually cover anything!

published

We've been insured for the past 4 years. Recently had a claim as our tenants absolutely trashed the house and stopped paying rent. Nothing was covered at all, not even the lost rent!! We couldn't believe it. We've always had positive experiences with our car insurance through Suncorp but they have been absolutely useless with our investment property. We'll be looking for a new insurance company.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateMarch 2019
See all answers
Clive S

Clive SSouth East Queensland, QLD

They just reject most claims

published

I have attempted to claim motor burnout after air conditioning unit failed. As usual Suncorp denied the claim stating it was not contents. Don’t insure with this company. Never had a successful claim.

Value for Money
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
See all answers
Rudolph

RudolphSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

home and contents insurance

published

Could not be any better. Communication was very good and tradespeople for the repairs were outstanding.
Compared with other insurance companies in our area we are the luckey ones after the big hail stones devastated many houses

Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateDecember 2018
See all answers
honesty

honestysydney

  • 50 reviews

Suncorp via Resilium

published
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how Suncorp Home Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jim Abrolhos

Jim AbrolhosSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Keep away from GIO and mother company Suncorp Home Insurance

published
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateDecember 2018
See all answers

They will do whatever it takes not to pay out

published
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJanuary 2019
See all answers
Sam

SamSouthwest, VIC

Ruthless , Cunning , Unprofessional Suncorp

published
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
SPYD4M4N

SPYD4M4N

  • 2 reviews

On hold for more than an hour

published

Trying to reach Suncorp home claims to follow up on the status of my claim, currently waiting over an hour to get through. Previously waited more than 45 mins on two occasion to get through.

Now I regretted having my home insurance with them.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
ZSG

ZSG

  • 2 reviews

Excellent service

published

Been with the insurer for 2 years now. Had to make a claim on the home insurance. Customer Service was brilliant, professional contractors. Couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Insurance claim madeYes
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Elio C.

Elio C.asked

Does Suncorp Pet Dog Insurance cover treatment for Tetanus resulting from a deep wound injury.

No answers
Jools

Joolsasked

What does like for like mean versus new for old when claiming unrecoverable items with Suncorp Contents Insurance policy?

1 answer
Mol
Mol

If its a tv they wont care what u paid for it suncorp compare it to cheapest tv you can by they wont do it buy brand they think cheap tvs are the same as big brand name tvs insure elsewhere suncorp are the worst misleading company you can find dont trust them

Anthony C

Anthony Casked

does your insurance cover busted pipes?

1 answer
GPM
GPM

I have no idea. There were no busted pipes, so not relevant to me. The insurance company can answer that question. Most important, get them to tell you where in the policy document it is covered. You will also need to know how to connect it to the tenant.

Get an answer from our members and Suncorp representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.