??!
1 photo
Sunsuper
2.5 from 170 reviews

AIA Insurance are not there for members

Recently had a back injury which made me worry a bit about my future. Tried to update my salary with income insurance. They were rude and basically making out like i was dodgy. There insurance is there to try by all means to make sure that yr claim is unsuccessful. If u with them and need to make a claim get a lawyer or they will rip u off. Had super invested in there 3% guaranteed cash portfolio i lost money for 3 years. Also if u try to access yr super on compassionate grounds ie hardship they will refuse yr application .Joining another Industry super fund after october.AVOID SUNSUPER AT ALL COSTS

Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Options
Income Protection

Best interactive customer base super company

My husband joined Sunsuper through his work and just recently I rolled my super into Sunsuper as well. Why? Excellent communication by phone, online and Sunsuper representatives hold seminars a couple of times a year which is the first company to do so in our experience. Living in Cairns we feel like we miss out a lot in the way of informative super seminars. They were non existent with our previous super funds. The big deal changer I guess is that our funds haven't looked better. Very happy to say I am glad I changed to Sunsuper.

Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Options
Income Protection
1 comment
Hi Helen, thank you for the fantastic review. I'm happy to hear you find our member seminar program so helpful! We're always working to improve in this space so your feedback is very useful to us. Thank you for taking the time :) ^Jen

why would you put your money with sunsuper all i get are losses

i pay tax on employer contributions, i pay fees, but all i get in return are losses. (earnings) are just - $ whats the point. i dont get it. this is robbery

Transparency
4 comments
Hi Jon, thanks for taking the time to reach out and leave a review. It sounds like you might need some advice to ensure you are getting the most from your superannuation. Sunsuper members have access to a number of advice options at no additional cost. For more information please visit www.sunsuper.com.au/members/advice-and-planning ^Jenno you arent making me a cent you are just making losses aside from fees and tax, you are costing me money.Hi Jon, without knowing more about your member account it is difficult to assist with your questions. If you change your mind about accessing the free advice we have on offer please call us on 13 11 84 or private message through Product Review and I can arrange a callback for you. ^Jen

Don’t Join! Terrible investment! Forced to join due to a merge

Don’t join!
I was with KineticSuper which was merged to Sunsuper. From June to August, I had loss in my balance which happened the first time in the last 10 years. I am going to transfer my money out to a safer fund otherwise it will chew up all my little balance.

1 comment
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Without knowing your account details it is difficult to assist or provide insight into your enquiry. If you'd be happy for me to investigate further please private message your best contact details. Thank you ^Jen

guilty by association

sunsuper an award winning financial institution, but how? How did they get these rewards when there insurance provided is so imcompetant. i have been lyed to and appoligised to so many times in the proccess of my tpd claim which still isnt complete. They are constantly losing document, and then use waiting for documents as an excuse for delays. i have had numerious complaints lodged internally only to recieve the same tired excuses with NO ACTION OR FOLLOW UP!!! oh and speaking of following up AIA's 20 day follow up proccess what a joke, that basically means your claim wont be worked on in that time. all the reviews for AIA online share these sentiments. its a shame because sunsuper were so easy to deal with but unfortunatly guilty by assosiaction

Transparency
Customer Service
1 comment
Hi Chris, I am very sorry to hear this has been your experience. We're always looking for ways to improve so I would really appreciate the opportunity to ensure your lodged complaints are being followed up and investigated. If this sounds good to you please private message your best contact details. Thank you ^Jen

Taking to long

Dont know what's going on with sunsuper have withdrawn money before as over retirement age that time was only 7 days this time be over 3 weeks was told on phone that it could be ober 4 weeks not good enough Sunsuper get act together very unacceptable

Transparency
Customer Service
3 comments
Hi Denise, thank you for reaching out through Product Review. I'd like to see if I can investigate this issue further for you. Could you please private message your best contact details? Thank you ^JenHi just received money into bank today but that was far longer than necessary thanksHi Denise, thanks for letting me know. If you change your mind about lodging an investigation into the delay please feel free to get back in touch through private message. Kind regards ^Jen

Sluggish with payments ...

I think it's time to leave this fund. They are so slow processing payments. To expedite my last request I sent it electronically so they took it upon themselves just to void it because it was the same amount as a previous request sent via ordinary mail. Yes really ... and I am waiting nearly a month for money I need for overseas travel. How can they void a valid request with absolutely no communication or authorisation from a client? Really really sloppy. There has to be better more efficient funds out there.

Transparency
Customer Service
3 comments
Hi Dianne, thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent experience with us. This does not sound ideal and I'd like to investigate further to ensure we improve the process where possible. If this sounds good to you can you please Private Message your details so that I can follow up? Thank you ^SeanHello. Thanks for your response. Recently i sent 2 separate requests vor withdrawals for the same amount, one by australia post the other electronically. The first one took weeks to come through to my account and I got this feeble excuse from sunsuper they had been inundated with withdrawals because end of financial year. If it's busy : staff up. Don't let the customers wait .. and wait. The second request was voided by sunsuper staff without any reference to me whatsoever. After waiting nearly a month I rang sunsuper and was informed this was the situation. I needed the second lot of funds for imminent overseas travel ... and still waiting. Honestly I'm looking at other funds because I'm sick and tired of thr tardiness of sunsuper when it comes to handing over money.Hi Dianne, I'm sorry to hear this has been your experience with us. I'd like to investigate further - if you are interested please private message your best contact details. Thank you ^Sean

Happy customer

Happy customer. Resolved my query. Wording on documentation I received earlier could have been better. It necessitated having to call to question email I received. Overall, the assistance I received about my query was answered and resolved. Been a member since 2018.

Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Options
Income Protection
1 comment
Hi Roseann, thank you for the feedback on our email. We're always looking for ways to improve, if you'd like to provide more detail please email us at memberonline@sunsuper.com.au Happy to hear you found our customer service helpful! Thanks again for taking the time to review us! ^Jen

Helpful Staff

Iv'e only been with Sunsuper for 2 and a bit years and never had any problems with them, always helpful with my queries.
Always able to help resolve any questions that I have in regards to my super.

Transparency
Customer Service
1 comment
Hi Kermit, happy 2 & a bit years! Thanks for sticking with Sunsuper and for taking the time to leave your review. Looking forward to continuing to help you manage your superannuation for many years to come. ^Rhi

Makes life so easy for members

Most of my working life.Very satisfied.Only time away from Sunsuper was when an Employer had their own super.All staff from start to finish are wonderful.I would tell other people to join Sunsuper.

Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Options
Income Protection
1 comment
Hi Robyn, thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am so pleased to hear you have been happy with Sunsuper. We look forward to continuing to offer you the service and performance you have become accustomed to! ^Dean

terrible IT department does not consider the implications of their inadequate system

Have been with Sunsuper for 20+ years now retired for 10 years - every time I want a withdrawal other than my monthly pension I have problems with their procedures - useless

Transparency
Customer Service
6 comments
Hi Steve, thanks for reaching out on Product Review. We're always looking for ways to improve. I'd like to investigate further for you to see if there is some way we can make this easier. If you are interested please send a Private Message with your best contact details. Thanks ^SeanThanks for your responce My complaints actually occurred over a long period , I list them below. On 2 or 3 previous occasions when attempting to access lump sum payments there were problems which I presume are noted in my record and thus do not need to be reiterated One being lost paperwork (as I was told) in any case the result was a much-delayed payment, also I believe I was lied to when asking about the delays in one instance, that also should be on my record. The problem now been resolved with your new automated access to lump sum payments. Another problem was with the communication of procedural changes. We had lost the password for my wifes Super account, so I called your helpline to sort it out. Was told that an email would be sent with the new password so that we could access her account, what actually arrived by email was a msg saying This email address has now been removed from your Sunsuper account. So another phone call (waiting waiting) to eventually be transferred around to someone who knows what the hell this was about, turns out that for “security reasons” our mutual (my wifes and mine) email address can no longer be used for both of us. I guess in this day and age one’s spouse cannot be trusted with information about their partner, anyway I was annoyed by not being notified about these changes beforehand. Another problem is recently I received a letter saying I had changed my allocation almost too many times. OK so this happened a few years ago and I got clarification that in any six-month period I could change my allocation up to 12 times the periods being Jan to Jun and Jul to Dec. I based my investment strategy on this information. At the time of receipt of the letter I had only changed allocation once for the jul to dec period. Please clarify if your policy has changed and if so, why I was not informed? Thankyou for accepting my input Rgds,Steve ChalkerHi Steve, Thank you for taking the time to provide the extra detail. We did proactively contact members we identified as sharing an email address, and apologise you did not receive this communication. With the upgrades to your Member Online account (online withdrawals) and future upgrades it has required us to increase our security features and requires members to use unique email addresses. Regarding the communication you received about investment switches, If you have only made the 1 allocation change, you are correct in that you should not have received a notice If you would be happy to send us a copy of the letter you received via the contact us form on our website we will be able to investigate it further. Kind regards ^Brendan

Worst service ever received

My wife has been trying to get her Super transferred to New Zealand for months. Sunsuper always seem to have an some very lame excuse of why actioned something. Finally got to the "pay-out" stage and they sent a cheque (not sure why they can't transfer it, but OK). One month later, and the cheque hasn't arrived. I have to wonder after all our dealings with them, did they even post it.

Transparency
Customer Service
7 comments
Hi Shane, I'm sorry to hear this has been your experience with us. If your wife hasn't yet asked to follow up the cheque or have it reissued I'd be happy to investigate this further for you. You can use Private Message to share best contact details. Thank you ^RhiHi Rhi, thanks for your prompt response. My wife contacted Sunsuper today to advise of the balls up and they have just responded to advise that another cheque as been express posted today and to allow 2-4 business days for it to arrive. This is the quickest response to date the she has received from them. I look forward to actually seeing that it has arrived and the funds transferred to my wife's account. Hopefully this happens in the next 7 days. ThanksHi Shane, thanks for letting me know. Very sorry we didn't meet your expectation initially - this is certainly not what we aim for. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to correct it! Please feel free to reach out again if you need but it looks like everything is on track now. Thanks again ^Rhi

Disappointing - they take too long for lump sum withdrawals

I have reached preservation age and am finding that when I request a lump sum withdrawal, it is taking Sunsuper longer and longer to process and for me to receive my money. Right now I've been told that it SHOULD be paid to me by next week - Friday??? That would be 16 days after my request.
Suggestion to Sunsuper - you should not be withholding members funds because you don't have enough staff to process payments in the promised 7-10 days...perhaps employ more staff or improve processes!

Customer Service
1 comment
Hi Susan, thanks for taking the time to share your experience. I'm sorry to hear you've had delays with payment. I'd like to see if I can investigate. Can you please reply through private message so that I can verify your member details? Thank you ^Sean

Archaic Outdated Processes

I transferred my super from Sunsuper to a self managed super fund. The process they used is dreadful, I had to fill our forms and get certified ID and post to them as I would of expected. They say it takes 3 to 5 business days to process once they receive this information, my account was them closed and my Super is no longer earning any money, it then takes them a further 3 business days for a cheque to be created and a further 3 days for someone to post it so 6 days after account is closed they post the cheque and they will only post regular Aust Post with no tracking, even when I offered to pay for tracking.

The whole process was nerve wracking, Aust Post are unreliable at the best of times, no one new when the cheque was posted or could give me any idea if it was posted or not, when the expected time had passed and I had still not received it. I mean I get why after my account is closed they would want to hang on to my money for another few weeks but they really do need to update their archaic processes. They do of course happily take bank transfers when you send them money. Would not recommend them as the barriers to getting your own money are far to nerve wracking, and they simple can not provide any useful information of when or if your cheque has been posted, they told me they don't have a record of the day it is posted. There are many ways to improve the service

Transparency
Customer Service
5 comments
Hi Joanne, thanks for taking the time to share your experience. I'll be sure to share this with our processing team to see if there are any improvements underway or planned for. In the meantime, if you are still waiting on payment and would like me to investigate please send a private message through Product Review. Thanks again for taking the time to reach out. ^JenI rang today, got told you have no idea what day the cheque was sent you don't record that information, so just in the dark really.Hi Joanne, I'd like to investigate this further for you so you can get the funds as soon as possible. Please can you send a Private Message via Product Review with your details so that I can follow this up for you. Thanks ^Jen

very poor customer service

I selected Sunsuper over Hostplus as they say you can talk to a real person. What a joke!! You are directed to the website and requested to lodge an email request. Chat line hopeless. Will look to withdrawing funds

Transparency
Customer Service
12 comments
Hi Gerald, I'm very sorry to hear this has been your experience. We pride ourselves on our customer service but I can confirm call times have been longer than usual this week. I'd be happy to arrange a call back for you so that we can answer any questions you have or alternatively, we can also reply to customers through Facebook Messenger. ^SeanI will wait to see if I get a call. very disappointed.Hi Gerald, thanks for the reply. To arrange a call back I'll need to confirm your best contact number and if possible the question you were wanting to ask (this will ensure I have the right team member take the call). You can send this information securely via Product Review private message or Facebook Messenger. Thanks ^Sean

Helpful

I have been with this super fund since 2018, had some issues. for start, but now they are improved, good customer service, my questions answered nicely , sometimes they put you on hold, to find the right answer . but that is OK.

Customer Service
1 comment
Hi Sal, I'm glad to hear you've been happy with us since joining. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. :) ^Sean

Called for information regarding my super

A few years and I am very happy with the performance of Sun Super. Every time I have called I have always received the answers I required.
Also they have always been very helpful.

Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Options
Income Protection
1 comment
Hi Frank, thanks for taking the time to leave your review. Wonderful to hear you are happy with our performance and service! :) ^Rhi

Good. I'm satisfied with the result

It's been up and down but I can understand the volatility of the market. I am hoping that my investment will have a decent return in the future. Nice to have extra money to spend.

1 comment
Hi Benilda, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. You might be interested in our Market Watch videos with Sunsuper Chief Economist Brian Parker. July's video is soon to be released www.sunsuper.com.au/newsroom/market-watch We also have a great podcast series - in particular, Episode 11 www.sunsuper.com.au/thedreamproject/the-new-school-of-super If you have any questions please do reach out at www.sunsuper.com.au/contact-us or call 13 11 84. ^Rhi

Still dragging their feet over insurance payout. Disgraceful.

Spinal injuries made a insurance claim, after several months of assessing claim sunsupers insurance company aia awards me a payout 6 weeks later sunsuper still not paid and every week another useless excuse for delays. Dreadful company. Qsuper after assessment paid in 2 weeks and I had a designated advisor. Sunsuper are infuriating, slow, have poor communication, lose forms, just an ongoing bad experience.

Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Options
Income Protection
1 comment
Hi Sea b. I'm sorry to hear this has been your experience with us. I'd like to investigate further to ensure we are doing everything possible to resolve your claim. If this sounds good to you please send a private message with your details via Product Review or Facebook Messenger. Thank you ^Rhi

Lack of customer service

I have been with sunsuper from the beginning - many years. Usually I get good service and I have been happy with them. However customer service has been slowly deteriorating. At the moment they are uncontactable by phone. Not good. I am thinking I will need to change my provider. I am concerned with their current level of customer service and whether there is a major issue with the business.

Transparency
Customer Service
3 comments
Hi Helen, thanks for getting in touch through Product Review. I'm sorry to hear this has been your experience. While we do find the end of the financial year is a busy time for many we ensure we are staffed appropriately. Have you tried our secure Live Chat at sunsuper.com.au/contact-us or one of our other contact options? I could also arrange for a team member to call you back within 2 business days if you'd prefer. Kind regards, ^SeanLive chat is not working either. You cannot call Sunsuper currently you are directed to the website. This is pathetic.Hi Helen, I can confirm Live Chat is working but may also be experiencing high volumes. I can arrange a call back for you or you can message your question through Facebook Messenger. ^Sean

Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

I am finding sunsuper is pretty uncontactable at the moment. Is there a major issue that we need to know about with this provider. Customer service has deteriorated considerably.
5 answers
I found it hard to log onto my account tried for a week I actually shut down my tablet before I got into my account, I phoned Sunsuper once to enquire about my insurance didn’t get the answer I wantedHi Helen, I've just replied to your review above but I will do so for you again here... I'm sorry to hear this has been your experience. While we do find the end of the financial year is a busy time for many we ensure we are staffed appropriately. Have you tried our secure Live Chat at www.sunsuper.com.au/contact-us or one of our other contact options? I could also arrange for a team member to call you back within 2 business days if you'd prefer. Kind regards, ^SeanHi Geoff, I'd like to see if we can investigate as to why your account may not be working on your tablet. We find Google Chrome works best for our website features and having cookies enabled will assist some of the functionality. Let me know if you continue to experience issues. ^Sean

Hi sunsuper transferred funds to my commonwealth account today how long will it take to reach my account thanks
1 answer
Hi Charlie, thanks for reaching out on Product Review. Generally, the transfer time depends on who you bank with. Commonwealth tends to be the fastest, 1-2 days. If you would like me to view your account to see if the transfer has been processed I'll need to verify your member details which is best done through our secure channels at www.sunsuper.com.au/contact-us - thank you ^Jen

How long does it take to process withdrawal from my super
1 answer
Hi John, thank you for the question. Just to confirm, is this in regards to a Retirement Income Account or an application for 'early access' claim before retirement? ^Jen

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.