??!
7 photos
Suzuki Grand Vitara

Suzuki Grand Vitara (2005-2020)

Also referred to as: Suzuki Grand Vitara 2019 and Suzuki Grand Vitara 2021. JB / JT.I, JB / JT.II
3.5 from 107 reviews

Reviews

(35)
(32)
(10)
(12)
(18)
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (8)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (8)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (8)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.6 (7)
  • Handling
    4.0 (7)
  • Braking
    4.4 (7)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (7)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (7)
  • Features
    3.7 (7)
  • Comfort
    3.7 (7)


Neil7052

Neil7052AU

  • 6 reviews

Mixed bag

published

I have 2012 4WD model. First 3 years was OK, but now its got 95,000 km its starting to have issues. The heater blower just broke, I was very lucky to get a used one installed cheap. LCD Dashboard screen display has pixels that have failed so often I can not read the time and the radio station. One rear door is rusting! Poor rustproofing from the factory. Car is easily scratched as the paint is extremely thin as are the panels which can be dented by hand. Fuel consumption is terrible as its a permanent 4wd, I rarely get less that 10.5 litres per 100km of soft pedal driving.
Off road the car is VERY good for the size of the car but unless you intend to do regular off road driving then get a RAV4.

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
See all answers

Raja

RajaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Was a perfect 4WD. Living without it.

published

Bought it brand new on 2011. Had it for 8 years and driven 230000kms. Never let me down, no break downs. Taken up on some of the toughest 4WD tracks, remote desert tracks and softest sand dunes, tackled all with a grunt. Ride quality is not as good as premium suvs but that was never my primary concern. I wanted to conquer terrains and it did that one job well. Towed trailers, mounted kayaks, crossed flowing creeks, endless fun. Dont have my beloved Grand Vitara now but I loved every bit of it. May even buy it again.

Purchased in September 2011 at Suzuki Dealers for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
PeterB

PeterBSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Astonishing little car

published

Purchased at Grays for $13,000.00.

Shannon

Shannon

  • 4 reviews

I love this car

published

I love this car so much. We have had it 2nd hand for 4 years now and had no problems. We keep it well maintained and it loves us back. Great for off road camping, great around town, still easy to park, and good up the highway. We got a 4cyl 2L and it also tows a trailer very well. The tow bar we had fitted. Not so comfy for really long distance, but most travel is good. I'm short and I find the vision good. No awkward blind spots

Purchased in August 2015 at Private for $9,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Lindsay F

Lindsay FNorthern Region, NSW

Serious engine problems

published

At 150,000km the head cracked. Known fault detailed in a US Technical Bulletin (extended warranty in US - not Australia). Repair parts cost $2500. 4,000km later block cracked behind exhaust manifold.

Purchased in July 2010.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Neil7052

Neil7052AU

  • 6 reviews

Good little off-roader or city run-about

published
BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Lemon

LemonBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Cracked engine block

published

Owned 2008 Prestige model for 5 years, @ 190 000 km and engine block cracked. Because of GFC in 2008 the alloy used to cast engine block is substandard and becoming well know to crack. Paid $20 000 for Grand Vitara 4-5 years ago, now being offered $500 from wreaker or $8 000 engine replacement.

BadgePrestige
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2008

Taz

TazKarratha

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Econmical car

published

We use the car for family transport on a daily basis and recently drove 4000kms in 2 weeks. The car drove great with no issues. the only problem we have is a clunking sound that cannot be diagnosed. The boot space is great and fits a pram and shopping in with no issues.

BadgeAuto 4D Wagon V6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Drive4WD
Ian

IanCarterton NZ

Warranty issue.

published

Power steering started pulsing when steering wheel is turned.Suzuki technician agreed their was a problem. Tried to fix it and couldn't, service manager said nothing they can do. I rang Suzuki NZ and they had another dealer have a look and he said their was a problem. Took it to fix then rang me back that they all do this. I took it to another technician who also confirmed a problem. I have had 2 of this model GV in the past and they didn't have this steering problem. Suzuki NZ don't want to know or help, I think there may be a cover up. Have had a few new Suzuki vehicles over the years but now I will never have another Suzuki.
NZ Suzuki warranty support is very disappointing.

BadgeJLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Drive4WD
Eduardo

EduardoVictoria

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

No competition

published
BadgeJLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2013
Drive4WD

Suzidad

SuzidadMelbourne

GV problems

published

Engine light on. Replaced two sensors. No change. Suzuki found oil residue over timing chain etc. Replaced chain, vvt unit, tensioner etc. 200km later, bad overheating. Cracked cylinder head. Replaced and now engine light on again. Suzuki blamed our mechanic for the oil sludge! Top quality oil used. Servicing well within suggested limits. Suzuki Aus not interested in covering timing chain costs. Cylinder head cracking appears common for this motor. Recall in the US. Why not on Aus?

Badge12000
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2010

Small B

Small B

  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

Love it... Great Family Car

published

Perfect size to drive in the busy roads with the added advantage of good with Fuel.
We drive the car every day to and from work, picking up kids and as our weekend car.
Plenty of space to fit 2 car seats in the back.
2 car seat comfortable fit. Plenty of leg room in the back.
We love the large boots to fit anything...
Low cost maintains and low cost to run...
Great family car

BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2011

Digger

DiggerCanberra Central 2601, ACT

  • 5 reviews
  • 14 likes

Perfect Car For my Needs

published

My Suzuki GV is the prestige model so it has all the fruit, full leather, sunroof, keyless entry and start etc. It's a great looking car, very reliable, easy to get in & out of, easy to park. It's a bit heavy on fuel for a 2.4 litre motor but I love it, so does everyone who drives it. With 140000 klms on the clock, so far it's proved to be super reliable. I use it as a 4x4 and it'll keep up with the big boys....for a lot less. I've towed a small caravan around Australia, easy as. Returned 12.8 l/100 klms overall. It's a great Car.

BadgePrestige
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2009

Keep away from Suzuki and their incompetent dealer network

published
BadgePrestige
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2010
Peter

PeterGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love it

published

Ours is a Vitara 2016 turbo plenty of power and easey to drive.
Have not had any trouble with it, service cost are very reasonable
Would recommend it to anyone looking for this size car.
My wife and I love driving it. Suzuki seams to be a company that fly under the radar

BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Peterp

PeterpMargate

Engine failure at 130000km

published

At 130000km the JB 24 Engine failed, my grand daughter had brought the grand vitara 2008 model, 11months ago and has done 15000km, when the engine started to make rattle noise, she stopped the car turned off ignition waited then tried to start the car again, would not start. Towed to repairer told the Engine had a mechanical failure, not worth pulling engine appart, ordered a second hand motor at cost of $8700 installed.
The Trader "Charles Jansen Cars" "Jansen 4 x4" Moorabbin Victoria Australia.
The trader would not have anything to do with the failure and hung up, very bad, where to now I dont know except that it going to cost $8700.

BadgeGrand Vitara 2008
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

John crozier

John crozierBeachmere

  • 7 reviews

A great vehicle

published

We have owned our Grand Vitara for early two years. It is economical to run. In saying that, it could do with a larger fuel tank as it needs a petrol station visit often due to its small fuel tank size (35L). We have a pop top caravan which it pulls with ease and the weight it can pull is 1700 kg braked. Our van is 1200kg. The air conditioner Ning works very well in really hot weather. There is plenty of leg and headroom and storage locations for travel documents and drink bottles. It is an automatic. The gear lever operating mechanism could have been designed with a bit more smoother operation as it is a bit clunky to move. It comes with an extended warranty of five years with fixed price servicing which is good to have. We like the car.

Badge3 Door Navigator
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015

Originel

OriginelSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Genuinely love my ride

published
BadgeJ20A
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017

STAY AWAY FROM THIS VEHICLE - ABSOLUTE RUBBISH

published
BadgeJLX
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2009

Aussie John

Aussie JohnGOSFORD

  • 4 reviews

Our 2-door Vitara 4wd

published

We purchased a motorhome and after 2 months realised to be totally satisfied we needed to tow a small
vehicle behind for excursions away from caravan parks. The choice for us was a new Suzuki Grand Vitara 2-door. It has turned out to be the ultimate choice, free-wheeling with a Ready-Brute Ultra towing attachment.
This vehicle is our off-road tour vehicle, our shopping vehicle and performs well always. Thoroughly recommend this to all motor homers.

Badge3 Door Navigator
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Douglas 53

Douglas 53asked

Where is the thermostat on a 2009 Suzuki Grand Vitara 2.4 motor?

1 answer
Neil7052
Neil7052

in trunk


Dean M.

Dean M.asked

What metal is the sump made out of

No answers

joe

joeasked

At low revs my 3.2 litre V6 grand vitara shakes

2 answers
Neil7052
Neil7052

goid

Dean M.
Dean M.

Yeah right


Get an answer from our members and Suzuki representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.