??!
1 photo
Taubmans Water Based Enamel

Taubmans Water Based Enamel

Gloss, Semi-Gloss
2.4 from 34 reviews

See the Best Paints & Varnishes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
5
3 star
2
2 star
2
1 star
18

dcp

dcpPerth, WA

Doesn't perform as described on info sheet. Terrible experience

published

I used for a commercial project according to instructions because of the need for a low odour fast drying product. Applied according to instructions, several thin coats with ample drying time in between. Tin advertises a fast drying paint -- was marking up with fingerprints and scuffing days after final coat applied. Had to completely strip paint and start again. 4 days lost. Complained to Taubmans, extremely disappointed with response. No niceties, Was told it takes a week to cure -- nowhere does it state this on the tin or the info sheet to be found online.
Don't believe the hype about the product. Had they simply offered to refund the unused tin I wouldn't have bothered writing the review.

Purchased in August 2019 at bunnings for $91.00.

Value for Money
Painted SurfacePreviously painted and Wood
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage

So impressed

published

I found this paint amazing. Coverage is excellent. I water it down slightly as it is a thicker paint but I’d rather buy thicker paint and water it down slightly than pay for thin watered down paint. I found two coats gave a beautiful finish and covered evenly. I can’t understand some of these reviews as it’s honestly a paint that has impressed me so much I’ve considered writing to Taubmans to tell them (which I never do). I also wrap my brushes immediately in glad wrap if not completing my painting straight away and haven’t had any problems at all with my brushes. I used the product with a roller on cupboard doors and brushes on skirting and all look fantastic.

Value for Money
Painted SurfacePreviously painted and Wood
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Longevity
Angela03

Angela03Sydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Not worth its money

published

Bought this paint from Bunnings as suggested by a salesperson in store .the paint is very thick, when used the paint brush it left the streak marks , tried roller paint being thick it was difficult.
Won’t advise anyone to use this paint

Purchased in June 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Value for Money
Painted SurfacePreviously painted and Wood
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Longevity
Emily D.

Emily D.Canberra 2600, ACT

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Sufficient.

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $40.00.

Value for Money
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage

Tony T

Tony TRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Terrible to use

published

I sanded door trims to fine finish, finish from prior tradesperson was average. Spent hours sanding filling then two coats 3 in 1 primer surfacer. Sanded lightly then put first coat of colour, white, and within seconds of applying would skin so could not spread coat out to even finish leaving heavy brush marks. I am not impressed at all. Unluckily paid by credit card and itemized Bunnings receipt thrown out. Also bought colour for door, now sorry I bought Taubmans Ultimate Enamel.


First time use, I'm impressed....

published

zoe

zoeGeelong

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Strong paint odour

published

I have been airing out the room for 3 days, but it still has a very strong paint smell. Only painted the trim around one door and one window. And the room reeks. It smells like turps paint. There is no way that this product is low VOC. False advertising, this paint is not low odour.


Ron. K

Ron. K

  • 4 reviews

Pretty good results

published

Used it over mdf cupboards, drawers and doors in kitchen. Correct priming and sanding is required to get the best finish. Works well of the brush and flows adequately off a trim roller. Looks good and sets nice and hard... No problems....

Steve

SteveMiami Gold Coast

Taubmans Ultimate

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Haz

HazBrisbane

  • 9 reviews

Poor finish

published

I wish I had read reviews before I spent $77 on 4 litres. It applies like its got no substance to the paint and goes on patchy and uneven. This was using short nap roller and paint brush. Poor coverage meant 3 top coats trying to get a decent finish. A lot of hours of wasted labour. I have always been happy with Taubman's low sheen and ceiling paint but give the gloss a big miss.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Ultimate Enamel is fickle

published

Ultimate Alkyd Enamel is great when sprayed but don't bother using it with brush and rollers. Destroys brushes as well if you don't wash regularly whilst painting. As a painting contractor, I'm sticking to Dulux AquaEnamel, with all its faults, for the time being. If Taubmans somehow makes this product more friendly to brush and roll application, I would consider using again because it does give a nice sheen.

Cheers.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

JHL

JHLSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Alkyd Ultimate

published

Not happy with this product, and found it very difficult to apply with any satisfactory result.

I bought 10 litres of this Ultimate for painting windows and skirting boards etc. the first tin of paint had coagulated into something like cottage cheese. Bunnings replaced it. The second tin, when I started painting, it rapidly became clear to me that this product just ruined any previous prep work. I found it's impossible to over-paint after about two minutes, and found brush marks are virtually impossible to remove. Thankfully Bunnings refunded, and I bought 10 l of an oil based semi-gloss, Now happy!

Date PurchasedMay 2018

tomfoto

tomfoto

  • 2 reviews

Great product

published

Check you tube first so that the paint is applied correctly. I used the alkaloid paint and had no problems .
Overall a very good product. Use a foam roller then brush lightly with a 6 inch brush. You can also use a sponge to slightly moisten the surface before painting.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Ace Mc cool

Ace Mc coolBrisbane

Fantastic finish and easy to work with water based gloss

published

I have used acylic glosses years ago and was unhappy with the results- quick drying and leaving brush marks. The oil gloss gives great results but is so so messy.
People had said that water based gloss has come a long way so I decided to give the Taubmans Endure doors and trim paint a go and was pleasently surprised at how smoothly and easily it went on. Granted the gloss level is not as good as an oil based gloss but clean up was so much better.
I will have to wait and see how it holds up over time.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Wish I researched, instead of believing the Bunnings guy

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
David

DavidGeelong, Victoria

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

So many people can't be wrong.

published
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Taubmans Ultimate Enamel Alkyd Based Best water based enamel I have ever used.

published

Can not understand why some low rating reviews have been said about this product, but having used it for a while now I would never go back to oil enamels. It wins hands down on the comparable Dulux aqua enamel. Using good quality brushes and rollers the product just goes on with ease and then flattens out smooth. Love it for windows, architraves and skirtings.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Nozmo King

Nozmo King

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Sorry Taubmans Water Based Enamel, you fail

published

Thus would have to be the most frustrating, infuriating paint that I have ever used. It goes on like thin grease, with roller marks impossible to blend in. This paint does not "flash over" like any half decent paint would, and this is a paint that I wouldn't paint our dog house in. One star and that is more than it deserves.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Taubmans Ultimate Enamel (water based alkyd enamel)

published
Date PurchasedJul 2016

several coats poor results

published

Very disappoint spent lots of time applying, will have to go and purchase a better quality paint tomorrow and start again.
Was recommend in paints department of bunnings,and to make it worse I have lost receipt so total loss of time and money.
I was not happy after six coats the worst paint I have ever used.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Jan

Janasked

When painting interior doors with gloss paint can you thin paint with water and how do you get a good finish?

2 answers
Shrek
Shrek

When I had so much trouble with applying the paint evenly, a guy at Taubmans said that I could use a small amount of water to thin it, though I can't remember the amount.
I ended up using a foam roller on the doors and a brush on the frames. I had to work quickly to roll the paint so that it didn't create overlay patches. It took several rolls over each area to work it into an even spread and then a very light roll over top to smooth it off. I preferred to have an even ripple effect from the roller than streaks from the brush.

Ace Mc cool
Ace Mc cool

Hi Jan,
I found the paint a good consistency for painting my trim and seemed to have lots of time to work the paint. I think I would use that Flowtrol paint thinner for acrylic paint if I was thinning it. This product should give you extra working time. Doors are so hard to do. I only used the paint for trim so did not have to work on a large area.. Best of luck with your painting.


Gull

Gullasked

Hi everyone does anybody suggest good water based semi gloss paint other than dulux aquanamel semi gloss
have used this and results are not good it dries very quickly and results are not good. any paint that easy to apply any suggestion will be appreciated.

1 answer
mattfruitbat
mattfruitbat

Hi Gull,
Yep Ive used Taubmans Ultimate enamel which is water based but slower drying so you have time to get a really good finish.
It dries quicker than oil based enamel and easy to clean up. My experience this time of year is to let it cure for a week before it gets any abuse. It takes a litle bit to harden up. I've got more info on my blog page. Ive been trying to find new paints for my business as some have gone off the market unfortunately.
http://absolutesignsolutions.com/signwriting-home/Contact-Us/Blog/Blog-Post?&BlogID=236&BlogCollectionsID=2


Get an answer from our members and Taubmans representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.