??!
7 photos
Tefal Free Move Cordless

Tefal Free Move Cordless

FV9951, FV9965 and FV9920
3.4 from 39 reviews

See the Best Irons & Steam Generators in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
15
4 star
7
3 star
4
2 star
4
1 star
9

Lee Harris

Lee HarrisSydney, NSW

Heavy and contradictory to a lifetime of ironing practices. Totally unsuitable for purpose.

published

Purchased in May 2019.

Ease of Use

Hellsbells

HellsbellsAustralia

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Best iron ever

published

I have owned this iron for over 6 years and can’t fault it. I love the freedom of having no cord and the ability to iron quite a lot before it needs a quick 5 second recharge is great. I would never go back to a cordless after using this product.

Purchased in June 2013 at Bing Lee for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Product is used: Weekly
Clothing Material Cotton
See all answers
Liz

LizWarwick

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good item

published

This is a good item as it does deliver on what it promises. I however dont like where the spout for the water is situated. It seems its in the way. All up though it cut through my ironing in super time and I am happy with this irons results.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Brad Mcguinness

Brad Mcguinness

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

I love ironing shirts now!

published

This one has made my life so easy. It generates huge amounts of steam and Les can be used as a steamer. It’s gentle on all materials and can even be used to own the duvet cover once it’s on the bed. And as the title says shirts pressed in minutes.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

MorminoOmani92

MorminoOmani92Rosebery

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good product

published

This iron is the perfect weight and provides the right amount of heat. I like how fast it heats up. It doesn't stain my clothes. Get wrinkles quickly and easily. This product is highly recommended for any young professional! It works well. Reasonable price. My mother likes it. I love it and I'm happy with my input. I would recommend it to friends. Even my aunt wanted it, and she went home and used it once, and she said it was very good.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Lisa

LisaMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Easy ironing

published

I brought this for my 69 year old mother and she swears by it. It makes her get through her ironing so much faster and it is a great product that is easy to use and store out of the way when it is not used. It's even easy to take with you

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Skyej

Skyej

  • 5 reviews

good product

published

This is a good product when it works, i find if you are ironing a whole bunch of stuff it does not stay to temp for very long. if you are ironing just 1 piece hear and there it is a godsend and very quick but not practical for a whole load of washing maybe only 15 minutes at a time.

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Pettie Markz

Pettie MarkzAdelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

The cordless iron is a godsend

published

I have been waiting years for one of these to come out as most irons I've owned the power cords have been super short but with the Tefal cordless makes ironing easy! The charger slot is sometimes hard to put the iron into but once it's in you just charge until the light changes. Really it's like any other iron but without a cord! Which I love

Date PurchasedApr 2016
melonyc

melonycSydney, NSW

  • 42 reviews
  • 16 likes

Not as useful as I hoped

published

I got this for my sewing room so I would have some flexibility but I find myself reaching for my old corded iron as this just doesn't do the job I'd hoped. It doesn't seem to get as hot as my other iron and while it's not a huge issue reheating, it does slow things down. I also find the handle very wobbly which makes it feel a bit insecure. I really feel like I've wasted my money with this and can't recommend it at all.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Jess

JessLilyfield

  • 4 reviews

Very fast to iron clothes

published

I was sceptical at first and not sure where the cordless iron can deliver, but now I am very happy with my purchase. I can use it and sometimes just need a few little strokes and everything is great and wrinkle free. I once had my dress on the hanger while the cordless iron was doing its job. Very highly recommended! The only downside- it is expensive!

Date PurchasedMay 2018

G.gardner

G.gardnerHunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Works a treat and makes it so much easier

published

My iron heats up really quickly and it a pleasure to use. To the point that I had a about 10 customers that would drop off their ironing and I would do all their ironing for them at a small fee, this was a easy and effective way to earn money, plus plenty of potential as not many like to iron, but this iron made it worth it

Date PurchasedJul 2013

Deb

DebSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent - I’m excited about an iron?!!

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

David M

David MMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Iron is ok, Tefal isn’t!

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017

David F

David F

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

A great iron

published

This is a great iron that has made ironing so much easier without a cord getting in the way. It heats up quickly and has excellent heat and steam. It irons my work shirts really well. It needs to be returned back to its base frequently (about every 30 seconds) and this can take some getting used to, but I find it’s just enough time to iron a section of a shirt before you need to adjust the position of the shirt anyway. I love this iron and would definitely recommend it.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Ben

BenPerth, WA

  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

Good iron but.....

published

So I bought this iron and love it. BUT, there are a few problems. First, this iron is marketed as being designed to take tap water. Please don’t! Despite keeping the ion filter clean, it blows little white chunks out with the steam burst button. Second it is a “no drip” seal. I’m not exactly sure what this refers to but it obviously isn’t what I thought. After I have filled the water canister and close the lid, the spray nozzle has a little squirt! And by using the steam burst button it does also squirt water out of the base so you end up with wet patches on your garments.

That said, it charges fast and having no cord is awesome. The reason I bought it in the first place. It is also a great iron at getting out creases.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
piripi

piripiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Wife loves ironing now

published

After reading some reviews that the iron was too heavy and taking a long time to re-heat I was a little hesitant about buying this iron.
I'm happy to report that whilst it is a little heavier than our last iron it is not overly heavy, besides, the extra weight adds to the efficiency.
It heats up fast and re-heats to maximum by the time you pick it up after moving or turning the garment being ironed. The steam function is strong and efficient without leaks.
This is the best iron we have ever owned, it makes a monotonous job easier. Now the ironing no longer piles up in the basket.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

P...

P...Melbourne

Very poor design

published

Heat is low
Takes too long to iron as one has to return it back to base for charge
Cant stand it upright
Water tank is small as well
My old Phillips standard iron was fantastic.....no frills just did what it had to do...IRON without any hassles
I don't think this codeless model will work for me!

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Rhonda

RhondaBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

FAST and FABULOUS! - Perfect Iron for a working Mum of 4 kids: fast, stress-free ironing

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Rhonda
Rhonda

Totally CRAP Iron!!!

published

I have owned many different irons over the years ranging; Sunbeam, Tefal's, and even two versions of the Laura Star.
Without doubt this is the biggest piece of rubbish I have ever used.
The B-I-G downside constant staining. Nothing to do with temperature or the water. Seems to be reaction between sole-plate coating and any spray starch. CRAP!!!

Date PurchasedMar 2016

Simon

SimonVictoria

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Brilliant!

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Tia Walsh

Tia Walshasked

why is my iron flashing red on the base?

No answers

Alan B

Alan Basked

Free Move FV9965

Could you please tell me the expected life of the battery, in years? Would probably iron a full basket of washing per week.

No answers

Susie

Susieasked

Free Move FV9951

When I press the steam button under the handle, there doesnt appear to be much steam although this maybe
a fine steam as someone has already mentioned. However, when pressing this button, there is a quiet almost
'rachet' noise from the iron. Is this normal? Thanks in response.

2 answers
Brad Mcguinness
Brad Mcguinness

You have to press the steam button underneath the handle as well as the one on top. This will turn produce a big strong jet of steam. The ratchet noise I not sure of.

Susie
Susie

I will have to check this out then but thank you for your reply.


Get an answer from our members and Tefal representatives

Details

Tefal Free Move FV9920
  • Discontinued

Tefal Free Move FV9920

8 reviews
Tefal Free Move FV9965

Tefal Free Move FV9965

29 reviews
Tefal Free Move FV9951

Tefal Free Move FV9951

2 reviews
CategoryIrons & Steam GeneratorsIrons & Steam GeneratorsIrons & Steam Generators
Water Tank Capacity250ml250ml250ml
Price (RRP) $178$179
Release dateJun 2013Jun 2013
Replaced byTefal Free Move FV9965

Visit official website - Download manual
  • MPN: FV9965

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.