??!
4 photos
Tefal OptiGrill GC702

Tefal OptiGrill GC702

MPN: GC702
2.8 from 112 reviews

Love the way it cooks salmon!

Cooks everything as promised so far. Can cost 4 x the price of a cheap GF grill but works 4 x better + removable plates are the way to go. Got stuck in manual and still worked better than GF. Google optigrill GC702 reset or ring tefal for instructions to reset then all is good again. Was discounted new old stock.

Purchased in December 2018 for $80.00.


OptiGriil function is terrible

In case the fuction of optigril works, e.g picking steak it is good help to get meat as you wish but after few months it won’t let you to pick functions and just jumps to M (manual) function and you are on your own. I sent it back and got new - same problem accured and sent it back and again same thing. Suggest to buy something simpler and cheaper as i did and you won’t be disappointed!

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Good when it works but that's not for long.

Loved this machine, it seemed to do all just as advertised, and then just over one month after the warranty ran out it started not working on anything except manual setting. It appears from a googlesearch that this is a common problm-there were instructions on youtube that gave a reset procedure option-and that worked but only if I reset it every time I want to use it-now even that doesn't work and the lights just flash all the time. Have finally managed to speak to Tefal customer support having sent a couple of emails which were not answered- and they now say there is no reset procedure for it and can offer no suggestions, though it could possibly be repaired which I would have to pay for and they could not give a price on. Really very disappointed in Tefal, they used to be a really good outfit. Do the right thing Tefal and stand by our product -and If it's a lemon then offer solutions, don't just ignore it. Yes of course I will go away eventually-but I won't buy anything else from you.

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Best thing ever

I have had my OptiGrill for a couple of years now & still love it. Does steak better that on the BBQ. Sausages & kebabs are great too. Just set it to what you are cooking & it will beep when heated up. Pop your meat etc on & it will beep through the cooking stages to how you like it - from rare to medium & no constant turning - so I can do other things while it cooks.

Date PurchasedMay 2016

The perfect steak every time

you pull your steak off when the color dial matches your rare/medium/well preference. And because it gauges the thickness of the meat you don’t have to do any guessing. And it does chicken breast fillets without drying them out.
Easy to clean. And simple for the children to use.
Highly recommended.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Started good but after a few months it's terrible

Like I said when I first got it I loved it but after a few months it just beeps all the time and goes to the "m" setting or just stops heating up altogether. Really really unimpressed. I emailed tefal but didn't get a response..... so now I'm writing this

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Absolutely fabulous

I didn’t believe when my friend told me what it did. But after seeing it in action I went and bought my own. It makes cooking so much easier. I love a good steak and this machine gives me the perfect rare,juicy steak every time. It beeps when chicken is cooked through properly and the taste is WOW. Couldn’t recommend the optigrill enough. I was looking at the optigrill xl. But the reviews are not good and even the place of purchase said they are slow to heat up and the cord is shorter. Hmm. Buy the normal optigrill you will not regret it

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Buyer beware

What a waste of my hard earned money. I bought the X large one. It's just as easy and more accurate to cook your meat on a grill or BBQ with the opti grill you still have to stand and watch it, my supposedly rare steak turned out well done, not happy Jan
Helen

Date PurchasedOct 2017

great

This grill takes the guesswork out of cooking times for meats. The removable plates make cleaning so much easier and they can be cleaned in the dishwasher as well. It allows a convenient and healthy way to cook meat and vegetables and is handy for making toasted sandwiches and warming bread.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

DO NOT BUY THIS GRILL

I bought this grill on the basis that it could grill different foods to taste. All mine does is sit in manual mode. A TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY. It worked as advertised once. Buy a Kmart griller, it would probably be a superior product at a fraction of the price

Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Not good

We have had this for over a year now and it does work good but last night I got home a just got settled in my chair and I heard a funny noise in the kitchen so I got up to look to see what it was and this thing was stating on fire. It wasn't turned on just plugged in. So I'm just glad I was home otherwise my house would have started on fire! I suggest if you have one or going to get one make sure its unplged at all time's!!!

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Great for fish,chicken steak

I love this grill so easy to clean with the pop of grill. Better than George firman which was so hard to clean.
Great for oil fat free cooking. Use it most nights. Love it. Press a button for chicken and cooks it perfect. Salmon great add a bit of sweet chilli sauce and yummy

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Tefal optigrill

We bought a tefal optigrill about a year and a half ago. This was after we went through 3 george foreman grills which were plagued with faults. The george foreman dripped everywhere and was harder to clean. That all stopped when we bought the tefal optigrill. All you do is pick your meat tyoe... preheat the grill ...load your meat on and walk away. The tefal grill measures the thickness of your meat and calculates the time accordingly. Seriously the result is better than most restaurants. I like my steaks medium to well and this grill dishes it up perfect every time. When it reaches a certain stage of cooking the light indicator changes colour as well as a beeping signal. Medium rare is dark orange. Chicken is moist inside but cooked perfectly. Fish just falls apart nearly. If you want perfect results every time buy this tefal grill. Its a bit more expensive than the george foreman but once you use it a few times you would gladly pay more for it and you will be happy that you did. All the grease and juices that drain away are ALL collected in a large tray. No spills whatsoever. The george forrman leaks everywhere. And NO i do not work for tefal but given the choice I would. Its a great grill..trust me

Date PurchasedAug 2015

Fixed!

I bought a GC702 about two years ago. Fell in love with it immediately. A year ago it starting operating in manual (white indicator light) only. Was near chucking it out. Today I found the instructions below for GC702 to reset the sensors.

Worked like a charm. Works perfectly again.
Tip: Do not turn on the power button. Just plug it in and follow the instructions.
Tip: I used three stacked side plates for the spacer

Date PurchasedAug 2014

Faulty over Time

We bought a GC702 from The Good Guys last April and it basically stopped going into any programme outside of 'Manual' after 2 months - we googled the issue and tried various work arounds - setting the programme while the griller is open, but to no success. We finally called it a day at the end of December and decided to return it for a refund. The Good Guys would not replace our GC702 with a GC712 as they did not consider the new model to be a like for like replacement, so we were issued with a refund instead.
I've just ordered the GC712 from Myer and hope it's not plagued with the same issue *fingers crossed*

Date PurchasedApr 2016

cooks great but never comes off manual

bought this in august cooks great but went to manual first time I used it and stayed there ever since I used it about 10 times not once did it ever come off manual would have been cheaper to buy a grill with 2 plates like a foreman grill same thing if it dosent perform like it should I should have returned it for a refund but I didn't

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Unhappy

Will only cook on m not happy was excited to get it but very disappointing thinking i should return it .every one seems to behaving the same problem it cooks fast but not the way it should they should be took offthe shelves dont buy it dide not do what they claim

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Best griller to date

Love the colour wheel, the beep to tell us when its heated, and then the beep when its at expected cook style. We have tried toasties, steak, chicken and fish. Its spot on. The corrugated cooking plates are also a winner. The only thing i would change is having an optional flat plate. But overall its a family winner and very happy with our purchase.

TIP: when you turn it on ,select what u want, it needs to heat up to the desired cook temp.. this is when it has the M on. when it gets to the required heat it will beep and u put your food in then.. not before or it will stay on Manual. its not faulty just different way. If you put your food on before it thinks you want to cook manually

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Tefal grill

I used this grill a few times ,every time i want to choice an option it wont let me to do it, it goes to M ,i was thinking this will be a good grill for the price i paid,im not happy at all,i will return it as soon as i can to costco

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Great when it behaves, now failed.

This is my THIRD one, latest model. If you refer to the older model GC702, (discontinued) you will note that this one has FAILED.
It can over heat, like the older model on bottom plate. This time, it did change to BURGER, and WHITE flashing. As manual states, a fault, but try restarting, no good.
Tried twice, in two days (different menus), same failure. Now outside cooling down, smelly from overheating, and CONFUSED.
I note that other reviews, have not had the GC712 for as long, standby, it may FAIL in time.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
2 comments
Hello. Thank you for your review of the Tefal OptiGrill. We are so sorry to hear about your bad experience with the product. Please forward on your contact details to productreview@groupeseb.com. One of our customer service team members will be in contact with you ASAP to resolve the issue. Thank you - Tefal Australia.I thought my new unit was GC712, being BLACK. Not so it was the GC702. Sent back today. New GC712 being sent, fingers crossed.

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

When I turn my Tegal optiflex plus GC712 the sausage light turns on and the temperature light is flashing white. The customer service sent me a sheet which said to press the bu pou and manual buttons until the blue light comes on but nothing happens. Have you any further suggestions.
No answers

My T-Fal Optigrill stopped changing cooking cycles from cooking to the next program. what happened?
No answers

I think my optigrill is locked up. I tried to recalibrate it and it wouldn’t take. Any ideas?
No answers

Details

OptiGrill GC702
Price (RRP) $199
Release dateJun 2013
Replaced byTefal Optigrill+ GC712

Visit official website - Download manual
  • MPN: GC702

Similar listings