1 photo
Tefal Smart Protect

Tefal Smart Protect

FV4970, FV4971
3.4 from 37 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Irons & Steam Generators in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Tefal

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.2 (5)
  • Value for Money
    1.5 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    2.8 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.5 (4)
  • Product is used
  • Safety
    4.0 (4)
Previous
Next

Worst Iron Ever Bought

published

In theory, this iron sounds wonderful. In practice, it is awful. The automatic turn off kicks in after half way through ironing a shirt. Then the water pours out all over the garment, ironing board and continues to do so until turned off. I stopped using it months ago and it's just sitting gathering dust! Save your money and DON'T BUY!!!!
Extremely disappointed with this product. Worst iron I've ever bought. :(

Purchased at Big W for $100.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Vanessa
VanessaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Not very good value for the price

published

I purchased this iron a month ago from Harris Scarfe. Quite disappointed with its performance. Due to its smart aspect you are unable to get it hot enough to get creases out which defeats the purpose of ironing. I have to constantly fill up the water tank and it leaves water all over the clothes whilst ironing. I wish I had of been smart enough to read these reviews before I made this purchase. Do not waste your money.

Purchased in January 2021 at Harris Scarfe Online Store for $80.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Vahid
VahidSouth Australia
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Not worth the price

published

I shifted from a $7 Kmart iron to Tefal Smart Protect iron which costs more than 10X! However, the efficiency is not that different. Unfortunately it leaves marks on the shirts and it quickly runs out of water when you use the steam ON

Purchased in November 2020 at The Good Guys for $86.50.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Irons & Steam Generators

Find out how Tefal Smart Protect compares to other Irons & Steam Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
biscuits55
biscuits55South East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Waste of time and money.

published

I bought the FV4971 model at The Good Guys 2 months ago because it was the only one on display not Made in China. (Big mistake)
Does a barely passable job if full of water but if you want to wear the item straight away, don’t bother! This thing leaves huge water blotches and leaks all over the garment, and the garment needs time to hang and dry off after ironing.
Time to bin this thing and go back to something a little less “smart”.

Purchased in September 2020 at The Good Guys for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
SteveR
SteveRGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Unfit for purpose

published

I had used a cheap Kambrook for years which did a great job but after I dropped that thought I'd try something more upmarket. Big mistake. This Tefal doesn't take wrinkles out unless you use steam, and when you do that it leaves water marks frequently. Guzzles water at a great rate. Takes ages to reheat when water re-added. Awkward to hold. I've only had it a couple of months but it's heading for the bin.

Purchased in January 2020 at Harris Scarfe for $80.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
berryberet
berryberetPerth, WA
  • 19 reviews
  • 9 likes

short cord, no manual temperature option

published

The cord is so short that it can't be used without an extension lead. "Smart" rapidly became "stressful" when you can't select heat options. When it is full of water, this iron works well but is otherwise useless. Unstable on the board and fell off. Yay, now I can throw it out. Won't try Tefal again just because of the short cord... frustrating design.

Incentivised Review No
Sisterliz
SisterlizGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

I love it

published

I can't believe that this Iron does actually set itself to the right temperature.
No sticking , irons crinkles out easily.Not too heavy.
It does every thing it is said to do.Would reccomend it to anyone who asks

Purchased in January 2019 for $86.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Mrsb
MrsbSouth East Queensland, QLD

Just okay

published

Iron takes a while to heat up and tends to spit water over the clothes in the process. Iron cord is far too short, which makes ironing awkward at times. Disappointed. Not as good as my last Tefal iron, although it didn’t last past it’s warranty period. I don’t imagine this one will either..
keep your receipt!

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Kerrie T
Kerrie TSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews

Makes for light work

published

Love this lightweight, easy to use steam iron. Makes anything from linen to silk to tough cotton business shirts easy to iron without using starches. Easy to clean, heats up quickly and no scaly build up. Went with manufacturer recommendation using only filtered or distilled water. Good allrounder. Thanks for making my work easy Tefal!

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Irons & Steam Generators

Find out how Tefal Smart Protect compares to other Irons & Steam Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
suen
suenSydney, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best iron I've had so far

published

Seems to work well with most types of fabric except for really difficult to iron linen. Sole plate seems to resist scratching and buildup. Heats up quickly. Flashing light is useful if you forget to switch it off. I haven't had any problems so far. Automatic temperature adjustment is handy except for when you need that 'little bit more' (e.g. when sewing).

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

work well

published

The design of this iron is novel, fashionable and atmospheric appearance, easy to use, complete functions. Functionally, it has several modes to choose from, which is convenient. It heats up very quickly, it irons the clothes very nicely, and it's like a magic trick that makes the wrinkly clothes instantly smooth just like new clothes.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
HopeaeAlanev
HopeaeAlanevPennant Hills
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

great

published

I was pleased with the iron, it was a great design and comfortable to hold on to. The iron is available in a variety of fabrics, so it's perfect for home use. It's easy to iron, easy to use, and you can set the temperature you want. I have been using it for a while and have not encountered any problems at the moment. I am very satisfied.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Jerome
JeromeSILVER SANDS
  • 4 reviews

best iron you'll ever own

published

I bought this iron, after finding it on a 'best of' on line review. I haven't been disappointed it is quick and easy to iron, I particularly love the very large water tank and the the fact that it adjusts temperature automatically; so far this has worked perfectly for me

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Flynn
FlynnSmiths Creek
  • 4 reviews

Ironing is a breeze

published

I'm very pleased with it. This is a big, heavy iron with a large water reservoir. The display and controls are intuitive and easy to master. The cord is on the shorter side , but is sufficient for my needs. I was amazed at how much easier and faster ironing was with this iron vs the Sunbeam. My only complaint - it's too large to fit my existing ironing caddy. A simple fix - I'll order a larger caddy.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Kathy
KathyRozelle
  • 4 reviews

Worth what it costs

published

I would like to give a good rating for this iron, I love using it, it is gentle on my clothes and I can get all the ironing done quickly and not a wrinkle on my clothes, also does not leave the iron marks even on delicates, has various setting and temperature controls and easy to fill with water, the price is also worth for what I paid.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Irons & Steam Generators

Find out how Tefal Smart Protect compares to other Irons & Steam Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Christine Golic
Christine Golicasked
Smart Protect FV4970

I have loved this iron for many years, and yes initially it did spit water but over time it settled down.. however I’m very depressed at the moment as I plugged it in yesterday and it won’t heat up and if I fill it with water it leaks out everywhere? I believe I have had it for 2-3 years is it time for a new one ?? I have only ever used demineralised water

1 answer
Sisterliz
Sisterliz

I love mine Best iron ever

Marg F
Marg Fasked
Smart Protect FV4970

What are the instructions re spray function

No answers
Reena S.
Reena S.asked
Smart Protect FV4970

Tafel iron not getting heated and water is leaking from side. Why?

No answers
See all Tefal Smart Protect questions

Get an answer from our members and Tefal representatives

Tefal Smart Protect

Details

Compare both Tefal Smart Protect
CategoryIrons & Steam GeneratorsIrons & Steam Generators
Price (RRP) $169.00
FeaturesAuto Shut Off and Vertical SteamAuto Shut Off and Vertical Steam
CordlessNoNo
Steam GeneratorNoNo
Water Tank Capacity270 ml270 ml
Cord Length2 m2 m
Power2,500 W2,500 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)
Colour / FinishIce WhiteIce White
Compare both Tefal Smart Protect

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.