??!
1 photo
Tempur Ombracio

Tempur Ombracio

4.0 from 20 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
13
4 star
0
3 star
3
2 star
1
1 star
3

Could not get comfortable

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Internet for $299.00.

Value for Money
1 comment
Tempur
Lewis C.Tempur

Tempur Ombracio pillow excellent, case can be better

published

Bought this not cheap, but excellent pillow when I first went to Melbourne, but the $99 case too fitting. Hopefully Tempur will make the updated case to complement this excellent product

Purchased in January 2019.

Value for Money
Pre-existing Neck / Back IssuesNo
Belinda M.

Belinda M.Mid North Coast, NSW

Love my pillow...9 years on...

published

My partner and I lashed out 9 years ago and bought one each. They were expensive back then! I was terrified of spending so much on a pillow....however, it's been money well spent. This is the only pillow I have use for the past 9 years! It is now going all soft and squishy and not at all supportive anymore, so I'm on the path for a new pillow. Hopefully, they are still just as good....don't they have a 10 year warranty?!

Purchased in March 2010.

Value for Money
Pre-existing Neck / Back IssuesYes
Pillow Relieves Pain Yes
Granpeta

GranpetaCanberra

  • 2 reviews

Great at first, too hard in winter

published

We bought our pillows in summer and they were wonderful to sleep on. However over time they have become less comfortable and in winter are too hard. I now have to heat mine up before bed so that it is soft enough to let me get to sleep. It is also getting difficult to get it even from top to bottom, as it bunches up at the top. Like other reviewers, I was very irritated about the too small pillow cases and have to wrap mine in something else instead. My neck problems have returned, so time to find a different pillow, I think.

Purchased in January 2015.

Value for Money
Pre-existing Neck / Back IssuesYes

Maggie

MaggieGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 10 likes

The best pillow for neck pain

published

I have been using this pillow now for 2 years. I purchased 2 for one. My neck problems are almost non existent. My only concern is that the pillow cases purchased with the pillows are too tight for the pillows and need tp be made with more width all round the pillows. Hopefully the manufacturers will listen

Date PurchasedJan 2016
1 comment
Maggie
Maggie

Tempur very kindly gave me two of the new pillow cases for this pillow and they are fantastic Bigger than the old ones and allow the pillow to spread. Thank you Tempur very much


James

JamesAspendale Gardens, Victoria

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Love the pillow! Wasted money in purchasing cases though.

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018

  • Verified purchase

Great pillow but disappointed by the pillow case

published

I bought this pillow today along with a matching pillow slip - luckily on sale so it only cost me $60 for one pillow slip instead of the retail price of $100! However after washing the pillow slip by hand and drying on the line the pillow slip is too tight for the pillow and makes the pillow creased and lumpy. I am very disappointed and will be contacting the shop I purchased it from as I do not think that the pillow slip is fit for purpose if it is too small for the pillow. Very disappointing to have issues when I’ve just spent $300 on one pillow and one pillow slip.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
3 comments
Tempur
Lewis C.Tempur
SLM
SLM
Tempur
Lewis C.Tempur

24_7Mo

24_7MoGippsland, VIC

  • 4 reviews

Incredible support

published

Recently purchased two of these after making the "mistake" of trying one whilst testing potential new mattress. The mistake being I fell in love with it immediately.
Great pillow for us stomach sleepers.
For a case I just use the traditional ones which leave overhang.
They are on the pricey side- but managed to get two for $170 or so when buying a King Mattress.
Love this pillow!

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Tempur on radio pillow

published

I love my pillow. I find it very comfortable. I didn't like the pillowcase that can be purchased for it. I found it too tight and stopped the pillow from softening into position properly. I find it better just to slip the pillow into a European pillow case and fold any extra fabric underneath the pillow.
The pillow soften with body heat. It will feel firmer in cooler weather. Just lie on it for a few minutes and it will warm and soften.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Chris

ChrisHunter Region, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Worst pillow ever

published

This pillow is the most uncomfortable pillow we have ever used. My wife just HAD to have it when we bought our new bed and now she refuses to sleep on it. When she makes the bed in the morning (I'm already at work when she gets up) she put's it on my side and steals my pillow. I accidentally just laid on it and remembered how disgusting it is which prompted me to write this review.
It's heavy, hard and doesn't recover it's shape. Worst $300 I've ever wasted. What's wrong with you people who rated it a 5??

Date PurchasedJun 2014
1 comment
Tempur
Lewis C.Tempur

Gayle

GayleMid North Coast, NSW

This is a fantastic pillow, so happy with my purchase.

published

I recently purchased this pillow whilst I was testing the tempur beds. My sleeping patterns vary throughout the night, I start by going to sleep on my stomach/side and I love the way that the pillow allows your shoulders to fit without taking away the support for your neck, this is also the case when I wake up on my back, there is so much support for your neck no matter which position you sleep in. I have purchased many expensive pillows over the years such as latex, memory foam etc.and I find that the Ombracio offers full support from the shoulders upwards. I cannot wait now until I complete the ensemble with the tempur bed that I have purchased.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Tempur
Lewis C.Tempur

JJJ

JJJSydney

  • Verified purchase

The pillow it's self is ok but you cannot get a pillow case

published

Pillow it's self is ok however, most of the stores that sell the pillow don't sell the pillow case. It took a lot of phone calls and looking online to find the tempur pillow case and it's extremely expensive for one pillowcase. I had to drive for an hour to pick one up and when I got home it didn't even fit the pillow well. It caused it to bunch up and crinkle. Because it made the pillow so tight it wasn't comfortable anymore.

I contacted tempur and they were extremely unhelpful considering they make both products and exploit you when buying the pillow case cause there are no other options.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
JJJ
JJJ

Lozm

LozmMackay, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Awesome maternity pillow

published

I have been looking for a maternity pillow and came across this one. I am a side sleeper and have been using a regular pillow for support. As soon as I tried this One in the shop I didn’t even hesitate to buy it.
I had the best night sleep last night. I’m only half way in my pregnancy and I know this pillow will be my best friend as I get bigger and even more uncomfortable.
Love it!

Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Tempur
Lewis C.Tempur

MrsIsa

MrsIsaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Too firm not worth the price

published

I bought this because I have scoliosis and neck Arthritis and I was looking for a supportive pillow. It has been 2 weeks now and it's still too hard and high for me (back sleeper).
It might be designed for only tummy sleepers but the lady at the shop guaranteed it was for any position.
Unfortunately it was a waste of money, very uncomfortable and not worth the price.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
4 comments
Tempur
Lewis C.Tempur
MrsIsa
MrsIsa
Tempur
Lewis C.Tempur
Sylvia Powell

Sylvia PowellQueensland

It is the best investment I have ever made toward my health!

published

I was suffering from migraines and vertigo and such intense neck and shoulder pain anf have spent alot on therapies. Im unsure if its a coincidence but since sleeping on this pillow they have gone. I actually sleep now. Although expensive for the authentic one..its definitely worth the money

Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Tempur
Lewis C.Tempur

Fantastic to hear, Sylvia. Great to know you're enjoying your TEMPUR product.

- LC

Worth the money!

published

Best pillow I have ever purchased. Will never buy cheap pillows again. Normal pillow cases fit this shape pillow so no need to buy the custom made one. Highly recommend!

Date PurchasedAug 2016
1 comment
Tempur
Lewis C.Tempur

Fantastic to hear. Great to know you're enjoying your TEMPUR pillow.

- LC


Charlie

Charlie

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Cannot live without this pillow!

published

Fantastic pillow. Great for fibromyalgia sufferers who move around a lot to get comfortable. Took a few weeks to get used to it but now could not be without. Supportive but not too hard, just perfect!

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Keen

KeenWollongong

  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

amazing pillow...at first

published

excellent pillow, especially if you are a side sleeper. I wasnt sure it was right but the pain in my neck and headaches have almost completely gone since i started using it. I am a side and back sleeper so i guess it works for both.
Only down side is finding covers for it. firstly because they are expensive and secondly because there are very limited colours available.
Over time have discovered that the back sleeping on it does not work at all. I have let my daughters try it, but they think it feels like they are sleeping on a bag of wet sand. So now it is a very expensive guest pillow.


CashBurger

CashBurgerAdelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Best pillow I've used!

published

Heidi

HeidiBrisbane Qld

Recently left this pillow in USA; we live in Aus - was totally lost without it and had it flown home

published

Love my Tempur Ombracio, I have scoliosis and together with our Tempur mattress I know I can get out of bed each day and there is no residual pain from the prior days activities. Going to bed has now become something to look forward to (as it should be) not something to dread like it used to be before getting the Tempur pillow and mattress; thank you Tempur!
The shape, comfort, it breaths, it moulds perfectly to your sleeping position and relieves neck and back pain immeasurably
I would like to see the pillow case included in the price - one stop shop.

3 comments
NORMAN DONNE
NORMAN DONNE

How log do they last? What are the best pillows for those folk who sleep on there stomach ?

Heidi
Heidi

I've had my pillow for almost 3 years now and think i'll probably get another 1-2 out of it. I sleep on both sides and my stomach and this pillow is perfect.

Heidi
Heidi

Heading into my 6th year and my Ombracio is going strong. Have sonce purchased one for hubby and our son and none of us would be without it

Questions & Answers

sandy

sandyasked

can i use a normal pillow case for the tempur ombracio pillow?

3 answers
Tempur
Lewis C.Tempur

Hi, Sandy.

Certainly can. Although there will be a slight amount of slack due to the shape of the pillow.

Hope this helps.

- LC

Val
Val

I haven't tried a normal pillow case only a square European one. But it's worth a go. Im going to try it myself.

Gayle
Gayle

I have tried the European pillowcase which worked fine but my hand get getting stuck in the excess material. I have now been using a normal pillow case but I find it makes if too firm especially up the tip if my head. I am now getting a friend to make a pillowcase for it so it fits correctly.


ElissaP

ElissaPasked

The "Care" information for this pillow states to remove the pillow case and cover and wash it - and that the pillow cannot be washed or dry cleaned - only "aired".

What can you do to remove the smell of sweat from the pillow? My partner sweats quite badly at night and despite doing all of the above (and wiping the pillow down) I cannot remove the smell of his sweat.

Help please! I need a solution to clean this very expensive pillow and get rid of the smell.

4 answers
CashBurger
CashBurger

Hi, so you use one of the pillow protectors then? Lined like a mattress protector, but for the pillow. Mine scrubs up fine after washing the protective cover, I'm not a heavy sweater at night though. Since it can not get wet, I wouldn't know how else to clean the pillow itself I'm sorry. Maybe try contacting the manufacturer, they may have some useful advice :)

ElissaP
ElissaP

Thanks CashBurger - I intend doing that when I have a flex day this coming week.
Yes, we use both pillow protector and pillowcase. Cheers.

Heidi
Heidi

You can spray the pillow with febreeze or eucalyptus spray which will get rid of the smell fairly quickly. I always air our pillows in the sun just for 1/2 an hour each side probably once a month... so fresh afterward!


Get an answer from our members and Tempur representatives

Details

CategoryPillows
Price (RRP) $240
FillingFoam
Release dateMar 2012

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.