??!
4 photos
Tommee Tippee Closer to Nature Electric

Tommee Tippee Closer to Nature Electric

2.9 from 214 reviews

Reviews

(31)
(52)
(42)
(34)
(55)
  • Build Quality
    3.1 (29)
  • Value for Money
    2.9 (30)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (30)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (29)
  • Portability
    3.6 (26)
  • Noise Level
    2.3 (30)
  • Suction
    2.9 (29)
  • Comfort
    2.8 (29)
  • Feeding Methods
    • Breastfeeding (23)
    • Baby Formula (8)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Mira

MiraSydney, NSW

Great! Easy to use and clean.

published

As a first time mum I was hesitant to buy a pump as I had no idea about any aspect of pumping. My daughter is 7 months old and an absolute booby monster, which was making me worried for my return to work next month. I didn't want to spend hundreds of dollars on a pump so I thought I'd try this one out given the price point. It's great! I found it easy to clean and put together. I get about 60ml in 15 minutes from one side of pumping at night after I've put baby to bed. Very gentle and pain free.

Cons: not quiet and I wish it came as a double pump.

Purchased in March 2020 at Big W for $159.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
Rimi

RimiGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

BAD product

published

Very bad product, even not working as well. With my hand press works better than this machine. Do not by this. After return this I bought Avent, which is good.

Purchased in January 2020 at Catch for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula and Breastfeeding
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Suzanne

SuzanneCentral, SA

  • 4 reviews

Perfect & so easy to use

published

This electric pump is fantastic, so easy to use & to clean.
I pumped 150ml during my first express which I thought was fantastic & found the different settings to be great to find the right one for me.

Purchased in November 2019 at Baby Bunting Physical store for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Tommee Tippee Closer to Nature Electric compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Amber W.

Amber W.Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Not the best product..

published

The motor is really loud, which is annoying and inconvenient if your wanting to do it near the baby. The suction cap is not that great, it either hurts your nipple or it doesn't suction properly and midway your milk starts leaking out the bottom. Also the tube connecting the pump to the motor is crap, it comes off all the time and the motor makes an even louder noise. Seriously not worth the money. Would have been better off buying a manual pump and doing it yourself.

Purchased at Baby Bunting for $100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula and Breastfeeding
See all answers
Sylvia

SylviaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Horrible. Don't waste your money

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Baby Bunting.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
See all answers
  • Verified purchase

NOT A WISE BUY / AN HONEST REVIEW

published
  • +1

Purchased in January 2020 at Baby Bunting Physical store for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
B B

B BSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

Loud, poor fit, slow

published

Rubbish. Probably ok for small breasts for a casual pressure release pump, but the ‘one size fits all’ flange does not fit all, it has to be held on and upright (uncomfortable) and makes the most annoying noise. I’m giving mine away.

Purchased in December 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula
See all answers
Kts

KtsWestern Australia

  • 5 reviews

Almost ruined my breastfeeding journey

published

Ineffective breast pump, was only able to get 15ml and painful to use. I got 80ml from a more reputable pump..

It almost ruined my breastfeeding journey and was a complete waste of money.

Purchased at Chemist Warehouse for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
Scarlett

Scarlett

  • 2 reviews

Good easy to use product

published

This pump is very easy to assemble & resemble for cleaning, it’s effective in its use & I find I’m getting more than enough milk through using this. The motor can be noisy but I put a pillow over it & it’s almost impossible to hear. I use this 5+ times a day, it never changes in pressure, it’s always consistent. For the price of this item I’m very happy with it. My son is eating 60-90 mil per feed & every pump I do I am getting well over 120mil so I say that’s from a successful flow & good electric pump like this one I’m reviewing.

Purchased in January 2020 at Chemist Warehouse for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Tommee Tippee Closer to Nature Electric compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ang

AngCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Not the greatest

published

I didn't find this too comfortable, I used it 3 times a day to see if I could get used to it, i couldn't get much out with this one maybe 5-10 MLS I ended up stopping using this one. Was easy to put together and clean ect.

Purchased in December 2018 at Baby Bunting for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula and Breastfeeding
See all answers
Nathan

NathanDarling Downs, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

A man's perspective...

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Big W for $194.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
Decor Guru_11

Decor Guru_11

  • 3 reviews

Good but not great

published

Pump works really well for the first few weeks but found suction decreased after that time. It was super disappointing which led me to my milk supply slowing down. Its a good price but I would only recommend it for short term use.

Purchased in August 2019 at Big W.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
See all answers
Suj

Suj

  • 6 reviews

This is just perfect

published

It is just perfect and comfortable and very effective pump it has Three different speed setting which is good and easy to travel with that but sometimes cleaning make me worse and i use 4-5 times in a day .

Purchased in August 2019 at Baby Bunting for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Kieren A.

Kieren A.Murray Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Poor design but for 99...

published

Poor design, it leaks air and milk first use out of the box. Used it for a week and put it in the black hole cupboard. All their other products have been great bar this.

Purchased in April 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula and Breastfeeding
See all answers
Mona

MonaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Excellent customer service

published

I bought a breast pump in June. Suction stopped in mid September. I thought I am low with my milk. Tried it with manual pump and hand express. Milk supply was ok. Called Tommie tippy customer service and explained them the issue. Same day I was able to return and get a new one in exchange with no added cost. Product( breast pump) not so great but Excellent customer service. I use everything Tommie tippy for my baby it looks pretty, easy and quick to use. I think it’s just the breast pump I had issues with so far.

Purchased in June 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $135.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula
See all answers
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Tommee Tippee Closer to Nature Electric compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Emma

EmmaSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Not so great...

published

As I first opened the product sterilised it and it was working fine but then the next time I washed it it wasn’t sucking properly which really disappoints me because I waited $100 for nothing now I’m thinking of just trying the manual pump

Purchased in June 2019 at Target Australia.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
Ashleigh J.

Ashleigh J.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great difficulties

published

I was given this breast pump just before the birth of my first child. We were having attachment issues so I would have to pump every 3-4 hours. This particular pump was painful to use and did not fit the breast properly - it left marks and I felt dread at the thought of having to use it.

The pump had issues with suction as it had to be held in exactly the right position to ensure it worked correctly - it wasn't airtight. Furthermore, cleaning it after use was an arduous process as their are so many pieces that seem superfluous. The pump was also noisy and scared my puppy... the droning sound it made started to drive me mental.

I was happy to upgrade to a different model/brand that did not have these issues.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
Alexandra k

Alexandra k

  • 2 reviews

Painful

published

This pump is painful, leaves marks on my nipples.
When I contacted Tommee Tippee they said the horn is one size fits all and there’s nothing they can do.
Women are not one size fits all and very disappointing they don’t stand by their products.
Don’t waste your money.

Purchased in March 2019 for $130.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
See all answers
Kate

KateMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 14 reviews
  • 1 like

Great pump

published

This pump was very affordable and is very comfortable and easy to use.
It works great to express which helps with more supply.
It is very portable to take where ever you want

Purchased in November 2018 for $149.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula
See all answers
Chris

ChrisSouth Australia, 5017

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

It's Not The 'Breast' .... But OK

published

This has been a great purchase as a first time Mum, reading some of the reviews i was a little sceptical. However with something like this, the persons body also factors in to how good this pump will work. I find it relatively comfortable, the amount of milk is not consistent though, but i cant say it is the product itself failing in that area or myself with not enough milk. Being the Tommee Tippee brand the amount of accessories are great, and the popularity means they are easy to find. This was purchased on special, i wouldnt recommend purchasing it for the RRP of $200, but at half price or close to... why not.

Purchased in April 2019 at Baby Bunting for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
Page 1 of 11

Questions & Answers

Amy

Amyasked

When the breast pump is on it works for a bit then the power button flashes and. It loses sucrion does anyone know why this is as its never happened in the 3 months I've owned it?

No answers
Lance B

Lance Basked

Why when the value is in the milk can't flow into the bottle?

No answers
Disappointed

Disappointedasked

How do you get the milk from the pump into the bottle. It just pools up and floods back on to my nipple. There seems to be nowhere it can go to filter through into the bottle.

3 answers
Kel M.
Kel M.

We just noticed the same thing, that one of the valve that comes with the kit seems doesn't have an opening at the lower part, the other one is fine. You can either try to use the other valve (comes with the kit) or use a small knife to cut a small horizontal opening, so the milk can flow into the bottle. Also make sure you clean the opening after each use to keep it hygiene. It's weird to hear that not just me having this issue with one of the valve. Perhaps need to ring their bell to see what's going on.

Karen M
Karen M

Happened with mine too. I pulled the valve apart at the seam and now it works as expected

Anthony B
Anthony B

We too had the issue and it was doing our head in until I did some research and stumbled upon this. Good to see we weren't idiots and pumping incorrectly. There should be a notation in the instructions about this issue.

Get an answer from our members and Tommee Tippee representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.