??!
4 photos
Tommee Tippee Closer to Nature Electric

Tommee Tippee Closer to Nature Electric

2.9 from 203 reviews

See the Best Electric Breast Pumps in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
29
4 star
51
3 star
39
2 star
34
1 star
50

Decor Guru_11

Decor Guru_11

  • 3 reviews

Good but not great

published

Pump works really well for the first few weeks but found suction decreased after that time. It was super disappointing which led me to my milk supply slowing down. Its a good price but I would only recommend it for short term use.

Purchased in August 2019 at Big W.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
See all answers

Suj

Suj

  • 6 reviews

This is just perfect

published

It is just perfect and comfortable and very effective pump it has Three different speed setting which is good and easy to travel with that but sometimes cleaning make me worse and i use 4-5 times in a day .

Purchased in August 2019 at Baby Bunting for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Kieren A.

Kieren A.Murray Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Poor design but for 99...

published

Poor design, it leaks air and milk first use out of the box. Used it for a week and put it in the black hole cupboard. All their other products have been great bar this.

Purchased in April 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula and Breastfeeding
See all answers
Mona

MonaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Excellent customer service

published

I bought a breast pump in June. Suction stopped in mid September. I thought I am low with my milk. Tried it with manual pump and hand express. Milk supply was ok. Called Tommie tippy customer service and explained them the issue. Same day I was able to return and get a new one in exchange with no added cost. Product( breast pump) not so great but Excellent customer service. I use everything Tommie tippy for my baby it looks pretty, easy and quick to use. I think it’s just the breast pump I had issues with so far.

Purchased in June 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $135.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula
See all answers

Emma

EmmaSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Not so great...

published

As I first opened the product sterilised it and it was working fine but then the next time I washed it it wasn’t sucking properly which really disappoints me because I waited $100 for nothing now I’m thinking of just trying the manual pump

Purchased in June 2019 at Target Australia.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers

Ashleigh J.

Ashleigh J.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great difficulties

published

I was given this breast pump just before the birth of my first child. We were having attachment issues so I would have to pump every 3-4 hours. This particular pump was painful to use and did not fit the breast properly - it left marks and I felt dread at the thought of having to use it.

The pump had issues with suction as it had to be held in exactly the right position to ensure it worked correctly - it wasn't airtight. Furthermore, cleaning it after use was an arduous process as their are so many pieces that seem superfluous. The pump was also noisy and scared my puppy... the droning sound it made started to drive me mental.

I was happy to upgrade to a different model/brand that did not have these issues.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers

Alexandra k

Alexandra k

  • 2 reviews

Painful

published

This pump is painful, leaves marks on my nipples.
When I contacted Tommee Tippee they said the horn is one size fits all and there’s nothing they can do.
Women are not one size fits all and very disappointing they don’t stand by their products.
Don’t waste your money.

Purchased in March 2019 for $130.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
See all answers

Kate

KateMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 14 reviews
  • 1 like

Great pump

published

This pump was very affordable and is very comfortable and easy to use.
It works great to express which helps with more supply.
It is very portable to take where ever you want

Purchased in November 2018 for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula
See all answers
Chris

ChrisSouth Australia, 5017

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

It's Not The 'Breast' .... But OK

published

This has been a great purchase as a first time Mum, reading some of the reviews i was a little sceptical. However with something like this, the persons body also factors in to how good this pump will work. I find it relatively comfortable, the amount of milk is not consistent though, but i cant say it is the product itself failing in that area or myself with not enough milk. Being the Tommee Tippee brand the amount of accessories are great, and the popularity means they are easy to find. This was purchased on special, i wouldnt recommend purchasing it for the RRP of $200, but at half price or close to... why not.

Purchased in April 2019 at Baby Bunting for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
pahulumafi

pahulumafiGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

It’s alright

published

It worked for me!! It was comfortable for me personally as I have never used a breast pump before and I had flat nipples. It helped draw out my nipples (tmi) but yea I’ve seen a lot of reviews where the suction wasn’t good enough but for me it was just right I would only recommend this product if you need a breast pump cheap and ASAP! But I would say to invest in a good breast pump if you are wanting more kids time goes fast with kids it’s always handy to have a back up!

Purchased in February 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $65.99.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers

Alana

AlanaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Amazing!

published

I love this pump! I had it with my first however gave it on & then when I fell pregnant again I repurchased because I loved it! It’s so comfortable and really does the job. I don’t pump much as I’m EBF but when I need to pump when I’m out it’s amazing, & so easy and compact! Overall I’m super thrilled with how this pump operates & how effective it is!

Purchased in January 2019 at Baby Bunting for $100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers

Raj

RajSydney, NSW

Take too long time

published

Pump is okay but too slow and noisy
Take too long time to fill the bottle More than hour to fill 60/70 ml milk Milk leaking from it and painful also

Purchased in April 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula and Breastfeeding
See all answers

Ange

AngeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

It does the job, but at a slow rate

published

This pump is ok, it does the job it is meant. I just found it to be very slow, loud (especially when I have a newborn sleeping) and messy. Often milk leaking from it.

Purchased in June 2018 at Baby Bunting for $100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Josh

Josh

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not worth the discount price

published

We used this pump for less than a week.
My wife thought there was an issue with her supply.
The parts are annoying to clean, taking the silicon part off is tedious.
We bought the medella pump and love it, twice as much milk in a third of the time.
Wouldn't even sell this second hand.

Purchased in July 2018 at Toys R Us / Babies R Us for $100.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
Kirsty

KirstyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Unusable

published

Was in constant pain trying to pump as the silicone would burn my breast tissue and there is not enough suction to get any milk out would pump for hours just to get 40mils.

Purchased in February 2019 at Baby Bunting for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
Leah

LeahDarling Downs, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great Breast Pump

published

This pump is great value for money. It is easy to assemble, use, disassemble and sterilise. It is comfortable to use, compact to store and effective with expressing milk. Very happy.

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers

Abbie

AbbieNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Excellent and practical

published

I love this electric pump! I love that it has four different pump settings for a light or deeper pump or based on your baby’s sucking capability to reduce nipple damage. The fact you can plug it in or use it as a portable device makes it super practical for pumping on the go. It also is good to go straight into a bottle or express n go pouches of which I use both.

I found it great and user friendly as a first time mum who is unsure of how a pump should be used. Instructions explained everything including the different settings.

The only negative I have is that when actually cleaning the main funnel the silicone comes away and you need to dry in between, then it’s difficult to secure back on.

Purchased in May 2018 at Catch for $123.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers

Bree

Bree

  • 23 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great to have on hand when needed

published

I bought this 4 years ago when my daughter was born and exclusively expressed for the first 3 wks. It was a life saver. I really didn't use it much beyond that. Fast forward to baby number 2 and this pump is being used to empty the breasts when baby becomes fussy and will be taking it overseas shortly to express for a wedding. It's affordable, easy to use, cleans easily, expresses enough for my needs, and compact for travel purposes. I don't have anything to compare it to but it has certainly done the job for me. I did feel like if I were exclusively expressing for a long period of time I might trial others first to compare effectiveness but this is totally fine for my needs.

Purchased in February 2015 at Big W Retail Stores for $130.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers

Schae B

Schae BSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Only so-so

published

This pump is great for new Mums however as my breast milk progressed, I found that it was too slow and couldn’t keep up with my milk supply. It didn’t pump in a timely manner and I ended up resorting to expressing via hand.

Purchased in August 2017 at Baby Bunting for $39.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


ElleM

ElleMNewcastle

Do not waste your money!!

published

I purchased this pump due to having the ‘closer to nature’ breast feeding starter kit. The pump was only $190 compared to others that were upward of $250.

Due to the pump I was only able to express 60mls per sitting and that was on each breast. Not to mention this took an hour to do. I would often have to stop pumping and wipe out the breast shield as it was making a whistling noise indicating that air was getting in when expressing.

I contacted the place of purchase and explained my concerns who kindly refunded the me the money for the pump and I pirchased the medela swing! Absolutley amazing! I now express 60mls from one breast in 10 minutes. Do not waste your time with the Tomee Tipee Pump! Not worth the money or the tears!


Page 1 of 11

Questions & Answers

Amy

Amyasked

When the breast pump is on it works for a bit then the power button flashes and. It loses sucrion does anyone know why this is as its never happened in the 3 months I've owned it?

No answers

Lance B

Lance Basked

Why when the value is in the milk can't flow into the bottle?

No answers

Disappointed

Disappointedasked

How do you get the milk from the pump into the bottle. It just pools up and floods back on to my nipple. There seems to be nowhere it can go to filter through into the bottle.

3 answers
Kel M.
Kel M.

We just noticed the same thing, that one of the valve that comes with the kit seems doesn't have an opening at the lower part, the other one is fine. You can either try to use the other valve (comes with the kit) or use a small knife to cut a small horizontal opening, so the milk can flow into the bottle. Also make sure you clean the opening after each use to keep it hygiene. It's weird to hear that not just me having this issue with one of the valve. Perhaps need to ring their bell to see what's going on.

Karen M
Karen M

Happened with mine too. I pulled the valve apart at the seam and now it works as expected

Anthony B
Anthony B

We too had the issue and it was doing our head in until I did some research and stumbled upon this. Good to see we weren't idiots and pumping incorrectly. There should be a notation in the instructions about this issue.


Get an answer from our members and Tommee Tippee representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.