??!
2 photos
Toro 22" Personal Pace All Wheel Drive 20353

Toro 22" Personal Pace All Wheel Drive 20353

3.8 from 12 reviews

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.8

12 reviews
5
(7)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(3)
  • Build Quality
    2.5 (4)
  • Value for Money
    1.5 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    2.3 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (4)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (4)
  • Safety
    4.3 (3)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    1.3 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.3 (3)
Previous
Next
Trae

TraeMackay

  • 12 reviews

Disappointed.

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Davey

DaveyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Not a great mower for Australian grass, moving it around is a pain

published

Hi All, had a victa and decided to move to a self propelled - this one came highly recommended but on 1st use it conked out requiring a restart at least 4-5 times mowing medium length Sir Walter grass.. i suspect the blades are too long for the powerplant and even though the grass was around 6cm high, it couldn't cope, so i had to lift it..
having said that my old mower did it too but it was 1/2 the cost. the self propel is also really goofy - pulling the mower backwards is a pain and moving/pushing it around (from backyard to front on a concrete driveway) when it's not started is really really painful. i couldn't find any release mechanism.

it's on ebay at the moment - i regret buying it and wouldn't again.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Essentailitisnot

EssentailitisnotMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

I’ll never be buying anything from Toro again !!!

published

Purchased in April 2018 at Aldinga mowers for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Toro 22" Personal Pace All Wheel Drive 20353 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mike

MikeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews

Mows well, but needs better belt protection.

published

This lawn mower mows very well. It does not like thick wet grass and will stall because you can't adjust the revs. The AWD system is great when it is working. Due to the lack of protection for the belts, it will throw any small sticks into the V drive pulleys causing the belts to jam or break. My rear belt snapped on the fourth time I used the mower. It would pay to make sure that the lawn is completely debris free prior to mowing and then you probably will not have a problem.

Purchased in November 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$834.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Pickles Jones

Pickles JonesPerth

  • 9 reviews

Good Buy

published

This is a top lawn mower and the 4WD is really good feature.

I use only the mulcher option as it does this well.

This would be be a heavy mower to push around if it didn't have the 4WD feature but it has. Keep in mind it does a 22 inch cut and gets the job done with ease.

I would have no hesitation in buying the mower again but I would look at the new one which has power reverse also.

This would be the best mower I have owned.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Milo

MiloSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 9 reviews

Its not a lawnmower, its a beast of a lawnmower.

published
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Perfect for what I was after

published

I hadn't heard about this mower but was looking for a self-propelled model and was only considering a 2-wheel drive system. I have a steep block so when I got on to the AWD model I was keen to look at it. Having since purchased one I'm absolutely stoked with it! I didn't want a ride-on for safety reasons but the area I cover with this mower is quite large and I do it with ease.

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Second one in 12 years

published

Having had a 2006 self pacer 22 inch recycler for over 11, trouble free years, I didnt hestiate to update.my old model with the new AWD. Briggs & Stratton motor. Smaller than the Tecumche motor but just as powerful, if not more. The new model is excellent and has several better features than the older model;better catching capability, lever operating mulcher, better cables. One thing in common though, they start first time. Looking forward to another 11 plus years of trouble free mowing

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Alex

AlexAU

  • 4 reviews

Great buy.

published

Hi, I've recently sold my personal pace Toro as I've moved to a smaller block of land that's flat ,But when I was living up in the hills I would never have mowed the lawn if it wasn't for the self propelled personal pace Toro . Briggs and Stratton motor, very quiet for the amount of power and and inlet for a water hose for convenience of cleaning the blades.. it had a slasher option and a huge canvas catcher that folds to save on storage.wish I hadn't sold it now but it went to a good home...

Date PurchasedMar 2015
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Toro 22" Personal Pace All Wheel Drive 20353 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ruby

RubyNewcastle, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Excellent Mower, important that you keep fuel fresh, but well worth the effort.

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
liamg

liamg

  • 8 reviews

Pretty good so far

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Mitch S

Mitch SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Best mower I've ever used

published

Questions & Answers

Christhian B.

Christhian B.asked

I have a TORO recycle 22, every 5 min stop and i have to pull it to start again, i dont have long grass and it doesn't matter what setting i have it , it needs to be pull to start again

No answers
Gary M.

Gary M.asked

Why do the Early reviews how glowing recommendations yet recent ones are extremely poor.
Has Manufacturingfh moved offshore? E.g.
Gary

1 answer
Trae
Trae

It seems to be the way with a lot of reviews. I think the quality is just not what it used to be and getting worse with most products these days.

WhataLemon

WhataLemonasked

G'day Mitch - _ its been a year since you posted. Do you still feel the same about your mower? I have a 1425sqm block and also have quite a bit of sloping ground so my situation is similar. I had thought about a John Deere but they dont get a good review here.

How has your Toro been the last 12 months?

Regards

Peter

2 answers
Mitch S
Mitch S

Hi Peter! Still totally happy with the Toro. I took it in for a yearly service a few months ago (couldn't be bothered doing it myself), but have had no problems at all. Starts easy every time, and has gone through everything I've thrown at it. I use the side chute on larger areas (a lot of comparable mowers didn't have a side chute), it's a lot easier than emptying the catcher frequently, or using the mulcher function all the time (which apparently is bad for your grass if overdone?). Couldn't recommend it more!

WhataLemon
WhataLemon

Thanks Mitch - Its all pointing toward a Toro purchase this weekend. I'll go and see them for a test drive. I appreciate your input.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.