??!
2 photos
Toro 22" Personal Pace All Wheel Drive 20353

Toro 22" Personal Pace All Wheel Drive 20353

3.7 from 14 reviews · View Statistics

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

3.7

14 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.2 (6)
  • Value for Money
    2.2 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    2.7 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.2 (6)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (6)
  • Safety
    4.2 (5)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.2 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (4)
Previous
Next
dael

daelMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

not terrible as a lawnmower but design could be better.

published

Purchased in March 2013 for $900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
Diggavf124

Diggavf124Sydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews

Its excellent for large lawns..the mulch is like tea leaves...but hard to manoeuvre

published

Its always started after a couple of pulls, use fuel preserver. The "pace" setting thing just works...you'll get used to it in about 30 secs. The 4wd on my yard is overkill. The height settings are 2nd to none. The mulch is about the size of chopped parsley and tea leaves. If you go in a straight line, you will see NOTHING!!

Negatives:
VERY hard to manoeuvre other than a straight line or slow curve.
On long grass..(6" high!!) it will stall....I know you shouldn't let your grass get this long!!!

Conclusion:
With the knowledge I have now, I would get the 2wd drive smaller unit...only cause my lawn isn't as big to need a 22".

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunninings for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
Trae

TraeMackay

  • 14 reviews
  • 17 likes

Disappointed.

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Toro 22" Personal Pace All Wheel Drive 20353 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Davey

DaveyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Not a great mower for Australian grass, moving it around is a pain

published

Hi All, had a victa and decided to move to a self propelled - this one came highly recommended but on 1st use it conked out requiring a restart at least 4-5 times mowing medium length Sir Walter grass.. i suspect the blades are too long for the powerplant and even though the grass was around 6cm high, it couldn't cope, so i had to lift it..
having said that my old mower did it too but it was 1/2 the cost. the self propel is also really goofy - pulling the mower backwards is a pain and moving/pushing it around (from backyard to front on a concrete driveway) when it's not started is really really painful. i couldn't find any release mechanism.

it's on ebay at the moment - i regret buying it and wouldn't again.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
Essentailitisnot

EssentailitisnotMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

I’ll never be buying anything from Toro again !!!

published

Purchased in April 2018 at Aldinga mowers for $900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Mike

MikeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews

Mows well, but needs better belt protection.

published

This lawn mower mows very well. It does not like thick wet grass and will stall because you can't adjust the revs. The AWD system is great when it is working. Due to the lack of protection for the belts, it will throw any small sticks into the V drive pulleys causing the belts to jam or break. My rear belt snapped on the fourth time I used the mower. It would pay to make sure that the lawn is completely debris free prior to mowing and then you probably will not have a problem.

Purchased in November 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $834.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
Pickles Jones

Pickles JonesPerth

  • 9 reviews

Good Buy

published

This is a top lawn mower and the 4WD is really good feature.

I use only the mulcher option as it does this well.

This would be be a heavy mower to push around if it didn't have the 4WD feature but it has. Keep in mind it does a 22 inch cut and gets the job done with ease.

I would have no hesitation in buying the mower again but I would look at the new one which has power reverse also.

This would be the best mower I have owned.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Milo

MiloSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 9 reviews

Its not a lawnmower, its a beast of a lawnmower.

published
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Perfect for what I was after

published

I hadn't heard about this mower but was looking for a self-propelled model and was only considering a 2-wheel drive system. I have a steep block so when I got on to the AWD model I was keen to look at it. Having since purchased one I'm absolutely stoked with it! I didn't want a ride-on for safety reasons but the area I cover with this mower is quite large and I do it with ease.

Date PurchasedSept 2018
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Toro 22" Personal Pace All Wheel Drive 20353 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Trevor

TrevorSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Second one in 12 years

published

Having had a 2006 self pacer 22 inch recycler for over 11, trouble free years, I didnt hestiate to update.my old model with the new AWD. Briggs & Stratton motor. Smaller than the Tecumche motor but just as powerful, if not more. The new model is excellent and has several better features than the older model;better catching capability, lever operating mulcher, better cables. One thing in common though, they start first time. Looking forward to another 11 plus years of trouble free mowing

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Alex

AlexAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great buy.

published

Hi, I've recently sold my personal pace Toro as I've moved to a smaller block of land that's flat ,But when I was living up in the hills I would never have mowed the lawn if it wasn't for the self propelled personal pace Toro . Briggs and Stratton motor, very quiet for the amount of power and and inlet for a water hose for convenience of cleaning the blades.. it had a slasher option and a huge canvas catcher that folds to save on storage.wish I hadn't sold it now but it went to a good home...

Date PurchasedMar 2015
Ruby

RubyNewcastle, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Excellent Mower, important that you keep fuel fresh, but well worth the effort.

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
liamg

liamg

  • 7 reviews
  • 19 likes

Pretty good so far

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Mitch S

Mitch SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Best mower I've ever used

published

Questions & Answers

Wade H.

Wade H.asked

Hi Guys
I just brought this new Toro Mower. However if the lawn is just a little wet and long it clogs up instantly, yesterday it stopped every 10 seconds. Is there anything I can do to improve the power. I also noticed the rear discharge is only half the size of standard mowers, wouldn't it perform better if it were fully open to the catcher?
Cheers

2 answers
Essentailitisnot
Essentailitisnot

Sadly you mistake was buying one...

Diggavf124
Diggavf124

Not many mowers will handle long wet grass as it just sticks to the side. Sometimes I leave my grass too long...this mower has the most height settings I have ever seen. Go with the highest setting and take "half a bite" at a time...good luck.

Christhian B.

Christhian B.asked

I have a TORO recycle 22, every 5 min stop and i have to pull it to start again, i dont have long grass and it doesn't matter what setting i have it , it needs to be pull to start again

No answers
Gary M.

Gary M.asked

Why do the Early reviews how glowing recommendations yet recent ones are extremely poor.
Has Manufacturingfh moved offshore? E.g.
Gary

2 answers
Trae
Trae

It seems to be the way with a lot of reviews. I think the quality is just not what it used to be and getting worse with most products these days.

Diggavf124
Diggavf124

I got mine about a year ago. It works great!!....but it is a very specific mower....if you need something easily moveable....search elsewhere I can recommend. If I had my time again i would get a smaller cut..

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $799.00
Power SourcePetrol
FeaturesMulching Capability, Self-Propelled and Side Discharge
Catcher Type Collapsible
Cutting Deck MaterialSteel
Cutting Width560 mm
Height of Cut25 mm to 102 mm
Number of Blades1
Weight35.6 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameBriggs & Stratton 163cc 725EXi Series
BrandBriggs & Stratton
Engine Displacement163 cc
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.