??!
5 photos
Toyo Open Country A/T II

Toyo Open Country A/T II

4.3 from 35 reviews

See the Best 4WD Tyres in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
25
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
4

Not happy Jan

Not happy JanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

New wheels = better driving

published

After a recent service l needed 4 new tyres, not knowing which ones to choose l opted for a lesser known brand and am very satisfied with the quality, price and condition

Purchased in June 2018 for $660.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Tyre Mileage 24,000 km
Car ModelHyundai Accent
Tyre Pressure Used37 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyYearly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers

Darren

DarrenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Can't beat them

published

Have 265/65/17 toyo open country A/T on 07 Hilux, excellant in the wet, especially on a ute. Work well in sand without having to drop below 20psi. Very low road noise, still have coloured lines in tread and only about 10% wear after 35,000klm in 4yrs. Run them on 32psi and excellant ride and handling. Was going to swap to pirrelli for the new LDV Trailrider but will be sticking to my toyo open country.

Purchased in September 2015 for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Tyre Mileage 35,000 km
Car ModelToyota HiLux MK7.I (2005-2008)
Tyre Pressure Used32 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyMonthly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Robert

RobertPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

These tyres are the best I have used

published

Purchased in June 2013 at Integrity Tyres Wangara Perth WA.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Car ModelToyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R GXL 8 Cylinder, 4.5 L Twin Turbo
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Josh

JoshMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great A/T

published

Just over 15,000 kms in on a new set.
Great all round a/t tyre, have not let me down. Great on price when purchasing a set.
Also performs very well in the wet.

Purchased in September 2018 at Tyrepower for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Tyre Mileage 15,000 km
Car ModelMitsubishi Triton MQ (2015-Present)
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyMonthly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers

Gidgit62

Gidgit62Canberra Central 2601, ACT

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome reliable tyres.

published

We have these on our Prado put on in May 2017@ 50,000 km we are Now showing 76,600km. I'm not into tyres but I do know I look for value and the all important safety and longevity so far I have no complaints made in Japan tread has barely worn comfortable on bitumen no noise on dirt a really great ride so that is my review nothing bad to say we will continue to use these they really are the business purchased for a great price @220 but as of December 2018 my son could only get them for 280 a tyre. Purchased in Tuggeranong transtate tyres.

CarToyota 2014 Prado

Trevor

TrevorSwan hill

Best all terrain tyre in Australia

published

Have had BF Goodrich and Coopers, Toyo AT tyres kill the competitors in Km’s, quietness and excellent wearing. Would highly recommend simply don’t bother about anything else but Toyo AT. My driving is 50% Tar and 50% gravel in the Riverina these tyres are softer in the walls than the competitors and l have never had a puncture yet.

Car2016 Toyota 200 Series Landcruiser

YTO

YTOSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Awesome tyres

published

After long research decided to give these a ago as factory ones fail after 22000kms. A few independent tires shop also recommended these.
So far loving these tires. Nice aggressive tread pattern and strong side walls. Maybe a little nosier than factory HT but not much. Handling wise great on both wet and dry on bitumen. Ride quality is also great not harsh. Fuel economy went up a little as expected. Can't comment on durability as yet still early days.

Definitely recommend Toyo OC AT2 if you are looking for ATs to upgrade.

CarMitsubishi Triton MQ

Elizabeth

ElizabethBeerwah

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great

published

This is great on wet weather long lasting very comfortable tyer for driving on great on dry and off road very affordable to some of the other big companies little noise and easy to driven in I would recommend to anyone looking to buy these there they are great.

CarNw pajero

Tread

published

Quiet and strong sides. Tyres have heaps of tread as new still at 6 months old. Happy with the purchase and will use Tyre sales for my 2 nd car as well. Read heaps before purchase which has not disappointed. I think the tyres will be good for 80-100k no probs

October 9th 2018 Update: Great value

Tyres in wet and dry conditions performed well. Tyres are very quiet and very deep tread. The car performs better (more stability due to sidewall ply) and drives well the tyres look durable and are just that, did some serious 4wd tracks last week and they did not disappoint , Gabba sabbath dooo

CarPrado 2011

Great tyres!

published

Bought OPAT 1 for 150 Series Prado at recommendation of Tyre Power dealer, as a mid range price but quality tyre. Used for highway commuting but would have done well above average off road on gibber, sand, limestone tracks and thousands of km’s of gravel roads and station tracks. Rotated (4 wheel) every 10-20,000km and always adjusted pressure to conditions. From memory had 2 punctures which were plugged, both from tek screws??? Had one alignment but only very minor adjustment. Ended up taking them off at 119,000 km, still legal tread but in middle of winter, so chickened out on going for 120,000km. Replaced with OPAT 2’s. Couldn’t be happier.

Car150 Series Toyota Prado.

Sarah Neal

Sarah NealDarwin

  • 4 reviews

Forced to buy these but turned out good buy

published

We were Forced to buy these but turned out good buy as our driveway is a mud drive up a hill our daugthers car needed them because the standard Toyota ones slid and stuck in the mud. These were all the tyre place had but got them for a good price and have really worked out well and handle well

CarToyota

jackedoff

jackedoffPerth, WA

  • 28 reviews
  • 140 likes
  • Verified purchase

So quiet on the road and excellent off road

published

Very impressed with the already smooth ride of my Landrover Discovery 3, now because of these Toyo Opat A/T's my ride is even smoother. It was a bonus that after doing research on this site, it was the reason i bought them and they, in comparison to the more expensive tyres on the market are extremely well priced!

CarLandrover Discovery 3 V8

Robbo

RobboPerth

Unbalanceable

published

Paid big dollars for 5 new tyres and 3 different tyre dealers including Ironcat in Kewdale couldn't balance them after 3 attempts.
The boss at Ironcat assertively reassured me they were balanced yet every time i used the highway the shaking would and still does occur.
At dead on 100km/h they cause vibration and lack of traction. Dangerous.
Ripped off !

CarNissan Navara

Lewy

LewyCanberra

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Agressive All Terrains - Awesome!

published

I was after some tyres that were one size bigger than standard on my Colorado 7. I also wanted deep chunky tread without going for a Mud Tyre. These ticked all of the boxes. They provide very good grip when off road and i can't fault the on road performance. There is a very small amount of road noise at high speed on hotmix tar, but thats about it.

Car2016 Colorado 7
gooddroprob

gooddroprob

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

Excellent long distance tyre

published

I love these tyres. I put them on my 78-series Troopy (skinny spilt-rims) just before heading off from Melbourne on a six month trip. My family and I have been up through the Territory, across the top of WA, down the coast, and are just about home after crossing the Nullabor. We're yet to have a problem with these tyres and haven't been stuck once. We've been on hard, rocky, dirt tracks, crossed creeks and rivers up in Kakadu, and been in pretty heavy beach sand in WA (20 psi), and as mentioned, the tyres have been excellent. They don't look like they've worn much over 20,000 kms. I'm thinking of buying the MT version for muddy Vic. tracks next year.

CarTroopy 78-series
lan

lanDelungra

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

the perfect tire

published

I am 53 years of age I have used a lot of tires I do a lot of traveling I have been running porelli's on the car I have today I have gotten 85000 ks out of one set of tyres rotation at every ten thousand ks wheel alignment and rotation at every 10.000 km perfect in the wet perfect in the dry and I am a hard driver and fast driver excellent I recommend it highly

Carvw tiguan /skoda octavia vsr

Clint

ClintAdelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best Tyre So Far

published

Very quiet and good wearing great for beach driving bag out well also great for rocky situations don't clear to bad in light mud and have balanced up well at every service so far done 40000ks and nearly half way through the tread not bad for a 3.5 ton vehicle....

CarToyota 200 series Cruiser

allan1776

allan1776South East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

These are a great mid range priced tyre.

published

I fitted a set of these types recently and I was a little sceptical when i saw them on the 4WD as I thought that they may have been noisy due to their block design. I was absolute wrong in my fears. They are a great tyre, they are quieter at speed on the highway than my previous Goodyears, I feel that they are better in the wet, and are better stopping on a wet or dry road. cant comment on their off- road performance, as I use my 4WD for towing My 3.1 tonne Caravan

Car2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee 3.0 ltr Diesel

Naidon

NaidonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 10 likes

So far so good

published
CarPrado 120 series petrol

garyandgail

garyandgail

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

UNSAFE UNRELIABLE

published
Car2014 Toyota Landcruiser single cab

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Gerard F

Gerard Fasked

Good morning I have purchased a new land cruiser troop carrier the factory tyres are 225/95R16 what is the equivalent toyo open country A/T II that is available. ?
Gerard.

1 answer
Robert
Robert

Gerard.
Not sure on the troopie as I have a 200 Series Land cruiser that uses 285 X 65 R17 tyres, however I just replaced both rears after doing 122,000 kms on and off road


John H

John Hasked

how noisey are the OC at 2;s

2 answers
Darren
Darren

Not sure what 2;s means John, but at 110klm/hr on Australian highways/ motorways, they are barely audible. There is hardly any to no hum or vibration noises.

John H
John H

thanks Darren


Andrew L.

Andrew L.asked

How would OC AT2 affect the drive ability of a Kluger? I am concerned about possible punctures with my Dynapro tires when driving on rough country / gravel roads, and I am looking for a more durable tire. 245/65 R17.

1 answer
Gidgit62
Gidgit62

Love these. I can't answer your question sorry I have had zero problems if that helps.


Get an answer from our members and Toyo Tires representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.