??!
5 photos
Toyo Open Country A/T II

Toyo Open Country A/T II

4.5 from 50 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.5

50 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.9 (16)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (15)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (16)
  • Off-Roading Frequency
  • Wet Weather Handling
    4.5 (14)
  • Durability
    4.9 (15)
  • Dry Weather Handling
    4.9 (15)
Previous
Next

Excellent quality

published

Excellent tyre, good grip and great kilometers. I sold my previous 4WD with the tyres on 80,000km and they easily had another 20,000km in them.

When it came to replacing the tyres on my current 4WD I didn’t hesitate and will continue to stick with the Toyo’s. I do a combination of sand driving, off roading and road driving and can’t be happier. Provides good side wall strength.

Purchased in September 2019 at Tyrepower.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Car ModelMitsubishi Pajero
Tyre Pressure Used36 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyYearly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Michael_Duggan

Michael_DugganPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

WOULDN'T USE ANYTHING ELSE

published

As an avid off-roader, I have tried many A/T tyres over nearly thirty years.
Coopers, Yokohama, BF Goodrich, Federal... none compare to the Toyo Open Country A/T II for quietness, off-road ability, on-road traction, sidewall strength or longevity. I've had my current set on for 60K klms and only two are at a point where I am considering changing them, but had I rotated them more frequently they'd probably have a fair life left in them.
I have run these for extended periods at 18psi-15psi and have experienced no sidewall damage and have never had a puncture.
There are more expensive options out there, as there are cheaper options, but none offer such value for money.

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage60,000 km
Car ModelMitsubishi Challenger PC
Tyre Pressure Used40 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyMonthly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
RustyStainless

RustyStainlessSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great working tyre, but noisy

published

What a great looking tyre, and a good performer off road. Having usually had HT tyres on my Pajero, I got a bit of a shock to hear these howling on the bitumen. These reviews here are not really accurate in regard to the noise levels. Luckily I have two sets of rims and change tyres quickly when I want to. For everyday driving I have a set of HTs.

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage2,000 km
Car ModelMitsubishi Pajero NM, NP
See all answers
4WD Tyres

Find out how Toyo Open Country A/T II compares to other 4WD Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul

Paul

  • 3 reviews

good hard wearing tyre. Running through sharp quartz and stone evan mud. Best tyre for the limit price

published

There great on all weather conditions but I don't know about snow as I haven't been in them conditions ive driven off road and 4x4 to these tyres do give me confidence to drive in places I would normally not go.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage35,000 km
Car ModelJeep Grand Cherokee WK
Off-Roading FrequencyWeekly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
JustUs

JustUs

  • 5 reviews

Dependable off and on road

published

Have used these tyres to cross the Madigan Line, Great Central Road, Oodnadatta Track, Birdsville Track, and all over the Vic High Country. Never had a flat tyre. Crossed the Simpson desert at 18psi and no signs of side wall issues. They are very tough and yet very good traction in the wet on the tar. I've used them all the way down to 15psi in the Vic Alps for really good traction.

Purchased in June 2017 at Kmart.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage54,000 km
Car ModelFord Ranger PK
Tyre Pressure Used40 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyMonthly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Ranger Rob

Ranger RobNorth Queensland, QLD

Bought my First set second hand but WOW

published

Coming from a BFG family the chance arose to buy a set of second hand Toyo AT2's fitted on 16 inch Triton rims which had around 10 thou kms already on them for 400 bucks that still looked brand new. At that price I thought bugger it will give them a go and got them swapped onto my PJ Ranger rims. I have travelled all over Queensland 70% Tarmac 20% Dirt and 10% uncharted track use. SO far no punctures I run them at 36 psi on Highways. I drop them back to 30 psi for long dirt roads. And back down to 20 psi for serious dont go there fun. I have done around 35000kms after fitment and they are still over 70% tread. Will be replacing them with a Brand new set of AT's when they finally wear out.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage45,000 km
Car ModelFord Ranger PJ
Tyre Pressure Used36 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyMonthly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Denno

DennoSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Outstanding on and off road tyre

published

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage42,000 km
Car ModelMitsubishi Pajero NT
Tyre Pressure Used36 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyWeekly
Functionality
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Gary

GaryCentral, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Best tyres ever had

published

I have had many tyres of varied cars over the past 40 years. I had company cars for most of that time and if I got 80k out of a set I was more than happy. When I retired I purchased a new PX2 Ranger. The tyres supplied when new I only got 46k from I was speaking to someone that travelled to the APY lands regularly he raved about Toyo Open Country. I thought I would give them a go. Well I have done 101k and only thinking of changing them for another set of Toyo Open Country. Have towed a 23 ft caravan for much of that Thought if I got 80 k I would be happy. I am ecstatic

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage101,000 km
Car ModelFord Ranger PX.II / PX.III
Tyre Pressure Used45 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyYearly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Jon Brissy

Jon Brissy

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Over 110k mileage on these tyres of combined on and off road use.

published

Bought January 2015 and it is now early May 2020 with 110k at least on these tyres. Needs replacing now but would not even consider anything else. The overall appearance remains good with no evidence of tyre deterioration elsewhere. The tyres are actually 7 years from manufacture.

Purchased in January 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage110,000 km
Car ModelToyota Prado
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
4WD Tyres

Find out how Toyo Open Country A/T II compares to other 4WD Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John E.

John E.Perth, WA

Perfect tyre

published

these tyres came new on my Pajero, now done 70000 kms with 3 mths towing caravan no problems, wear excellent. I will be getting these again, pressure 63-65 great tyre.

Purchased in May 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage70,000 km
Car ModelMitsubishi Pajero NS
Tyre Pressure Used63 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyNever
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers

Fantastic all round tyres!

published

Great tyres for a reasonable price. Have completed over 70,000kms since buying new in 2015. Replacing with the same tyres. Fantastic off road traction and good grip on wet roads.

Purchased in February 2015 at Tyrepower for A$304.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage74,000 km
Car ModelToyota Prado J150 Altitude
Tyre Pressure Used36 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyMonthly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Darrenandlulu P.

Darrenandlulu P.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Low noise

published

Low noise experienced along with low maintenance and long mileage. Tyres lasted 5 years 100,000klm off road and bitumen. Would recommend these tyres for suv and or four wheel drives.

Purchased in September 2013 at Ozzy Tyres Online Store for A$395.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage100,000 km
Car ModelToyota HiLux MK7.I
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyMonthly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Chaino

Chaino

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent AT tyre

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage40,000 km
Car ModelMitsubishi Challenger PB
Ian

IanVictoria

  • 11 reviews
  • 15 likes

Great mid range tyre

published

I have the 255/70R16 and have performed well in wet / dry conditions on road.

Off road they work well being an AT tyre and so far have lasted 50000 km and have plenty of life yet. I have a set of 6 tyres and rotate them every 10000 km.

These tyres have the grip needed without getting chewed out.

Ken

KenSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great tyres

published

37.000km around Australia with a 21' van, bungles,Gibb river , steep point and a lot of other dirt .great tyres no punctures and good wear. Minimal chipping ,good road handling wet and dry.

Purchased in February 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage38,000 km
Tyre Pressure Used36 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyMonthly
See all answers
4WD Tyres

Find out how Toyo Open Country A/T II compares to other 4WD Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Not happy Jan

Not happy JanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

New wheels = better driving

published

After a recent service l needed 4 new tyres, not knowing which ones to choose l opted for a lesser known brand and am very satisfied with the quality, price and condition

Purchased in June 2018 for A$660.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage24,000 km
Car ModelHyundai Accent
Tyre Pressure Used37 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyYearly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Darren

DarrenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Can't beat them

published

Have 265/65/17 toyo open country A/T on 07 Hilux, excellant in the wet, especially on a ute. Work well in sand without having to drop below 20psi. Very low road noise, still have coloured lines in tread and only about 10% wear after 35,000klm in 4yrs. Run them on 32psi and excellant ride and handling. Was going to swap to pirrelli for the new LDV Trailrider but will be sticking to my toyo open country.

Purchased in September 2015 for A$1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage35,000 km
Car ModelToyota HiLux MK7.I
Tyre Pressure Used32 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyMonthly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Robert

RobertPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

These tyres are the best I have used

published

Purchased in June 2013 at Integrity Tyres Wangara Perth WA.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Car ModelToyota LandCruiser 200 Mark II 4.5L Twin-Turbo Diesel GXL
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Josh

JoshMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great A/T

published

Just over 15,000 kms in on a new set.
Great all round a/t tyre, have not let me down. Great on price when purchasing a set.
Also performs very well in the wet.

Purchased in September 2018 at Tyrepower for A$1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage15,000 km
Car ModelMitsubishi Triton MQ
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyMonthly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Gidgit62

Gidgit62Canberra Central 2601, ACT

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Awesome reliable tyres.

published

We have these on our Prado put on in May 2017@ 50,000 km we are Now showing 76,600km. I'm not into tyres but I do know I look for value and the all important safety and longevity so far I have no complaints made in Japan tread has barely worn comfortable on bitumen no noise on dirt a really great ride so that is my review nothing bad to say we will continue to use these they really are the business purchased for a great price @220 but as of December 2018 my son could only get them for 280 a tyre. Purchased in Tuggeranong transtate tyres.

CarToyota 2014 Prado
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Dennis C.

Dennis C.asked

Where are they manufacture?

1 answer
cranky11
cranky11

All but 1 size is made in Japan

Gerard F

Gerard Fasked

Good morning I have purchased a new land cruiser troop carrier the factory tyres are 225/95R16 what is the equivalent toyo open country A/T II that is available. ?
Gerard.

4 answers
Robert
Robert

Gerard.
Not sure on the troopie as I have a 200 Series Land cruiser that uses 285 X 65 R17 tyres, however I just replaced both rears after doing 122,000 kms on and off road

cranky11
cranky11

225/95R16 is not available in Open Country AT2. This size is unique to this vehicle. With this size I believe choice is limited to 2 brands / products a this stage.

WarwickJ
WarwickJ

Consider a wider tyre, with 85 profile
https://tiresize.com/tyre-size-calculator/

John H

John Hasked

how noisey are the OC at 2;s

2 answers
Darren
Darren

Not sure what 2;s means John, but at 110klm/hr on Australian highways/ motorways, they are barely audible. There is hardly any to no hum or vibration noises.

John H
John H

thanks Darren

Get an answer from our members and Toyo Tires representatives

Details

Category4WD Tyres
Width215 mm to 285 mm
Aspect Ratio / Profile50% to 85%
Rim Diameter15 to 20 inches
Load Index98 to 126
Speed RatingH, Q, R, S, or T

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.