??!
1 photo
Toyota Kluger GSU40R

Toyota Kluger GSU40R (2008-2013)

4.3 from 150 reviews

Reviews

4.3

150 reviews
5
(93)
4
(32)
3
(14)
2
(5)
1
(6)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (9)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (8)
  • Noise Level
    4.9 (9)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.8 (9)
  • Handling
    4.4 (9)
  • Braking
    4.7 (9)
  • Suspension
    4.7 (9)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.7 (9)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.4 (9)
  • Interior Design
    4.6 (9)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (9)
  • Features
    4.4 (8)
  • Comfort
    4.9 (9)
Previous
Next
SRT

SRTPendle Hill

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Highly reliable

published
Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Shan

ShanPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great car and perfect for the Fam

published

Great car and very reliable. No issues what so ever but the 5 speed is a bit clunky/sloppy sometimes but I feel I can take the car anywhere and it will never let me down. Fuel consumption, well is high, more like 14-14.5l to 100km

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
woodsy4

woodsy4

  • 15 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love it

published

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Kluger GSU40R compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Scott

Scottsydney

2009 kluger kms

published

I own a 2009 Toyota kluger which we love, this car is on the road 7 days a week, beautiful car to drive plenty of power , down side is that they are not designed to tow caravans.
We own a 17 ft single axle caravan which is around 1500kgs kluger has a 2 tonne towing capacity, car tows van nicely but goes through a lot of petrol.
It would be nice if the kluger had a turbo Diesel engine would be a lot easer on fuel. Thanks for reading this
Scott.

Purchased in June 2012.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
jamin

jaminGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 5 likes

Kluger is good value

published

Really like our Toyota Kluger.
Drive a 2004 Toyota Corolla and very happy with it. Would buy another one. When we sell this one we have already spoken that our next car will be another newer toyota kluger. I think we will drive klugers for the next 20 years. Just buy a newer one every 5 years.

We use it to get around and move the kids. Use the car 5 or 6 times a week. We get it serviced every 10 or 11,000 kms. Mechanic loves it.

Purchased in May 2017.

Year2004
Ali

AliSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love my kluger grande

published

This is the best car I have ever owned
After changing from 2015 Nissan extrail to 2011 kluger grande alot of people told me are you crazy
But now when they see me driving it around they love it
It's very space full
Love DVD Player GPS system sunroof
I can go on and on
Simple advice if you want to buy one spend the extra$$$ and get the grande
You will love it.

Purchased in December 2018 for A$24,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ted

TedGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Wisely designed and well built

published
BadgeKX-R
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Peter Pozor

Peter PozorSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect for my needs

published
BadgeKX-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2012
DriveFWD
prod13

prod13Berwick, VIC

  • 5 reviews

Has been a good family hauler except for some annoying things

published
BadgeKX-R
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2012
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Kluger GSU40R compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pizzaroni

Pizzaroni

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent All Round

published

RELIABILITY : Zero issues
SERVICE COSTS : I do my own servicing (oil/filters), o/wise Toyota tell me the auto is service free (sealed unit does not require servicing), plugs at 100k, fuel filter 80k. Did pads at 100k. ie servicing costs are very reasonable.
DRIVE : Very sound in all respects, including towing, a little body roll around town but thats ok.
FUEL : For a car this size I thinks its very good. We have FWD which are better on fuel.
INTERIOR : For me its got to many bells and whistles, some are practical but thats the modern car. O/wise no complaints.

Over all the Kluger is a fantastic package, highly recommended.

BadgeGrande
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2012
Muzz

MuzzMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best all rounder

published

5 years of problem free motoring
My AWD Kluger has been the best family car we have ever owned.
Travelled long distance with 6 big sized kids
Towed 18 ft Caravan ( better than my 2009 Diesel Hilux)
Towed boats, had canoe on roof.
Light off road tracks tackled with ease,
Luxury travelling
Ultra quiet interior
Massive acceleration for a large vehicle
I’m must say I was sad to my Kluger go to a new owner.
I would highly recommend

BadgeGrande
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2013
New Dad

New DadPerth, WA

  • 20 reviews
  • 9 likes

very much happy with this car except for a couple of things....

published
BadgeAltitude
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
koly

koly

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Perfect for family with young kids

published

Absolutely reliable car as Toyota deserves. Love the car because of its multimedia, my boys favourite. Sunroof, leather seats, inbuilt gps and so many add ons are the beauty of Toyota Kluger grande in reasonable price. Running costs a little bit which sometimes my take your thinking but it’s ok considering so many others.

BadgeGrande
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2009

Good family car

published

Comfortable to drive plenty of room. Perfect as a family car very safe and reliable. Servicing cost is cheap. Would buy another, forget buying 2litre engines pulling a 1600kg + vechile that struggle to pull the skin off a rice pudding. Has good power to overtake and tow a 17foot boat. Forget the Toyota haters we’ll do Toyota.

BadgeKX-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014
Vicki J

Vicki JAU

  • 4 reviews

Fantastic

published

Great drive. Smooth ride, plenty of guts when overtaking, very comfortable interior. Running costs not much more than previous Mazda 3! Oodles of leg room. Transforms to 7 seats which is very convenient for families. Looks like new even through we bought secondhand just this year 2018! Overall love it!!

BadgeKX-R
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Kluger GSU40R compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

perfect car!

published

I bought a Toyota Kluger few years back. Nearly $50,000Km done.
the car is awesome. I love this car. no nise at all!
doing well performance. Dash boardalways shine and big room under the legs as well.
fuel also doing very well.
I can give 5 star for this car!1

BadgeCV Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015
Damien H

Damien Hmelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Recently purchased and absolutely love it

published

As It is a grande, absolutely love the leather
Sunroof and drives amazing. The power steering is ideal. And can drive awhile before needing fuel. 7 seats and power windows with the reverse camera is a massive plus. After purchasing a 2010 model. Will definitely continue on with the kluger.

BadgeGrande
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Kelly

KellyMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Best car ever owned

published

By far the best vehicle I have ever owned and driven. It is like driving around in a lounge suite, great for travelling long distances in comfort. We purchased this car for the space, especially with 2 young children and car seats, as well as massive boot space - there are no other SUVs that can compare in space. Reliable to drive, being a V6 does use between 9-11litres per 100km. Will keep this family car for a long time, very satisfied.

BadgeKX-R
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Nic39

Nic39SYDNEY

  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes

We LOVE it!

published

We bought ours second hand in 2014 but it was pretty new so probably a 2013 or 12 model. Can not fault it. It seems a little big to drive is about the worst criticism I can have. It's not noisy, sometimes takes a little balance between stationary and acceleration but handles well. We've had no problems with it since we bought it over three years ago. Go for it!

Badgeunsure
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Pawan

PawanMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect Family car

published

This is the perfect family car, however, I really wish the company could come out with some buyback scheme where clients like myself can have new cars with a good buyback option which could be an incentive for clients like us who would love to stay with Toyota Family, I am currently wanting to sell my Kluger but I am not getting the right price for it

BadgeKX-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2009
Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

Sally C.

Sally C.asked

Does this model have a timing chain

No answers
Arle Kaye P.

Arle Kaye P.asked

Hi Everyone, we just purchased a used 2013 Toyota Kluger Altitute AWD this week. We noticed that every time the engine is turned off, we hear some noises like little stones dropping on a metal for a few minutes. We consulted a friend who is a very good mechanic, and assured us its normal its just the catalytic converter. I would like to know if anyone who owns a Kluger same as ours experiences the same. Thank you

No answers
Anec C

Anec Casked

Can you tell me what went wrong when the warning comes on saying "check VSC system of my 2008 Kluger?

1 answer
Scott
Scott

Sounds like fuel injection but can’t be certain sorry, maybe ring your local Toyota service department.

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.