??!
1 photo
Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R GXL 8 Cylinder, 4.5 L Twin Turbo

Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R GXL 8 Cylinder, 4.5 L Twin Turbo (2008-2020)

Also referred to as: Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R GXL 8 Cylinder, 4.5 L Twin Turbo 2019 and Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R GXL 8 Cylinder, 4.5 L Twin Turbo 2021.
3.7 from 38 reviews

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(14)
(14)
(1)
(4)
(5)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (4)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (4)

Tom

TomIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

What a fantastic beast. Tows like you would not believe. Leaves everything else in the rear vision. Mirror.

published

Have the current 200 series GXL. Expensive but worth every cent. Tows our 2.8 ton van with ease. Have not had any problems or warranty claims in 4 years and over 60,000 kilometres. It is a dream to drive and perfect in comfort and performance. We hummed and harred about the cost but they hold their resale value better than anything else in the market.

Purchased in November 2015 at Bega Valley Motors.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Best landcruiser ever

published

Ive owned a 40, 45, 55, 60, 75, 80, 100 and now a 200 series. Every model was legendary and every model was better than the one before it. They arent cheap but they outlast the rest. Great tow car, awesome offroad.

Purchased in June 2015 at Motorama Toyota for $82,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
ROLLA

ROLLACentral Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

You really pay for what you get with these cars. Fairly expensive so you get the best possible ride with it. Very comfortable even with standard suspension. Great car straight of the factory floor.

Purchased in October 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
TanRod

TanRodHervey Bay

New Batteries - No navigation

published

We recently replaced our batteries in our Landcruiser, and now the factory fitted navigation system is not picking up GPS signal, and has gone to a default map of Canberra. Is there a anyway that we can fix this ourselves, or is this a trip to our local dealer?
Thanks in advance, Tania

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2014

Emma

Emma

  • 2 reviews

Happy So Far

published

We've had our LandCruiser 200 series since June, and don't think we'll ever turn back. Has a spacious interior, fits 3 car seats along the middle row nicely, drives well a perfect family car from school runs to off-roading. Has only been taken for one service (which was complimentary) the local dealer offers a complimentary detail along with the service. The dealer was extremely busy on the day our car was booked in - so could not complete the detail - although offered for us to bring the vehicle back at a later date for the detail.

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Nick18

Nick18mackay

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Happy enough

published

The car is a great drive and tows well, the kids have grown up now so its the cook and I, you could argue its an overstated vehicle for two people which it is but is bought for towing and long trips into central and western Queensland etc
I am a little disappointed in the lack of features for the driver: reversing sensor, fuel management, retracting mirrors etc. all of this was standard with my previous Prado GXL
considering the significant cost its disappointing, I wish I had of bought the VX
never the less a great vehicle.
The dealer is excellent to deal with and would recommend talking to them before purchasing elsewhere.

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Andy Merrill

Andy MerrillMelbourne

Good car except for a very annoying vibration from 1800 to 2100 rpm through steering wheel, feels li

published
BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015

good bloke

good bloke

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

awesome

published

Awsome driving experience, quiter than I thought, great steering, excellent on and off road, plenty of space inside, there is nothing to dislike about the interior, easy to clean, and very comfortable for the whole family, it fits everything we need for everyday life or when we go for trips and very affordable running costs, i wish I bought it earlier.

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
rick cammans

rick cammansbrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 22 likes

New toyota 200 series under warranty with a painting claim defect denied

published
BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
1 comment
rick cammans
rick cammans

I had the same problem. Toyota standards are dropping fast for such $X$ at more than $ 84,000 GXL. Look for another car cheaper but as good.

jamie

jamieMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

vibration felt through steering wheel,floor pan

published

Very disappointed with toyota's response about vibration through steering wheel at aprox 2000 rpm. I excepted no trip computer,even though standard feature in the corolla!!!. (I assumed it had a trip computer for $100,000)The 200 series are roomy,drive reasonbly well,but this vibration is so irritating.The dealer was no help,complained to toyota australia said its chararistics of this vehicle I do remember the demo having no vibration so to reassure myself I wasn't mistaken I went to test drive another vehicle at another dealer, did not have the vibration like ours!!, NOT HAPPY so if its chararistics of this type of vehicle why don't they all do it?????

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Selma H

Selma HAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car.

published

We love this car.. It is just perfect for a family and looking after it is definitely not as expensive as some of the other cars. We enjoy the family road trips as there is enough room to be comfortable for long drives. Highly recommend Toyota and definitely worth the test drive.

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014

Dirtridn2002

Dirtridn2002AU

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

I love my LANDCRUISER!

published
BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015

James

JamesPeregian springs

Trustworthy comfortable transport

published

We sold our near New XC 90 Volvo to purchase our 2nd hand 2008 Prado so we could travel around Australia, we were going to sell it after twelve months travel and purchase another Volvo, we are so happy wit comfort and reliability of this vehicle that we will be updating to a new one when we return. The Prado we purchased had 240000 K.s on the clock and still runs like new

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeGXL Diesel, 2008
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016

alanf

alanf

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very average for the money.

published
BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Shaun

ShaunAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Greatest Ever.

published

All Landcruiser are at the top of the 4WD crew. Tows the dual axle boat trailer like its not there. I can not find much to fault on the vehicle at all. It drives better at 110 to 120 then it does at 100 km. The auto gearbox setting are not right or locked up till at least 110. Also slight steering noise at idle.
Ok 2 years have gone by. I love this car. After 10 thousand kms it has settled in nicely. In the bush or on the freeway it drives spot on.

Purchased in January 2016 for $110,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Prado 2016 GPS

published

Picked up brand new Prado in December 2016 being a 10/16 build but so disappointed with GPS. Travelling along the Pacific Highway thru the Kempsy by pass the GPS cancel s the route as it is not on the map. You have to reset your route most GPS systems just keep recalulating till it picks up a road. Doesnt have the road speeds displayed on screen either. It often tells you to turn when there is no road and never ever had a road. Very disappointing by Toyota and absolutely no help from Toyota to amend the issues. Shame on you, Toyota

BadgeGXL
Engine Size6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016

BazB

BazBAdelaide, SA

Beware poor quality control

published

I bought a new current model Landcruiser 200 series in late 2016. Within 6 months, the vehicle has extensive rust underneath, due to inadequate paint finish on the underbody of the vehicle. The factory paint job underneath was totally inadequate, and Toyota and the dealer refused to accept responsibility. They said the vehicle had been taken off-road. I thought that was the idea of buying a 4WD. The vehicle has not been in harsh conditions, merely driven on dirt roads and one visit to the beach, driving on dry sand. Very disappointed with the factory quality control and the company's response.

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Landcruiser benefits

published

Purchased landcruiser primarily for its towing and safety capabilities. This is our fourth landcruiser and we have always found them reliable and felt safe driving them and comfortable at the same time. The interior is spacious and the driver and passengers have plenty of room with regards to comfort. Although the dashboard is well laid out we feel that the hands free phone controls should be more easily accessed while driving ei oln the steering wheel. For the size of the vehicle and the motor the economy is good.

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

rob.

rob.brisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

needs more thought

published

love the car in every way except for the lack of room for anything such as uhf radios, and storage space to store gear such as recovery gear, so I had to go buy a drawn system and fit that into the back of th car, also the power or cigarete socket in the rear of the car uses too light a guage wiring!

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeUZ 4.7L V8 Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016

Choppy

ChoppyInnisfail

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Room for improvement

published
BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Page 1 of 2

See all Toyota LandCruiser 200 reviews

Questions & Answers

Richard P.

Richard P.asked

I don't have rear guidelines displayed on my reverse camera how to I set them up Help required

1 answer
Tom
Tom

I am not sure if the lines are even there. Certainly not on my current 200 series GXL. Camera is off set but you get use to the angle when backing onto the caravan.


g.t

g.tasked

have 2012 gxl 200s .have had a black sooty smear over rear tail gate from new.gets worse after towing van.traveled 165,000km .have been told toyota had a bad batch of injectors.has any body had the same fault.

1 answer
lawrance
lawrance

There were a batch of faulty injectors - get them checked out by your dealer. Do you have a performance chip installed? These can generate extra soot.


Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.