??!
9 photos
Toyota LandCruiser 200

Toyota LandCruiser 200 (2008-2019)

Also referred to as: Toyota LandCruiser 200 2018 and Toyota LandCruiser 200 2020. VDJ200R (2008-2019) and UZJ200R (2008-2012)
3.8 from 186 reviews

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
80
4 star
47
3 star
22
2 star
14
1 star
23

comfortable highway cruiser and excellent tow vehicle BUT

published

comfortable highway cruiser and excellent tow vehicle. have to pay way too much for way too little. basic inclusions - no seat heaters, accessory plug in rear ,lumber support adjustment, stereo controls steering wheel and poor standard insulation. high depreciation
I would rather go off road in my old 75 troopy

Purchased in May 2015 for $44,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

jojo

jojoSouth West, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Beautiful car - expensive and USELESS GPS

published

I use the vehicle for off road 4WD, commuting. I Live in the bush so require a good GPS system and good robust car that is comfortable. The GPS system keeps wanting to take you back to the bitumen, often it tries to take me miles out of the way. Out of 10 I would rate the GPS system 3. Lift your game toyota, you pay good money for a nice vehicle, don't cheapen it by putting a 2nd rate GPS system in a 4WD! Other than that it is a nice car.....Expensive but nice!

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
mtreister

mtreisterNew South Wales

The leather seats are falling apart and the service from Toyota and Toyota Sutherland has been atrocious

published

These photos tell it all the car is only 4 years old and Toyota has just walked away I will never buy another Toyota or one from Toyota Sutherland they are happy to take your money not have no interest in fixing there products

Purchased for $115,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Darryl  Hill

Darryl HillMelb

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent 200 Sahara 2018

published

Have done 24 ks in 12mths with not one ounce of worry other than still showing 12.1 lts per 100ks and not 9.5 as Toyota states which all makes of cars claim

Purchased in July 2018 at Toyota Dealers for $120.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Iof000

Iof000Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Best on the road

published

These cars are yes a little expensive but it will outlast most things on the road if you look after it and would also even with neglecting I think also

Purchased in November 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

DukeMG

DukeMGSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Extremely high quality - best car I have owned.

published

Use the 200 for commuting, family transport & towing a 3700KG boat. (I had a second stage mfg increase the BTC to 4T). The vehicle is more solid than anything else I have seen designed & built today. Comfortable for long trips, large car that is easy to handle. I will have a very hard time letting go of this one when the time comes.

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

ROLLA

ROLLACentral Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

You really pay for what you get with these cars. Fairly expensive so you get the best possible ride with it. Very comfortable even with standard suspension. Great car straight of the factory floor.

Purchased in October 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Craig

CraigPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Dusted engine

published

70000 km in and engine showed signs of dusting ( dust getting past the air filter and causing wear on the internals eg pistons and turbos ) left turbo blew and was told was a problem with the injectors . Replaced them at my own cost and problems continued .

Purchased in April 2011 for $90,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
  • Verified purchase

Dusted motor 200 series

published

My 200 series got a dusted motor at 145000 km I replaced the motor no help from Toyota said it was fine for some dust to pass the filter
The new motor has been in for 20000 km and dust problem continued I had to replace the air box with an aftermarket one and also put a snorkel on glad to say that 100% solved the problem

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2013

Big car big budget

published

I'm unusual here as I have the 2012 petrol V8. I must say I'm quite impressed with the refinement I have only had the car 3 months but travels over 7000kms thus far over the holiday break. I was a bit worried about the petrol motor being very thirsty, but I really should not have been I can easily get 12L per 100 on freeways and city I think around the 15L which is only 2L more per 100 kms than the diesel.

Overall the car feels solid and the petrol engine is renowned for its reliability so should get 300,000 to 400,000kms without major expense.

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeUZ 4.7L V8 Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Drive4WD

TanRod

TanRodHervey Bay

New Batteries - No navigation

published

We recently replaced our batteries in our Landcruiser, and now the factory fitted navigation system is not picking up GPS signal, and has gone to a default map of Canberra. Is there a anyway that we can fix this ourselves, or is this a trip to our local dealer?
Thanks in advance, Tania

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2014

Tom

Tomadelaide

good and is better

published
BadgeVX

Mick cameron

Mick cameronBairnsdale Victgoria

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great vehicle great staff

published

I search for two years before I found a vehicle I wanted to buy, it had to have accessories, low is and be able to do what was required in a four wheel drive. Towing etc. I selected a GX 200 series landcruiser 2013. This vehicle is to tow my off road van for extended trips outback as well as a daily drive.

BadgeGX
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Drive4WD

Emma

Emma

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Happy So Far

published

We've had our LandCruiser 200 series since June, and don't think we'll ever turn back. Has a spacious interior, fits 3 car seats along the middle row nicely, drives well a perfect family car from school runs to off-roading. Has only been taken for one service (which was complimentary) the local dealer offers a complimentary detail along with the service. The dealer was extremely busy on the day our car was booked in - so could not complete the detail - although offered for us to bring the vehicle back at a later date for the detail.

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Sleepy

SleepyWoodgate Beach

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

King of the Road

published
BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015
1 comment
Sleepy
Sleepy
Ben

Ben

  • 2 reviews

The best family 4x4 vehicle

published

Toyota landcruiser 200 vx very comfortable vehicle my kids loves it in every trip. Quite cabin and torquey engine. The stock suspension is amazing. Drive it off road and it will just take it easy with the help of its traction control you don't need differential locker in my opinion.

BadgeVX
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Naidon

NaidonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 10 likes

Comfortable car

published

This is a really comfortable 4wd to drive around. Lots of really good things about it. Some frustrations with the navigation unit being poor, as is toyota form it seems, and some of the alarms and bells can't be turned off, which is annoying. Good long distance tourer. Second major issue is the payload capacity. Toyota need to look at this and address it. Considering so many buy the car as a tourer, tow vehicle, the 650kg capacity is no-where near enough.

BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Amy

Amy

  • 5 reviews

Best Family Car

published

We recently bought a 2011 altitude 200 series. It is amazing to drive. I couldn't believe how comfortable they are on the road. It does love it's fuel. Getting around 14.7L per 100km in town. So looking for better economy when doing more driving which we will be doing next year on our big lap of Oz. We will be towing a 22.6 foot Jayco around and we can't wait!

BadgeAltitude
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Nick18

Nick18mackay

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Happy enough

published

The car is a great drive and tows well, the kids have grown up now so its the cook and I, you could argue its an overstated vehicle for two people which it is but is bought for towing and long trips into central and western Queensland etc
I am a little disappointed in the lack of features for the driver: reversing sensor, fuel management, retracting mirrors etc. all of this was standard with my previous Prado GXL
considering the significant cost its disappointing, I wish I had of bought the VX
never the less a great vehicle.
The dealer is excellent to deal with and would recommend talking to them before purchasing elsewhere.

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

ptr

ptrbrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Power and the glory

published

Had my 2013 Sahara since new, 100,000km of trouble free luxury and hauling tools for work. A great machine to cover large distances easily and comfortably. Economical diesel albeit a twin turbo V8 powerhouse. Love the chiller box and dvd for children in the rear. Plenty of room for the larger framed folk! Reliability is first class.

BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2013

Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

Wendron

Wendronasked

Can you play videos on rear screens using USB?

No answers

Richard P.

Richard P.asked

VDJ200R GXL 8 Cylinder, 4.5 L Twin Turbo

I don't have rear guidelines displayed on my reverse camera how to I set them up Help required

No answers

Richard P.

Richard P.asked

VDJ200R

How does one access the rear camera settings on a 2016 GXL landcruiser ???

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R GX

Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R GX (2008-2019)

4 reviews
Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R Altitude
  • Discontinued

Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R Altitude (2011-2017)

1 review
Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R VX 8 Cylinder, 4.5 L Twin Turbo

Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R VX 8 Cylinder, 4.5 L Twin Turbo (2008-2019)

30 reviews
Toyota LandCruiser 200 UZJ200R Altitude
  • Discontinued

Toyota LandCruiser 200 UZJ200R Altitude (2008-2012)

No reviews
Toyota LandCruiser 200 UZJ200R GXL
  • Discontinued

Toyota LandCruiser 200 UZJ200R GXL (2008-2012)

1 review
Toyota LandCruiser 200 UZJ200R Sahara
  • Discontinued

Toyota LandCruiser 200 UZJ200R Sahara (2008-2012)

No reviews
Toyota LandCruiser 200 UZJ200R VX
  • Discontinued

Toyota LandCruiser 200 UZJ200R VX (2008-2012)

1 review
Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R VX 8 Cylinder, 4.6 L

Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R VX 8 Cylinder, 4.6 L (2008-2019)

No reviews
Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R GXL 8 Cylinder, 4.6 L

Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R GXL 8 Cylinder, 4.6 L (2008-2019)

No reviews
Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R GXL 8 Cylinder, 4.5 L Twin Turbo

Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R GXL 8 Cylinder, 4.5 L Twin Turbo (2008-2019)

36 reviews
Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R Sahara 8 Cylinder, 4.6 L

Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R Sahara 8 Cylinder, 4.6 L (2008-2019)

1 review
Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R Sahara 8 Cylinder, 4.5 L Twin Turbo

Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R Sahara 8 Cylinder, 4.5 L Twin Turbo (2008-2019)

28 reviews
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $85,082$107,972$102,617$91,687$97,042$123,927$129,327
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolDieselPetrolDiesel
Wheels17" Steel18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars4 Stars4 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors555555555555
Seats587555588887
Fuel Consumption9.5 L/100km9.5 L/100km9.5 L/100km14.5 L/100km14.5 L/100km14.5 L/100km14.5 L/100km9.5 L/100km9.5 L/100km9.5 L/100km9.5 L/100km9.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 138 L138 L138 L138 L138 L138 L138 L138 L138 L138 L138 L138 L
Engine8 Cylinder 4.5 L8 Cylinder 4.5 L8 Cylinder 4.5 L8 Cylinder 4.7 L8 Cylinder 4.7 L8 Cylinder 4.7 L8 Cylinder 4.7 L8 Cylinder 4.6 L8 Cylinder 4.6 L8 Cylinder 4.5 L8 Cylinder 4.6 L8 Cylinder 4.5 L
Max Power200kW @ 3600rpm200kW @ 3600rpm200kW @ 3600rpm202kW @ 5400rpm202kW @ 5400rpm202kW @ 5400rpm202kW @ 5400rpm200kW @ 3600rpm200kW @ 3600rpm200kW @ 3600rpm200kW @ 3600rpm200kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque650Nm @ 1600-2600rpm650Nm @ 1600-2600rpm650Nm @ 1600-2600rpm410Nm @ 3400rpm410Nm @ 3400rpm410Nm @ 3400rpm410Nm @ 3400rpm650Nm @ 1600-2600rpm650Nm @ 1600-2600rpm650Nm @ 1600-2600rpm650Nm @ 1600-2600rpm650Nm @ 1600-2600rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heated Seats
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heated Seats
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Backseat Screen
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Backseat Screen
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2008Jan 2011Jan 2008Jan 2008Jan 2008Jan 2008Jan 2008Jan 2008Jan 2008Jan 2008Jan 2008Jan 2008
Discontinuation dateJan 2017Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.