7 photos
Toyota LandCruiser 200

Toyota LandCruiser 200

Mark I, Mark II
3.8 from 191 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (23)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (23)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (22)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (21)
  • Braking
    4.3 (23)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (23)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (22)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (23)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.1 (22)
  • Handling
    3.8 (21)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (23)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (23)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (23)
  • Features
    3.7 (22)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Stewart P.
Stewart P.
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

2nd 200, Perfection. Nothing comes close

published

King of the roads with nothing else coming close. I use it to tour, tow and as a daily driver and it does it all. Last one had no issues either.

Purchased in February 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Darryl H.
Darryl H.Melb
  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Still happy with the vehicle as a whole

published

On the 4th 200 and second Sahara and still happy with the overall performance having done 16ks but still waiting for the 9.5lts per 100ks and am sure it won't happen, i think the extra horsepower was gained by increasing revs to get it to 200kw by an extra 200rpm at 3600rpm where as my older ones were 195kw at 3400rpm so what would you think, safe wise i feel better being in something which is solid and reliable like the old saying you can take a Landrover into the scrub but you need a Toyota to get back.

Purchased for $138.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Darryl H.
Darryl H.Melb
  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Continual reliability

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Minh Ha Pharmacy Werribee for $135.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota LandCruiser 200 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrew Hughes
Andrew HughesSydney, NSW

Engine seized unexpectedly

published

My 2008 Landcruiser Sahara with 170,000 kms Engine Seized unexpectedly, still unsure why but not happy. Engine just stoped going up steep hill loaded only with family and luggage. After reading another review here it sounds a lot the same that the oil pump may have failed.
Anyway new Engine (long motor) is just over $17,000 plus labour. So looking at probably $20-22k to have repaired.
Will update cause later

Purchased in September 2015 at Buckle Up Baby Australian for $70,000.00.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
PerthPhil
PerthPhilPerth, WA
  • 33 reviews
  • 22 likes

Dinosaur with terrible after sales service.

published

Purchased in October 2018 for $105,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Mazzab
MazzabSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

2016 VX Cruiser - right hand drive shaft broken.

published

Bought this vehicle new to tow caravan. Overrated and over priced! However worst of all, (hence the rating) with just 36000 km on the clock, the right-hand drive shaft broke, the rubber seal was split and the vehicle was not going anywhere, other than, on the back of a tilt tray truck! This is definitely a "not happy Jan" moment! I am given to understand that we are not the only owners to have this problem recently! Are there any other disillusioned owners who have had a similar experience with the right-hand drive shaft on their cruiser?

Purchased in July 2016.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
bereng
berengSouthwest, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

I love the vehicle. Hate the GPS.

published

I live in the bush and bought 2016 200 Sahara to be legal towing our van. It does everything with ease.
The GPS map is 20 years out of date with the road names around here. I have been checking for updates only to find they are still out of date. All other maps including Toyota link have the road names correct.
Why is Toyota wasting theirs and our money on this supplier. Tom Tom.

Purchased in May 2017 for $115,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
bereng
bereng

Sorry that was $115K bereng.

bereng
bereng

I have paid a lot to have my GPS updated by Toyota May 2020. My road name and some other are still wrong.
It's not a good feeling.

AussieOffroad N.
AussieOffroad N.South East Queensland, QLD

Electrical problems, ABS sensor issues, weak CVs, dust issues...

published

Purchased in September 2010 for $97,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
all terrain driver
all terrain driverPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Used most days around city with regular trips to the Southwest and across paddocks. Standard tyres useless in an slippery conditions, should be offered selection of tyres at purchase. Tows medium sized camper trailer without effort or noticeable steering affect with good braking (assisted by Electric trailer brakes). Limited legroom in second row and third row has your knees up fairly high although almost as much thigh room as the second row. Fuel consumption climbs steeply above 90kph. Should have Android and apple carplay as well as a better Gps which was out of date on purchase.
A very easy mechanism to remove the Third row of seats would be valuable.

Purchased in July 2018 for $105,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota LandCruiser 200 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tom
TomIllawarra, NSW
  • 2 reviews

What a fantastic beast. Tows like you would not believe. Leaves everything else in the rear vision. Mirror.

published

Have the current 200 series GXL. Expensive but worth every cent. Tows our 2.8 ton van with ease. Have not had any problems or warranty claims in 4 years and over 60,000 kilometres. It is a dream to drive and perfect in comfort and performance. We hummed and harred about the cost but they hold their resale value better than anything else in the market.

Purchased in November 2015 at Bega Valley Motors.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Stewart P.
Stewart P.
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best landcruiser ever

published

Ive owned a 40, 45, 55, 60, 75, 80, 100 and now a 200 series. Every model was legendary and every model was better than the one before it. They arent cheap but they outlast the rest. Great tow car, awesome offroad.

Purchased in June 2015 at Motorama Toyota for $82,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Parth Sharma
Parth SharmaSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

I would like to aim the Toyota Land Cruiser 200 VDJ200R VX8 Cylinder

published

I use my car very often almost 2-300 kms a day. Everyday, every time i get my car serviced when its due, there are no issues with the car its amazing.

Purchased in August 2017 for $12,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

comfortable highway cruiser and excellent tow vehicle BUT

published

comfortable highway cruiser and excellent tow vehicle. have to pay way too much for way too little. basic inclusions - no seat heaters, accessory plug in rear ,lumber support adjustment, stereo controls steering wheel and poor standard insulation. high depreciation
I would rather go off road in my old 75 troopy

Purchased in May 2015 for $44,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
jojo
jojoSouth West, WA
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Beautiful car - expensive and USELESS GPS

published

I use the vehicle for off road 4WD, commuting. I Live in the bush so require a good GPS system and good robust car that is comfortable. The GPS system keeps wanting to take you back to the bitumen, often it tries to take me miles out of the way. Out of 10 I would rate the GPS system 3. Lift your game toyota, you pay good money for a nice vehicle, don't cheapen it by putting a 2nd rate GPS system in a 4WD! Other than that it is a nice car.....Expensive but nice!

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
mtreister
mtreisterNew South Wales

The leather seats are falling apart and the service from Toyota and Toyota Sutherland has been atrocious

published

These photos tell it all the car is only 4 years old and Toyota has just walked away I will never buy another Toyota or one from Toyota Sutherland they are happy to take your money not have no interest in fixing there products

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased for $115,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota LandCruiser 200 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

rhino
rhinoasked
LandCruiser 200

lc200 2016 sahara start the car once dab fm am work turn the car off and then re-start no fm am or dab radio has any else had this drama

1 answer
Darryl H.
Darryl H.

rhino the audio system needs re-booting so only your Toyota dealer can do it and you will have to pay for it

Neil G.
Neil G.asked
LandCruiser 200 Mark II 4.5L Twin-Turbo Diesel GX (2012-2021)

when towing my 200 landcruiser wont upshift from 4th,2000 revs @80 clicks???

3 answers
Darryl H.
Darryl H.

If it,s in auto mode it should but if you have it in manual mode it wont,still no good back to Toyota dealer

Neil G.
Neil G.

Doesn't matter which i select still the samething

Stewart P.
Stewart P.

Gearbox is in limp mode, You need to take it to your dealer or a quality workshop for a scan.

Manuel M.
Manuel M.asked
LandCruiser 200

Thanks for the help in advance. I changed my battery today. Suddenly my liftgate is not working properly. It opens when you press the backdoor opener switch, but it doesn't close when i press it back. Unless you do it manually, and it doesn't lock fully.

1 answer
Darryl H.
Darryl H.

A group of press buttons to the left of steering lower down there is one you press to allow you operate or not the rear door,its in the book read it

See all Toyota LandCruiser 200 questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota LandCruiser 200

Details

Compare all 13 Toyota LandCruiser 200
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $99,483$132,768$110,718$87,198
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels17" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy17" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption9.5 L/100km9.5 L/100km9.5 L/100km9.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 138 L138 L138 L138 L
Engine8 Cylinder 4.5L Twin-Turbo Diesel8 Cylinder 4.5L Twin-Turbo Diesel8 Cylinder 4.5L Twin-Turbo Diesel8 Cylinder 4.5L Twin-Turbo Diesel
Engine Code1VD-FTV1VD-FTV1VD-FTV1VD-FTV
Max Power200 @ 3600rpm200kW @ 3000rpm200kW @ 3600rpm200W @ 3600rpm
Max Torque650-1600Nm @ 2600650-1600Nm @ 2600rpm650-1600Nm @ 2600rpm650Nm @ 1600-2600rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance235 mm235 mm235 mm235 mm
Release dateMar 2012Mar 2012Mar 2012Mar 2012
Compare all 13 Toyota LandCruiser 200
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.