1 photo
Toyota Prado J120

Toyota Prado J120 (2002-2009)

4.4 from 100 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (11)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (10)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (10)
  • Braking
    4.4 (8)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (8)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.6 (7)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (9)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (9)
  • Handling
    4.0 (9)
  • Interior Design
    3.9 (9)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (8)
  • Comfort
    4.7 (9)
  • Features
    3.8 (9)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Sarah H
Sarah HCoffs Harbour
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Peeling paint and suspension fail

published

Won't be buying one of these again. Almost every panel has peeling paint and I had to completely replace the air-bag suspension on a ten year old car, and it was the Grande model. Why wont Toyota Australia cover the warranty on the paint, as at present they've got a heap of Toyotas with peeling paint driving around with every other driver looking at it and thinking to themselves "I won't buy a Toyota because I've seen so many with peeling paint." Imagine the good publicity Toyota would have if they honoured the extended warranty.

I've just created a public Facebook page titled "Toyota Australia Peeling Paint." Please join if you are in the same boat.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in November 2014 for $28,000.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
David
DavidPerth
  • 14 reviews
  • 21 likes

Most reliable SUV

published
  • Thumbnail
Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Shellie C.
Shellie C.Sydney, NSW

Paint Peeling

published

Garaged Prado 2008 every panel of paint is peeling. I have worked from home for over 20 years.

My car is worth nothing now, and every other country has extended the paint warranty to 14 years because Toyota have accepted there was manufactuer fault in the clear coat in the Pear Blizzard.

What I dont understand is why Toyota Australia think they are exempt from this direction passed down from Toyota.

Is anyone else having the same issues?

Please contact me on Facebook Shellie Coan

Incentivised Review No
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Shane G
Shane G
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Peeling Paint

published

Purchased in June 2015 at Toyota Dealers for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Prado J120 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jarrod
JarrodEyre Peninsula, SA

Extremely reliable!

published

I bought my 2008 turbo diesel prado in 2010 with 75,000kms on it. We now have 256,000 and not had an ounce of trouble. I installed arb after market suspension with lift when I first purchased. I believe this is a must have. This vehicle has been very capable off road and towing our 2.4t caravan.
Highly recommend this model for reliability.

Purchased in September 2010 for $54,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ash K
Ash KQueensland
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Toyota Peeling Paint - Manufacturing Default

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail
Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Tan
TanPerth, WA
  • 17 reviews
  • 7 likes

Cant fault this car & we've been everywhere in it.

published

We are truly impressed with this 4x4. We've done a circumnaviation around Australian to the most remote rough locations and couldnt fault it. We have a 2003 GXL 4L - it is thirsty but you have the power and grunt to go where you want. Highly recommend!

Purchased in December 2006 at Toyota Dealers for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
D H.
D H.
  • 7 reviews

Extremely reliable and pretty good off road as well.

published

I bought this car to tow a caravan and use it for light to moderate off road work. The Prado really surpassed my expectations for towing, the V6 towed my 16 van really well. Last December I left Nullarbor road house heading west into a strong cross wind, 44 C outside and the aircon on full blast. The temp never got past 94 c, digital readout from the OBD11 Port. Yeah the fuel consumption wasn't great, but the Prado pushed on without a complaint for 2.5 hours.
I use the car for work every day and its comfortable and reliable despite 227000 km.

Purchased in May 2018 for $19,990.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
KME
KMEFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very comfortable, fuel efficient and spacious

published

We have had our prado for a few years now and we cannot fault it. It is very comfy, spacious and is a dream to drive. The downer is that it has the same old standard Toyota stereo so no Bluetooth/AUX/connection.

Purchased in April 2017 for $17,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Prado J120 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
James
JamesSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

1GR 4.0 V6 is one of the best Toyota motors ever made

published
BadgeGrande
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
BruceCameron
BruceCameronBuninyong

Best vehicle I've owned

published

After a string of Diesel Hilux's, Landrover Discoveries I bought my first Prado on a whim at auction-online, sight unseen. It had 300,000km on the clock so my expectations were realistic. To my surprise it looked immaculate and drove the same, full service history and one owner from new. A few sensible upgrades, suspension, tyres, bull bar later it is becoming a favorite for the fun we have in it and the reliability. Dual tanks standard, great air-cond, relatively good fuel economy, (1KZ pre-common rail diesel-manual). Very capable off road and comfortable, roomy for family trips. Only regret is we didn't buy one sooner.

BadgeGX
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Hamid
HamidAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

The best car I had

published

2004 1KZ, Done 230,000Km with it. running smooth, reliable.
Has been offroad with this car a lot never had a problem,
If the Auto box was 5 speed It would make a different car.
I like this engine is so simple and makes life easier with service and low maintenance cost

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Prado J120 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fisherman
FishermanSouth Australia
  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great car

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2007
Simon i
Simon iTerrigal
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Awesome

published

Low servicing costs
Tough tough tough
Versatile family car
Good off-road
Good I’m the snow
Good all round family vehicle
Very hard to find fault
Replaced radiator, tyres, brakes and one wheel bearing in 6 years. Pretty hard to argue with that in what is now a 15 year old car

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2003
Natasha Davis
Natasha Davis
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

My Baby, My Life!

published

I have never ever felt safer or more comfortable in a vehicle. The space is an added bonus but there is nothing my baby can't do and no where she cant go. If and when i ever upgrade i will want something as close as mine as i can get because i just love it!

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2012
See all Toyota Prado reviews

Questions & Answers

Richard M.
Richard M.asked
J120 (2002-2009)

I would like to know the general off road expected performance from a j120 2007 Prado petrol engine?

No answers
Amin S.
Amin S.asked
J120 (2002-2009)

Hi guys, I have prado Diesel 2007 , I can hearing the water sound in the car and when I turn on the heater it take so long to be warm ,Can u guys help me plz

No answers
Shannon B.
Shannon B.asked
J120 (2002-2009)

My prado 2009 turbo diesel 210.000km the blow off valve is leaking oil can anyone tell me why if so how to fix thanks

No answers
See all Toyota Prado J120 (2002-2009) questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota Prado J120 (2002-2009)

Details

Compare all 23 Toyota Prado
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Release dateJan 2002
Discontinuation dateDec 2009
Compare all 23 Toyota Prado

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.