??!
2 photos
Toyota RAV4 XA40 AWD 2.2L Turbo-Diesel GXL

Toyota RAV4 XA40 AWD 2.2L Turbo-Diesel GXL (2013-2019)

4.1 from 12 reviews

Reviews

4.1

12 reviews
5
(7)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (2)
  • Handling
    5.0 (2)
  • Braking
    5.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (2)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (2)
  • Features
    4.0 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (2)
Previous
Next
RAV4 GXL 2.2 DEISEL

RAV4 GXL 2.2 DEISELGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

Love this car

published

Next month will be 6 years we have the rav on diesel we just done 80000 km services it’s bit costly but we happy with never had any issues been told the car still as new

Purchased in May 2014 at Lemans toyota for A$42,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Theo

TheoPerth

  • 12 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best buy

published

My Rav4 is used mainly for my work related travels. Being a driver of toyota for approximately 10 years now, I was really eager to drive this car. With no doubt, it delivered my expectations. I regularly send my rav4 for a semi annual service at the toyota centre. No issues since bought and have always performed great!

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Wouldnt ever recommend or buy another!

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 AWD 2.2L Turbo-Diesel GXL compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
GRANT

GRANTIllawarra, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Car

published

Bought the Rav in 2013 and drove it to from Sydney to Darwin a month after purchase. Never missed a beat and the diesel covered around 700km to a tank. Last week, 2018 drove Syd to Gold Coast and the fuel economy was way better. I did 900km on a full tank- got all the way to the coast and then some. The diesel must have loosened up and I was very pleased with the distance. Only had one issue on the way when the AWD warning light came on at 110 kph and I felt the car labour suddenly. Had to stop and disconnect the battery in the middle of no where for half hour and it seem to reset the system. No problems on the return trip so far.

Would buy one again.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013

The safety features of this car is life saving

published

Performance and handling is smooth and eficeient
The interior is sleek but I prefer leather upholstery
Dashboard is perfect and leg room is so comfortable
It is fuel economical
It has seven airbags designed to keep you and passengers safe . It also has a knee airbag to prevent injury
Running costs is minimum and reliability is 100%

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Sandyoceanblue

SandyoceanblueMURRUMBA DOWNS

  • 11 reviews
  • 14 likes

Love my new wheels!

published

This vehicle drives beautifully. No noise, great handling and smooth on the road!
There is nothing I dislike in the interior. Very smooth lined yet practical and no where to store clutter which is great!
Great legroom and love the radio.
Great reliability and fantastic mileage! Love that my car is diesel so this helps with the the running costs and maintenance too, that is for sure.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Fam

FamSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Rav 4 you beauty!!

published

If you are looking for an affordable, low maintenance, fuel efficient family car. Rav 4 is just the perfect car for you.

I love the new sleek look. Excellent stability. The boot space is simply awesome. Once I had to drop 4 relatives to airport and their 4 large suitcase and 4 carry on bag got easily fir in the back.

Very fuel economic and even though not a V6 but got the kick.

Love the dashboard. The combination of blue and white light in the dashboard really works well.

Another huge plus is Rav 4 holds its value well so if you thinking of upgrading you can expect a good value for money.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Mirela

MirelaWanniassa 2903, ACT

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

The best car ever!

published

I am very happy with my Rav4, a big car which is so easy to drive. I am happy with the consumption, very economical, I had 5,9l/100km out and the lowest in was 8.0l/100km. Even I have chronic back pain the seats are very comfortable and even when I drove three hours continuously I had no problems. It is a beautiful car and I hope I will have it for more than 10 years from now. Since I bought the car, except service, I never had any problem with it. So I am very happy and I think I am lucky to drive such a beauty, my Toyota Rav4!

Purchased in June 2015 at Toyota Dealers for A$48.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Mirela
Mirela

I still consider my previous review! I still love my car, so far never let me down!

Ben Ash

Ben AshHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews

A great car for my needs

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015
3 comments
Ben Ash
Ben Ash

I think the base model Rav4 is pretty underwhelming in the style department though gives a buying option for people on a limited budget.

Ben Ash
Ben Ash
Ben Ash
Ben Ash

December 2017 and no regrets re this car.

Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 AWD 2.2L Turbo-Diesel GXL compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

High Oil Consumption in Diesel Rav4 2013 GXL

published

Drives great, like the interior but my RAV4 has an oil consumption problem. Have taken it back to Toyota who put it on a monitoring program and then they recommended to replace the pistons under warranty. However, I still have the same problem. Very disappointed that this issue is occurring in the first place with a Toyota vehicle.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic

Engine oil problem

published

Be warned when you buy a Toyota Rav 4 Diesel engine SUV. I have been back to Pennant Hills Toyota 4 time as the low engine oil light turns on every after 4,000 to 5,000 km. They keep telling me to come back to do a engine oil consumption test each time. They says its Toyota's policy, they really try to make it so inconvenient and hard. Surely there is a problem. My warning is beware when you a Toyota Rav 4 Diesel engine SUV, because they will make you go through so many hurdles.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
RAV4 GXL 2.2 DEISEL

RAV4 GXL 2.2 DEISELGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

nice and strong suv

published

we have got the GXL DEISEL AWD its amazing suv safe to drive around with bad weather condition around the mount on loos stone on mud strong 2.2 engine great for family my next trip its will be from melbourne to pink lake wa -today already had the car for12 months we have no dramas so fare very happy with

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
See all Toyota RAV4 reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Toyota RAV4 XA40 AWD 2.2L Turbo-Diesel GXL (2013-2019) but you can read 87 questions about Toyota RAV4.

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.