??!
10 photos
Toyota RAV4 XA50

Toyota RAV4 XA50 (2019-2021)

Also referred to as: Toyota RAV4 XA50 2020 and Toyota RAV4 XA50 2022. FWD, AWD
4.5 from 14 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.5

14 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.9 (10)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (10)
  • Noise Level
    4.9 (11)
  • Braking
    4.8 (11)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.8 (11)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.8 (10)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (10)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (10)
  • Handling
    4.7 (10)
  • Interior Design
    4.7 (10)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (10)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (10)
  • Features
    4.6 (10)
Previous
Next
BSF

BSFAU

  • 55 reviews
  • 15 likes

A very competent car, so smooth

published

Had the car for 4 months now. Cannot complain. As smooth and quiet as a Lexus. Surprisingly quiet and quick for its size. Cabin is full of nice features. Minor complaints but overall am quite satisfied.

Purchased in August 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
See all answers
WCC

WCCGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Comfort with incredible economy

published

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Fonsie

FonsieSydney, NSW

Great packaging. Overall a well designed SUV

published

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA50 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Justin

JustinMelbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great drive

published

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Frank

FrankMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

No brainer

published

If you thinking of spending around $40K for a SUV, strongly consider the Toyota RAV 4 Hybrid. It has numerous safety features with many bells and whistles. Extremely fuel efficient. Currently getting around 880 km on a tank of petrol. Fuel gauge is displaying 5.7 litres per 100 km. Extremely quiet and excellent for the environment. It will hold its value over many years. Had to wait 5 months for delivery but well worth the wait. Toyota have been making hybrids for over 20 years so their technology is well ahead of the pack. Highly recommended. Absolute no brainer.

Purchased in May 2020 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sam Cartwright

Sam CartwrightSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Hybrids are amazing

published

My wife and I bought this car recently. It is so quiet and drives like butter. We love the car and everything about it, great interiors, enough room in the back for our dog, the stereo system has wonderful sound. It has a really top notch safety rating which is the main reason we got it. Mechanically I trust toyota always, so far so good with this one too.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Al fern

Al fernGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Saves me petrol & nice ride

published

I use my car to drive to work, run errands and occasionally drive off-road for picnics and adventure.
The car is driven daily and even more on weekends & public holidays.
The car comes with a 5 year unlimited warranty so it’s a peace of mind and every annual service has been pegged so bring it back to the dealer is not worrying at all that you’re going to get ripped off!

Purchased in June 2019 for $45,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Leigh D

Leigh DGippsland, VIC

Waiting

published

Just read these reviews of the RAV4 GXL HYBRID. Thank you, I ordered mine today, there is a wait of approx 4 months, however I have a feeling it may arrive sooner. My test drive was fabulous. It’s much quieter than my Mazda3. It handles well and with so many features I can’t wait to get behind the wheel .

Purchased in January 2020 for $41.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Zelly

ZellyLaunceston, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best decision ever

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Launceston Toyota.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA50 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bundy

Bundy

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Rav4 Hybrid: Apple CarPlay not worth the effort

published

This is not a review of the RAV4 Hybrid, its a pretty good all round car but I just picked my car up from the dealer after the Apple CarPlay "upgrade". The poor girl trying to show me how the Apple CarPlay worked was stumped and so was I neither of us could find it. Until she went and asked the Tech. YOU NEED A CORD! The car has wireless charging for goodness sake. So the answer is if you want Apple CarPlay you will need to connect your phone via a cord to enable it, as you proceed to place it down for wireless charging. Not sure why Toyota bothered. I was disappointed.

Purchased in September 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Year2019
Canberra Daddy

Canberra DaddyKingston 2604, ACT

  • 23 reviews
  • 21 likes

Glimpse of automotive future

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Canberra Daddy
Canberra Daddy
Daniel P.

Daniel P.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 15 reviews
  • 10 likes

Brilliant

published

A solid car.
Has plenty of room for my needs, is fuel efficient, has a great build and is very robust.
The ease of use is brilliant and the seller offers great service if required

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtNew
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Brian

BrianWellington

  • 13 reviews
  • 26 likes

Motoring perfection.

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Don L

Don LMelbourne

I can't buy the RAV4 because the alerts sound levels and/or frequency are wrong for anybody with hearing difficulties

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
See all answers
See all Toyota RAV4 reviews

Questions & Answers

Brett H.

Brett H.asked

XA50 (2019-2021)

I have a RAV4 Cruiser Hybrid AWD and am wondering of it has remote start, have looked online and am getting conflicting reports. I am in Australia if that makes a difference.

1 answer
dhkzip
dhkzip

I don’t have a RAV4 Cruiser Hybrid and am wondering if it has a steering wheel. Perhaps I will look.

Paul

Paulasked

RAV4 XA50 AWD 2.5L Hybrid Cruiser (2019-2021)

Has anyone tried replacing standard black wheels with polished aluminum wheels, as a factory fitted option? Toyota website displays 18" polished aluminum wheels as an option but does not indicate the cost. Does anyone know the possibility and cost? Thank You

No answers
RAV4 Enquiry

RAV4 Enquiryasked

RAV4 XA50 AWD 2.5L Petrol Edge (2019-2021)

Hi looking at the difference between RAV4 2.5l AWD and RAV4 2l 2wd. Will be doing many local drives but also a few long distance drives (up to 2000km rtn) could someone give me an idea which would one would be more beneficial. Thanks

5 answers
SUN SUN
SUN SUN

My car it’s 2.2 diesel I did very long drive from Melbourne to Esperance WA 6000km returns and Mel to cold coast and about 5 trips to Sydney I’m very happy with fuel efficiency between 8-9 L per with Aircondation running

Al fern
Al fern

My apologies for being unable to answer your question. I would suggest checking the fuel consumption of 2.5L AWD vs 2.0L 2WD on the statistics on Toyota’s website

I know that they do not make diesel options but only Petrol or Hybrid engines nowadays.

Al fern
Al fern

The fuel comparisons is available as per the link below:
https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/PowerSearch.do?action=noform&year1=2019&year2=2019&make=Toyota&baseModel=RAV4&srchtyp=ymm

Unfortunately, it’s mpg rather than kms per litre. :(
Hope this helps

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

Compare all 20 Toyota RAV4
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $36,670$40,378$43,365$39,245
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT) and ManualContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolHybrid
Wheels17" Allow18" Alloy19" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.5 L/100km6.5 L/100km6.5 L/100km4.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 55 L55 L55 L55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.5L
Max Power127kW @ 6600rpm127kW @ 6600rpm127kW @ 6600rpm160kW
Max Torque203Nm @ 4400-4900rpm203Nm @ 4400-4900rpm203Nm @ 4400-4900rpm221Nm @ 3600rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Ground Clearance195 mm190 mm195 mm190 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)800 kg800 kg800 kg480 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg480 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateMay 2019May 2019May 2019May 2019
Compare all 20 Toyota RAV4

Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.