??!
3 photos
Toyota RAV4 XA50

Toyota RAV4 XA50 (2019-2020)

Also referred to as: Toyota RAV4 XA50 2019 and Toyota RAV4 XA50 2021. FWD, AWD
4.4 from 10 reviews

Reviews

4.4

10 reviews
5
(8)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (6)
  • Value for Money
    4.9 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (7)
  • Noise Level
    4.9 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (7)
  • Handling
    4.9 (7)
  • Braking
    4.9 (7)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (7)
  • Interior Design
    4.9 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (7)
  • Features
    4.9 (7)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (7)
Previous
Next
Frank

FrankMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

No brainer

published

If you thinking of spending around $40K for a SUV, strongly consider the Toyota RAV 4 Hybrid. It has numerous safety features with many bells and whistles. Extremely fuel efficient. Currently getting around 880 km on a tank of petrol. Fuel gauge is displaying 5.7 litres per 100 km. Extremely quiet and excellent for the environment. It will hold its value over many years. Had to wait 5 months for delivery but well worth the wait. Toyota have been making hybrids for over 20 years so their technology is well ahead of the pack. Highly recommended. Absolute no brainer.

Purchased in May 2020 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sam Cartwright

Sam CartwrightSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Hybrids are amazing

published

My wife and I bought this car recently. It is so quiet and drives like butter. We love the car and everything about it, great interiors, enough room in the back for our dog, the stereo system has wonderful sound. It has a really top notch safety rating which is the main reason we got it. Mechanically I trust toyota always, so far so good with this one too.

Al fern

Al fernGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 10 reviews

Saves me petrol & nice ride

published

I use my car to drive to work, run errands and occasionally drive off-road for picnics and adventure.
The car is driven daily and even more on weekends & public holidays.
The car comes with a 5 year unlimited warranty so it’s a peace of mind and every annual service has been pegged so bring it back to the dealer is not worrying at all that you’re going to get ripped off!

Purchased in June 2019 for A$45,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA50 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Leigh D

Leigh DGippsland, VIC

Waiting

published

Just read these reviews of the RAV4 GXL HYBRID. Thank you, I ordered mine today, there is a wait of approx 4 months, however I have a feeling it may arrive sooner. My test drive was fabulous. It’s much quieter than my Mazda3. It handles well and with so many features I can’t wait to get behind the wheel .

Purchased in January 2020 for A$41.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Zelly

ZellyLaunceston, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best decision ever

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Launceston Toyota.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Bundy

Bundy

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Rav4 Hybrid: Apple CarPlay not worth the effort

published

This is not a review of the RAV4 Hybrid, its a pretty good all round car but I just picked my car up from the dealer after the Apple CarPlay "upgrade". The poor girl trying to show me how the Apple CarPlay worked was stumped and so was I neither of us could find it. Until she went and asked the Tech. YOU NEED A CORD! The car has wireless charging for goodness sake. So the answer is if you want Apple CarPlay you will need to connect your phone via a cord to enable it, as you proceed to place it down for wireless charging. Not sure why Toyota bothered. I was disappointed.

Purchased in September 2019.

Year2019
Canberra Daddy

Canberra DaddyKingston 2604, ACT

  • 22 reviews
  • 2 likes

Glimpse of automotive future

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Canberra Daddy
Canberra Daddy
Daniel P.

Daniel P.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 15 reviews

Brilliant

published

A solid car.
Has plenty of room for my needs, is fuel efficient, has a great build and is very robust.
The ease of use is brilliant and the seller offers great service if required

Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Brian

BrianWellington

  • 13 reviews

Motoring perfection.

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA50 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Don L

Don LMelbourne

I can't buy the RAV4 because the alerts sound levels and/or frequency are wrong for anybody with hearing difficulties

published
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
See all Toyota RAV4 reviews

Questions & Answers

RAV4 Enquiry

RAV4 Enquiryasked

RAV4 XA50 AWD 2.5L Petrol Edge (2019-2020)

Hi looking at the difference between RAV4 2.5l AWD and RAV4 2l 2wd. Will be doing many local drives but also a few long distance drives (up to 2000km rtn) could someone give me an idea which would one would be more beneficial. Thanks

4 answers

My car it’s 2.2 diesel I did very long drive from Melbourne to Esperance WA 6000km returns and Mel to cold coast and about 5 trips to Sydney I’m very happy with fuel efficiency between 8-9 L per with Aircondation running

Al fern
Al fern

My apologies for being unable to answer your question. I would suggest checking the fuel consumption of 2.5L AWD vs 2.0L 2WD on the statistics on Toyota’s website

I know that they do not make diesel options but only Petrol or Hybrid engines nowadays.

Al fern
Al fern

The fuel comparisons is available as per the link below:
https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/PowerSearch.do?action=noform&year1=2019&year2=2019&make=Toyota&baseModel=RAV4&srchtyp=ymm

Unfortunately, it’s mpg rather than kms per litre. :(
Hope this helps

onesky

oneskyasked

XA50 (2019-2020)

Anyone notice fuel tank filling issues ? heard in the US there are issues about tank cuts off at 3/4 and not being able to fill it up to its full tank capacity.

5 answers
Zelly
Zelly

To my knowledge, the tank in the XA50 is the same in all models. In Australia anyway. The filler neck doesn't appear all that long and once the fuel nozzle cuts off, there's very little room to squeeze anymore in. I can only get about 1 liter into thank once the bouser clicks off.

onesky
onesky

I mean the concern is if the fuel gauge indication as "full tank" is not accurate or true to specification; in other words tank not being able to take 55litres (as per the spec) and trip computer calculates range based on the actual fuel volume. A good indication will be what's the max range your trip computer calculates on a full tank fill up ?

Canberra Daddy
Canberra Daddy

I have done 6,000km since Oct 2019. No problems with fuelling. The only issue is that the empty fuel warning is very cautions. I have done over 100km after the zero DTE mark. Also, once the low fuel light comes on (about 50km DTE) there is no further update - just a warning to go to a petrol station.

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs


ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.