??!
1 photo
TP-Link Archer VR1600v

TP-Link Archer VR1600v

3.6 from 31 reviews

See the Best Routers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(11)
(7)
(5)
(5)
(3)
  • Number of Connected Devices 5.929 devices
  • Incentivised Review Yes (15%) · No (85%)
  • Build Quality
    3.3 (18)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (16)

Blondy

Blondy

  • 2 reviews

Great if you only want to connect locally and don't want to access the internet!

published

Came as a part of my TPG FTTN plan but ever since i had it theres been constant dropouts. Resets itself every hour or so. Packet loss when it drops out DSL usually comes back on but internet doesn't meaning you have to manually turn it off and on again. Can't do anything with the internet and I'm on a 100 mbps plan. I tried to do some work on my PC recently and after the 9th dropout in 2 hours I have up. Everyone pretty much just connects to my MOBILE DATA as it's so frustrating. I never had problems with my crappyvADSL2+ and old DLINK modem. It sets itself up which is great via TPG but that's the only good thing.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 8 devices
ModemTP-Link Archer VR1600v
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Anthony

AnthonySydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews

OK for some things. Terrible for others

published

This modem came part of my TPG FTTB plan.
It seems to work OK for WiFi, though my computer has a wired connection that fails to get a connection regularly.
I have to disable/enable the NIC in Device Manager 2-3 times before the connection restores.
The computer was working perfectly on my ADSL2+ router, with zero connection issues for 4 years.
I updated the drivers twice, tried three different network cables (1 brand new), connecting to different ports on the router, and static/dynamic IP addresses. Nothing resolved the issue.
There have been numerous others with the same issue, so I cannot see it being solely the problem of the computer.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 6 devices
ISPTPG Broadband Fibre To The Building (FTTB)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Basho

BashoSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Top device

published

Got it less than fortnight ago, whatever I need to do I can; connected via TPG NBN 50 plan with average daily speed over 40Mps. Provides 2.4 and 5GHz and links PC and printer from other room 10m away with click on a button.
So far, 8 devices simultaneously connected show no problems working at the same time.
I'm not IT Pro but all installation steps were as clear and simple as you can only wish.
Recommend

Purchased in November 2019 at TPG .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 8 devices
ISPTPG Broadband NBN 50
ModemTP-Link Archer VR1600v
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Jeremy

JeremySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 15 reviews

Terrible

published

I received one of these as part of a TPG NBN 50 plan. It struggles to do more than one thing at a time.
If i'm downloading something at 40Mbps and I start to watch Netflix in SD the download will drop to approx 5Mbps even though the SD stream is less than 1Mbps. The same thing happens if i'm downloading something and start to use the WiFi or stream video on the home network. It also gets very hot, far hotter than any other modem I've owned. The design is poor.
The WiFi coverage is quite good, better than my old TP-Link that had dual antennas but that's about the only positive thing.

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
ISPTPG Broadband NBN
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
See all answers

Danielle Stevens

Danielle StevensPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Recent purchase, good so far

published

Comes with easy prompts to set up (in booklet form), with the extra NBN box (all from my internet service provider Westnet). So far so good... it was an easy installation, the modem green operating lights work fine, can't yet comment on dropouts as I havent experienced anything like that yet, the overall connectivity and performance seem to be fine. Internet speed seems on par with ADSL 1, for me it's ok as I don't need to use internet for multiple hours of the day, or for any form of streaming services. Downloading small files seems zippy, haven't downloaded large files yet. Overall happy with the product itself.

Purchased in September 2019 at Westnet.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Shane

ShaneSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews

It works

published

I need to reboot the router every morning to fix DHCP issue on it, connected devices are not able to get IP
It seems the OS of the router is not stable

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
ISPTPG Broadband NBN
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Rod L.

Rod L.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Best I've had.

published

This came with Internode linkup. Happy with them, reliable speeds. Have noticed much improved wireless distance performance with 5Ghz, enabling much better speeds. Told it's the AC ability. ZTE H268A (wwith Exetel (:( ) unreliable, didn't cut it at all with doors closed on 5GHz. Archer doesn't blink. Other functions appear standard. Seen better interfaces. But I am quite pleased overall.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
ISPInternode NBN
ModemTP-Link Archer VR1600v
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
1 comment
Rod L.
Rod L.

James

JamesGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Adequate included modem for basic NBN use

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
ISPiiNet NBN 50
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
  • Verified purchase

It is a good modem for Wifi and telephone connection, but mine is harder to get working on my deskstop computer.

published

Everytime I turn my computer on there is a high chance that the internet won't be working. My solution is I unplug it for 10 or more seconds then try to see if the internet is working. Unfortunately I might have to keep unpluging and repluging in the modem several times, usually 1-3 times though.

September 25th 2019 Update: Its a good Device when its working. Although Sometimes I turn my computer on I have no internet connection.

It works well for WIFI and PHONE, Unfortunately I have to unplug and plug it back in for my desktop though. this may be once or more. Still once its working its working.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
ISPiiNet Fixed Wireless NBN 25
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

WiFi not up to speed

published

This modem came with the 50nbn plan (70/month for 42 mbps). Works fine when wired with the ethernet cable (up to 46mbps) but falls to 5 - 16 on wifi.( Have done numerous netspeed tests to verify this.)
Is supposed to support 3-6 devices at amazing speeds.
It does not do this. My neighbour has the same deal and problem and after a lot of mucking around with TPG and techs and another modem bought an amplifier for $220 to solve the wifi coverage problem.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability

Cavitation

CavitationSydney, NSW

  • 44 reviews

Adequate modem router but with quality control issues

published

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 12 devices
ISPTPG Broadband NBN 50
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Mike B

Mike BAU

  • 2 reviews

Meh to crap

published

I signed up to TPG on the NBN with HFC. The first one I got kept dropping signal at random times and was replaced. The second one has been better, but is very basic. The functionality of the router in terms of parental controls is useless, overly complicated and/or doesn't work. At least I can set the primary and secondary DNS to OpenDNS to prevent the kids inadvertently accessing dodgy sites and porn.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 10 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Wetwork65

Wetwork65Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 26 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Works well, needs more configuration

published

This was part of the TPG package I signed up for. It does what it needs to do. Can connect external hard drive, can shut down wireless to a schedule, which is handy to shut off kids at night.
Cannot adjust DNS amongst other things fixed by TPG and can't properly monitor incoming network speed.
Wireless coverage is good throughout house.

Purchased in April 2019 at TPG.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 10 devices
ISPTPG Broadband NBN 100
ModemNBN supplied NCD
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Mellisa G

Mellisa GSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Very happy with this modem

published

I got this modem from TPG when I upgraded my connection to Nbn, and I am super happy with the sprreds that we now get. We have 4 devices connected via wifi and can now simultaneously online game on one device while streaming video on another device with no lag or pixelation etc. My only complaint is that there is no power button so I need to unplug/plug in unit to reboot unit, though I am pleased to say that I have not needed to reboot the modem since it was installed a few weeks ago.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
ISPTPG Broadband NBN 100
ModemTP-Link Archer VR1600v
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
gri2a

gri2aSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Great Router

published

I live in an area where NBN is rolling out HFC (Hybrid Fibre Coax) so the actual modem is NBN's Arris Cable Modem. The Cable modem then connects to the VR1600 via the WAN port. I cant therefore comment on the VDSL capabilities. The router component though, is great. VOIP is extremely clear, 2.4 WIFI is still a very strong signal at 50+metres. The 5 WIFI copes well with large hi definition movies cast from my PC to TV and/or Chromecast.
Overall, buffering and slow speeds are a thing of the past

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
ISPTPG Broadband NBN 50
ModemTP-Link Archer VR1600v
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
frozenfocus

frozenfocus

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great coverage, reliable connection

published

This router has been solid on the NBN. The interface is straightforward, the connection has been stable and fast across all our devices, and it provides good wifi coverage throughout the house.

Purchased in May 2019.


Michael Tran

Michael TranSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Good Reliable Modem - Easy To Configure

published

Pros:
Easy to configure
Wireless Range is excellent
GUI is friendly and has excellent antennae reception
Good Processor

Cons:
Needs to reboot a few times to get into the correct mode.
Difficult to setup the Advanced features such as VPN

Purchased in January 2019 for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 5 devices
ISPTPG Broadband NBN 100
ModemTP-Link Archer VR1600v
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


MeV

MeVPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

So far so good

published

I haven't had any issues with this since connecting to the nbn in January this year. I wouldn't say I have noticed any increase in speed from my old connection, but I don't think I can hold that against the hardware. Only one drop out so far. Easy to follow instructions. Would recommend.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Maryann

MaryannSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Problems with storms

published

Have TPG NBN, and in the past 12 months they have replaced 2 of these VR1600v modems under warranty, and the 3rd one stopped working yesterday. It seems that every time we get a storm the modem gets fried and stops working. The first two times it was the VOiP only, but this 3rd times its the whole modem ... all the lights have gone out. Given that we previously had a Telstra modem for over 5 years without issue, I think that the Archer is just susceptible to lightning. Going to try some other brand.

Purchased in March 2018.


Giovanni

GiovanniSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Poor performance

published

I agree with the other review from Ivan69, this is a poor router for 2019. The wi-fi capabilities are very basic, nothing special. The very bad feature is the USB external storage; not only the file systems the router can handle are limited (it doesn't handle OSX FSs) but the maximum writing speed is extremely low. E.g: to copy a 500Mb file over wi-fi to the external USB you're looking at over 10 minutes. Not acceptable.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Joel S.

Joel S.asked

Can I run a 2.4GHz network and a 5GHz network simultaneously?

1 answer
Anthony
Anthony

From my short experience with this router, yes, it can run both at once.


Joe

Joeasked

Can I get a wireless connection to an NBN compatible phone, as my existing phone is some distance away from the nbn connection.

No answers

Brian

Brianasked

what is ethernet speed

1 answer
Rod L.
Rod L.

Specs:
https://www.tp-link.com/au/service-provider/xdsl/archer-vr1600v/


Get an answer from our members and TP-Link representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.