??!
3 photos
Victa Classic Cut

Victa Classic Cut

MPNs: 881887 and VCS467
3.9 from 97 reviews · View Statistics

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now

Reviews

3.9

97 reviews
5
(40)
4
(34)
3
(6)
2
(6)
1
(11)
  • Build Quality
    3.3 (14)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (14)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (14)
  • Safety
    3.4 (13)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.1 (13)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (13)
Previous
Next
Steve

SteveMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Mine was bulletproof

published

Purchased in November 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
S14series2

S14series2Hobart, TAS

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Most poorly designed junk you will ever buy

published

As per title, everything that can come loose, or break has done, the pull cord, return spring, coil lead even fell out, leaks fuel, won’t start, allergic to water, will never buy another Victa product in my life

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Amber Penney

Amber PenneyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great

published

Great mower well worth the price! Used on wet high thick grass and cut with no problem at all. Plastic catcher is a great feature, awesome size and easy to empty

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa Classic Cut compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kymbo

Kymbo

  • 2 reviews

Leaks half of sump all in 20mins dont buy

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
nyoung

nyoungFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Does the Job, just !

published

Started good, light and maneuverable. If you keep your grass short cuts ok, struggles in long grass due to power. If you cut long grass go to a more powerful Victa. Started hunting after 20/30 ??, have to see if it does that next week. Overall yes did the job.

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Danielle

DanielleWestern Australia

  • 4 reviews

Affordable, does the job.

published

A smooth running mower, it’s our first brand new mower and it’s worth the money. I have a huge amount of lawn and every 60-90 meters I have to empty the catch. Sometimes I just leave it off if the grass isn’t too long.
This takes Petrol. I wish the tank was slightly bigger as I have to fill it every time I mow the lawn, but not a big deal in the scheme of things.

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
Dominic

DominicCentral Queensland, QLD

Not bad eh

published

Bought from bunnings. Paid $399 for it. I have a 800 square meter block that's almost all yard/lawn. I can do both front and back yard on one tank. Happy with that. Quality so far is very good. Starts first pull every time for me. well worth the money paid.

Purchased for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Sam

SamGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Leaked all of it's oil and stopped working.

published

Brand new, followed all setup instructions to the letter.
It struggled with any grass over ankle height.
Lots of rattling and shaking.
Leaked out all of it's oil within a few minutes and then stopped working.
For $400 you'd expect a lot more, not to mention a product that actually works.
I'd highly recommend buying a different brand.

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Richard

RichardGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 30 reviews
  • 21 likes

Victa's value compromise

published

The fact a lot of people think this is a great mower speaks to Australia's low expectations of quality.
It's functional, but obvioulsy very cheaply made - my concern is that Victa have gone below a fit-for-purpose standard in saving cost on this line. For example, the flimsy plastic throttle control that breaks off when you use it - how hard can it be to make a simple part like that?
When using it I heard a lot of rattling and metallic bumping such that it felt like it was going to fly apart; not very confidence inspiring. And no, it didn't cut very well (underpowered) or catch very well.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa Classic Cut compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrew

AndrewGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Tough workhorse

published

This mower I bought to replace my 36 year old 2 stroke Victa. I wanted a 4 stroke. This is so much quieter and easier to push. Starts 1st go and cute well. So far very reliable.. it's a Victa!

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Vic

Vic

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

As of March 2019, they are made in China

published

In March 2019, production of the Bunnings Victa Mowers changed - they are now made in China, instead of being made in Australia.

They look similar, but this is how you can tell the difference:
The old Aussie built ones have the Handlebar screwed to the top of the chassis, while the Chinese ones have the bottom of the handlebar screwed to the sides of the chassis. Chinese one has a rubber grip on the handlebar, Aussie ones you're grabbing the bare metal handlebar.

The Chinese model also has cheaper wheels, it's too early to tell about the Paintwork quality/ if it will rust out.

If I need a new mower, I will either buy a Victa 2-Stroke or buy an Aldi Gardenline Mower for $139 when they go on sale every October/November.

Purchased in June 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Ray C

Ray CSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

So far, so good

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
Dan B

Dan B

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very Impressed

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
savvy shopper

savvy shopperMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Lite, Zippy & a cut above

published

I have a medium size yard and as a single mum try to do most of my own garden maintenance. This mower is easy to start and mows my lawns with easy maneuverability. I usually have to refill in between the 4th & 5th cut so once ever 3 months. It is light & compact and packs neatly away in my small shed. Perhaps a little more expensive than some of the cheaper mowers on the market however the extra dollars are well spent. Love my Victa!

Purchased in March 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$478.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
Miller

MillerSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Great machine

published

Great machine very easy to manoervure and simple to operate

Great for a flat land or gentle slops not so good on a very high slop

Battery isn’t as good as i was told by the sales person

Cather is a decent size for a residential home use

next time i would buy same brand but the petrol one

Very happy with it

Purchased in September 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa Classic Cut compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Meza

MezaFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Loving it..

published

We got this victa lawn mower the other week. And we are loving it. For a smaller size it goes really well. There is a peep hole, to see how far the grass is in the catcher, which is really convenient. Also it is nice a light, a starts instantly. We are really happy with this purchase.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
beachsider

beachsiderSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

Super Reliable!

published

I bought the Victa classic cut lawnmower from Bunnings two years ago after having experienced breakdown twice with Ryobi mowers and I couldn't be happier. It's super reliable in all conditions with very little maintenance required except oil change every few months, it starts in one or two attempts every time and catcher does a brilliant job. Highly recommended!

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Grimace

GrimaceBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great Lawn Mower

published

Having used cheaper lawn mowers in the past few years, they all ended up having issues. It was about time I paid a bit more and I wish I did sooner. This victa lawn mower is well built, the quality is excellent, i love the plastic catcher and its great on fuel. Would buy victa again!

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Banjo

BanjoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

You can't beat a victa

published

Have only had this mower a short time but it works perfectly. Starts first go and it's a lot quieter then my last mower although it was about 15 years old. Would have preferred 4 blades but 2 is sufficient. The throttle cable could be somewhat shorter then it is & the oil cap could have been placed elsewhere instead of under the starter cord handle although that is just a very minor problem. Also, you can not drain the oil without tipping the mower on its side as there is no drain valve underneath like there is with my old mower. Overall tho, this is a great mower & worth the money.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Victa Classic Cut - Slow but reliable

published

I bought the “Victa classic cut” $399 from Bunnings yesterday, I wanted to buy a victa 2 stroke but was told victa don’t make 2 stroke anymore ?? What do I notice, yes starts easily and the motor is SLOW especially when your used to a 2 stroke. I used to power through with my 2 stroke but and now with my 4 stroke it is like an old steam engine. Yes reliable and cut the grass which hasn’t been cut for 4 months, got the job done.
Feels like a quality albeit slow.
PS: the lovely guy at Bunnings put it together for me.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Heather

Heatherasked

Is it a 4stroke

No answers
Ayman E.

Ayman E.asked

Hi . Where can i get this one. Victa classic cut vcs 467 $399

2 answers
Dominic
Dominic

I got mine from Bunnings

Victa
Joe c.Victa

Hi
Please see Bunnings have them for $359

Raj S.

Raj S.asked

What cause the oil leaking?

1 answer
nyoung
nyoung

No evidence of any oil leaking. Just mowed 1 hr ago and there was no motor hunting. Mowed ok even though it doesn't have to power & 4 blades that I am used to.

Get an answer from our members and Victa representatives

Details

CategoryPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) A$419.00
Power SourcePetrol
FeaturesQuick-Start Motor
Catcher Type Rigid
Cutting Deck MaterialSteel
Cutting Width457 mm
Height of Cut11 mm to 70 mm
Number of Blades2
Weight26 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameBriggs & Stratton 500E Series
Engine Type4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandBriggs & Stratton
Engine Displacement140 cc

Visit official website
  • MPN: 881887 and VCS467

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.