3 photos
Victa Classic Cut

Victa Classic Cut

MPNs: 881887 and VCS467
3.9 from 103 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Petrol Lawn Mowers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Victa

Pros

  • Cleanly cuts lawn

  • Lightweight and ergonomic

  • Economical to run

Cons

  • Awkwardly placed oil port

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (20)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (20)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (19)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (19)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (20)
  • Safety
    3.5 (19)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.1 (18)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (19)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
BobE
BobE
  • 3 reviews

Another happy camper

published

I’m now 72 and been using Victa lawn mowers since a teenager. This one is the best ever. Lightweight, easy start, quiet, excellent easy to remove and attach catcher. Well priced. Ideal for my 200m2 sloping buffalo lawn. Clean cut. Comfortable grips. Simple controls and easy to manoeuvre. Thanks Victa.

Purchased in May 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
aaron.r.garner
aaron.r.garnerSouth East Queensland, QLD

This actually works really well with taller grass and decent sized lawns

published

I don't know what old mate in the past review was talking about, maybe they tried the mow straight after rain?

I have a pretty big yard and the grass was getting fairly unruly as well when I first used this mower and it did a very commendable job!

It didn't chug through the fuel quickly, it didn't conk out with the taller grass, the catcher only had to be emptied a couple of times on the mow, and it was really easy to use.

If you have acreage you might want to pick up a more expensive lawn mower/ride-on mower, but for most anything else that can be done with a lawn mower, this one will be more than acceptable!

I even bought this second hand too so it was a real score on my part!

Purchased for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Wolfjax
WolfjaxSouth East Queensland, QLD

This model is trash unless you have a small yard with short grass

published

I have extensively used this mower for over a year now.
My thoughts are it’s more of unit for small lawns and short grass it will do the job well.
It is definitely not ideal for large yards and longer grass.
The grass seems to get caught under the blades I would spender your money on a larger more powerful unit

Purchased in August 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa Classic Cut compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Value for Money Cuts Well

published

Purchased in February 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Lol do not waste your time with this POS

published

Don't know if this is updated model as the problem doesn't mirror the problems of previous reviews but I bought this mower couple months ago only used 3 times

Mower works great for first half an hour but after that it starts rhythmically sputtering like the fuel line is clogged or something wrong with the carby.

New fuel new oil cleaned up etc, still does it. Again, only after about half an hour of use. Its like it wasn't built to tolerate mowing large yards.

I had it replaced on warranty from bunnos and used even cleaner high octane fuel and a fresh bottle of SAE-30 oil.

Same bollocks again. This mower is a POS. Don't waste your time on it like i did. Victa have gone in the toilet.

Purchased in December 2020 for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Russ
Russ Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

This is a great mower light easy to manouver and catcher or mulch is great to. Excellent mower for 400.00

published

Classic cut is light easy to manouver and start. Great allround mower. 5year warranty is best mower for 400.00. Easy to assemble and choice to mulch or catch is incredible.

Purchased in January 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Steve
SteveMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Mine was bulletproof

published

Purchased in November 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
S14series2
S14series2Hobart, TAS
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Most poorly designed junk you will ever buy

published

As per title, everything that can come loose, or break has done, the pull cord, return spring, coil lead even fell out, leaks fuel, won’t start, allergic to water, will never buy another Victa product in my life

Build Quality
Value for Money
Amber Penney
Amber PenneyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Great

published

Great mower well worth the price! Used on wet high thick grass and cut with no problem at all. Plastic catcher is a great feature, awesome size and easy to empty

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa Classic Cut compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kymbo
Kymbo
  • 2 reviews

Leaks half of sump all in 20mins dont buy

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
nyoung
nyoungFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Does the Job, just !

published

Started good, light and maneuverable. If you keep your grass short cuts ok, struggles in long grass due to power. If you cut long grass go to a more powerful Victa. Started hunting after 20/30 ??, have to see if it does that next week. Overall yes did the job.

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Danielle
DanielleWestern Australia
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Affordable, does the job.

published

A smooth running mower, it’s our first brand new mower and it’s worth the money. I have a huge amount of lawn and every 60-90 meters I have to empty the catch. Sometimes I just leave it off if the grass isn’t too long.
This takes Petrol. I wish the tank was slightly bigger as I have to fill it every time I mow the lawn, but not a big deal in the scheme of things.

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dominic
DominicCentral Queensland, QLD

Not bad eh

published

Bought from bunnings. Paid $399 for it. I have a 800 square meter block that's almost all yard/lawn. I can do both front and back yard on one tank. Happy with that. Quality so far is very good. Starts first pull every time for me. well worth the money paid.

Purchased for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sam
SamGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Leaked all of it's oil and stopped working.

published

Brand new, followed all setup instructions to the letter.
It struggled with any grass over ankle height.
Lots of rattling and shaking.
Leaked out all of it's oil within a few minutes and then stopped working.
For $400 you'd expect a lot more, not to mention a product that actually works.
I'd highly recommend buying a different brand.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Richard
RichardGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 33 reviews
  • 21 likes

Victa's value compromise

published

The fact a lot of people think this is a great mower speaks to Australia's low expectations of quality.
It's functional, but obvioulsy very cheaply made - my concern is that Victa have gone below a fit-for-purpose standard in saving cost on this line. For example, the flimsy plastic throttle control that breaks off when you use it - how hard can it be to make a simple part like that?
When using it I heard a lot of rattling and metallic bumping such that it felt like it was going to fly apart; not very confidence inspiring. And no, it didn't cut very well (underpowered) or catch very well.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa Classic Cut compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Russ
Russ asked

I have asked many questions and your members do not answer. It is a hoax.

3 answers
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

We are not Victa members. Why ask a review site when you can get exact answers from Victa or Bunnings directly ?

Russ
Russ

Why call it a review site then.

Coxy
Coxy

Because this is where people who bought a product can review it and offer their opinion.
It is not a site where people who work for or sell particular products come to answer questions.
Occasionally someone from Victa, or from a retailer who sells Victa might be here but mostly it's just us people who bought one.

Russ
Russ asked

Why don't your victa members answer.

No answers
Russ
Russ asked

Are bunnings victa mowers made in nsw kemps creek,or china. Do they have ballbearing wheels and pressed steel chassis,as victa dealers say they are rubbish and won't touch them.

1 answer
Coxy
Coxy

The one I bought a couple of months ago seems to have been assembled in China. I would guess the actual pressed steel mower body was made in China. It seems to be powder coated. Compared to the Rover I had for the last 20 years, that rusted through after about 5 years and I repaired by bolting on various pieces of steek and aluminium for the next 15 years, I'd guess this one might last about the same (with similar repairs).

The mower handle is not as sturdy as my old Rover, but I guess I could make a new one if it dies.

I'm assuming of course that the little Briggs and Stratton 500e might last 20 years like the B & S Quantum 5 did!

Overall, this one feels like it might, and the Easy Start function works nicely.
Press the primer bulb 3 times to flood the carby.
Set the throttle to half way.
Pull the starter cord Gently, once to get some fuel vapour into the cylinder.
Pull the starter cord Gently again to ignite the fuel vapour.
Very occasionally - I might need to pull the cord Gently a third time, usually if I do something stupid like try to start it with the blade in deepish grass.

See all Victa Classic Cut questions

Get an answer from our members and Victa representatives

Details

Features:

  • The Victa Classic Cut Push Mower has a Briggs & Stratton quiet 4-stroke engine and 6.8Nm of torque to power through your lawn.
  • It has RapidStart™ technology that makes getting your machine going quick and simple.
  • The mower has a dual-blade cutting systems, with 2 swing-back blades that make a clean cut on all types of grass.
  • It can make cuts between 11 to 70mm high, letting you easily mow to your desired length.
  • Ergonomic soft-grip handles on the mower mean you can manoeuvre it around your lawn comfortably.
  • The unit comes with a 5-year limited warranty.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers found that the Victa Classic Cut could achieve a clean cut on all types of grass - even grass that’s wet, high, or quite thick.
  • They also found that it was lightweight, ergonomic, and compact, and so was easy to manoeuvre around their yard. Reviewers particularly enjoyed the comfortable grips on the handle.
  • Reviewers also noted that the mower was efficient in its fuel consumption, saying that it was economical to run for a petrol-powered machine.

A point of pain:

  • Some reviewers noted that the oil port was in an awkward spot, with reviewers disliking that they had to tip the engine in order to do an oil change.
CategoryPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $419.00
Power SourcePetrol
FeaturesQuick-Start Motor
Catcher Type Rigid
Cutting Deck MaterialSteel
Cutting Width457 mm
Height of Cut11 mm to 70 mm
Number of Blades2
Weight26 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameBriggs & Stratton 500E Series
Engine Type4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandBriggs & Stratton
Engine Displacement140 cc
Visit official website
  • MPN: 881887 and VCS467

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.