??!

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(17)
(13)
(8)
(11)
(9)
  • Build Quality
    3.6 (12)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (13)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (11)
  • Product is used:
    • Weekly (6)
    • Occasionally (5)
    • Daily (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (11)
  • Safety
    4.0 (11)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.7 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (8)


Over priced and under powered.

published

Starts easily and easy to manoeuvre although height adjustment handle protrudes past outside of cutting area which inhibits cutting close to fence line. Engine revs too slowly and stalls as soon as it hits a small mound of my kikiyu grass. Very disappointed with the performance of this mower.

Purchased in January 2020 for $549.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Geoff

GeoffMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

The motor is good but is let down by poor cutting and mulching performance

published

Purchased in October 2019 for $549.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Very difficult to start

published

Since purchasing a new Victa Corvette 400 lawn mower over 12 mths ago for $599 I have found it very difficult or unable to start .The store didnt have a Masport in stock .Have been back to the store where the mover was purchased with no joy !
I have since gone back to using our very old Masport after a service which starts first or 2nd pull .
I would not purchase this Victa mower again . I now have a mower that has only been used 6 times collecting dust , very disappointing.

Purchased in August 2018 for $599.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used: Occasionally

dissappointing

published

The belt that drives the self propulsion continuously dislodges so you spend most of time repairing this machine. It was recommended to me for my size garden but it cannot handle it.

Purchased in December 2015 for $700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers

Excellent value for money

published

Upgraded from a 147cc to this 163cc Corvette 300. Very smooth operation, so easy to start with a light pull. My lawn is kikiyu, thick blade grass and cut it without any problem what so ever. Bought from Stanford mowers in Adelaide.

Purchased in November 2019 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Juan G.

Juan G.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Perfect Mower Extremely Reliable has never let me down

published

I purchased this mower in January of 2019 it has lasted me roughly about eight months and I never had any problem with this Victa Mower I have installed an hour meter on this mower about 2 days ago and the meter works really well I always like to have reliable gardening equipment I do not like to have unreliable gardening equipment

Thanks
Juan

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

Gavin V.

Gavin V.Perth, WA

  • 17 reviews
  • 1 like

Push button start

published

Love this lawn mower. Easy to push around and easy to start. I like how the starting battery just slides on and off like a portable tool battery. It also shows remaining power by led bars. Plenty of grunt.

Purchased in March 2008 for $700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers

Kim H.

Kim H.North Queensland, QLD

Disappointed

published

I'm disappointed that we choose this mower. It is very heavy to push and difficult to start. I wouldn't recommend it for ladies or older people. More times than not I can't get it started which is extremely frustrating.

Purchased in June 2018 for $849.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers
R.singh

R.singhSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Easy to use

published

I bought this on 31st March 2019. It's a new model with red strap handle and washport as well. It's Corvette 200. When you check specifications on victa website it doesn’t tell that it has washport as well.
Used it next day it’s less noisy for sure. Best thing I like is height adjustable handle which is Great. Power wise it’s not that great, it struggles to stay on with no four cuttting position, very disappointing. I had to cut the lawns on no five position then again on no four. Uses lot of petrol also. May be it was not full. Starts first pull which is good.
Under powered and poor fuel consumption. If Victa has satisfaction guarantee I maybe think to return it. I'm sure grass was not too tall that the engine has to struggle.

Purchased in March 2019 at Browns plains Mowers for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ross k

Ross kCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Way to slow!

published

It’s a heavy mower so not so nimble to turn it around. Motor is powerful cuts long grass with ease. Unfortunately it’s self propelled drive is soooo slow. I could use a push mower in half the time. I found I was trying to push it to help it along shame it’s a big let down due to lack of speed

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Not happy

Not happySydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

The self propelled mechanism is fundamentally flawed. Buy a Honda

published

The drive mechanism routinely fails to engage and once engage cannot be disengaged. On to my second gearbox and exactly the same problem. The drive belt has now come off and I have been told this happens when the gearbox/belt mechanism becomes clogged with grass. A bit of a problem for a mower! Reverted back to my old and reliable Honda, 10+ years old and has never missed a beat.

Purchased in September 2016.


bjr

bjrCentral West, NSW

Great mower

published

Purchased in March 2019 for $459.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Hoemmel

HoemmelHobart, TAS

Cheap construction and don't honour warranty

published

Self-propelled mechanism is not sealed after a while the clutch does not release anymore.
The mower was just over 2 years old and I was asked to pay for the repairs. After pointing out a 4 year warranty Victa agreed to pay for the cable and I had to pay close to $90.00 for labour.

Purchased in December 2016 for $990.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers

Barry

BarryBrisbane

Warning - I bought a lemon!

published

Eighteen months ago I bought a new Victa corvette 200 with Briggs and Stratton 4 stroke. I have a small suburban block in Brisbane and have used Victas for 40 years.
The Briggs and Stratton engine gave major problems associated with the plastic carby from the outset, even though clean, 91 grade, non-alcohol fuel was always used. Sick of paying for repairs!!!
I have dumped this mower, not wanting to pass on the problem!

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Peterb666

Peterb666Merimbula

  • 24 reviews

Could be better

published
Date PurchasedOct 2015
bob

bobHervey Bay , Qld ,Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Pleasure to mow ,,

published

No body really likes mowing there yard , but when you have a new or old and effective mower like a Victor it takes the boredom out of it,,makes it effortless and makes a hard job easy ,never any trouble with the catcher , always starts first go ,adjustment is easy ,no trouble to use ,,,

Date PurchasedMay 2011

Robbie

RobbieNSW, 2335

  • 14 reviews

Victa is still making great mowers.

published

I really like the fact that it starts first go. It is light to push and move around edges etc. If convenience is what you’re after, then the Corvette 200 is perfect because it cuts the grass neatly. The rigid plastic grass catcher is easy to remove, empty and replace.
It is designed and assembled in Australia and it has the functionality and the durability that I like. Victa offers a 3-year domestic warranty as well.

Date PurchasedMay 2016

Rachit Dhasmana

Rachit DhasmanaGlen Waverley

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

No hassles at all

published

BEing using it for almost 6 months now, works seamlessly.
starts on the first time, mow the lawn as I wish to.

Bought it from mowerPwer Mount waverley, their friendly staff helped me finalize the right one for me.
PRice matched with fuel and oil topped up and all assembled, so you are good to go instantly.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Fairway19

Fairway19Melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Always Starts First Time

published

They sure do have mowers better designed than when I was a kid. This thing starts first time every time, no matter how long I leave it between starts. It does an excellent crisp cut and. My previous mower was a super cheapie with straight blades, so I appreciate the swing blade design as I have the odd ock at my place. It fairly quiet being a 4 stroke. The catcher deign could be better. I Liked the old style Victa ones but I guess they make them this way to save money. It's a solid and reliable mower.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Joanne

JoanneGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

This is a first start mower

published

This mower is the best price for its value and performance. I don't get a problem even after summer as long as I have new fuel and oil and sparkplug she roars. I've found she has the power to do back and front lawns. I like the size of the catcher too.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Henry P.

Henry P.asked

I have a victa corvette 750 mulch when I change the blades do I turn it up or on its side to change blades

No answers

Theplug

Theplugasked

I have looked at all these reviews and I'm in shock with most. Do you people have anything between your ears? Blots etc come lose its called pre check and mantiance of your gear. I'd hate to to see your other equipment.

No answers

Allan Dinnar

Allan Dinnarasked

What fuel is used please?

1 answer
Vic
Vic

Regular 91 Unleaded. Do not use E10


Get an answer from our members and Victa representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.