??!
16 photos
Victa Corvette

Victa Corvette

300, 200, 400, etc...
3.5 from 45 reviews · View Statistics

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (13)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (13)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (13)
  • Safety
    4.2 (13)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.0 (10)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (12)
Previous
Next
Robert Bull

Robert Bull

  • 2 reviews

easy starting and cuts well

published

The mower is light, easy to move around and cuts well, starting is a breeze.
The grass appears to be cut more refined, allowing the catcher to hold more, which means less trips to the green waste bin.......why 4 stars then?
When cutting alongside the garden bed which has a wooden border the mower wheels kept getting snagged on the wooden border, which was annoying but not a disaster- axles to wide maybe ?
Still I am happy with the mower and would recommend it as a reliable purchase.

Purchased in January 2021 at Henderson's Mowers and Chainsaws for $439.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Socceroostars

SocceroostarsSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Poor front axle construction

published

A really good mower from a mechanical point of view. The front wheel alignment is hopeless after just a few uses. It’s bent the axle in just in normal use mowing against a concrete wall.
I’ve lost all confidence in the brand after having a Victa Pace for twenty five years.
An otherwise good mechanically start first pull mower completely let down by cheap steel construction that bends like a cheap toy when put under normal every day use.
Prompt Mowers Hornsby do not stand behind the product they sell and have been totally unprofessional in their dealings on this matter. Never again.

Purchased in February 2019 for $479.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Jase_vs

Jase_vsGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Excellent choice

published

Starts 1st time every time, used every week to every 2nd week for 8 years with its first service only a month ago, this mower is a warhorse I highly recommend it, victa chassis the best... Briggs and stratton engines super reliable

Purchased in June 2012 at Bobcat Mowers for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa Corvette compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
anthony

anthonyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

a very good mower

published

The mower is an ideal machine to cut the grass, it is easy to manipulate , and the cut is even, the blades could be mowed up and down according to the cut that is required, the start is easy only just a pull of the cord and the motor is on , i cut the grass once a month, and, the refill fuel once every 2 months , however it depends the way i use the machine, i like this machine as it is the perfect machine, and, i have got what i paid for. The catcher is quite large, and, i empty it once every 30 to 45 minutes.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Michael012

Michael012Melbourne

  • 76 reviews
  • 24 likes

Very average!

published

This mower was purchased new in early 2014. Has the 725 Series 190cc 4-stroke engine. Powerful enough for regular lawn mowing. Hard to start when cold which is very annoying. Easy hot start. Does not seem very fuel efficient. Need to use earmuffs when operating. Expensive to buy but little maintenance required. Very average!

Purchased in January 2014 for $515.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

was good till it stopped going backwards

published

pleasure to use ,easy to start ,fuel tank seams to last longer, mine has self drive lever , unfortunetly thats where to pleasure stops , 6mths old and now wont go backwards, rang the suppliers, and told me its not a warranty thing , sounds like poor response to me

Purchased in November 2019 at W.E Hire for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Omaroo

OmarooWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 13 reviews

Easy Mowing

published

A great mower that is easy to manoeuvre and operate. Starts very easily each time, and being self propelled it is easy to move around on the grass. Have a fairly big yard so if I am using the catcher and the grass is fairly long it does have to be emptied a couple of times. Seems fairly good on the fuel so can get a couple of uses out of it before I need to refuel. A lot of my lawn area is quite hard but the mower seems to move around on it no problem. The only downside I find is I needed someone to come and help me get it out of the boot of my car as it is a bit too heavy for me and the boot on my car is fairly deep.

Purchased in March 2020 for $699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Over priced and under powered.

published

Starts easily and easy to manoeuvre although height adjustment handle protrudes past outside of cutting area which inhibits cutting close to fence line. Engine revs too slowly and stalls as soon as it hits a small mound of my kikiyu grass. Very disappointed with the performance of this mower.

Purchased in January 2020 for $549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Geoff

GeoffMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

The motor is good but is let down by poor cutting and mulching performance

published

Purchased in October 2019 for $549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa Corvette compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Very difficult to start

published

Since purchasing a new Victa Corvette 400 lawn mower over 12 mths ago for $599 I have found it very difficult or unable to start .The store didnt have a Masport in stock .Have been back to the store where the mover was purchased with no joy !
I have since gone back to using our very old Masport after a service which starts first or 2nd pull .
I would not purchase this Victa mower again . I now have a mower that has only been used 6 times collecting dust , very disappointing.

Purchased in August 2018 for $599.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers

dissappointing

published

The belt that drives the self propulsion continuously dislodges so you spend most of time repairing this machine. It was recommended to me for my size garden but it cannot handle it.

Purchased in December 2015 for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Excellent value for money

published

Upgraded from a 147cc to this 163cc Corvette 300. Very smooth operation, so easy to start with a light pull. My lawn is kikiyu, thick blade grass and cut it without any problem what so ever. Bought from Stanford mowers in Adelaide.

Purchased in November 2019 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Juan G.

Juan G.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect Mower Extremely Reliable has never let me down

published

I purchased this mower in January of 2019 it has lasted me roughly about eight months and I never had any problem with this Victa Mower I have installed an hour meter on this mower about 2 days ago and the meter works really well I always like to have reliable gardening equipment I do not like to have unreliable gardening equipment

Thanks
Juan

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
R.singh

R.singhSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Easy to use

published

I bought this on 31st March 2019. It's a new model with red strap handle and washport as well. It's Corvette 200. When you check specifications on victa website it doesn’t tell that it has washport as well.
Used it next day it’s less noisy for sure. Best thing I like is height adjustable handle which is Great. Power wise it’s not that great, it struggles to stay on with no four cuttting position, very disappointing. I had to cut the lawns on no five position then again on no four. Uses lot of petrol also. May be it was not full. Starts first pull which is good.
Under powered and poor fuel consumption. If Victa has satisfaction guarantee I maybe think to return it. I'm sure grass was not too tall that the engine has to struggle.

Purchased in March 2019 at Browns plains Mowers for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

bjr

bjrCentral West, NSW

Great mower

published

Purchased in March 2019 for $459.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa Corvette compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Barry

BarryBrisbane

Warning - I bought a lemon!

published

Eighteen months ago I bought a new Victa corvette 200 with Briggs and Stratton 4 stroke. I have a small suburban block in Brisbane and have used Victas for 40 years.
The Briggs and Stratton engine gave major problems associated with the plastic carby from the outset, even though clean, 91 grade, non-alcohol fuel was always used. Sick of paying for repairs!!!
I have dumped this mower, not wanting to pass on the problem!

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Peterb666

Peterb666Merimbula

  • 25 reviews
  • 18 likes

Could be better

published
Date PurchasedOct 2015
bob

bobHervey Bay , Qld ,Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Pleasure to mow ,,

published

No body really likes mowing there yard , but when you have a new or old and effective mower like a Victor it takes the boredom out of it,,makes it effortless and makes a hard job easy ,never any trouble with the catcher , always starts first go ,adjustment is easy ,no trouble to use ,,,

Date PurchasedMay 2011
Robbie

RobbieNSW, 2335

  • 15 reviews
  • 4 likes

Victa is still making great mowers.

published

I really like the fact that it starts first go. It is light to push and move around edges etc. If convenience is what you’re after, then the Corvette 200 is perfect because it cuts the grass neatly. The rigid plastic grass catcher is easy to remove, empty and replace.
It is designed and assembled in Australia and it has the functionality and the durability that I like. Victa offers a 3-year domestic warranty as well.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Rachit Dhasmana

Rachit DhasmanaGlen Waverley

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

No hassles at all

published

BEing using it for almost 6 months now, works seamlessly.
starts on the first time, mow the lawn as I wish to.

Bought it from mowerPwer Mount waverley, their friendly staff helped me finalize the right one for me.
PRice matched with fuel and oil topped up and all assembled, so you are good to go instantly.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Steven P.

Steven P.asked

Corvette

What is the cutting with?

1 answer
Michael012
Michael012

The cutting width for the Corvette 725 is 46cm (18in).

CheekyGirl0183

CheekyGirl0183asked

Corvette 400

What type of spark plug use for vista 2 stroke corvette 4000

No answers
Natasha M.

Natasha M.asked

Corvette

Where is the air filter in Victor corvette 700 series 2 stroke mower

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Victa representatives

Details

Compare all 8 Victa Corvette
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $599.00$429.00$459.00$699.00
Power SourcePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
FeaturesMulching Capability and Quick-Start MotorDeck Clean-out Port, Mulching Capability and Quick-Start MotorDeck Clean-out Port, Mulching Capability, Quick-Start Motor and Self-Propelled
Catcher Type RigidRigidRigidRigid
Cutting Deck MaterialSteelSteelSteelSteel
Cutting Width480 mm460 mm420 mm483 mm
Height of Cut11 mm to 75 mm11 mm to 75 mm11 mm to 75 mm18 mm to 68 mm
Number of Blades4244
Weight31 kg28 kg26 kg35 kg
Manufacturer Warranty6 year(s)6 year(s)6 year(s)6 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameBriggs & Stratton OHV 163cc 675EXi SeriesBriggs and Stratton 500E SeriesBriggs & Stratton 140cc 550EXBriggs & Stratton 725EXi 4-stroke OHV
Engine Type4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)4-Stroke4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & Stratton
Engine Displacement163 cc140 cc140 cc163 cc
Compare all 8 Victa Corvette

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.