??!

See the Best Petrol Lawn Mowers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
16
4 star
13
3 star
8
2 star
9
1 star
8

Juan G.

Juan G.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect Mower Extremely Reliable has never let me down

published

I purchased this mower in January of 2019 it has lasted me roughly about eight months and I never had any problem with this Victa Mower I have installed an hour meter on this mower about 2 days ago and the meter works really well I always like to have reliable gardening equipment I do not like to have unreliable gardening equipment and I always complain with people that have unreliable gardening equipment like Laura Perez for example she is a perfect example she has extremely unreliable gardening equipment and I complain every single day about Laura Perez's gardening equipment she has RYOBI and I cannot stand that brand as RYOBI is a complete waste of money and is very hard to get parts

Thanks
Juan

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

Gavin V.

Gavin V.Perth, WA

  • 17 reviews

Push button start

published

Love this lawn mower. Easy to push around and easy to start. I like how the starting battery just slides on and off like a portable tool battery. It also shows remaining power by led bars. Plenty of grunt.

Purchased in March 2008 for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers
Kim H.

Kim H.North Queensland, QLD

Disappointed

published

I'm disappointed that we choose this mower. It is very heavy to push and difficult to start. I wouldn't recommend it for ladies or older people. More times than not I can't get it started which is extremely frustrating.

Purchased in June 2018 for $849.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers
R.singh

R.singhSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy to use

published

I bought this on 31st March 2019. It's a new model with red strap handle and washport as well. It's Corvette 200. When you check specifications on victa website it doesn’t tell that it has washport as well.
Used it next day it’s less noisy for sure. Best thing I like is height adjustable handle which is Great. Power wise it’s not that great, it struggles to stay on with no four cuttting position, very disappointing. I had to cut the lawns on no five position then again on no four. Uses lot of petrol also. May be it was not full. Starts first pull which is good.
Under powered and poor fuel consumption. If Victa has satisfaction guarantee I maybe think to return it. I'm sure grass was not too tall that the engine has to struggle.

Purchased in March 2019 at Browns plains Mowers for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Way to slow!

published

It’s a heavy mower so not so nimble to turn it around. Motor is powerful cuts long grass with ease. Unfortunately it’s self propelled drive is soooo slow. I could use a push mower in half the time. I found I was trying to push it to help it along shame it’s a big let down due to lack of speed

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Not happy

Not happySydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

The self propelled mechanism is fundamentally flawed. Buy a Honda

published

The drive mechanism routinely fails to engage and once engage cannot be disengaged. On to my second gearbox and exactly the same problem. The drive belt has now come off and I have been told this happens when the gearbox/belt mechanism becomes clogged with grass. A bit of a problem for a mower! Reverted back to my old and reliable Honda, 10+ years old and has never missed a beat.

Purchased in September 2016.


bjr

bjrCentral West, NSW

Great mower

published

Purchased in March 2019 for $459.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Hoemmel

HoemmelHobart, TAS

Cheap construction and don't honour warranty

published

Self-propelled mechanism is not sealed after a while the clutch does not release anymore.
The mower was just over 2 years old and I was asked to pay for the repairs. After pointing out a 4 year warranty Victa agreed to pay for the cable and I had to pay close to $90.00 for labour.

Purchased in December 2016 for $990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers
Barry

BarryBrisbane

Warning - I bought a lemon!

published

Eighteen months ago I bought a new Victa corvette 200 with Briggs and Stratton 4 stroke. I have a small suburban block in Brisbane and have used Victas for 40 years.
The Briggs and Stratton engine gave major problems associated with the plastic carby from the outset, even though clean, 91 grade, non-alcohol fuel was always used. Sick of paying for repairs!!!
I have dumped this mower, not wanting to pass on the problem!

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Peterb666

Peterb666Merimbula

  • 21 reviews
  • 16 likes

Could be better

published
Date PurchasedOct 2015

bob

bobHervey Bay , Qld ,Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Pleasure to mow ,,

published

No body really likes mowing there yard , but when you have a new or old and effective mower like a Victor it takes the boredom out of it,,makes it effortless and makes a hard job easy ,never any trouble with the catcher , always starts first go ,adjustment is easy ,no trouble to use ,,,

Date PurchasedMay 2011

Robbie

RobbieNSW, 2335

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Victa is still making great mowers.

published

I really like the fact that it starts first go. It is light to push and move around edges etc. If convenience is what you’re after, then the Corvette 200 is perfect because it cuts the grass neatly. The rigid plastic grass catcher is easy to remove, empty and replace.
It is designed and assembled in Australia and it has the functionality and the durability that I like. Victa offers a 3-year domestic warranty as well.

Date PurchasedMay 2016

Rachit Dhasmana

Rachit DhasmanaGlen Waverley

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

No hassles at all

published

BEing using it for almost 6 months now, works seamlessly.
starts on the first time, mow the lawn as I wish to.

Bought it from mowerPwer Mount waverley, their friendly staff helped me finalize the right one for me.
PRice matched with fuel and oil topped up and all assembled, so you are good to go instantly.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Fairway19

Fairway19Melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Always Starts First Time

published

They sure do have mowers better designed than when I was a kid. This thing starts first time every time, no matter how long I leave it between starts. It does an excellent crisp cut and. My previous mower was a super cheapie with straight blades, so I appreciate the swing blade design as I have the odd ock at my place. It fairly quiet being a 4 stroke. The catcher deign could be better. I Liked the old style Victa ones but I guess they make them this way to save money. It's a solid and reliable mower.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Joanne

JoanneGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

This is a first start mower

published

This mower is the best price for its value and performance. I don't get a problem even after summer as long as I have new fuel and oil and sparkplug she roars. I've found she has the power to do back and front lawns. I like the size of the catcher too.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Pedro

PedroNZ

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Ooops i bought the wrong mower.

published
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Mike

MikeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Solid machine

published

Very happy with this mower, cuts cleanly with the catcher and quite well with mulching plug. Motor appears sufficient for suburban block, no issues with power cutting longer grass. Starts easily (2nd pull), and very good on the fuel efficiency. Slightly heavier than expected, but did use a battery powered unit prior.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Ben

BenAdelaide

  • 4 reviews

Best mower!

published

This mower is very easy to start. I have used it once a fortnight for the 6 months that I've used it. It has been very reliable, and easy to maintain. Changing the oil and replacing blades is very easy.
The wheels are smooth rolling and it doesn't take a lot of effort to maneuver it around the garden.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

It's good

published

We got it for the new house from bunnings recommended by the staff. The mower is pretty good, easy starts and do the job well. We don't have too much grass - about 30 square meters. So it is pretty hard to comment on someone used to mow a lot.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Stephen

StephenSydney

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Powerful reliable mower

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Allan Dinnar

Allan Dinnarasked

Corvette GCS484 (450, 4 Stroke)

What fuel is used please?

No answers

Shane D.

Shane D.asked

Corvette GCS482 (600, 2 Stroke)

What size mower blades are required please? The handles have broken off as well. Am I able to be a replacement handle?

Thank you.

1 answer
Shane D.
Shane D.

Sorry. I meant buy replacement handles.


Richie

Richieasked

Wat is the most common fault for starting the mower have spark fresh gas n many pulls no go

1 answer
bjr
bjr

Check air filter next. Make sure it’s not clogged, dirty, blocked etc


Get an answer from our members and Victa representatives

Details

Victa Corvette VGMS464 (300, 4 Stroke)

Victa Corvette VGMS464 (300, 4 Stroke)

10 reviews
Victa Corvette VGMD489 (19", 4 Stroke)

Victa Corvette VGMD489 (19", 4 Stroke)

4 reviews
Victa Corvette VGCS464 (100, 4 Stroke)

Victa Corvette VGCS464 (100, 4 Stroke)

3 reviews
Victa Corvette VGMA489 (Cast Alloy, 4 Stroke)

Victa Corvette VGMA489 (Cast Alloy, 4 Stroke)

3 reviews
Victa Corvette GCS466 (200, 4 Stroke)

Victa Corvette GCS466 (200, 4 Stroke)

10 reviews
Victa Corvette VGMS486 (400, 4 Stroke)

Victa Corvette VGMS486 (400, 4 Stroke)

6 reviews
Victa Corvette VGMA484 (Cast Alloy, 4 Stroke)

Victa Corvette VGMA484 (Cast Alloy, 4 Stroke)

1 review
Victa Corvette VGBD484 (Ultimate, 4 Stroke)

Victa Corvette VGBD484 (Ultimate, 4 Stroke)

No reviews
Victa Corvette VGMS487 (500, 4 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette VGMS487 (500, 4 Stroke)

No reviews
Victa Corvette GCS482 (600, 2 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette GCS482 (600, 2 Stroke)

2 reviews
Victa Corvette GCS484 (600, 4 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette GCS484 (600, 4 Stroke)

No reviews
Victa Corvette GMS484 (725, 4 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette GMS484 (725, 4 Stroke)

3 reviews
Victa Corvette VGMS488 (500, 4 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette VGMS488 (500, 4 Stroke)

1 review
Victa Corvette GCS484 (450, 4 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette GCS484 (450, 4 Stroke)

1 review
Victa Corvette GCS468 (100. 4 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette GCS468 (100. 4 Stroke)

No reviews
Victa Corvette GMS468 (400, 4 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette GMS468 (400, 4 Stroke)

No reviews
Victa Corvette VGKS484 (Key Start, 4 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette VGKS484 (Key Start, 4 Stroke)

2 reviews
Victa Corvette GMD488 (Self Propelled, 4 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette GMD488 (Self Propelled, 4 Stroke)

3 reviews
Victa Corvette GMA488 (Commercial, 4 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette GMA488 (Commercial, 4 Stroke)

No reviews
Victa Corvette VGMD484 (Self-Propelled with QPT, 4 Stroke)
  • Discontinued

Victa Corvette VGMD484 (Self-Propelled with QPT, 4 Stroke)

No reviews
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $549$899$429$829$459$599$759$899$649$749$399$529$749$749$799$469
Power SourcePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
FeaturesMulching CapabilityMulching CapabilityMulching Capability and Quick-Start MotorDeck Clean-out Port, Mulching Capability and Quick-Start MotorDeck Clean-out Port, Mulching Capability, Quick-Start Motor and Self-PropelledBlade Brake, Mulching Capability, Quick-Start Motor and Self-PropelledMulching CapabilityMulching CapabilityMulching CapabilityMulching CapabilityMulching CapabilityMulching Capability and Quick-Start MotorMulching CapabilityMulching CapabilityMulching CapabilityMulching Capability and Quick-Start MotorMulching CapabilityMulching CapabilityMulching Capability and Self-Propelled
Catcher Type RigidRigidRigidRigidRigidRigidRigidRigidRigidRigidRigidRigidRigid
Cutting Deck MaterialSteelAluminium AlloySteelAluminium AlloySteelSteelSteelSteelSteelSteelSteelSteelSteelSteelSteelAluminium AlloySteel
Cutting Width480 mm480 mm460 mm480 mm420 mm483 mm483 mm483 mm480 mm480 mm480 mm480 mm480 mm420 mm420 mm420 mm480 mm480 mm480 mm483 mm
Height of Cut11 mm to 75 mm11 mm to 75 mm11 mm to 75 mm13 mm to 72 mm11 mm to 75 mm15 mm to 72 mm11 mm to 75 mm15 mm to 72 mm15 mm to 72 mm11 mm to 75 mm11 mm to 75 mm11 mm to 75 mm15 mm to 72 mm11 mm to 75 mm11 mm to 75 mm11 mm to 75 mm15 mm to 72 mm11 mm to 75 mm11 mm to 75 mm15 mm to 72 mm
Number of Blades42444424
Weight31 kg33 kg26 kg35 kg35 kg32 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine Displacement163 cc190 cc140 cc190 cc140 cc163 cc163 cc161 cc163 cc190 cc163 cc140 cc150 cc166 cc163 cc
BrandBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & Stratton
Engine Type4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)4-Stroke4-Stroke2-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke
Engine NameBriggs and Stratton 500Briggs & Stratton 850I/C CommercialBriggs and Stratton 500EBriggs and Stratton 190cc 4-strokeBriggs & Stratton 140cc 550EXBriggs & Stratton 725EXi 4-stroke OHV EngineBriggs & Stratton 163cc 725EXi SeriesBriggs and Stratton 740iSBriggs & Stratton 725EXi QPTVicta VEX160Briggs & Stratton 625Briggs and Stratton 725EXBriggs & Stratton 750 DOV I/CBriggs & Stratton 450Briggs & Stratton 140cc 500EBriggs & Stratton 625EXBriggs and Stratton 725EXBriggs & Stratton 750 DOV I/CBriggs & Stratton 850 I/CBriggs and Stratton 725 EXi QPT

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.