??!
5 photos
Volkswagen Jetta

Volkswagen Jetta

1KM, 1B
4.0 from 61 reviews

Reviews

4.0

61 reviews
5
(26)
4
(22)
3
(6)
2
(1)
1
(6)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (6)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (6)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (6)
  • Handling
    4.8 (6)
  • Braking
    5.0 (6)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.8 (6)
  • Interior Design
    4.7 (6)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (6)
  • Features
    4.8 (6)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (6)
Previous
Next
Ted

Ted

  • 15 reviews
  • 1 like

Sad they’re no longer around.

published

Couldn’t fault the 2009 Jetta TDI I owned, great run around and good for long distance too. In the time I owned it, I had completed around 70,000km and not a single thing needed replacing (except for tires). I also the previous Jetta, VW Bora v5, clocked up over 240,000km and the only problem was the sunroof starting to leak around 230k km, easy fix though. One of my favourite cars i owned and I still miss it. Highly recommend. I’ve also heard they’re one of the most reliable Volkswagens around.

Purchased in August 2011.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mark

Mark

  • 5 reviews

solid

published

this is a very economical car, not a lot of frills on the comfortline, but not missing out on any features either. dsg gearbox takes a while to get used to.

Art

ArtSydney, NSW

Good solid car for the money!

published

Purchased in April 2012 at Pickles Auctions for A$12,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sedans

Find out how Volkswagen Jetta compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Geoff B

Geoff BCanberra

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Needs lots of attention

published

2014 Jetta TSI 1.4 manual purchased new. Great car but I have always changed the oil and filter (Mann oil filter and synthetic 5w 30 castrol) every 5,000 ks and spark plugs every 30,000ks. Always use 98 octane fuel. No problems with this regime.

Purchased in May 2014 for A$23,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Siren

SirenNorthern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Is a good car 10/10

published

Is my partners daily drive, he loves it. Costs the same to fill as my car & he gets more kms. Gets serviced twice a year. It gets driven over mountain ranges regularly & never misses a beat.

Purchased in April 2017 for A$7,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ian D.

Ian D.Perth, WA

Fantastic, reliable car.

published

Purchased in December 2007.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Will55

Will55Melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good customer support

published

This is our family car and has travelled 56000kms from new. Excellent to drive and very impressive performance and economy.
We've had two issues though, one under warranty for a fuel flap problem that was promptly replaced at no charge. The second issue was with the water pump and supercharger clutch (all one unit). Even though some months out of warranty, Volkswagen Australia did a 'good faith' replacement and included labour at no cost and informed us that this mechanical issue was unacceptable for a car of this age.
Very happy with the service we've received through Vokswagen Ferntree Gully.
Thank you!

Badge118TSI Comfortline
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015

Appalling catastrophic faults

published

Engine timing chain stretched, waiting on a catastrophic engine fault if it blows before the $1500 repair. Automatic clutch also on its last legs, another $2000 in repairs. ALL KNOWN FAULTS TO VW! Car is almost 5 years old. Avoid like the plague!! Reasonable use of a Car engine should last way more than 100,000km, IMO do not buy one

Badge118TSI
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2013
Tim

Tim

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent twincharger

published

We bought new and haven't had any issues with the non cavd engine as this has a cthd. Consistently getting 5l/100k have had 1 issue where the rhf door mech stopped working, dealer fixed it straight away.Love the superchargers torque which still surprises people when I tell them its a 1.4l

Badge118TSI Comfortline
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Sedans

Find out how Volkswagen Jetta compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dejan

DejanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 11 reviews

Nice car

published

Brought this car secondhand 2 1/2 years ago Very luxury performance car , very zippy in traffic has a lot of tork easily five adults can fit in the car boot is massive few things went wrong in couple of years like pcv valve,dv valve,coil pack but that is all Easy and simple to do it yourself

Purchased in March 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Dejan
Dejan

Car still drives nice,no problems,changed dsg oil and filter my self
Shifting is so silky (perfecto)

Annoyed

AnnoyedMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 10 reviews
  • 36 likes

OK, but no rave

published

We had a 118 Jetta Trendline my16 manual model. At first I thought it was quite a nice car. It drove well, felt reasonably solid. Then the AC went. OK everyone has bad luck - replaced under warranty. Then a part between the supercharger and turbo failed - tow job. Then the ECU went. And finally the dual mass clutch shat itself -VW claimed it was wear and tear even though an internet search will reveal multiple customer problems. And then it went again. Mmm. the gloss has now worn off.
Having been a huge fan of german made stuff in the past, i have been systematically disappointed.
Wont be buying VW, Bosch or Miele again.......

Badge118TSI Trendline
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016
C.A.

C.A.Melbourne

  • 5 reviews

I love this car

published

I purchased my 2008 VW Jetta three years ago second hand. Even though it is a little bit older than most Jettas you see on the road, it is the best car I've ever owned. Handles really well, has leather seats, seat warmers, skylight, etc. Feels like a luxury car, and is very elegant. Not too expensive to run either.

BadgeTurbo
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014
Wedgie

WedgieSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes

Drives Well. Looks Great. Handles Well.

published
Badge103TDI Comfortline
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Jat

JatNewcastle

  • 13 reviews

Oldie but a Goodie

published
Badge118TSI
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Veronique.B

Veronique.BMelbourne, VIC

  • 15 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great & Stylish Car!

published

I purchased my Jetta in 2015. Prior to this purchase i had a VW passat so i was a little nervous downgrading from a passat to a Jetta. In saying this, i love my Jetta!! It drives very well (smooth) and still feels very luxurious inside. Plus the boot space is SO spacious which i did not expect! I do miss having a center console and a few other luxurious icons however if i dont compare this car to the passat and compare its actually an FANTASTIC car! Very happy with my purchase even 2 years later and would highly recommend this car!

Badge118TSI Highline
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015
Sedans

Find out how Volkswagen Jetta compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
S Sathiy

S SathiySydney

  • 7 reviews

Best Car

published

Not a single problem for the past 10 years. Lovely car to drive. Looks like a sedan but drives like a sports car. We have the 2.0 Turbo. Drinks a bit of oil. You need to check oil level every 1,000 - 2,000 km. Looking to replace it with a VW Passat.

BadgeFSI
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2007
shopperjill

shopperjillNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews

Love my Jetta!!!

published
BadgeTDI
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2008
G Singh

G SinghSydney

  • 5 reviews

Great value in just 22k price

published
Badge118TSI
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Taslim

TaslimSydney

  • 5 reviews

Extremely Fuel Economy

published

Jetta 2015- Overall really good experience. Feels luxurious internally and overall good value for money. Good speed and fuel economical. We bought from 1st owner at 97km. Despite of higher KM the car manage to impress us. Good speakers. There are lots of internal features which came as standard options however with other cars its premium.

Badge103TDI Comfortline
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
fan

fanperth

  • 6 reviews

reliable car

published

its good to drive but not so quite as inside , fuel is efficient about 8.2 98 petrol per 100 kms
service regularly will keep 15000 for each circle, i changed the timing belt and stuff cost me 1000 which are a lot to this level of cars
good for first car

BadgeFSI
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

josephwillhinchey

josephwillhincheyasked

Jetta

I'm looking into a 2006 TDI 2.0 L DSG Jetta, 240,000kms. I've seen mixed advice. What are other people's experiences?

No answers
Sue T

Sue Tasked

Jetta

my 2007 jetta tdi has stopped running. it wants to kick over but cant quite get there. NRMA though it was the fuel filter this was replaced, diesel in fuel filter was blue???. still wont start. could it be my timing belt? belt was done 100,000 kms ago, car is on 220,000km.

1 answer
Ted
Ted

Thinking about getting a 2015 VW Jetta with 85,000km on it, 118TSI highline model, or should I go for the 103 TDI Highline? I want the one that’s going to be more reliable,

Cheers

Elaine

Elaineasked

Jetta 1KM (2006-2011)

I am interested in the VW Jetta Can you tell me why they have been discontinued?
Elaine

1 answer
Will55
Will55

I've heard of 2 reasons, but I haven't checked how accurate they are or if there are other factors. First, that the engine design (supercharged and turbo charged) is too complex and expensive for a model in this price range. Second, that Trump Aministration's agressive trade stance against Mexico undermined Volkswagen's confidence in the future of this model as well as the Beetle. They were too marginal to sell into US with new tariffs applied.
All I can say is that my Jetta has travelled 60K and is economical and a pleasure to drive,

Get an answer from our members

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.