??!
10 photos
Volkswagen Passat B8 MK7

Volkswagen Passat B8 MK7 (2015-2020)

Also referred to as: Volkswagen Passat B8 MK7 2019 and Volkswagen Passat B8 MK7 2021. Wagon, Sedan, SUV
4.4 from 21 reviews

Reviews

4.4

21 reviews
5
(13)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (3)
  • Handling
    4.7 (3)
  • Braking
    5.0 (3)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.7 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (3)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (3)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (3)
  • Features
    5.0 (3)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (3)
Previous
Next
Nuts

NutsMelbourne

  • 6 reviews

Nice car but VW service is pathetic

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Danielle223

Danielle223Perth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Great family car!!

published

Loving my Volkswagen Passat Alltrack. We bought it just before having a baby and it’s such a great family car. It’s comfortable and runs smoothly. Very spacious in the boot.

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ashley

AshleySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Great car, no significant problems

published

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sedans

Find out how Volkswagen Passat B8 MK7 compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Maria

MariaPerth, WA

  • 10 reviews

Passat R-line, Luxurious

published

I use this Passat R-line sedan for work and for private use. It is very comfortable but most of all, very economical. I can get a 1000 km out of a tank of petrol.
I love the luxury package, the memory seat position, the stylish dashboard, the driver assist options, though at times it thinks it is smarter than I am and tries to make decisions for me, ie, changing lanes in traffi:, if the car thinks the other car is too close, it would try to stop you from moving to the other lane. However, once you are use to driving this smart car, you will get use to the intellect. It is stylish and a pleasure to drive.

BodySedan
Badge206TSI R-Line
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
renlee

renleeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 15 reviews

Fantastic car

published

Recently purchased the Passat R-Line wagon to carry our two bikes. This is the best car I have every owned, the comfort is just outstanding and the safety and mod cons is terrific. The car has a lot of space, more than the Tiguan we were going to purchase originally. This car has every luxury in it and is just a blast to drive, would highly recommend this vehicle. The only negatives are the Satnav leaves a bit to be desired but I just plug in my phone and use Google maps through Apple car play, fixes that issue and also the car does not have a DAB radio which is slightly annoying. Other than those two slight problems that car is amazing.

BodyWagon
Badge206TSI R-Line
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Remarkably good

published

A limousine like car with a smooth silent ride, a spacious interior and cavernous boot. An overall average of 7.2 ltr/km suggests economy rather than performance but it has surprising acceleration especially when overtaking. Fit and finish are excellent, well above others in the market of a similar price
BTW the car was cheaper in Australia than its equivalent in the UK or Germany! The car has been faultless so far at 50k with not even a rattle. We were so impressed that we bought the latest Polo as a second car

BodyWagon
Badge132TSI
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Rob

RobCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 3 reviews

VW PASSAT

published
BodyWagon
Badge132TSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
2 comments
Rob
Rob
Rob
Rob
Qingdao ren zai Mel

Qingdao ren zai MelMelbourne

  • 7 reviews

Tech, comfort, economy

published

You would love the driving experience, I do mean that on the highway, over 60kph; the gearbox is still a little bit worried me, as it is running not smooth in gear 1 and 2 under 40kph. But other than that, Passat is a perfect car for the family, I am having a B8 Passat Wagon TSI Comfortline. I love it so much (as mentioned, a little bit worried about the gearbox - DSG 7 speed.) 16500km, average petrol consumption: 8L per 100km; carplay, andrio auto; full safety features. btw auto adjustment seat for driver only. lol

BodyWagon
Badge132 TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Frank X

Frank XGold Coast

  • 4 reviews

Love it

published

I am a international student studying in Australia from 2016. The reason I chose VW is that i believe both the quality and appearance, as well as the driving experience in German auto brands.

The car is so quite and steady wherever places i drive both including the country roads or high way. The leg room is wonderful and it is quiet fuel efficiency on the highway.

BodySedan
Badge132TSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Sedans

Find out how Volkswagen Passat B8 MK7 compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

2016 132 tsi. Very disappointing

published
BodySedan
Badge132TSI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedMar 2017
don58

don58Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 19 reviews

132TSI Comfortline R Line Wagon

published

Great vehicle for our small city family who do some highway travel to visit family. VW have refined the Passat package to a point where it is a very refined drive and feels like a more expensive vehicle. R Line package is pretty good with leather/heated/massage seats, slight lowering etc Ride is subsequently a little bit harsher though. ACC is brilliant for the city commute and fuel economy is v.good at 7 city and down to 5's on the highway. This is quite literally a superb vehicle and clearly the product of much revision.The only downside was having to deal with the VW dealership who made buying the vehicle unpleasant. VW Australia needs to take control of dealership behaviour as they have and are continuing to damage the brand.

BodyWagon
Badge132 TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Alex.I

Alex.IMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

This car really is perfect, I truly love driving it everyday.

published

Love the features, love the space and practicality of this wagon.
Easy to drive, comfortable and beautiful lines.
Great for city driving and long haul.
Great value and engineering.
This car is absolutely a must to test drive, anyone who drives it will be surprised at its capability for a car of this size, remember it's only a 1.8L turbo 4cylinder engine...

BodyWagon
Badge132TSI
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedAug 2016
adi

adicranbourne north

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Complete family car

published

This generation of Passat is a great car to drive. The steering has great feel and the car is still very comfortable to travel in. It has enough power to overtake on any type of road. my car is consuming around 7 litres per 100 after 10,000kms. The car requires premium fuel so add that to the running costs.
Overall its a very quiet car that can take in 5 people comfortably.

BodySedan
Badge132TSI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Josh C.

Josh C.

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good car let down by reliability issues.

published
BodyWagon
Badge132 TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Sam

SamMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great European car for less. Value for money, loads of features

published
BodySedan
Badge140 TDI Highline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Sedans

Find out how Volkswagen Passat B8 MK7 compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paboo

PabooSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 10 likes

Good Car.

published

Smooth driving car that is fuel efficient and quiet. The dashboard is set out well and easy to use. The car has been reliable so far and looks stylish. The main problems with the car is that there is an intermittent vibration/rattle within the dash on the drivers side. I have yet to take the vehicle for its first service that is due in about six months time so I will have this checked out. The automatic cut out for the engine whilst the car is stationary can be a nuisance as you have to manually deactivate it every time you turn the car on. The car handles very well and has a large boot as well which is perfect as a family car.

BodySedan
Badge132TSI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Matt_Perth

Matt_PerthAU

  • 2 reviews

Great technology!

published

Passat 132Tsi, R-line and with the luxury pack: very well equipped vehicle, that is truly up there with the Mercedes C200, the BMW 320 and the Audi A4, at much less a price. The finish is outstanding, the drive exciting, and the technology top notch - ACC and lane departure in particular makes the vehicle semi-autonomous, and the all round sensors and anti collision systems have already saved me from reversing into traffic. The active instrument display is the future right now, and the interior beats at least one of the above, much more expensive vehicles. This is my 8th VW, and each has demonstrated improved innovation and safety features, and been extremely reliable

BodySedan
Badge132 TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Pred

PredPerth

  • 2 reviews

Fully loaded german beauty for good value

published
BodySedan
Badge140 TDI Highline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Smith Carter

Smith Carter

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Stunning and Elegant Sedan Ever Built

published

Volkswagen Passat is the most stunning and elegant ever built because it gives a pleasuring drive plus comfort and safety for the driver to drive this beautifully built Sedan. Volkswagen Passat is far more better than the Jaguar XF, BMW 5 Series, Mercedes E Class and Honda Accord because of its price tag.

BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Quint

QuintGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Very smooth "dog friendly" car

published
BodySedan
TransmissionDSG
Page 1 of 2
See all Volkswagen Passat reviews

Questions & Answers

Abhi A.

Abhi A.asked

Passat B8 MK7 (2015-2020)

did the R-line package reduce the ride comfort due to lowering of suspension/larger wheels?

2 answers
Steve H
Steve H

New tyres seemed extremely noisy but rode well. Noise ended up being right rear wheel bearing. Apparently not unusual for new tyres and wheel align to affect wheel bearings on vehicles with higher mileage. Hope this helps.... Cheers.

Kelvin
Kelvin

The stiffer suspension gives a better handling especially during cornering. For me, the stiffer suspension actually offered a better ride comfort due to less rolling. But of course if your main requirement is for a softer rides, This may not offer that.

Get an answer from our members

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.