??!
6 photos
Volvo XC60

Volvo XC60

MK.I, MK.II
3.6 from 42 reviews

Reviews

3.6

42 reviews
5
(19)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(8)
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (7)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.6 (7)
  • Handling
    4.7 (7)
  • Braking
    4.7 (7)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (7)
  • Interior Design
    4.6 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (7)
  • Features
    4.4 (7)
  • Comfort
    4.9 (7)
Previous
Next
Craig L.

Craig L.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Beautiful car to drive, intuitive interior, the wider body takes a little getting use to

published

Ill add the caveat that Ive only had the car a couple of weeks but to date I love the drive. Brilliantly quiet, well lit at night, intuitive design for driver. Power is not questioned albeit it does draw on fuel more than some of the other comparable Euros. The body of the vehicle is slighter wider than expected and you do have to wary when backing although the sensors are a godsend in this situation. Too many electronics to mention but that seems par for the course in comparable cars. I love the space to get in /out of the vehicle with not having to duck or roll your head over.
At this stage really happy with it, hopefully this doesn't change over the next 5 years we plan to have it.

Purchased in May 2020 at Volvo Camberwell.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
ANUJ

ANUJGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Excellent Car!

published

Love my new XC60... Amazing experience.. Love the Comfort and drive... Effort less driving. Infact found it better than BMW X3! Loving it. Using it for local and highway travel.

Purchased in January 2020 at Volvo Rushcutter bay for A$65,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Michael

MichaelGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Great car, counting 200,000 kms and still strong

published

My car is counting 7 years now and the only issue I ever had was a fuel sensor
These cars are also extremely easy to service requiring only basic tools and a 36mm socket
Also considering the vehicle has over 300hp it’s very good on fuel averaging around 9.2L / 100km
I hope the new ones prove to be as tough as I’m interested to upgrade

Purchased in January 2017 for A$28,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volvo XC60 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tintin

TintinSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Not refined many options missing

published

Good car but dynamically floored on a hot day the turbo is heat soaked and offers no power gear box offers no paddleshift this is necessary as it needs the manual down shift as the kick down is reluctant. Engine even polyester optimised has a terrible power curve slow too fast no power not v a good map. I would go an x3 on power, plant and kit. The autonomous stuff is a gimmick and not resolved. My verdict is i f you want a st bernard big and comfy mostly trust worthy this is the car if you want real drivability get something else. Volvo isn't like BMW or merc or even Audi these car brands offer more experience and confidence. Volvo doesn't even call to follow up.

Davo

DavoACT, 2906

  • 5 reviews

PERFECT FOR US

published

Bought in Feb 2016 and so far have not had a single problem with this car.
A mid sized SUV that had all the latest safety equipment and luxury fittings at the time of purchase (over 3 years ago)

Purchased in February 2016 for A$61,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
loz

lozPerth, WA

Volvo D5 Teknik

published

Purchased in September 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
S P

S PGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Most comfortable car we’ve ever driven

published

We love this car. It is so comfortable to be in. I once took a 15 hour flight and we went on a 9 hour drive straight from the airport and it was still comfortable. The heated seats and steering wheel warmer are used often. We have another year left on the lease and will most likely be replacing it with the current model.

Only negative we’ve had, and we’ve had this with both our xc60 and v40, is the service. For the price of the cars volvo service should be a lot better. At one point I made a complaint to the corporate office but never heard anything back from the local service department about the complaint.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Rick

RickGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Disappointing, would not buy another

published

We bought the car new and the reversing camera worked at first. After about six months the reversing camera began to work only intermittently sometimes taking as long as eighteen seconds to come on making it very difficult to reverse park. After repeated trips to the dealership with no success, we received a letter from Volvo saying that they were unable to find the fault. The letter suggested taking it to the dealership again which we have already done but other than that I get the impression that we are on our own even though the car is only just over a year old. We had expected that in a new car if there was a problem Volvo would persevere until the issue was fixed. We are very disappointed and will never buy another Volvo.

Purchased in September 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
HO2Ngy

HO2Ngy

  • 2 reviews

T8 review. Luxury SUV with the bonus of hybrid technology

published
BadgeT8 R-Design
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volvo XC60 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dan V

Dan VMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Fantastic car, plenty of room.

published

Bought back in November, one of the first in Aus, and was given a Bluetooth Speaker as a thank-you. The car is perfect, performs & handles like a dream, but short second delay with the gearbox. The center screen controls most of the car, probably a step below a Tesla, includes semi-autonomous driving. The car is pretty much maxed-out in terms of it's packages. The car has plenty of room, especially in the middle seat, which in SUV's these days, are rare.

T5 Inscription, so best of the best. Good fuel economy, and reliable. I couldn't live without it. It's definitely a fun car to drive, especially the semi-autonomous part, being only a learner, it's a fun car to learn in. Definitely recommend if you want a quality SUV.

BadgeT5 Luxury
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Ethan C

Ethan C

  • 7 reviews

Avoid like the plague!

published
BadgeD4 Inscription
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Ben

BenSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic car which surpasses its competition with ease

published

Fantastic driving experience, smooth to the touch and light steering. Minimal noise from outside, great speakers cover that anyway! Interior is clean and sleek, electronic dashboards and console are highly adaptaple and never go out of date. Car is very reliable however a little heavy to run around the city on unleaded.

BadgeT6 R-Design
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Beautiful, safe family car

published

What a fun car to drive! Drives beautifully, performs well and super comfortable. The T6 R-Design is one of the most fun SUVs I've driven and would definitely recommend this car. Fuel consumption can be a slight issue. Volvo say it should be somewhere around 10L/100km, I've found it's somewhere like 12-13L/100km. But I guess the size and performance of the engine is responsible for that. Great car. Very stylish and safe.

BadgeT6 R-Design
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Prim

PrimMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great family car

published

The car runs on diesel and means it is very smooth to drive. It is an all wheel drive but you can push it to do some of the things a 4WD could do like driving it on the beach. There isn't too much noise and heaps of legroom for the front 5 seats and a bit squished in the back seats but what can you expect.

BadgeNot sure
Engine SizeNot sure
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2012
Anshul

Anshul

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Value for money

published

Not as sporty as the X3 or the Q5 but has the best interior in its class and generation. The safety features are awesome. Adaptive cruise control is great but not accurate some Times especially when the car in the distance is stationary . The booster seat feature is unique and the best.

BadgeD4 Luxury
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volvo XC60 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MarketingPolice

MarketingPolicePerth

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Safety is paramount

published
BadgeT5
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2012
Justwotsfair

JustwotsfairGarran ACT

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Third Volvo and still as good as ever.

published
BadgeD5 Luxury
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Dg9879

Dg9879Melbourne

  • 14 reviews

Volvo XC60 a few rattles and lack of smoothness

published
BadgeT5
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2014
Richard D

Richard DPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best car ever owned

published
BadgeT5
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

2010 T6 3.2 XC60

published

Driving experience very nice, good performance, low road noise, excellent handling until diff fails at 90,000 kms - replaced for $7000 Aus, windscreen starts leaking at 100,000 km- replaced for $500 Aus, im at 110,000 km now and very nervous. I want to sell this car now but re-sell value is very low.
Volvo Australia are not at all helpful and offer no support. Would I buy Volvo again? Definitely not. Stay away from European cars.

BadgeT6
Engine Size3.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2013
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Aoife

Aoifeasked

XC60

Volvo XC60 T5 Auto MY14 - considering buying used with 100km on the clock. Can anyone advise of their experience with this model and XC60s with 100+ mileage? Thank you.

2 answers
Rick
Rick

I was very disappointed with it.i found the electronic system complicated and irritating especially the GPS round dial. The car drove well enough but I didn’t find it a pleasure to drive. My main complaint was that the reversing camera took about 5 seconds to turn on after 6 weeks from new purchase and progressively took longer up to 20 seconds after 18 months. I considered Volvo completely unhelpful with this problem. Have traded the xc60 in for an Hyundai.

loz
loz

My experience probably doesn't suit. Bought a 2012 D5 diesel AWD with 80k on the clock. Have done 20k since then including driving on the beach and towing light loads. everything has gone well. Let the tyres down to go on the beach where my mate in his Isuzu got bogged. No problems at all, great fuel economy and comfort. Get mine serviced with a Volvo dealer. Not sure there is a better car on the market for the price

Mim

Mimasked

XC60 MK.I (2009-2017)

Has anyone needed to replace the xc60 2010 model electric tailgate motor? Wondering how much it will cost please. It’s been a great so far this is the first problem.

No answers
Phil

Philasked

XC60

What happens to the safe intelligent systems, when you mount bikes on the back of the XC60

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.