??!
2 photos
Walpamur Fence Finish Pine Green

Walpamur Fence Finish Pine Green

3.1 from 34 reviews

Reviews

3.1

34 reviews
5
(12)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(13)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (9)
  • Painted Surface
  • Finish Quality
    2.8 (9)
  • Ease of Application
    3.1 (8)
  • Coverage
    2.6 (9)
  • Longevity
    2.0 (4)
Previous
Next
Lukey M.

Lukey M.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Absolutely useless

published

I tried 2 colours - ironbark and jarrah and both were just as bad as each other.Its like water - theres no texture and even after 2 coats you can barely see any difference on a paling fence.Absolutely useless!

Purchased in June 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$72.00.

Value for Money
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Longevity
Robyn

RobynNorth Queensland, QLD

Great product and good value for money

published

I used the charcoal fence finish and was ready to start painting when I read these reviews. I was a bit worried after reading the reviews, but couldn’t be happier with the end result. I had to water the paint down as I used a spray gun. I put 2 coats on the fence and I love how it turned out

Purchased in May 2020.

Value for Money
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Richie C

Richie CSydney

  • 2 reviews

Very happy with the colour

published

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$75.00.

Value for Money
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Walpamur Fence Finish Pine Green compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
positivespirit1

positivespirit1Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 77 reviews
  • 50 likes

Thin coverage and cheap and nasty

published

I used Walpamur fence paint, colour grey/charcoal, and it is so thin that you have to keep mixing for ages before you can use it. Three coats of paint on the fence and cannot state that it is a quality product. Difficult to get the lid off for a female too. Sorry but could not recommend this product unless you have plenty of time and want to keep re-applying the product for end result.

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$76.00.

Value for Money
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Longevity
Daniel R.

Daniel R.South East Queensland, QLD

Absolute rubbish!!

published

Do not waste your money in purchasing this product (in white colour) can't speak about any other colours but will NOT BE USING THIS PRODUCT AGAIN. I used 15L on 40 square meters of treated pine fence and it has still not covered.
Absolute rubbish...

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$76.00.

Value for Money
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Longevity
Robert B.

Robert B.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great for painting tin shed

published

Purchased at It was given to me but I have seen it for sale at Bunnings.

Value for Money
Painted SurfaceMetal
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Longevity
Rose L

Rose LPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Discontinued colour

published

Having survived another storm but removing shrubs that didn't, I realised the fence hadn't been painted behind these shrubs from previous owners. Went to get my doeskin fence paint only to be told they no longer carry that colour. Every fence in our area is either painted Hardie fence or the new metal fencing and all Doeskin in colour. Those colour choices you offer are not compatible in any shape or form and now I have to go the expense of getting an exterior paint..... Not happy Jan !! :(

Painted SurfacePreviously painted
Joots

JootsSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 15 reviews
  • 13 likes

Experiment for more choices....

published
Lilimarie

LilimarieGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

What a joke.

published

Did 2 coats of this « finish » paint and my fence still looks the same as before. The paint is so watery, it has no coverage whatsoever. Huge waste of time and money

Purchased in February 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Value for Money
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Finish Quality
Coverage
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Walpamur Fence Finish Pine Green compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dazzlar Dee

Dazzlar Dee

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

No Problems at All

published

Painted an old zincalume shed that had years of weathering. 3 coats with a roller or 2 coats with a brush to totally obscure the tin. Tried a high pressure washer to see if it stuck after a week of hot weather. it had stuck like the proverbial. For $34 for a 4l container if it lasts a couple of years i will be happy...painted on a hot day and it dried in under an hour. I have tried just about every paint brand over the years and it was as good to apply as any of others I have used..very happy..

Purchased in January 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Value for Money
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
ET888

ET888South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Reasonable quality

published

Brushed on 2 coats of Ironbark for a great finish on pine fence.
Impt to stir thoroughly and thin a little (10%) if necessary.
10 litres covered ~ 80m2 two coats. Dried in 1 hr ~ 28C.

Only disappointment was that the colour turned out different to the painted sample blocks in Bunnings. It was blueish!
Had it tinted to Dulux Oolong for a better look.

Purchased in February 2019 for A$69.25.

Value for Money
Painted SurfacePreviously painted and Wood
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Peter

PeterTallong

Never let me down.

published

Seriously, I just do not understand these negative comments at all. Perhaps some people have a hard time reading instructions? I have used the product several times and have had ABSOLUTEY no issues. I have sprayed and also brushed. Works a treat either way. Great product; just a shame that , now I need more, there's been a $21 price hike.

manaboutthehouse

manaboutthehouseSunshine coast

Does a great job

published

Some reviewers say its too thick and others say its too thin. I suspect that either result could be obtained if its not stirred correctly. ALL paint will eventually settle if stored for a period of time. Stirring is easy: just ask the staff at Bunnings to spin it up for you when you buy it! I got great results from two applications on rough sawn timber.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Aussieidiot

AussieidiotSydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 13 likes

Cheap, but does the job

published
Date PurchasedJan 2016
sahri

sahriCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 27 reviews
  • 27 likes
  • Verified purchase

Not watery at all. Looks great!

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Walpamur Fence Finish Pine Green compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Put 1 egg cup of real paint into 4ltr of water would be better seriously it should be illegal to sel

published

It’s the worst paint I’ve ever used.
Don’t believe any review that says it’s good. It would be better to put a 250ml sample paint into 4 litres of water and would still be better than this. It might be ok to stain wood so it looks like treated pine. No seriously with all honesty keep away from this fence paint. Shame on this brand and for Bunnings to sell it. I bought the heritage green but it’s Brunswick if I do the 1000 coats to get a non transparent coverage haha, maybe it’s a joke and there is hidden cameras somewhere. Disappointed but will have a story to tell my grand kids.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Sally

SallyGold Coast

  • 2 reviews

Far too runny and even though repainting over same paint, had to paint 3 times.

published

The Walpamur Fence Finish was far too thin and even though it was easy to apply, you needed far too many coats and therefore not cost effective. Was even difficult to see where you had applied the paint, so that speaks volumes. Would definitely purchase any other paint in preference to Walpamur.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

For The Price, Very Good

published

For what we paid for the paint we were very impressed. Covered the old existing paint and very easy to apply. Had to use two coats for a perfect finish, but that would have applied to any paint we used.
Would certainly recommend this product. Time will tell how good it really is.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Sharon

Sharon

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Waste Of Money Poor Quality

published

I bought the Fence finish in Ironbark. This is terrible paint its very very watery and dries patchy, very poor quality it doesn't even dry the same colour on the lid. Its supposed to be a really dark blue / grey but just goes on grey and watery. My fence just looks patchy like its just been wet with the hose, I will be returning this paint and getting a better quality one.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
ggrugger

ggruggerBridgewater

  • 2 reviews

Used it on an old hay shed....

published

I spay painted the corrugated tin on an old hay shed and shearing shed and an old weatherboard shearer's one room cottage with this product 11 years ago. I didn't need a super thick coverage, but did use 2 coats and am more than happy with the results. It is still pretty much the same colour as when I first did it. Perhaps I could put a fresh coat on it...but not necessary really. THe staff at Bunnings were surprised when I told them what I was going to do with it. I would use it again for this purpose.

Date PurchasedJan 2006
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Tony Marshel Queensland

Tony Marshel Queensland asked

Is Walpamur Fence Finish OK to apply with a spray gun similar to a Wagner

1 answer
Richie C
Richie C

It's quite a thin paint, so it ought to be fine in a spray gun. I brushed on, and it needed two coats, over aged treated pine paling fence for full and proper coverage.

Tracy LF

Tracy LFasked

I'm searching for more information on using a sprayer and painting an old asbestos fence. It's only about 1.75m tall and about 8 meters long that I'd like to paint (the rest is behind shrubbery), as it's so ugly (gray) & is seen from our patio. I've read a few accounts of this paint doing the job (2-3 coats) and that it helps to contain the fibres. I wondered if anyone here might be able to speak to this?

Lastly, would it be similar to try to spray a heavy stain instead? I'm in WA, so not too sure if that's something carried here with all of the brick homes. I'm not originally from AU (arrived in 2007), so what I'm used to getting just isn't here for me.

Thanks for any advice!

2 answers
Joots
Joots

As I am not from WA & the conditions are very different to Qld, I did a quick google search about some of the issues you raised. In brief, it appears that spraying is your best & safest method, though a 'heavier' exterior paint maybe better to seal the asbestos fibres. Ref: https://fencemakeovers.com.au/painting-asbestos-fence/

Tracy LF
Tracy LF

Yeah, I thought that, too. But you're not supposed to brush, only spray. Sprayers like thin paint, so it looks like a lot of thin coats to achieve something similar.

sandra m

sandra masked

what alternative can be used for walpamur fence paint colour doeskin

3 answers
Joots
Joots

What are you trying to achieve?

sandra m
sandra m

walpamur fence paint colour doeskin is no longer available. can you suggest an alternative

Joots
Joots

Looks like a few of the older colours have been removed from the range though I'm surprised that a light beige/cream option isn't available, not everyone has monochrome. If you can't find old stock in a smaller hardware or Gumtree etc, you may have to rethink your colour scheme (I switched to a darker contrast, hence the experimental colours) or get an alternate fence paint & have it tinted.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.