??!
5 photos
Weber Smokey Joe

Weber Smokey Joe

MPN: K10024
4.1 from 14 reviews

Reviews

4.1

14 reviews
5
(6)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (2)
  • Preheating Speed
    3.0 (2)
  • Even Heat DistributionYes (1) · No (1)
  • Safety
    4.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Jungle

JungleRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Don’t Listen to the negative reviews

published

Great little charcoal bbq & totally worth the small price. Don’t listen to the people who say that it goes out - They obviously don’t know what they are doing. Cooking with charcoal takes a bit of getting used to. I’ve been grilling and doing long slow 8 hr cooks on this thing with great results for a couple of years now. Super efficient on charcoal and very portable.

Purchased in June 2017 at Barbeques Galore for A$160.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Preheating Speed
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Techy Guy

Techy GuySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Not a closed grill BBQ

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Catch for A$109.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Preheating Speed
Even Heat DistributionNo
See all answers
Alyce

AlyceSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Very cute sized bbq

published

The size & portability of the BBQ is very user friendly. However, it seems like it takes a long time to heat up food with the coal as it is so far away from the grill. When you try to cook the food by putting the lid on, the fire just goes out. We tried to use it once but it took so long we ended up taking the food back to cook on the pan in the kitchen. We have yet to use it again.

Purchased in July 2018.

1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
Charcoal BBQs

Find out how Weber Smokey Joe compares to other Charcoal BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Milo

MiloSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 9 reviews

Love it

published

Love my recently purchased portable smokey joe bbq. Went into the store and fell in love with it , great quality, perfect size for a family gathering at home or at the park. Fits in the boot easy. Quality is worth paying, i got it on special at the time.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Zoe

ZoeBalwyn

  • 5 reviews

Love it!

published

Love my Smokey Joe. We moved from the country to a small city apartment and I missed BBQ's soooo much, the stove top just isn't the same. This is so easy to use for basic snags and burgers and my partner has smoked some amazing meats using this. We only have a very small balcony but Smokey Joe has allowed us to be able to BBQ regardless of living in a small apartment with no back yard.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Pickers

PickersMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Love This BBQ

published

This completely suits me as I have limited space and I love traditional barbecues. I can get the juiciest most perfectly cooked steaks on this. I just cant see how a gas one could ever come close. I enjoy the routine of getting the charcoal fired up and relaxing with a coldie until the temperature is just right. It is small and packs away neatly when i am done. Top little barbie.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Ryan

Ryan

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

This is perfect

published

This product is really too good.
It is not a big barbecue, but it doesn't bother to use it lightly with my friends.
Others don't know, but it's hard to clean the glass plate, so I buy the glass plate in Daiso and use it and throw it away.^^
I want to use a new one, but it's a secret that it's not broken.

Date PurchasedDec 2010
Josh

JoshToowoomba

  • 8 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great, but expensive

published

Bought a jumbo joe as a gift and will now buy one for myself. Good construction, small enough to easily move/store/clean, but big enough to do roasts on. Handy that the lid can rest in the handle while cooking as a sort of wind shield. Weber are really the only choice for (decent) charcoal cookers in Australia which I guess is why they are hideously overpriced

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Vivi

ViviCanberra, 2609

  • 4 reviews

Good for travelling

published

Having owned the larger 22” one for a long time I wanted to have a smaller one that I could use when grilling just for me and this is perfect. In fact assembly is a breeze took minutes to put together. I’m able to use less charcoal with a little less depth between the charcoal grate and the grillling surface I can get away with 12-16 briquettes rather than 25-30 built into a hefty mound and it is small enough and light enough to allow it to be easily transported. The only flaw is the grilling rack doesn’t have any handle to lift it on and off but it is minor.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Charcoal BBQs

Find out how Weber Smokey Joe compares to other Charcoal BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mike

Mike

  • 4 reviews

Pretty good compact size BBQ

published

Great for two people sized meals, easy enough to carry around. Great smokey flavour on meat, enough space for a decent sized BBQ for a couple. Easy enough to use for the average Joe, just make sure you have e a chimney starter. Cleaning is a pain however, needs a bit of scrubbing

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Amy L.

Amy L.Sydney, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • Verified purchase

So portable and easy to use

published

Had this bbq for a few years and it’s a great size for 2-4 people. It’s also easily transportable and portable as it can easily fit in the boot. We love using charcoal for the taste but other bbqs are hard to clean but the 2 layer trays make it very simple to just put it in the dishwasher.

Date PurchasedDec 2014
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi, thanks for your review and support. Happy barbecuing!

maxser427

maxser427Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Weber Jumbo Joe

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Thanks for your review Maxser. We appreciate your kind words and it's great to hear you're loving your Jumbo Joe. Happy barbecuing!

Stung

StungBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Compact & TASTY

published

Bought this a few years ago for the size as we wanted a mini portable charcoal grill. This is great as its small and can still do the job. Webers are amazing if you know how to use them. Make sure you read reviews of how to use and you'll learn so much and its heaps of fun. It's all about experimenting with the BBQ and knowing the limits and your surroundings. Loved it so much we bought a full size Webber Kettle and use that regularly to smoke, BBQ steak, Oysters, Fish, Beef Brisket (Slow Cooked), Beer can Chicken. I've even seen people cook waffles on this. GET ONE.

Date PurchasedSep 2014
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Thanks for your review Stung, we appreciate your kind words! Happy barbecuing.

doublecurl

doublecurlSydney, NSW

  • 163 reviews
  • 28 likes

Excellent

published

I got this bbq as a christmas present last year. It's one of the best presents i have ever gotten. It is perfect to take to picnics. You get amazing tasting sausages and meat using coal! This thing is such a gem. It's easy to set up, easy to cook with, easy to clean. I like that it is sturdy despite the small size. The size would make it suitable for 2-4 people. We are only 2 so it's perfect for us. Highly recommended.
Small and compact, cooks well, relatively easy to clean, easy to use and maintain
Non to mention

1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Thanks for your review! We appreciate your kind words and it's great to hear you're enjoying your Smokey Joe, and hope you do for years to come. Happy barbecuing!

Questions & Answers

anncj

anncjasked

I have cooked steaks on the Weber, but it doesn't char the meat - no charcoaled strips from the bars on the steak. This is what I love about barbecuing meat. How can I get them?

3 answers
Hooper
Hooper

The charring or searing comes from a very hot metal surface touching the relatively cold meat. With the stainless steel grate I have found the most success with leaving a portion of the grate free of food so that it can really heat up before applying the steak. When flipping, flip to another free portion that has heated up. To get really good searing, get a cast iron grate or a sear plate. One typically wants to sear both sides and then remove from direct heat to cook to the desired internal temperature.

Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Anncj, that's not good to hear about your steaks. I have a couple of questions that will help me identify the issue:

- What fuel were you using? If briquettes, did you wait until it they were ashed over?
- Can I ask how long you pre-heated your barbecue before you placed the steaks in?
- How thick were the steaks you were cooking?
- Did you clean the grills before you placed the steaks in? i.e. did you use a wire brush to brush the grills?

anncj
anncj

We're using charcoal, preheating the barbecue for as long as it took to burn the charcoal until it was ready to use and we used a wire brush to clean the grill. The steaks were 1/2 an inch thick.

john

johnasked

hi , can u do small roasts like chickens small legs of lamb ?

2 answers
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

G'day John - not really - the Smokey Joe is a very small little charcoal bbq perfect for cooking directly over the coals - like grilling chicken, steaks, or fish.
The charcoal grill which the fuel sits on top of is not large enough to put the fuel on one side and provide enough room on the other to effectively roast.
Check out the Go Anywhere as this has more room so you could do a very small roast in it, but I must stress, you wouldn't get a chicken in there, probably just small rolled roasts like a boned lamb roast etc.
Cheers, Dave@WeberAustralia

Bones
Bones

I've done half legs of lamb bone in quite easily on the Smokey Joe. If you can get the lid to shut you only need one load of bricketts. If not top up half way into a 3 hour cook. Always have the top vent over the meat and add wood chips every 45 mins or so. Coals to one side then a small water barrier , I use 3 cut down beer cans which helps keep the meat moist and the coals in place. Bottom vents 1/3 open with the top ones about 1/4

Get an answer from our members and Weber representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.